1.3/5 from 139 users. ( 322 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.7/5)
  • Broadband speed (0.7/5)
  • Price (1.2/5)
  • Phone package options (1.1/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Monkeys
  · 4 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Monkeys come to mind with this outfit! Customer services hung up on me twice because I was asking them questions about the poor service. Agreed an engineers visit over the phone then got texts with different dates. Still no phone service! Avoid, I wish we had.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Anyone else suffered their ignorance?
  · 12 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely disgusted by their so called customer service. I have had no line since mid May and have called them several times at my expense, Was told an engineer would come out on 2/6/17... guess what, no one showed up. Called them again on 11/6/17 and still nothing happening. They recently had the down right cheek to send me a bill covering up to July.... guess what postoffice broadband/Phoneline you can jolly well swing for it! Horrified no one can take the time in sorting out their own phoneline as its not working. I am now considering making a full official complaint against their crap service. Anyone else suffered their ignorance???
Was this review helpful to you?
Mrs.j.e.whatmoreWe to have been waiting 4 months for a line to our new build bungalow. We to have experienced numerous telephone calls to Scotland via mobile I think it is about 90 in total, not cheap. We have had calls from various operators giving their names but you either can't get them and when they promise to phone, nothing happens. We are now getting to our wits end, we are an elderly couple. Although a mobile is efficient us older generation like a landline.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Criminal
  · 13 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Appalling. I am moving out of my house and therefore need to have my phone line terminated. This will cost £180. There is no alternative the Post Office tell me. Theft, absolute theft!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
No interest in providing a service - just want your money! Avoid
  · 14 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Avoid Post Office at all costs.
Over several years their performance has been abysmal. I had to cancel the original direct debit because they were abusing the facility. I went to them originally because they offered the best line charge and inclusive calls to mobiles on the weekend. I paid them quarterly on receipt of the bill.
The broadband performance has been totally inadequate and the line kept failing. Usually they called in B.T. Openreach, and the line was repaired, but still poor performance. As the line is approx 7 miles long, I assumed that it was the best that could be delivered,
Customer service is atrocious, time consuming, technically inaccurate and provided by a call centre that seems to have a problem speaking English.
When I last had a line failure, and they increased their prices I decided to change provider and after doing my own analysis decided to go with 'John Lewis', who provide a proper service, (rock solid broadband and knowledgeable support staff based in the UK). Not the cheapest, but a capable and honest supplier.
When the changeover took place, I received an incorrect billing from Post Office, which included line charges for after the change which I refused to pay until they had removed this charge. They then reissued the final account but had added a £120+ charge for call-out of the line failure from 3 months earlier, (which interestingly had not appeared on the previous bill). I paid the account for the contracted service, but not the call-out charge which was not my fault, but a poor connection on one of their poles. I wrote to them disputing the charge, but received no reply. They then passed this as a debt to debt collectors, who refuse to take no for an answer. This lack of proper communication is totally unacceptable.
There is no way that I will pay them, short of a court judgement in their favour, but I do worry that they employ the same tactics with less robust individuals, and get away with it. It seems to me that they follow a very narrow line between incompetence and fraudulent behaviour.
Looking at other commenters on this site, it would seem that I am not alone with problems with dishonest claims of 'Call-out' charges.

Do NOT trust them, they are not interested in providing a service, they just want your money..
They are based in Eire, not the UK! - What is that all about?
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 readers found the following review helpful
Trying to charge me a call out charge that wasn't my fault.
  · 29 days ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Trying to charge me a call out charge that wasn't my fault. Phoned them several times different excuses all the time. They are one big con.
Was this review helpful to you?
k9millyYes Christopher, it is their latest tactic to get as much money as they can from you before they eventually get sanctioned by Ofcom. I assume that your rating of 5/5 for customer service is a mistake? If so, can it be corrected?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Do not use this provider!!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I've been trying to terminate phone service as my mother has been admitted to a care home.. won't allow me to cease service straight away despite the fact I have 'poa' and have sent them a copy.. Just wanting to take money off a vulnerable old lady..!!! Won't allow me to block out going calls either despite the fact that new tenants maybe in my mothers home while the landline is still live!!!! Despite the fact they said they would...absolutely appalling service ....disgusting...
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid signing anything with the Post office Telecoms it will return to bite you!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I switched from BT for price reasons and have spent 4 times the cost any saving in termination charges and wasted time trying to get any kind of decent wifi signal until finally the WIFI completely disappeared in our house. I just cancelled after complaining and reading so many bad reviews (I wished I had read them before signing up)
AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
I went to the Ombudsman who took up the case and achieved a small refund but be aware you will be held word for word to any contract you have signed IRRESPECTIVE of POST OFFICE TELECOM 's awful signal and product performance, that does not matter, in the eyes of the law you have signed a contract even though the contract did not say "we can give you a lousy signal and product performances and still charge you". You will have no right to cancel unless you follow their contract which will for sure test your patience and resolve to the limits, then weeks or months later when nothing has improved you will have to change to another provider anyway....cut your losses before this happens !

Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Post Office Broadband - Excellent customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Been with the PO since 2009. Had no problems until last week when internet started running very slowly, then found we had no dial tone on the phone. Phoned customer services (on mobile) on Sunday morning, spoke to a very helpful and courteous operator who checked the line, confirmed a fault and arranged for an engineer to sort it 'within three working days'. It was fixed by Monday afternoon! Excellent service in every way. I guess people tend to use 'review' sites to let off steam when they've had a problem, but few bother to post positive reviews when they've had good service
Was this review helpful to you?
Landlinesaver@Rosemarie: Details of how to contact the Ombudsman and information about the service can be found on the link below:
www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/consumer/complaints.htm

Ombudsman consumer helpline
Monday to Friday – 8am to 8pm
Saturday – 9am to 1pm

0800 023 4567 (free for people phoning from a landline)
0300 123 9 123 (free for mobile-phone users who pay a monthly charge for calls to numbers starting 01 or 02)

Hope this helps?
Good luck!
RosemariePost Office is the worst broadband ever we kept telling them to block out going calls as we have 4 teenagers and they promised they would and didn't and we kept getting really high bills we asked again and again and again they are by far the worse internet providers I have ever been with. How do I get to email or address for the ombudsman?? It's doing my head if my son is on his games console and I go into the bedroom to go on my laptop we have problems with connection yet the internet box its self is right outside our house SOMEONE PLEASE HELP every time we complain about how slow it is within a couple of minutes it speeds up how do i contact the ombudsman?
View more (2)
9 of 9 readers found the following review helpful
Welcome to rip off Britain
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Total poo. My max speed is only 1 meg due to location. But afternoon and evening it's always only 0.3 That's barely enough to use net on a phone and don't bother 2 people trying at the same time. This bunch of tight wads just won't buy more bandwidth so what meagre amount they have is shared amongst the mugs using their crap service. Added to that it's almost impossible to send emails after 4pm as the crap email server fails to log you in. Thank goodness for Gmail. This would be a fantastic service for 1995 but totally unexceptable for 2017. Don't bother with ofcom as their sh*t as well. PO tryed to charge for a line that wasn't even connected and ofcom say they don't intervene with individual cases. ANOTHER POINTLESS TOOTHLESS LION QUANGO RUN BY FAILED MIDDLE MANAGERS. OFCOM HAVE BEEN AWARE OF POST OFFICE MULTIPLE FAILINGS FOR OVER 10 YEARS BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ABOUT THEIR NON SERVICE AND INHUMANE TREATMENT OF THEIR CUSTOMERS.
WELCOME TO RIP OFF BRITAIN.
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 readers found the following review helpful
The worst service I have ever experienced
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The worst service I have ever experienced and I have had some shoddy ones in the past. Not only could they not provide a service above one meg despite promising 7-8 I have had to change back to another provider at their suggestion and despite the fact I am no longer their customer they continue sending bills for a service that was cancelled months ago. I have spent weeks on the phone with them and the level of incompetence is world beating.
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 readers found the following review helpful
No line to new build
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Have been waiting 3 months for a landline to our new build bungalow. Keep getting engineers coming but nothing seems to get done. In fact they even went to our old address for the service. We are an older couple and have called about 40 times. When you do phone you never speak to the person who called you. We are getting a little frustrated now. The next date set is for the 16th May, perhaps, we are thinking of changing supplier as this one is rubbish. When you do phone you cannot speak to the person who phoned you. Wish we hadn't stayed with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Don't use them
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Customer service is really bad. Phone line wasn't fixed at all and passed onto Plusnet who were brilliant. They said they would give a refund but didn't and have taken lots of payments from my bank account. Rubbish broadband speed, really bad service altogether. Still awaiting for money back.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling Customer Service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Hadn't received a telephone bill or reminder, bombarded with calls of unpaid account. Spoke to customer services who said pay it NOW or else!!! No apology or looking into why I hadn't received either bill disgraceful.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid Post Office Telecoms at all costs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Post Office telecoms are the worst provider ever. They are trying to charge me for 2 line rentals and broadband services to the same house. I have made so many calls to their useless helpline that I can't remember. I have asked them to cancel one of the accounts and they sent me a letter saying they would do this but they never did and continue to bill me for a service I am not getting. I keep getting told that something will be sorted out but nothing happens. They say they will call you back but never do. They say they have sent letters which they never did and now they have instructed a debt collection agency. I will now go to the ombudsman service and complain but I do strongly advise anyone DO NOT ever get involved with Post Office telecoms.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
DISGUSTED EX CUSTOMER
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I am an ex customer of post office phones and THANK GOD, because they left me without a landline for almost a month and i changed to SKY, Post office was phoned repeatedly but nobody would answer, they were also sent a number of emails but no replies, then after all of that they put it in the hands of BAILIFFS then finally got it sorted in APRIL 2017, i looked up the best 50 packages for tv and broadband, ie, BT,SKY,etc, and do you know POST OFFICE WAS NOT EVEN MENTIONED OUT OF 50 BEST PACKAGES, NEVER AGAIN AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE, THEY SHOULD BE LOCKED UP,
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpfulChris
  · 2 months ago.
I sent a letter to Geoffery Smyth marked Private and Confidential I got a reply from a customer services adviser I was astounded that someone in customer services replied.
Was this review helpful to you?
Jeanette whatmoreI also contacted Geoffrey smythemarked private and confidential but didn't get an answer,!
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpfulAngela Avery
  · 2 months ago.
Really bad customer service I paid a year upfront and was told that I could cancel after a year it turns out that's not the case also that I have to take out another 18 months for moving house! This is NOT in the so called small print I'm definitely not going to go with them for another 18 months also the person I spoke to assured me this wasn't the case but then I received a letter informing me that the person wrongly informed me and that another 18 months contract would be the case unless I Wanted to pay a cancellation fee of £87.
Was this review helpful to you?
LisaI am in the same situation except they want over £200 as early termination. As I moved house with only two months left of the 18 month contract. I was told the contract would move with me and now I am trying to move to another provider as the original 18 month contract has expired and PO are telling me that when I moved I had taken out another 18 month contract. NOT HAPPY.
Service is absolutely awful.
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulRichard Evans
  · 2 months ago.
Post Office Telecom have the MOST AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE. I have spent two months trying to close the line and account of a deceased relative. They consistently fail to do what they say. The line closure date has not been registered for the date of the first call and each time the clock is reset. They have not rebated the pre-paid line rental or the fees that they have taken for two months since they were asked to close the line!. And each time I ask to speak to a manager they say it will take 3 days for one to call back AND then they don't even tell the manager so each time I call again they say it will be another three days. THEY ARE COMPLETELY USELESS. I strongly advise anyone thinking of taking PO Telecom service o stay away from them. The hassle you will save yourself as soon as you have a problem is incalculable!!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulSteve
  · 2 months ago.
Really bad will not connect to more than 2 devices even with a booster utter rubbish going to take them to the Ombudsman.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpfulSteve
  · 2 months ago.
I signed up online and when the change over date arrived I discovered that they had connected my residential line to my business line taking out my business broadband and phone. It took 3 weeks for my business line/broadband to be reconnected it cost me over £100 to cover the time and unknown loss of orders.When I contacted the Post Office I was told it was my fault even though there was no mention of my business number on the online form. They refused to repay my costs and I am still being charged for a line which doesn't work. This company was recommended by Money saving Expert.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulChris
  · 2 months ago.
Avoid at all costs P.O. telecoms we have our number witheld to release the number I have to dial 1470 it didn't ring the person I wanted it called the local school but when I got the bill it was down as 1471 press 5 to return the call we are also getting calls from abroad claiming to be from B.T. I have ask PO to block them but they are not interested I can't wait to find a decent provider.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpfulClaire Mundy
  · 2 months ago.
Paid my bill on friday but i'm still restricted
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulChris Welbourn
  · 3 months ago.
Totally agree with the the previous post I've just contacted the Post Office to cancel my broadband and line rental when my 12 month contract runs out on 18/04/17 to be told It was an 18 month contract It was definitely not an 18 month as I refused to go to Vodafone at the time because theirs was an 18 month contract. I paid the 12 month line rental up front. Like everyone else I wish to leave because the service is rubbish (be aware). I will be taking this further.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulGill
  · 3 months ago.
Really saddened and disgusted by your experiences I hate them and will change provider asap! My advice to you is to contact Ofcom I'm sure you would have heard of them! I dealt with them once a few years ago and they were fantastic and fast! I hope they can help you. Good luck! Gill
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpfulVic
  · 3 months ago.
Hi my mum has been with post office for broadband and phone for quite a few years now. However lately she has suffered deteriorating health and a number of falls make her virtually housebound now. She was in hospital after such a fall in October. Prior to that she had no broadband as something was wrong with their system. On coming out my brother rang them and they said they had been hacked and their modems needed a fix. They said they would look into it. Nothing! Eventually the bill arrived (over £100). She paid all of it less the broadband part (£26 for the period). They promptly cut off her phone. This also cut off the lifeline which she has in case she falls in the house (she lives alone). A regular customer long time customer and they treat her like that! Worth noting here that she had talked to one of them on the phone who had promised to look into the matter prior to this cutting off of the phone. As they barred the line it is also making it difficult to change to another supplier straight away so that she can get her lifeline system back up and running. I'll let you decide for yourselves whether this is a firm worth using or just a bag of *!?%!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulAsal
  · 3 months ago.
Wish you a real luck. Honestly I was terrified when I read the reviews on broadband providers. They all seem as bad as each other.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpfulMike
  · 3 months ago.
I am writing to you to express my extreme disappointment with your broadband service if you can actually call it broadband when speeds actually are more like dial up! When registering for your service I explained to the lady over the phone that I did not know much about broadband and therefore relied on her help and information. I chose your service through a comparison website and thought it sounded okay. I was happy with the speeds of up to 17mb however it turns out that the up to part was actually a key part of the advertising. After setting your service up I was rightly informed of the 14 day cooling off period it however seems no coincidence that this finishes before the broadband goes live. I am 100% sure that if the internet went live within this period 99% of your customers would cancel their accounts. I called your team who informed me that that the reason that we have abysmal speeds is that the router will split the speed between devices. I find this ridiculous at the time it was split between two devices with us both getting 1.6mb he informed me that combined the speed would be within the advertised range. When I asked what would happen if I had children with phones or games consoles he stated that that is just what happens. I feel that if this is true your initial customer service assistant should have explained this to me in order for me to make an informed decision this did not happen. I believe that at the post office you have falsely advertised a service which is not fit for purpose. The service assistant who I spoke to yesterday stated that you are looking to move to fibre broadband possibly in my area at the end of march however I may not be eligible for this as I am already in a contract! I can not express my anger with your service which I am now stuck paying for 18 months with nothing or minimal in return. I asked about cancellation and was informed that I would have to pay the £220 cancellation fees as it was past the 14 days. As stated above it just seems a little strange the shocking internet went live after this which I also feel is against some form of advertising legislation. I WILL be contacting Ofcom and also BBC Watchdog about how you have sold me something which is not fit for purpose and also not fully explained everything to me leading me to feel as though I have been conned. From a company with such a good name as yourselves I am disgusted with what I have been given and also the way your representative were with me over the phone yesterday.I expect some form of response to this letter within 7 days with an explanation into your poor service.Letter posted 26/02/17 lets see how quick a response will arrive.steer clear of Post office !
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulFool for signing
  · 3 months ago.
What a fool I've been signing up for post office broadband. From the day I changed to them I've had nothing but trouble with their speed. I've changed to a better router and changed my filters and it hasn't made a scrap of difference all I've got is more hassle from BT cos they tell me it's not compatible and they are telling me to remove it and put the post office one back. I am afraid I have to complain to Ofcom because I'm banging my head against the wall because their customer service is like talking to a loony bin with all the lies they spout. SO BE ADVISED DO NOT CHANGE TO POST OFFICE They are Not fit for purpose. I don't know how they have got away with it for so long.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulSalema
  · 4 months ago.
Post Office broadband worst ever constantly going off very slow i can be in the middle of doing something and internet will just switch off and can take an hour just to get it back on would not suggest to anyone can't wait for contract to end so i can switch to a better provider all i can say is what a load of rubbish very disappointed customer.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulSalema
  · 4 months ago.
I agree internet is the worst ever it might be cheap but it is crap.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulKen Ward
  · 4 months ago.
Hi Neil have exactly the same problem as you they ignored most of my emails and i was given the full apology too they sent no deadlock letter and have now engaged a debt collecting company to chase me for £64.00 i left them in december after they breached the contract by increasing prices and provided little or no service i have contacted the ombudsman too.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulNeil Webber
  · 4 months ago.
I've been with PO phone line for elderly (and vulnerable) mum for a number of years with no real problem so decided it would be simple to get them to supply Broadband too. What a fool I was! after 3 months with little or no Broadband (never over 1mb) and complaining jumping through all their hoops and tests waiting for engineers to phone back at appointed time my mum had no Phone or BB for 3 weeks. I refused to pay after asking to cancel and am now told that I didn't let the engineers carry out "all the necessary checks". Again I refused to pay. I now have a debt recovery service after me for £159 made up of 2 contracts and services provided. This was after I was phoned by "a representative" and given a full apology and her assurance that no charges would be forthcoming. DON'T GO TO THE POST OFFICE FOR ANYTHING - I'm off to the Ombudsman next...wish me luck
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulkieran
  · 4 months ago.
Avoid the post office broadband at all costs I switched with uswitch where I paid 10 months up front £144 and got 2 months line rental free paying 1/2 price on telephone calls when the 12 months was up I switched and low and behold got a bill for 2 months as they say I was on 18 months I wouldn't have left knowing that! but they sent out a debt collectors agency chasing the money without communicating to me first and they NOW advertise 18 months in Black and white on handouts at the post office. While with them I never got the speed they promised and the disconnections that happened and had to get on to technical services. As far as they were concerned I owed them 2 months after the 12 months was up. Steer clear of Post Office their internet service is crap very slow and they twist the contract to their advantage and send debt collectors out without communicating with you first.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpfulAndy
  · 4 months ago.
I've also had nothing but trouble with Post Office broadband. My broadband has been live since 19th December and my speed which used to be 1.5mb minimum is now 0.12 constant. Have had numerous engineer visits and now when I contact Post Office service to discuss they just go through we will look into it then never contact you backTotally appalling service all round.....Steer well clear !!!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulCarolyn Smith
  · 4 months ago.
Useless company. Never less than half hour waiting for them to reply. Internet always crashing and when it does work the speed has 2 settings dead slow and stop. 18 month broadband contract which goes back to zero if you move home. If you want to opt out contract cancellation fee is full monthly fee up until end of contract term. Avoid this supplier like the plague.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpfulLisa
  · 4 months ago.
I have had the same problem. Two routers haven't worked. They have advised me that I will need to pay £140 to send an engineer out. Not happening. I've not even had the use of the Internet and they are trying to charge me. Finally got an advisor who told me that they would waver the charge but when I asked for an email confirming that they cut me off. Absolute joke!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpfulSpider
  · 4 months ago.
Way back in September an engineer was sent as one is usually sent every now and then to sort out my Post Office "Broadband." and I use the term with tongue firmly in cheek. Usually I'm to blame for either the blistering less than 3MB speed (can manage Youtube videos at the lowest resolution only) the inexplicable cancellation of my email account by the Post Office as a security measure following a ferocious electrical storm and living too far from either the Phone Cabinet device or a decent broadband provider.I am a carer and as such I'm away from home rather a lot and rarely have the head space or patience to deal with problems in my own life such as technical helplines with poor phone connections and the kaleidoscopic vagaries of human speech. But I had to and so did. I wish I had just (having been through this many many times over the last couple of years believe it or not)) just cancelled and gone elsewhere. We don't because we can't face the nausea of being disconnected by choice rather than fault go through the pain and mind numbing tedium of finding another provider seeking a "We Don't Want You To Leave Computer Code" or whatever it is you know the drill it's all designed to keep us hooked and locked into the contract).Anyway after endless phonecalls instructing me to unplug this or that or to check this line or blame this little red/green light I was told that the fault was at my end after all and NOT THE MYSTERIOUS GRAIL-LIKE CABINET and an engineer would call......a veritable BT Engineer no lessas it was BT'S problem /fault...I stayed home at great inconvenience and eventually the Engineer arrived. He was FANTASTIC. He replaced all of the wiring the little plastic box in the wall even went outside and replaced everything out there too. He was great BUT COULDN'T FIND ANY FAULT and so drove into town to inspect whatever it is that controls the flow of electrons /magic elves or what have you into my telephone and broadband.Well I cannot recall exactly what was done but I eventually got my appallingly slow broadband service back again and I was eternally grateful to him and wished him well as he went on his merry way. Sadly I cannot recall his name and this all happened months ago.Today however January the twenty-nine I've just received my Post Office Broadband and Phone bill and am absolutely bloody stunned to find an extra charge of £85 for "NOT being home / not GRANTING ACCESS to the Engineer sent by Post Office Broadband to fix my reported Internet problem! AAAAAAAAAAAGH! Do pardon me.Well yes I was in of course as he replaced all of my wires. I can prove that they are indeed NEW WIRES both INTERNALLY and externally and that to replace them he must have indeed been GRANTED ACCESS WITHIN. Yes of course I have phoned Post Office Broadband and explained this until I lost both the power of reason and the will to live . THEY Post Office Broadband SENT AN ENGINEER (I did not I don't know any) HE FIXED THE PROBLEM somehow as proven by the fact that he went and the problem both went away and I didn't pester the Helpline any further(). Ipso facto blah blah blah.How can I be held financially responsible for the summoning of further or surplus engineers? The Post Office sent one he had been granted access fixed the problem somehow/ somewhere and then left. As did I probably as I would have been waiting in all-day.As far as I'm concerned I didn't request subsequent engineers was not informed of the need for one nor was advised nor accepted the eighty five pound bill for one and would have refused if given the opportunity to do so.Can anybody offer any advice on how to proceed? I have a parent in a very serious condition in hospital (they don't have broadband) as I write I myself am Disabled Ex-Forces and cannot do much in the way of online searching ect just now. Needless to say although I will pay my quarterly bill I have refused to pay for this allegedly surplus engineer and have already contacted a rival Broadband Provider who fell about laughing at my current broadband speed.Despite being a patient peaceful man I'm really close to losing my cool with the attitude of contempt often show to us end-users. All advice or support greatfuly recieved Thanks in advance Spider
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulStephen Pugh-Jones
  · 5 months ago.
The service is a travesty! Ridiculous spend my whole time on the phone complaining. Of which i like many others HATE doing! One of the operatives named Gregor got into an argument with me! Basically told me it was all my fault. Told me to go an buy my own router if i didn't like it as the christmas cracker routers you are issued by the post office by the name of Zyxel are trash like something you would win instead of a gold fish at the fair! `Basically told me that the other operatives i had spoken to previously were liars and the engineer that had been out to fitted a new box was a liar they should be ashamed of themselves.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulTony
  · 5 months ago.
Post office broadband is a joke stay clear of them to date we have lost our broadband 44 times in 3 month's after several phone calls and 3 replacement routers and 2 emails to tell us that it was fixed we are still having the same problems.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulVal
  · 5 months ago.
Kev sounds almost exactly the same as the shocking treatment received by me and my mum. She's been either with me in hospital or in residential care for over a year and even though I have delegated authority already set up they tried to tell me only a letterhead from the head of her care home would be accepted to cancel the contract. And after all that pallaver I established that her contract has run out anyway!!! Everyone I spoke to at Post Office home phone was at best badly trained and ill-informed or at worst downright rude and distressing to deal with at such a difficult time for my mum and her family.
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 22 Jun £18.99 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 1 Jul £20.00 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
17 Mb
Unlimited Ends 28 Jun £17.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.