BT Broadband

Up to £100 Reward Card when you join BT today online Compare BT Broadband deals

 

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

BT Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from BT broadband customers.

1.3 out of 5 from 106 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
6
0
7
78
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (103)
Shirley Wain
Diabolical service
8 days ago.
Review
Switched to fibre, asked if any disruption and was told “No”. Catalogue of errors for 8 days (would have been longer had I not INSISTED on some sort of service). Fobbed off over 15 times over the 8 days. No landline, no broadband for 8 days, my personal confidential messages left on neighbour’s answerphone. Send wrong kind of engineer to mollify. Spent 2 days off work unpaid to try to get fixed. Customer service worse than useless for the most part. Some suggested “No Worries” when I complained. Told I had to pay for the service even though I had not had ANY SERVICE for a week. Offered princely sum of £2.50 (yes, 2 pounds and 50 pence) compensation . All complaints “closed” without resolution (probably to fit in with targets). Fault “closed” as resolved when nothing resolved. By far the worst service I have ever experienced in my life. Well done BT!!! You are a disgrace.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Sophie
Worst customer service ever!
8 days ago.
Review
Well...
After waiting 3 months for my pac code to be transferred over, 7 months for my reward card to arrive after being lied to 3 times.
I’ve finally escaped BT (3 months early)
BT IS AWFUL.
Just don’t do it to yourself, no one helps you and they quite happily lie to you regularly!!

Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Mo
Worst broadband ever
20 days ago.
Review
I wish there was an option of 0 star

Worst broadband ...poor speed, double charges. Poor customer service......Can wait for the contract to finish.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Diana
Stealing money from customers!
1 months ago.
Review
Paid £7.99 for a one-day subscription to wi fi, money went from my bank account but i haven't been able to log in and use their services. Customer support has proven to be the most useless people ever, not to mention how rude some of them treat their customers. Basically, bt is stealing money from customers and hiding behind some operators who barely speak English. Miserable scammers, a company to avoid!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Aaron
Aaron - the guy who you refused to fix the fault for in Perth a minute a go
1 months ago.
Review
'WE' - A POEM OF OUR EXPERIENCE WITH BT

We have had broadband through BT for 2 Years

We have had a fault with our internet every week.

We have spent days off work waiting for engineers to arrive.

We have had our business disrupted constantly (self-employed) and lost thousands of pounds through downtime being unable to operate.

We have spent the equivalent of what must now be days on the phone trying to raise fault notifications and complaints and we get nowhere.

We get charged full price for a service which is operational 50% of the time.

We get bugger all compensation and ultimately, the issue never gets fixed.

We are leaving.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Bobcat
Expensive
1 months ago.
Review
I've been with BT for over 25 years through thick and thin. Our 'Superfast' broadband struggles to exceed 14mbps but we soldier on. Anyway, the monthly cost for broadband, calls and a basic TV package (plus Sport) has risen to over £75 with another increase on the 16th September. I phoned them but they wouldn't budge so I've switched to PlusNet. It's annoying that loyal customer service isn't appreciated so I'd say to anyone out there who is out of contract: "why aren't you shopping around?"
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Chris Williams
Awful
1 months ago.
Review
I’ve moved to a new property and BT are the only suppliers of fibre so no choice. Connection date a week overdue, 2nd date engineer didn’t show, calls to BT discounted an issue with the previous owner still having a connection....absolute bollocks, they moved out and still trying to get connected at their new addrsss, BT staff and managers really have no idea what’s going on. Apparently we have to wait another week to go live.....not sure if I’m going to risk it, 8mbs maybe more reliable ??? If you have a choice don’t go anywhere near BT.
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
Linas
BT cost lots of money and time u won't be leaving easy
2 months ago.
Review
On 6th of July a month in advance I made a call to bt customer service and asked to close my account and stop providing services when my contract ends which is 6th. Bt guy said that my contract ends on 15th of August, I asked to confirm that I won't be charged any extra money and I will be refunded £43 because I'm paying upfront, and the BT guy confirmed that is correct. Now turns out BT guy was lying, my billing period is 6th and I still have BT service and I was charged £58 !!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
3 people found the following review helpful
Sheila Fuller
Appalling service.
2 months ago.
Review
BT catch up not working. Rang customer services last Saturday, 21st July, went through what I was told to do still not working. Engineer booked for between 12 noon and 3.00pm on Tuesday 24th July. No show. Received a call to make another appointment. Made for today between 7.00am - 9am. Again no show. Have spent an hour on the phone arranging 3rd appointment for next Wednesday All in all I will have lost 3 half days of work which I will not get paid for. If a no show on Wednesday, which I fully expect, changing provider. Don't suppose they will reduce my bill for their incompetence. This is the worst service ever. Think twice before having BT.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
4 people found the following review helpful
LS
Promised a price but only lasted one month
2 months ago.
Review
Bad service and constantly lying.

I've had to ring BT 10 times over a 6 month period as they keep increasing my price for no reason. I ring and they lower it. We've had this game going for sometime.

I decided to leave them and go elsewhere, so I rang and they managed to get me a good package, so I stayed. The argeed price left my account the following month BUT low and behold, the price went back up the month later. I asked why and was treated As if I was in the wrong.

I raised a complaint and after many promised callbacks, I had to callback them and go through it all again, I had a woman from the complaints department call me. She couldn't understand why I was promised a package and here's the best bit.... THE CALL IN QUESTION WASN'T RECORDED!!! so there's nothing they can do.
Funny how it says on the intro 'all calls are recorded' (apart from the ones that will prove BT are wrong, it should say).

Needless to say, Ive gone to the FCA for them to sort out.

I asked to leave and they wanted to charge me £184 to leave.

Not going to happen.

Avoid BT like the plague.
5 people found the following review helpful
  • Diana 1 months ago.
    Where do you raise a complaint? Thanks.
    • Landlinesaver 1 months ago.
      Hi Diana, you can report telecom issues to Ofcom here: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/how-to-report-a-complaint
  • Kerry Fletcher 2 months ago.
    Exactly the same thing happened to me. I am in the process of leaving BT this time, will never use them again.
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.