BT Broadband

Switch to BT and get a free gift worth up to £249 Compare BT Broadband deals

Pick a BT gift worth up to £249

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

avatar
1.1 out of 5 from 158 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
7
1
13
122
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (155)
Broadband review by Alex
Alex
BT worst internet providers
7 hours ago.
Review
I have been a business customer for several years with BT and had the worst experience ever. For a few months I had one constant issue with BT business broadband in connecting to my card machine which is a lifeline to my business,a lot of customers do not carry cash,so after they dined and wanted to pay, they had to walk quite far to use an atm and a few times customers did not return to pay. I phoned BT faults department and they would take me through a few procedures to reset the connection and after a few attempts the fault re-emerged ‘Connection failed ‘. I contacted World Pay card machine provider and over the few months they changed the card machine twice in an attempt to see if it’s their machines are faulty. This was not the case and World Pay kept asking me to contact my internet provider (BT) I had enough of this constant issue that I decided to change internet provider and giving BT a months notice to terminate my contract. I was furious when I received my final bill payment and BT charging me an extra month for leaving, when I contacted BT about this they said there’s nothing they can do as they don’t have any record of any previous complaints. After wasting so much of time and effort to try to resolve the issue and to remain with BT this is what I get offered a £30 reduction, it’s an insult to all I have been through . I have never experienced such a bad level of service and this is a warning to all and specially businesses to keep their distance from BT.
I find it an irony that when one calls BT one is constantly reminded that the phone calls could be recorded for customer service.🙄
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Caitlin
Caitlin
Terrible customer service. They forgot to start our broadband service, twice!
9 days ago.
Review
Terrible experience.
We received our router and set it up but the service didn't start on the date promised. Many calls later we were told that they forgot to add our address to the system.

They cancelled our order and said that they would add it to our account again and start the service the next day.

This didn't happen. Weeks and many phone calls later they still haven't sorted out our internet. I have a BT Hub but no internet and the customer service is appalling..
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jose Faria
Jose Faria
BT Wi-fi
14 days ago.
Review
Very bad service The worst provider that you can ever get stay away from BT that’s my advice I would give -5
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by PowerRanger
PowerRanger
BT are about as useful
24 days ago.
Review
BT are about as useful, I've been with other's but BT kept charging us £100 a month and I kept complaining but they made out we was in debt when we clearly wasn't, so in the end I said they could get stuffed I told them I know other providers that charge a hell of a lot less we are with a provider now and all they charge is £82.50 and that's for everything and it's £17.50 cheaper per month.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dagmara
Dagmara
Horrible worse ever
1 months ago.
Review
Don’t buy! Nothing is worse then BT! It's so slow and makes me so angry! Nothing is worst then BT. My contract will finish soon never again!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by LB
LB
Terrible customer service
1 months ago.
Review
I had no end of problems dealing with customer service at this company, they make you offers they can't follow through on, even when you have it confirmed by email exactly what was agreed to in writing they won't honour it. Their staff are poorly trained and say they've done one thing and it ends up being another. Never have i had to waste so much time calling and correcting an nternet provider.
Glad to be done with them this month. Even my exiting I'm getting emails that don't apply to me. Train your staff properly and honour your agreements!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by 1997
1997
THE WORST COMPANY EVERY
1 months ago.
Review
BT are by far the worst company you can get. They lied to me made up a fake tape so they can try and get one over me. never go with bt!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by JAZ
JAZ
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING
1 months ago.
Review
It's been 4 weeks and still nothing. Business has been running 3 weeks without no service. Each adviser says different things each time. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING. 
NEVER AGAIN.
MY BUSINESS HAS GONE THROUGH SO MUCH LOSS BECAUSE OF ITS LIES
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Christine
Christine
Warning
1 months ago.
Review
I had trouble with e-mail as they said my security question was incorrect. I would have to be sent a password so I could then contact them to prove that I am who I say I am. Fair enough. They didn't warn me that it would take 7 days and I would be without my landline as there is no way they can enter the system. I pay my landline in advance and have not had e-mail for a fortnight or landline for a week. A lot of money to pay for no service.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Ali
Ali
BT Broadband needs to join EU
1 months ago.
Review
BT for Internet "British" Telecom is rubbish giving Brits a bad name. should be called Bogus Telecom
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT Broadband deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.