BT Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a BT broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review BT Broadband
1.4/5 from 79 users. ( 76 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.8/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.4/5)
  • Price (0.9/5)
  • Phone package options (1/5)
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Poor BT service
  · 6 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I tried for the last 2 days to place a fibre broadband talking to the sales team over the phone as well as doing it online. On all my attempts I was told either that it isn't available in my area or BT has a system issue with checking. Today I see that they have put the prices up. When again I did online chat as well as talking on the phone after being passed to 4 BT customer team members eventually I went to BT assist team and then told that I could have the fibre but need to pay the increased new price. Even though I have evidence to support (chat emails) that it was their system and online form issue stopped me from having it at lower price, the BT team wasn't interested listen and was more or less telling that it was my fault. My experience with BT on this occasion was terrible I won't recommend them for anyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Mefedup
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This is the worst broadband ever!! I have no connection most of the time and the rare times it works, it barely allows us to have uninterrupted connection! Please avoid at all costs!!!!!!

Customer service is terrible. Every adviser I’ve spoken to just seems not to know what they are doing. I basically am tied down to an 18months contract for a service I’m not getting.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Nice!
  · 13 days ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
I do not understand, how people can give such negative opinions about BT. After a several years horror with TalkTalk, switched to BT, and what? Everything works fine and smooth. Expected arround 26-30 Mbs down, got 51 constant speed as promised for BT Infinity 52! It is now 20 days from switch date. So, I adviced my son in law to switch as well! He did it and what??? ...happy, speed as promised 51 on every test. Before switch I've got 10 to 16 from promised 76 Mbs. Disconnections twice a day, nightmare! TalkTalk always said and had an excuse, that this must have been a line problem, or router fault. Liars! This was a total waste of money and time with previous broadband provider, just excuses and apologies, never got a concrete advise! Call centre - rubbish, you are talking with Delhi. Chat rubbish, always problem to connect! At BT, you can do most things via www. They inform you via email, about every single issue. I do not glorify BT, but it is much better option, than TalkTalk and to be honest, other broadband providers, as I had to do with some of them earlier.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops
  · 15 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
5 routers later connection still drops

After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times.

I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue.

They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively.

Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Very reluctant customer
  · 29 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I switched my internet provider from Sky to BT two months ago and I have nothing but problems with the reliability of the connection and the service I receive. The internet connection drops out and I get very low speeds to the point where I cannot open a web page! In the 6 years with Sky I never had any problems with connection or any cause to call customer services.
Every time I contact BT they test the line and find no fault, they say the line is not dropping and fob me off with the same old things to try, on the last call I was told BT they will only guarantee a wired connection and told me to hard wire all of my devices or to look to change my provider. When I asked to leave my contract due to the issues I was told I would be charged. I am now trapped in a contract that does not deliver the service I need consistently.
BT customer service is very poor and they do not care about their customers and are only interested in fleecing them for the money. I do not write reviews normally but I felt compelled to write at my disgust at the way this company treats its customers.
Do not use BT for internet, if you have problems you will be on your own
Very reluctant customer
Was this review helpful to you?
LDTotally agree the same has happened to me and I regret leaving sky, counting down the months till i can leave BT never again!
Lorraine baldryI totally agree having same problem with but after 2 years of good service. They don’t want to know and just test the line and say it is my WiFi. But I use their WiFi just fob u off all the time. At least I am out of contract with them. Don’t understand why customer service is so bad. I have tested all my home I am sure it is external problem as it comes and goes but they won’t listen and want to charge high price for call out.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Never had any issues
  · 1 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Whilst I can understand a lot of these negative reviewers are angry at the poor service they think they are receiving one does have to ask is a lot of it down to their own miscalculations and lack of actually understanding how some things work or what they actually asked for?

Frequently I see people moan about BB speed not being as advertised but very few remember that the speeds are "up to" which means you may get that speed but it's not certain, look closer at the terms and you will see there is actually a guaranteed minimum speed, that is what you should be expecting.

I will hazard a guess and say that most of the neg reviewers live in London or the London suburbs. Unfortunately that is a huge issue as the infrastructure in London has taken a real hammering over the last 20 years and BT struggle to maintain a solid network with all the red tape from borough councils to contend with, so you can blame local government for some of you BT woes what with all the building projects requiring complete re-routes of a lot of cabling and network substations/junction boxes.

As for me?

Always had top notch service, never less than promised or agreed, recently moved to a temp flat but BT transferred all my services within the week including all new cabling from the nearest telegraph pole (funny to see they still climb those things) to the flat wall up 3 storey's high and then all new cabling and sockets inside, all done for free and even got a credit back for the days I had no service whilst waiting.

Got a confirmation email AND a text the day before, then got a text on the morning saying engineer was en route to property then another text when he arrived outside.

I really don't know what went wrong with the other reviewers but I do know this much, a lot of the BT engineers in London are actually sub-contractors like Kelly Communications and they will frequently fail to deliver, however in Glasgow all BT engineers work for BT directly so maybe that's the difference?
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Very happy
  · 1 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Just to say, that I've moved to BT Infinity 1, from Talktalk 76 Mbs. Before move, upload: 8, download 16 Mbs, after upload 10, download 51! And TalkTalk always said that I've got a line issues. What a hypocrisy!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Exploitation of the elderly and a safeguarding issue of missold tariffs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
If I could give this company 0 stars I would.
The treatment of my family has been absolutely diabolical. They have admitted time and time again that they missold policies to my elderly parents and yet months on, despite my efforts nothing has been resolved. My family live in a remote area and without landline communications, they are completely without any form of phone or internet. This is very distressing for elderly people as well as constant harassment from different departments of BT demanding bill payment, despite the complete admittance of fault from BT. As a medical professional, if this was a small company, this would be considered a safeguarding issue, exploiting elderly people. I am absolutely appalled. If only my family lived in an area where they could get Virgin service. If you can be with an alternative company to provide your communications then I urge you to do so. This is a large corporation taking advantage of the public. I would like to know how many other people have been missold tariffs and are in a similar situation.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Do not do business with these criminals!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Do not have anything to do with BT. I signed for broadband and phone in the middle of February, paying £200 in advance for the line rental. 3 days later after looking at some of these reviews I cancelled the deal. The money was repaid and I thought the account was closed. It was only when I received an email to give me a delivery date for my equipment that I became suspicious. I called and they agreed to close the account and said they couldn't stop the equipment arriving and would send a return kit to me to return the equipment.
Last week March 7th my wife told me that we had had £233 taken out of the account for the rental and 1st month payment. Obviously I called immediately to get it back and wanted to know why it had been taken out. They couldn't explain why this had happened but promised to have the money back to me by yesterday 13th March and that they would cancel the direct debit. The money did not arrive so I called today to be told that the money had been put in my account as a credit against future transactions. You can imagine my reaction to this! I demanded the immediate return of my money to be told that they could only send out a cheque within the next 7 working days because the direct debit had been cancelled (which century are they living in?) As offered to provide details of my account and sort code but the guy was adamant that they could only send a cheque. I will have effectively been out of pocket for 4 weeks by the time the cheque arrives and is cleared into my account(if indeed it is sent!) These guys are a bunch of criminals do not do business with them for you own sakes
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Poor service and customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Dire. Avoid. Internet down twice both times for a week and they blame the ports in the exchange both times. Twice booked engineer took time off and no one turned up, didnt even phone to say they couldnt come or the problem was resolved.

Really frustrated and disappointed in BT. Avoid if you can.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Worst internet provider ever!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT should be ashamed of their customer service, it is beyond rubbish. They claim the service doesn't have problems on their systems check when you are experiencing drops. They don't acknowledge it, it is just plain simple the worst company I've ever dealt with in my life!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst company ever , BT
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Not sure why this company is still running, BT, the worst company ever existed. They called me the first day of my business and as fast as the sales person can say between the the lines she said 2 years contract and now I sold the business after 18 months they charge over £200 for cancellation. During my time with them I had such a difficult time as they created 2 lines instead of one and were charging for 2 lines, and when they wanted to close one line they stopped the service in my business for 5 days and that caused me over £1000 loss. They are the worst company ever existed, Try never ever work with them. Everyone should complain to OFCOM that this company goes under investigation.
Was this review helpful to you?
Scooby71Mate, you signed a contract for 24 months, and like ANY contract there are penalties for ending it early. People really need to read the terms and conditions of what they are signing.
Ignorance is not an excuse although most people nowadays would like it to be!
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Keep away
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I signed up for BT's highest package and they promised I’d be getting at least 56-80 mbps in my area. The first few days I got a good speed of about 70 mbps. But that was it. After a week the speed dropped from 70 to an awful 2 mbps.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Poor customer service and left at a big loss
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Not happy with this company, lost my Samsung galaxy 8 with my BT mobile sim contract inside as i used this sim with my handset witch did come from another network but used BT, when i lost my handset my insurance asked for proof of usage witch BT could not give me they had poor excuses to why they couldn't give this info witch i believe they should be as sim was used with that handset in question, i was told till blue in the face they could not provide proof of usage strangely, witch has now caused me big issues with getting my handset replaced by insurance no proof of usage no claim. so now im at a big loss of a £750 handset i cannot replace and stuck in a 2 year contract paying £44 a month with no handset, no thanks to BT mobile not providing the appropriate info for my insurance company, when i mentioned court action BT all of a sudden managed to produce documents out of the blue witch did not even gel with my claim, so i believe this is made up and it come across very suspicious i am now forced with having to take court action at a cost to me, as a autism suffer and suffer of Asperger's i found my ordeal very very frustrating and distressing i have been without a handset since Oct now while dealing with this and every day my mental health gets effected and now forced to buy out for a new handset. i believe BT mobile to be liable in this case and having to take them and others to court over this now, id stay well clear of BT for mobile phones they have a poor reaction to customers issues and cannot even do the simplest of things and unless you want to lose out i wouldnt even go there. not worth the stresses or action that has to be taken after dealing with them i also managed to gather over £50 worth of phone call charges to my home phone in relations to all contact to companies about issues revolving this. very upset customer and will never use BT again or advise people to go with them. I also had to go through the Ombudsman who sided with my insurance company and denied my claim due to no proof of usage so i feel BT are at fault and liable and act very suspiciously, i had to go through reconsideration with insurance and the ombudsman companies all to a fail due to one simple bit of info BT wont and say cannot provide. Soon as a sim is put in to a handset that network is aware and details are logged of this imei number and with that number states what phone is used so why they cannot do what other networks do is beyond me. I was also messed around with a £100 voucher at sign up and it was not fully Honoured and poor resolution to that too.
Was this review helpful to you?
Alex@Scooby71: I concur, sometimes you have to think for yourself and be proactive.
Scooby71This is a complete pack of lies, all you had to do was contact BT when you started using your sim to give them details of the handset being used.

You can also do this online, both my sons got BT sims and I entered the details of their handsets on my BT account page so now I get detailed usage data, can track the handsets and disable them if they were to get lost or stolen.

Another example of some entitled fool who wants to blame everyone else for his failure to deal with issues of his own creation!
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Bt is rubbish
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Bt what utter rubbish on broadband. Left hand does not know what right hand is doing. If it was a criminal offence for poor service, they would be serving time for fraud
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Wouldn't touch bt with a bargepole rip off and poor service.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Paying for no internet service and rude customer service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Complete loss of connection within weeks of signing up, which within days proved to be unreliable before eventually cut out completely. For 2 weeks we have been waiting for an engineer visit, making 3 appointments proving to be no shows. Total wait time for engineer visit 18 hours. When speaking to customer services, they are defensive, unable to provide answers as well as apparently incapable of making appointments for BT to commit to. Waste of time, waste of money. How is this experience acceptable? How are they allowing complete cut out of internet and 18 hour wait without an engineer visit? Most impolite and unprofessional internet and customer service. Cannot more readily urge others to NOT sign up to BT, they are most unreliable
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Hopeless waste of time.
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have now placed an order for fibre broadband with BT four times. The first two orders apparently didn't reach the engineers (I need fibre cable installing to my property). The only way I discovered this was because I called them to check on progress. The third attempt looked good, I received confirmation email almost immediately. Within 24 hours I then received another email saying the engineers needed to conduct a survey and therefore I had to change the installation date. Each application takes almost an hour, by then I had lost 3 hours of my life. So I cancelled.
As I can only get fibre cable to my property by applying through BT, I tried again yesterday; order placed after a mere 45 minutes! I have still to receive the confirmation email which I was assured would be with me almost immediately. I am therefore confident this fourth order is not progressing but can I be arsed to chase them yet again? No.
I'll stick with Talktalk and their abysmally slow broadband speed, but at least they are competent.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Usless broadband provider
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BT Broadband is always cutting out or very slow. Have phoned on numerous occasions over the last year. They say it will get sorted out and they will let me know. They never do. Last customer service adviser I talked to promised to escalate the problem to a higher level but when I called to check the progress as I hadn't heard anything they denied they had said this. When I said I was going to leave due to not having the issues sorted out The adviser informed me that I would be charged for leaving early. Do not use this provider they are terrible.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking customer service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Up until last month I never had a problem with the company, then I had to move house. This is where all the problems started.
I moved End of December, to then get told I have to wait 24 days for an engineer to come out, so I booked the day off work and the day comes around for me to then look online to see they had cancelled my engineer. I contact them, they then re-schedule (so I had to take yet another UNPAID day off). There excuse was that they activated a line (which i never had). So the reschedule date was 2 days after. The engineer came, struggled to locate the ports, asked my partner where she thought it may be, drilled 2 massive holes straight through my wall, to figure that the ports wasn’t correct. (Partially filled them up).
Eventually the engineer located a smashed up port box, fitted a new one and connected everything up. But STILL the internet didn’t work, I contacted BT online support once a day for 3 days, each day they said they tried contacting me on my old number (which I updated 3 times)!!!! The last attempt they said they would call me within the next few hours - which they didn’t. Figures there is a network fault on their side. Too add onto it all they have put extra charges on my bill for internet that I’ve not been able to use! Oh and also, BT support needs fluent English speaking phone operators cause all 3 that dealt with my case didn’t have a clue what I was talking about (and apparently didn’t know how to update phone numbers)
If you want good customer service and problems to get solved quickly go somewhere else as British Telecoms are shocking!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Price increases, hidden charges
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Price increases, hidden charges freebies quickly don't become free, avoid like the plaque.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Constantly increasing prices
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I started off an infinity contract with high hopes, However after a couple of months they added £6 to the price I contacted them and the assured me this was both ok and common practice, ?.
Apparently on the bottom of the adds it states "prices may change" at month 6 of my 18 month contract they increased it again,
To cut a long story short They locked me into an 18 month contract then continually increased the price with me being unable to do anything about it I was locked to BT and My only way out would be to pay the rest of the contract up front, By the end of the contract I was paying just £1 below the full price,
Be very careful they lock You in. Then rip You off,
The bargain ? price advertised on the TV is accurate for just a month really,
Awful company,
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Sub standard BT
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My standard BT broadband was very slow and constantly buffering, I contacted BT who said I need to up grade to infinity and I would get a minimum speed of 17 Mbps. Utter rubbish, the speed is less than 10 Mbps, BT have done several checks and tests and can't improve the speed. They will not reduce the price but said I can leave without a penalty, now I'm trying to switch provided BT want £330. They don't care at all about there customers, they only want their money. I can't and won't recommend BT to anyone as the service is terrible, their communication is terrible (apart from when they want your money), the attitude of some of their staff is terrible.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
BT Mobile Scam
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT say they will send you a text on your mobile when you are getting near your data limit, yet they are not checked until every 15 minutes so by the time you get that text you have gone over and they charge you. Been charged £5 before I even got the text message. Total scam as far as we are concerned and will be leaving. Be warned people, they like to take money for nothing.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Be warned!!!!!!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The worst customer service I have ever experienced! Issue with our business phone not receiving calls, now been going on for 15 days and no one seems to know why its broken. We have lost thousands in revenue due to no phone connection but BT really don't seem to care!! extremely incompetent is an understatement!! Plan on leaving as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Useless
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Customer support is based in India and offers no support.
Performance is OK when router is working but sadly needs rebooting every other day. The price has steadily risen without me knowing - I contacted them to complain about a charge that was 3 times what I was originally told and was passed to India where they just repeated the charge to me £70/month! Wow!!
The phone works.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Horrendous customer service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I reported a fault with my broadband (receiving 1mg instead of 55mg) on the 7th December. I was informed after at least 10 phone calls it was a fault at a substation and it would be fixed shortly, now we are at the 23rd December with no resolution, I have called at least 20 times not including 4 times today where I was promised a call from a senior manager none which were received. I have now made a further phone call and been told it has been passed to a case manager and someone will call me back within 48 hrs not including Christmas Day, I asked if they would give me a resolution date and they said no it will just be call to let me know who my case manager will be. I HAVE TO SAY BT OFFER THE WORSE customer service I have ever known.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid BT like the plague!
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Rubbish company. Utterly shafted us on connection. Received a text on two consecutive days to say broadband was being installed by midnight. Nada.
Rang up they'd lost the order, actually classified it as "fake". Had to reorder don't get broadband until the New Year now. No Netflix, iPads for the kids, Skype for the visiting in-laws over Xmas. BT's customer service utterly ineffective. AVOID AVOID AVOID!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Worst Experience with any Company (ever)
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worst experience with any company I think I’ve ever endured and I rarely complain about anything. I booked in to connect to a new property as I was moving, did this well in advance and was set with a connection date. Was asked to stay in between 8-1 on this date. So I stayed in and no one came between 8-1. Called half hour later to be told by engineer he was stuck on a job and it would be given to another engineer. In contact with BT on and off but not getting any definites. Original engineer turned up a couple of hours later and did something to the socket in the flat then went out to the box on the street. A couple of hours later come back in saying fault on line and while most of this sorted out, they needed access to a communal cupboard which I didn’t have access to so an appointment would be arranged. Heard nothing back again the next day so contacted and was told nothing had been arranged. They made arrangements while I was on phone to come back and told me explicitly that I didn’t need to be in, that they needed access to communal cupboard and this would be sorted by them. Come home to find a missed appointment card (I didn’t have a missed appointment) and called and was told I’d have active services by midnight. I tried explaining situation to be told that the line would be active and not to worry. The line was not active the next day. Called back and was told that an engineer needed access to the communal cupboard, I explained the situation (again) and so a date was set for a week despite me explaining my autistic son was staying for weekend and the issues this would cause. The advisor did send me money to pay for a mi-fi device but the data on this was eaten within a night. Today was the date the engineer was sorting out whatever needed sorting in the communal cupboard. Had a number of missed calls (I was in training) and when I called back engineer said he couldn’t access my flat. I explained (yet again) that I was not asked to be in the flat, that they just needed access to the cupboard to be told that there wasn’t an issue with anything in the cupboard, the fault was within the flat (that the first engineer had come in and apparently sorted). He said to call BT and rearrange another appointment. I contacted BT and while helpful and friendly, the customer service advisor told me they openreach had me down as missed appointments and as such the next appointment they would be able to set was for the 27th (it’s the 11th today). Despite my protests, explaining that none of this was my fault, she was unable to do anything about it.

The issue has been poor communication all the way through, and to be told I’m being noted as at fault when I’ve been told I don’t need to be at the flat for the appointment is just plain ridiculous. The only positives I can think of is that the customer advisors have been friendly enough but being friendly hasn’t got my service running.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Bt broadband
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely rubbish broadband. You would think a brand like bt would be decent quality but think again. Nowhere near the speed of sky or any of the other broadband providers I have tried on the same style package. It feels like I have taken a trip back to 2005 in terms of the speed. Not to mention the countless times it loses connection. They have the audacity to try and charge you a ridiculous fee to call out an engineer if they think the fault is yours and threaten you with this when you call them up.

Was a big mistake signing up for them.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Bad
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have recently joined with bt and my internet has not been working for 8 days now i have sat in my house between 8 and 1 for 3 days now waiting on an engineer and not one has turned up i am absolutely fuming as i have waisted 3 days on them and I am still not anywhere further on to why this has happened it is a joke !
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
great service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Just gone to B.T. after 3 years of hell with the Post Office, I can now use more than 1 computer, and watch catch up T.V.
I am more than happy with B.T. should have gone to B.T. when moved house 3 years ago
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
DO NOT USE BT
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Don't go with BT unless you want high blood pressure. They have to be the worst company out there. They don't listen and given they are a telecommunications company says it all. They do nothing to help you, try to fix problems or understand. I have spent 6 months trying to get them to fix my broadband and still nothing just test upon test upon test. Rubbish. They should be ashamed of what they offer and perhaps try looking at all the reviews site they all say the same
Was this review helpful to you?
chrisTry reading the reviews about the post office telecoms before you say B.T. is the worst, B.T. is far better than post office.
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Use a potato instead!
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Don't even bother!!! They have absolutely NO interest in their customers
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
BTTV+Broadband: You will be when you talk to customer service after office hours
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
POOR Quality. I am going to cancel it within 14 days. I never had experience like this before with SKY for 6 yrs.
Customer service from India has an attitude problem. BT got a customer service somewhere in slum place
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
BT worse service ever for Cloud Voice!!
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible customer service. Mis-sold us cloud voice and ignored my emails to cancel. 1 month still I have not had cloud training. Excuse was the trainer was away!! surely more than one trainer is hired by BT. Seriously the cloud voice sellers are only interested in the sale. They will ignore you after and show no care if you are happy or not. Plus lie and hype it up to you. Its a terrible phone system. Does not do simple things that our business needs and wants that we had on our old BT phones. Trainer has not still managed to get the right functions for us in place after a month. Terrible service and really dont understand what the big hype is about cloud voice. It means we have to do everything from the portal in addition to our jobs as this is how it works. I wish I never fell for their tricks. Anyone getting this please try another organisation if possible. BT Net who deal with loud migration and Fiber installation are the best teams. You would think being a telecommunications company they would have customer service on point with phone systems. NOPE!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Awful
  · 6 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Unhelpful customer service, unreasonable additional charges, terms not being made clear, keep away, I do not recommend at all.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 8 readers found the following review helpful
Sad to be leaving BT
  · 6 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Having read some of the reviews of BT I feel quite lucky since I have had no problems with their service or broadband.

However I am switching from BT because of cost. My initial 12 month deal was due to end and the new monthly cost was to be another £11 per month.

Having checked options I contacted BT Customer Retention team explained that I was not happy about the proposed new cost and planned to switch. (I didn't want to switch if I could avoid it).

This is when the lack of flexibility in what the staff could offer came to light. If I was a new customer there were all sorts of financial incentive's to switch to BT. I did note expect any of these but hoped they could get close to some of the offers that other ISP's had on the table.

Nothing the staff could do other than a token reduction (pennies) of my existing cost.

I feel sorry for the Customer Retention Team, I did not really want to switch but I am moving to a new provider.

BT are far too rigid a little flexibility and they could I am sure retain more customers instead of giving money away to attract new business.

A little bit of trepidation but lets see how it goes.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID BT LIKE THE PLAGUE
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Had a terrible time with BT and have been a loyal customer for years.

They offer such enticing deals to new customers "cash back cards!" & "free installation!" but when you end up out of contract and paying £40.99 for 12MB broadband and they offer you a subpar deal compared to new customers I thought it was time to leave. I made arrangements for NOW TV to take over the line and everything looked like it was working fine until I was informed by NOW TV that BT had cancelled the order mid process because I had asked them to...?!

Was then without broadband for 4 weeks and spent over 4 hours on the phone to BT to try get it fixed. 3 engineer visits later (first they sent a telephone engineer to fix a broadband fault, then they cancelled the engineer at 5.45pm when i was told to wait from between 1-6pm for the visit and finally on the third visit after 3 days off work and another 2 hours on the phone, they got it working again. FANTASTIC my 12MB overpriced broadband is up and running again.

So...

About 10 different BT representatives some of whom PROMISE to call back on XX day and never do or text saying will call in a few minutes AND NEVER DO.

Over four hours on the phone to BT via India, Cardiff, Newcastle you name the location... I've been on hold there. Being forced to listen to their infuriating on hold music.

3 engineer visits to fix the problem and THEY STILL cant tell me what the issue was. All the time they are direct debiting my account for more money.

The compensation?

£60...
£10 for each missed engineer £20 for not having broadband for a month and £20 as a "goodwill gesture"!

i'd love to leave them but i'am scared they will pull the plug and leave me without broadband again.

BT ARE TERRIBLE PLEASE AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible service
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Left bt some time ago. Now with another company. I have had no internet for a month now. Bt promised a number of dates to fix problem with phone and not delivered. Keep changing the date. No sign of any open reach vehicles in the area. Come on bt give better service all the money in the company and none of it benefiting your customers. The company i'm with now have been so helpful but are beholden to bt like everyone else.
Pull your finger out and start serving your customers.
Was this review helpful to you?
Jamie willowHi

Openreach are now a separate company to BT. Advisors try to fob you off saying that it's Bt engineers for an easier conversation. All providers have access to openreach portal, fault tracker and we can call and they will ask the provider.
Jamie willowHi, Openreach are no longer owned by BT, advisor try fob you off saying there nothing they can do they are BT engineers. This makes it an easier conversation for the advisor, but all providers have the same communication with openreach as BT do.

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*