BT Broadband

Up to £30 BT reward card + Get a Google Home speaker worth £129Compare BT Broadband deals

Get a Google Home speaker worth £129

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

1.1 out of 5 from 148 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
7
1
12
113
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (145)
Broadband review by Bigtez
Bigtez
I can only go by my experiences
12 hours ago.
Review
Firstly, angry people are much more likely to write reviews than happy ones who are getting what they wanted. In my experience BT have been fairly good (apart from getting the move date wrong leaving me with no connection for 2 weeks).

I have been a customer of theirs for several years, coming back to them after trying other suppliers. Whilst they are not perfect, over the last year I have had fibre speeds of 76 down 19 up on a constant basis. I must admit that I do not use their kit (hub etc) as there is much better on the market. On the odd occasion when there has been a problem the support has been reasonably good apart from them speaking to me as if I had never seen a computer (BSc, MSc in IT and 30 years experience in the industry) we have always managed to get it sorted.

So to conclude, BT are no better or worse than any other supplier and if you have a good ISP do not fall for offers, Stay with them.

Be careful out there.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Lucy
Lucy
BILL INCREASE FROM £30 TO OVER £300 NO NOTICE GIVEN
13 days ago.
Review
They sent a bill through which was 10 times larger with no notice. When I rang up they would not even allow me to put in a complaint as they said "no point we will just close it straight away" then put me on hold for over an hour. Not sure how this is legal, they treat you like they could not care less. Do yourself a favour and go with someone else.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Icy
Icy
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE
13 days ago.
Review
Speeds are terrible and im not the only one. I FEEL LIKE WE ARE GETTING RIPPED OFF. I hope this company genuinely gets sued for this.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Raymondo
Raymondo
Wish i could leave no star!
16 days ago.
Review
Wish i could leave no star!
BT conected my phone line and broadband and within 7 days they took my line for another client. I have phoned and phoned and phoned wasted my time talking to different people everytime and told they will phone back and never do, so i have to phone again. told me i would be back on in three to five days and still waiting, its appauling. I could rant on for several pages but its not worth it. They rate as the worst company in the UK. Any surprise.
Odd they never respond to all this slagging off!!?
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Melissa
Melissa
DON'T GO WITH BT
16 days ago.
Review
Worst provider I have come across EVER !!!! we have the same trouble every month and every time we think it's sorted that crop back up. The internet is shocking and we end up having to use 4G on mobiles most of the month. The bill is an absolute nightmare! we phone to pay every month and ask them to change the date of the direct debit, they have always said it's done and we have the same problem the month after and then we have to pay late charges. This month is the first time we have been told that the direct debit can not be changed and they have no record of us being told we can change it. Staff can be rude and the last conversation I had I told the lady I was thinking of leaving and she hung up on me.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Terry
Terry
Horrible company!!!
20 days ago.
Review
Disgusting service from this horrible company, we cancelled out contract after ripping my ritered mum off for years in November, they continued to take money out of the account for three months afterwards, complained to three customer services so called advisors and a month later still waiting for them to refund her money, can’t believe things are so bad they have to steal from pensioners. I have never received such shocking service and would never deal with this company in a million years. Stay away!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Ana
Ana
Crap
23 days ago.
Review
Worst internet ever, i hate it. Please close this shit forever. Can I vote -1 star?
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Gill
Gill
Appalling customer service and engineering support
26 days ago.
Review
Appalling customer service. Promised engineers, fobbed off and still have no internet over a week after the initial complaint. Very frustrating, time consuming. Avoid!
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Tamas
Tamas
very very bad
27 days ago.
Review
Customer service very poor.... nobody knows what they are doing.... no broadband for days.... never ever again... don't understand how they can exist. Why would anyone want this crap...
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by D Karia
D Karia
If you think Virgin are bad.....BT are worse
28 days ago.
Review
I got the BT ultrafast 2 £59.99 a month package via cashback site (£140 cashback). Fibre To The Premises (FTTP) installed on Friday 15th March.

Where to start?
I will say the speeds are amazing through wired connection and through wifi if you are in the same room as the hub. 280mbps+ which is great but the hub cant deliver the same speeds on wifi elsewhere in the house. Upstairs in a 3 bed 1930's house I get between 10mbps - 50mbps. Bear this in mind if you are deciding to take out a BT package. All of their guarantees go out the window when using wifi. The guarantee only covers wired connection.

I called around 4 times to see if they can help sort the issue but no one really knows what they are doing, they ask you to do basic tests and send you round from department to department with no help of fix at the end of going round in circles.
I then called to cancel my broadband as the service is extremely poor. I told the CS advisor to only cancel the broadband 4 times as I also have a phone line with them. Guess what the muppet went and did.....cancel my whole package. So I had to call back again and cancel the cancellation and wait 24 hours to cancel again.

I have also Virgin fibre broadband for 12 years and the service has quality has gone down hence me switching but it showed in comparison how bad BT actually are.

If you try and escalate a complaint it will go round in circles and no one will do anything. There is no where for you to go and no one can really help you.

The product has potential but their service has no chance. It is clear the service isnt going to get better any time soon. If anything it will continue to get worse. Be warned.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.