2.0/5 from 16 users. ( 16 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (1.3/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.9/5)
  • Price (1.8/5)
  • Phone package options (1.8/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
False advertising, worse service
  · 7 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
After seeing the advertisement with Ryan Reynolds getting wifi signal all over his house I thought BT would be good. They are not and on contacting them I was told that the advert was completely inaccurate. So I can not get access in my entire home. Its a small 3 bed detached.
I was told by the engineer to swap to wires in my master hub by removing the front cover. On doing this the insides fell out also.
I called bt as that should not happen as there should be clips holding it in.
BT said they can fix the box at a cost of £250. This was after hours of trying to talk on the online chat where they pass you from person to person and get you know where. Horrible company and I can't wait to be done with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Poor service
  · 9 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Bt service is very bad service
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Dreadful/Non-Existant Service from Customer Complaints Department
  · 9 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
When BT increased my broadband and unlimited call charges without informing me first I rang their Call Centre and asked on what authority they had to make this change. They said they had sent me an E mail for which I had no record of receiving. I asked for a copy which they couldn't provide. As they were unable or unwilling to reverse the increased charges I asked for compensation. This is where the fun starts! After 9 separate promises for someone, presumably from their so called Customer Review Department and hours of my time explaining my issue to their Call Centre Staff I eventually received an Email asking me to accept compensation. After a week and leaving countless voice messages no one has replied. When you ring the Call Centre you are told you cannot not speak to their Customer Review Team directly. When you ring the Customer Review Service (sic) on the Tel No provided you always get a voice message to leave a message and someone will ring back-no one does! I was left with no option but to write them an old fashioned letter. After nearly 6 weeks after registering my complaint I am still unable to get anyone to contact me I am going to the Financial Ombudsman in disgust. They call themselves BT, the 'T' stands for telecommunications! - what went wrong?
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
bt upload speed better than virgin media
  · 14 days ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Switched from virgin media to bt because of terrible upload speeds with virgin media. BT is rocksolid and so much better for gaming upload. The switch over was easy, the only downside is not having cable tv. But it was something that I never used so guess it will not be missed time will tell... `It's also much cheaper
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
BT are awful
  · 22 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Whatever you do, do not switch to BT. I was given a date of 4th may for my broadband activation and got given excuse after excuse for so many delays. Did not get connected until 4 weeks later on 1st June. Customer service has been poor, I have been passed from adviser to adviser, no one ever calls me, I have to do the chasing of updates and no one ever advise you on what the customer complaints process is. They just try to palm you off all the time. Avoid BT like the plague.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Customer service is laughable.
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I ordered phone line and broadband with BT and BT OpenReach installed my services yesterday, but I have no broadband. After 6 hours on the phone I have been given an other 48 to 72 hours for it to be fixed. Absolutely terrible service and the customer service is laughable.


Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Laurence Watermeyer
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely appalling customer service. If you move address good luck. As someone had taken over my old landline I had to create a new order. This kept being cancelled without informing me and dates kept being pushed back. I only discovered this each time when I called up. Most call centre operators so so rude. Also overcharge and then have no record of it. I'm usually pretty laid back. First time I have ever made a complaint like this in my 35 years. Avoid BT like the plague. I'm going to Virgin. Good riddance BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulJayne Stokes
  · 5 months ago.
Avoid poorest customer services ever experienced. Going to Virgin goodbye BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
India Lopez
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
AVOID AVOID AVOID: With respect their Indian advisers often speak very good English and are very polite nice people but they don't listen you have more luck talking to a dead dog! They get everything wrong. Charge you the wrong amount. Can't fix faults communication between the UK and India is very poor almost non existent. BT in the uk express they have no responsibility for employees that are not in the UK. B.T in the UK cannot monitor any goings on with staff abroad! They write incorrect accounts of discussions about account changes and personal details. They don't always tell the truth and they are constantly wanting to argue about everything! It's impossible to have a civil conversation a lot of the time. They kept giving me Indian names like Mr Vikram and Mr Patel!. NO:1 I'm British NO 2 I'm a woman and I'm a miss! After that they still called me Mr! They argued with me over my date of birth they argued with me over my postcode told me that wasn't my postcode. It is because I live there I should know! Then they argued with me over my name because they can't pronounce it so they left out the last letter! I got so frustrated I never rang again and moved provider. Try explaining this to them they just don't understand! .No offense as their English was excellent but even if it is they are still completely useless as a company and employ people who just can't be bothered!'
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Neil Gundry
  · 3 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
My broadband speed has been slowly dropping over a two week period when it eventually reached an irritating 1.5Gb download speed I contacted BT. They agreed to send an engineer out to take a look after a day of head scratching and swapping our phone line to an new one in the exchange the speed reached 3.5Gb still slower than our old average. The frustrating thing is the BT home hub reports that it is receiving a connection speed of 6Gb but the computer only reports 3.5Gb. After another call to BT a second engineer was sent out. More head scratching as his test equipment and the home hub is still reporting a possible speed of 6GB. He resorted in calling the BT help line and asked for the 'B-RAS' to be reset. Apparently this is what restricts the home hub speed. The effect was instant and we can now receive 6Gb. Faster than we have had in the passed. Overall the BT engineers were very pleasant and still think BT are the best! I would shudder to think how this would have been resolved if I was with my old provider TalkTalk.'
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Jay B
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Have had problems since getting Broadband years ago. BT helpline don't help and I can't understand some of them. Now in bitter dispute over charges. AND they're expensive. Is there a decent provider out there?
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Jamie
  · 3 years ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Just had BT infinity installed - OMG. Fabulous!! Bye Bye talktalk HELLO BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulGUEST
  · 5 years ago.
It is not necessary typically you plug your ADSL filter into your master socket. Achieve the same effect by removing the 3rd "pin" from your ADSL filter.. (1 is adjacent to the wedge side and typically 1 is not fitted) all you need is a small electricians screwdriver push on the edge of the little gold sliver which will pop out. Refit filter 'done'
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Noisy phone line
  · 5 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The phone line is noisy - the broadband connection closes down frequently. BT insist there is no problem so I can only assume they are incapable / unwilling to help. The noisy line means that Sky won't work either so I am looking at a cable connection to bypass the phone line.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
GUEST
  · 6 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT also call it a Broadband Accelerator same thing as an iplate
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
ROB P
  · 6 years ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Thought that I would share some wisdom - If you are a BT customer you can get a device called an I-Plate from them free of charge. You attach it to your BT master socket and it increases your broadband speed (we got just over 1Mb more - not to be sniffed at). Otherwise customer Service hit and miss (think Indian call centre) but no major issues to report. Search for i-plate on BT's website
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 22 Jun £18.99 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 1 Jul £20.00 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
17 Mb
Unlimited Ends 28 Jun £17.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.