BT Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a BT broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review BT Broadband
1.3/5 from 99 users. ( 96 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.6/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.3/5)
  • Price (0.9/5)
  • Phone package options (0.9/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
BT cost lots of money and time u won't be leaving easy
  · 3 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
On 6th of July a month in advance I made a call to bt customer service and asked to close my account and stop providing services when my contract ends which is 6th. Bt guy said that my contract ends on 15th of August, I asked to confirm that I won't be charged any extra money and I will be refunded £43 because I'm paying upfront, and the BT guy confirmed that is correct. Now turns out BT guy was lying, my billing period is 6th and I still have BT service and I was charged £58 !!!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling service.
  · 22 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BT catch up not working. Rang customer services last Saturday, 21st July, went through what I was told to do still not working. Engineer booked for between 12 noon and 3.00pm on Tuesday 24th July. No show. Received a call to make another appointment. Made for today between 7.00am - 9am. Again no show. Have spent an hour on the phone arranging 3rd appointment for next Wednesday All in all I will have lost 3 half days of work which I will not get paid for. If a no show on Wednesday, which I fully expect, changing provider. Don't suppose they will reduce my bill for their incompetence. This is the worst service ever. Think twice before having BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Promised a price but only lasted one month
  · 23 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Bad service and constantly lying.

I've had to ring BT 10 times over a 6 month period as they keep increasing my price for no reason. I ring and they lower it. We've had this game going for sometime.

I decided to leave them and go elsewhere, so I rang and they managed to get me a good package, so I stayed. The argeed price left my account the following month BUT low and behold, the price went back up the month later. I asked why and was treated As if I was in the wrong.

I raised a complaint and after many promised callbacks, I had to callback them and go through it all again, I had a woman from the complaints department call me. She couldn't understand why I was promised a package and here's the best bit.... THE CALL IN QUESTION WASN'T RECORDED!!! so there's nothing they can do.
Funny how it says on the intro 'all calls are recorded' (apart from the ones that will prove BT are wrong, it should say).

Needless to say, Ive gone to the FCA for them to sort out.

I asked to leave and they wanted to charge me £184 to leave.

Not going to happen.

Avoid BT like the plague.
Was this review helpful to you?
Kerry FletcherExactly the same thing happened to me. I am in the process of leaving BT this time, will never use them again.
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT Stress levels
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute nightmare organisation. No communication between any of the staff and up to 6 calls per day from representatives saying the same things over and over again! I believe they have an automated system which cant be switched off and they can only put notes on their system which, obviously, nobody reads.

Many of the calls can not understand what you are saying which makes it impossible to have a conversation. They just repeat the same thing over and over again.

Quite oblivious to customer service and will blatantly say you are a liar when you explain what the other represented said.

God knows how this company manages to survive - i certainly would never use them again,
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
TALK TALK's Abysmal Service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
TALK TALK: Absolutely the worst company I've ever done business with. Hours of my time wasted talking to moronic so called 'customer service' who refuse to connect me to senior staff. I have no doubt it's done on purpose in order to make the customer give up. A purposely designed tiered system that revolves in circles. They have no issue insulting the customer's intelligence - on complaining about the dire service a so called 'CS manager' tried to flog me a more expensive package! I asked her if she was serious and got the usual automaton like response. Asked to be put through to a senior manager - told none available - someone will call you back in an hour- no one did - called and given another poor excuse as to why for the eight time no one can call. Was told by the UK office that they can put you through but when you ask the international lot they tell you they cannot - I remind them that it's a telecommunications company, although a very poor one.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Rip you off
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BE WARNED!! Terrible service. If you like your broadband company to use sly strategies to get you to pay more then BT are for you. They send you an email about renewing your sports then in the small print they renew your broadband only to increase the cost by £20 a month later! Also they don't appreciate loyalty. I called about the £50 cost of my broadband and they said they cannot offer a better deal because the better deals are for new customers only. Absolutely con. STAY WELL CLEAR trust me!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Rubbish, I was told this is the only internet I can have in my new build house. Had to pay more for worse internet than I had before. What a monopoly/scam they have going here.

I am using them as this is the only choice.
Scam!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Slower than you can imagine
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Slower and less reliable than you'd believe!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst broadband service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Very poor customer services. Same complaint for many months and they don't seem bothered to fix it .
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
need advice
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
My Daughter is still waiting for an engineer
They cancelled two dates they gave us
The new date is 3/7/18
If they alter this date I will go to another supplier
Was this review helpful to you?
Jack DanielsYou can go where ever you may feel like but I can assure you nobody would turn up to fix your internet. If internet has to be fixed then open reach has to fix them selves first.
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE OF MY LIFE!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Joined BT from sky on the 23rd April, smooth transition over. However on the 5th June after numerous phone calls to BT about broadband dropping out, not having the channels I was promised and the telephone not working, they said I could cancel penalty free due to being miss-sold. I was offered a good deal with sky therefore I went back. Sky sent me an email on the 5th June telling me that my SKY TV was active and they were doing a working line takeover of my phone number and broadband on the 19th June. BT sent me an email to tell me that my services were ending on the 12th June. I rang sky to make sure the 19th was the correct date and then called BT. BT said that there was no active line takeover and told me to call sky again, I called sky, and they said 100% that they were taking over on the 19th June. I called back BT who again said that this was not the case. They told me to call sky again, which I stupidly did who told me the same thing. I called back BT and they said what they would do is cancel that cancellation of my services for the 12th June and keep them running until the 19th June when I would need to call up and cancel (penalty free still) and they would refund me my money for this month. After checking my BT I could see that this was not done so I called BT again and said its still not cancelled, I kept getting told by different agents (always a different one every time I called, apologising and saying the last advisor was rubbish and that they are amazing and will get this sorted, none did) that the cancellation of the cancellation was done and that my services would continue. On the 12th June, I woke up to find my broadband had gone off. I called BT straight away who apologised that the agent before had not cancelled the cancellation properly so my TV and phone line were still active but broadband wasn’t. They then proceeded to tell me that I could get the broadband turned back on but it would take 2 weeks. Which was ridiculous given that telling them 15 times and it being in my notes that sky were taking over on the 19th.

So I was without broadband for a week until sky took over. I received a call from Gary Scott on the 20th telling me that something had gone wrong and bt was saying that I still had my phone line with them, despite sky having it. He said he would have to send it to the off line team to cancel and that I would get a call on Friday telling me that everything had been cancelled down properly and I would have a refund for the month of services I did not have.

However! I wake Friday to 3 emails from BT at 5am!!!! First at 5:20am saying thanks for choosing bt there is an update to your order. My calling plan for the phone will start on the 22nd June for a years contract (WTF!) and will cost £21.99 a month (HUH!)
Second at 5:21am asking me to return my bt equipment as I don’t need it anymore.
Third at 5:21am telling me that my bt service is ending sorry to see me go. (this is just for the TV that I haven’t had since the 5th June).
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
BT Fibre Connection is Impossible- Customer Service is BAD
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I applied for BT broadband in 17th Jan 2018, Eng visit and fibre connection was completed on 26th Mar 2018, unfortunately it was not sucessful. The fibre cable connection was completed and the ONT box installed. However Bt have been making excuses for the past 3 months and I have not yet been connected. Their customer service is the worst I have ever experienced, it is very obvious that the communication between Bt Open Reach and BT conections is really bad.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
BT very bad service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I highly do not recommend bt to anyone, because they just rip you off. I had very bad experience with bt. They took a lot money from my account every month, I made so many calls to bt sort out my issue, but every single person I spoke to, always different stories, no one really helped me to sort it out and refund my money.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Don't do it, you've been warned!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
If you value your health then don't get into a contractual obligation with these guys. They will hang up on you if they don't like what you are complaining about, they will tell you they'll fix your broadband speed because you've been put on the wrong plan (a cheaper one of course) but they won't, they'll tell you that you'll get a rebate but you won't, they'll tell you they'll call you back but they won't. The most appalling service of all, you will get. They organisation is so chaotic that nobody knows what they're talking about are and everybody is just trying to blag it. One guy kept repeating that my speed is measured in Megabytes/s and another was making drawing comparisons between my 2 year old telephone filter and a 16 year old girl which is supposedly better than a 60 years old women (not sure in what sense)!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Broadband disappears twice a day 6 hours each time.
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Don't use them nothing is right customer service is very bad. Cuts off twice a day for six hour every time, phone customer service the they don't do anything. Back to square one. Again, I will strongly advise for peaceful life say no to BT services.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
An absolutely awful company!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
An absolutely awful company to deal with. I changed to them for their TV and broadband package only after they offered to buy out the remainder of my contract with my existing provider. On swapping, I found out that I was tied in to a contract with my previous provider, so I decided not to go ahead but after informing them they offered to buy out the remainder of the contract and sent confirmation to me that they would do this... then once they had taken over the supply they refused to credit my account. They are not replying to any of my emails now and they won't provide a reference number that I can give to Ofcom to take this further, as they are required to do. I will try to get what I can back from Ofcom but if that doesn't work I will just reclaim six months payments back, which is the maximum I can under the Direct Debit guarantee and walk away. DO NOT TRUST BT!!! Utterly useless!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Poor Internet and worse Customer Service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
The week before I reported my issue with BT on the 21st of May I was experiencing slow internet, and constant dropping of internet. The internet was dropping out of connection constantly, and when connected was very slow,
The dropping out meant that we could barely use the internet to do anything but browse at times.

After we finally reported the issue I encountered the worse customer service I have ever experienced. I first used the online BT Live Chat where I had been talking to technicians about my issues, and how to solve them. The problem was, the technicians were constantly closing the chat and ending the conversation before I got anywhere.

Eventually I get through to someone decent and have an engineer booked for the 22nd, which is great. But the engineer comes out and finds nothing wrong with the broadband in the house, and tells us to ring up BT and tell them this. We report this to BT and they tell us they will have ‘higher-ups’ look at the problem to try sort it out, after waiting two days. They tell us when they are going to ring, but it is a time we cannot do. But we cannot rearrange the call because texting is going to cost us money. So, we try to be free around the time, but cannot get to the phone after they ring twice. And tell us they will ring the next day. This time we can be at the phone, so on the call he tells us that the technicians are still looking into the problem.

Eventually, they agree to send out another technician and on the 30th of May, from 1pm – 6pm. They completely just miss this appointment and do not inform us of why. We then get a ring the next day to rebook the appointment on the 2nd of June, the engineer then comes in and finds three different faults with the hardware in the home. Which I don’t know how the first engineer didn’t find. So, after this terrible experience for a service we are currently paying for £70 a month for, and it not being usable for more than half the month, BT ring up to discuss compensation and offer £14 for the fault and another £5 on top as a goodwill gesture. This is an absolute joke of a refund, after nearly 3 weeks of unusable internet and then horrendous customer services £20 is nothing. We will certainly be looking to cancel our BT contract as soon as we can and would advise no-one else to get a contract with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Beware BT will never allow you to leave their contract!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I had been with BT for 5+ years (BT account no GB18305311). Their service was alright as long as you paid them. When I tried leaving them they threatened me with a £400 fine. I pleaded with them saying that the only reason I am leaving them is because their Internet broadband is very slow in my new property after I moved house. They refused to listen. They constantly threaten over the phone. I have now opened a case with the ombudsman. I have learnt that it takes 8 weeks before Ombudsman opens a case against BT so I am patiently waiting without giving up. I have since moved to Virgin and their internet connection is so fast! Wish I had moved away earlier.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
SLOW, EXPENSIVE AND RUBBISH
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Overpriced, overhyped and slow. At first (4 years ago) BT was an OK broadband provider. Speed was OK. As the years have gone on it has got increasingly slower and the customer services increasingly worse. I can hardly understand what they are saying.

I am now getting speeds of 4mbs, when I am told it should be 40mbs. They take me through the troubleshooting every single time, even though I have already memorised and taken all the steps before I call them. Then all they can offer is an engineer be sent round, at a cost of £100 if the fault is that of my own. I took this option, took the day off work and no one showed. When I spoke to them about it they never even had a record!

I have since decided to leave BT and start a broadband contract with Sky (who I know aren't the greatest - but surely cannot be worse). Fingers crossed I don't have to wait 20mins to download 50% of an episode of a boxset or watch the first 10minutes of a Netflix program in large pixels.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT are rubbish
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible - threatened me with credit blacklisting over a disputed £2 underpayment. Yes two pounds. Avoid avoid avoid
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Poor BT service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I tried for the last 2 days to place a fibre broadband talking to the sales team over the phone as well as doing it online. On all my attempts I was told either that it isn't available in my area or BT has a system issue with checking. Today I see that they have put the prices up. When again I did online chat as well as talking on the phone after being passed to 4 BT customer team members eventually I went to BT assist team and then told that I could have the fibre but need to pay the increased new price. Even though I have evidence to support (chat emails) that it was their system and online form issue stopped me from having it at lower price, the BT team wasn't interested listen and was more or less telling that it was my fault. My experience with BT on this occasion was terrible I won't recommend them for anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Mefedup
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This is the worst broadband ever!! I have no connection most of the time and the rare times it works, it barely allows us to have uninterrupted connection! Please avoid at all costs!!!!!!

Customer service is terrible. Every adviser I’ve spoken to just seems not to know what they are doing. I basically am tied down to an 18months contract for a service I’m not getting.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Nice!
  · 4 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
I do not understand, how people can give such negative opinions about BT. After a several years horror with TalkTalk, switched to BT, and what? Everything works fine and smooth. Expected arround 26-30 Mbs down, got 51 constant speed as promised for BT Infinity 52! It is now 20 days from switch date. So, I adviced my son in law to switch as well! He did it and what??? ...happy, speed as promised 51 on every test. Before switch I've got 10 to 16 from promised 76 Mbs. Disconnections twice a day, nightmare! TalkTalk always said and had an excuse, that this must have been a line problem, or router fault. Liars! This was a total waste of money and time with previous broadband provider, just excuses and apologies, never got a concrete advise! Call centre - rubbish, you are talking with Delhi. Chat rubbish, always problem to connect! At BT, you can do most things via www. They inform you via email, about every single issue. I do not glorify BT, but it is much better option, than TalkTalk and to be honest, other broadband providers, as I had to do with some of them earlier.
Was this review helpful to you?
kerry fletcherWait till you have a problem with your bill, not so keen to talk to you then, log every call how long you were on the phone and get the name of the person you are speaking with
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
5 routers later connection still drops

After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times.

I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue.

They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively.

Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 readers found the following review helpful
Very reluctant customer
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I switched my internet provider from Sky to BT two months ago and I have nothing but problems with the reliability of the connection and the service I receive. The internet connection drops out and I get very low speeds to the point where I cannot open a web page! In the 6 years with Sky I never had any problems with connection or any cause to call customer services.
Every time I contact BT they test the line and find no fault, they say the line is not dropping and fob me off with the same old things to try, on the last call I was told BT they will only guarantee a wired connection and told me to hard wire all of my devices or to look to change my provider. When I asked to leave my contract due to the issues I was told I would be charged. I am now trapped in a contract that does not deliver the service I need consistently.
BT customer service is very poor and they do not care about their customers and are only interested in fleecing them for the money. I do not write reviews normally but I felt compelled to write at my disgust at the way this company treats its customers.
Do not use BT for internet, if you have problems you will be on your own
Very reluctant customer
Was this review helpful to you?
LDTotally agree the same has happened to me and I regret leaving sky, counting down the months till i can leave BT never again!
Lorraine baldryI totally agree having same problem with but after 2 years of good service. They don’t want to know and just test the line and say it is my WiFi. But I use their WiFi just fob u off all the time. At least I am out of contract with them. Don’t understand why customer service is so bad. I have tested all my home I am sure it is external problem as it comes and goes but they won’t listen and want to charge high price for call out.
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Never had any issues
  · 4 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Whilst I can understand a lot of these negative reviewers are angry at the poor service they think they are receiving one does have to ask is a lot of it down to their own miscalculations and lack of actually understanding how some things work or what they actually asked for?

Frequently I see people moan about BB speed not being as advertised but very few remember that the speeds are "up to" which means you may get that speed but it's not certain, look closer at the terms and you will see there is actually a guaranteed minimum speed, that is what you should be expecting.

I will hazard a guess and say that most of the neg reviewers live in London or the London suburbs. Unfortunately that is a huge issue as the infrastructure in London has taken a real hammering over the last 20 years and BT struggle to maintain a solid network with all the red tape from borough councils to contend with, so you can blame local government for some of you BT woes what with all the building projects requiring complete re-routes of a lot of cabling and network substations/junction boxes.

As for me?

Always had top notch service, never less than promised or agreed, recently moved to a temp flat but BT transferred all my services within the week including all new cabling from the nearest telegraph pole (funny to see they still climb those things) to the flat wall up 3 storey's high and then all new cabling and sockets inside, all done for free and even got a credit back for the days I had no service whilst waiting.

Got a confirmation email AND a text the day before, then got a text on the morning saying engineer was en route to property then another text when he arrived outside.

I really don't know what went wrong with the other reviewers but I do know this much, a lot of the BT engineers in London are actually sub-contractors like Kelly Communications and they will frequently fail to deliver, however in Glasgow all BT engineers work for BT directly so maybe that's the difference?
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Very happy
  · 4 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Just to say, that I've moved to BT Infinity 1, from Talktalk 76 Mbs. Before move, upload: 8, download 16 Mbs, after upload 10, download 51! And TalkTalk always said that I've got a line issues. What a hypocrisy!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Exploitation of the elderly and a safeguarding issue of missold tariffs
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
If I could give this company 0 stars I would.
The treatment of my family has been absolutely diabolical. They have admitted time and time again that they missold policies to my elderly parents and yet months on, despite my efforts nothing has been resolved. My family live in a remote area and without landline communications, they are completely without any form of phone or internet. This is very distressing for elderly people as well as constant harassment from different departments of BT demanding bill payment, despite the complete admittance of fault from BT. As a medical professional, if this was a small company, this would be considered a safeguarding issue, exploiting elderly people. I am absolutely appalled. If only my family lived in an area where they could get Virgin service. If you can be with an alternative company to provide your communications then I urge you to do so. This is a large corporation taking advantage of the public. I would like to know how many other people have been missold tariffs and are in a similar situation.
Was this review helpful to you?
moggie63Trust me, you don't want Virgin either. I had nothing but problems almost from the word go.
4 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Do not do business with these criminals!
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Do not have anything to do with BT. I signed for broadband and phone in the middle of February, paying £200 in advance for the line rental. 3 days later after looking at some of these reviews I cancelled the deal. The money was repaid and I thought the account was closed. It was only when I received an email to give me a delivery date for my equipment that I became suspicious. I called and they agreed to close the account and said they couldn't stop the equipment arriving and would send a return kit to me to return the equipment.
Last week March 7th my wife told me that we had had £233 taken out of the account for the rental and 1st month payment. Obviously I called immediately to get it back and wanted to know why it had been taken out. They couldn't explain why this had happened but promised to have the money back to me by yesterday 13th March and that they would cancel the direct debit. The money did not arrive so I called today to be told that the money had been put in my account as a credit against future transactions. You can imagine my reaction to this! I demanded the immediate return of my money to be told that they could only send out a cheque within the next 7 working days because the direct debit had been cancelled (which century are they living in?) As offered to provide details of my account and sort code but the guy was adamant that they could only send a cheque. I will have effectively been out of pocket for 4 weeks by the time the cheque arrives and is cleared into my account(if indeed it is sent!) These guys are a bunch of criminals do not do business with them for you own sakes
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Poor service and customer service
  · 5 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Dire. Avoid. Internet down twice both times for a week and they blame the ports in the exchange both times. Twice booked engineer took time off and no one turned up, didnt even phone to say they couldnt come or the problem was resolved.

Really frustrated and disappointed in BT. Avoid if you can.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Worst internet provider ever!
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT should be ashamed of their customer service, it is beyond rubbish. They claim the service doesn't have problems on their systems check when you are experiencing drops. They don't acknowledge it, it is just plain simple the worst company I've ever dealt with in my life!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst company ever , BT
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Not sure why this company is still running, BT, the worst company ever existed. They called me the first day of my business and as fast as the sales person can say between the the lines she said 2 years contract and now I sold the business after 18 months they charge over £200 for cancellation. During my time with them I had such a difficult time as they created 2 lines instead of one and were charging for 2 lines, and when they wanted to close one line they stopped the service in my business for 5 days and that caused me over £1000 loss. They are the worst company ever existed, Try never ever work with them. Everyone should complain to OFCOM that this company goes under investigation.
Was this review helpful to you?
Scooby71Mate, you signed a contract for 24 months, and like ANY contract there are penalties for ending it early. People really need to read the terms and conditions of what they are signing.
Ignorance is not an excuse although most people nowadays would like it to be!
3 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Keep away
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I signed up for BT's highest package and they promised I’d be getting at least 56-80 mbps in my area. The first few days I got a good speed of about 70 mbps. But that was it. After a week the speed dropped from 70 to an awful 2 mbps.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Poor customer service and left at a big loss
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Not happy with this company, lost my Samsung galaxy 8 with my BT mobile sim contract inside as i used this sim with my handset witch did come from another network but used BT, when i lost my handset my insurance asked for proof of usage witch BT could not give me they had poor excuses to why they couldn't give this info witch i believe they should be as sim was used with that handset in question, i was told till blue in the face they could not provide proof of usage strangely, witch has now caused me big issues with getting my handset replaced by insurance no proof of usage no claim. so now im at a big loss of a £750 handset i cannot replace and stuck in a 2 year contract paying £44 a month with no handset, no thanks to BT mobile not providing the appropriate info for my insurance company, when i mentioned court action BT all of a sudden managed to produce documents out of the blue witch did not even gel with my claim, so i believe this is made up and it come across very suspicious i am now forced with having to take court action at a cost to me, as a autism suffer and suffer of Asperger's i found my ordeal very very frustrating and distressing i have been without a handset since Oct now while dealing with this and every day my mental health gets effected and now forced to buy out for a new handset. i believe BT mobile to be liable in this case and having to take them and others to court over this now, id stay well clear of BT for mobile phones they have a poor reaction to customers issues and cannot even do the simplest of things and unless you want to lose out i wouldnt even go there. not worth the stresses or action that has to be taken after dealing with them i also managed to gather over £50 worth of phone call charges to my home phone in relations to all contact to companies about issues revolving this. very upset customer and will never use BT again or advise people to go with them. I also had to go through the Ombudsman who sided with my insurance company and denied my claim due to no proof of usage so i feel BT are at fault and liable and act very suspiciously, i had to go through reconsideration with insurance and the ombudsman companies all to a fail due to one simple bit of info BT wont and say cannot provide. Soon as a sim is put in to a handset that network is aware and details are logged of this imei number and with that number states what phone is used so why they cannot do what other networks do is beyond me. I was also messed around with a £100 voucher at sign up and it was not fully Honoured and poor resolution to that too.
Was this review helpful to you?
Alex@Scooby71: I concur, sometimes you have to think for yourself and be proactive.
Scooby71This is a complete pack of lies, all you had to do was contact BT when you started using your sim to give them details of the handset being used.

You can also do this online, both my sons got BT sims and I entered the details of their handsets on my BT account page so now I get detailed usage data, can track the handsets and disable them if they were to get lost or stolen.

Another example of some entitled fool who wants to blame everyone else for his failure to deal with issues of his own creation!
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Bt is rubbish
  · 6 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Bt what utter rubbish on broadband. Left hand does not know what right hand is doing. If it was a criminal offence for poor service, they would be serving time for fraud
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Wouldn't touch bt with a bargepole rip off and poor service.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Paying for no internet service and rude customer service
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Complete loss of connection within weeks of signing up, which within days proved to be unreliable before eventually cut out completely. For 2 weeks we have been waiting for an engineer visit, making 3 appointments proving to be no shows. Total wait time for engineer visit 18 hours. When speaking to customer services, they are defensive, unable to provide answers as well as apparently incapable of making appointments for BT to commit to. Waste of time, waste of money. How is this experience acceptable? How are they allowing complete cut out of internet and 18 hour wait without an engineer visit? Most impolite and unprofessional internet and customer service. Cannot more readily urge others to NOT sign up to BT, they are most unreliable
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Hopeless waste of time.
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have now placed an order for fibre broadband with BT four times. The first two orders apparently didn't reach the engineers (I need fibre cable installing to my property). The only way I discovered this was because I called them to check on progress. The third attempt looked good, I received confirmation email almost immediately. Within 24 hours I then received another email saying the engineers needed to conduct a survey and therefore I had to change the installation date. Each application takes almost an hour, by then I had lost 3 hours of my life. So I cancelled.
As I can only get fibre cable to my property by applying through BT, I tried again yesterday; order placed after a mere 45 minutes! I have still to receive the confirmation email which I was assured would be with me almost immediately. I am therefore confident this fourth order is not progressing but can I be arsed to chase them yet again? No.
I'll stick with Talktalk and their abysmally slow broadband speed, but at least they are competent.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Usless broadband provider
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BT Broadband is always cutting out or very slow. Have phoned on numerous occasions over the last year. They say it will get sorted out and they will let me know. They never do. Last customer service adviser I talked to promised to escalate the problem to a higher level but when I called to check the progress as I hadn't heard anything they denied they had said this. When I said I was going to leave due to not having the issues sorted out The adviser informed me that I would be charged for leaving early. Do not use this provider they are terrible.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking customer service
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Up until last month I never had a problem with the company, then I had to move house. This is where all the problems started.
I moved End of December, to then get told I have to wait 24 days for an engineer to come out, so I booked the day off work and the day comes around for me to then look online to see they had cancelled my engineer. I contact them, they then re-schedule (so I had to take yet another UNPAID day off). There excuse was that they activated a line (which i never had). So the reschedule date was 2 days after. The engineer came, struggled to locate the ports, asked my partner where she thought it may be, drilled 2 massive holes straight through my wall, to figure that the ports wasn’t correct. (Partially filled them up).
Eventually the engineer located a smashed up port box, fitted a new one and connected everything up. But STILL the internet didn’t work, I contacted BT online support once a day for 3 days, each day they said they tried contacting me on my old number (which I updated 3 times)!!!! The last attempt they said they would call me within the next few hours - which they didn’t. Figures there is a network fault on their side. Too add onto it all they have put extra charges on my bill for internet that I’ve not been able to use! Oh and also, BT support needs fluent English speaking phone operators cause all 3 that dealt with my case didn’t have a clue what I was talking about (and apparently didn’t know how to update phone numbers)
If you want good customer service and problems to get solved quickly go somewhere else as British Telecoms are shocking!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Review your broadband provider

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
→ By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 23 Aug £18.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited £17.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 21 Aug £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.