BT Broadband

Up to £80 Prepaid Mastercard when you join BT online+ £50 Marks & Spencer Voucher via this page

BT Smart Hub

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

168 customer reviews

1.1
165 reviews
Post review
  • 5
  • 7
  • 3
  • 13
  • 130
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    1.3/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Would not even give 1 star for customer service for time to fix issue
 · 6 days ago
Review
Engineer came and cut down line left hanging for 2 weeks. Left with no phone and broadband after many mobile calls finally got an engineer to come and attach line again. Very poor customer service at the call centre.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Terrible!
 · 11 days ago
Review
Why Even bother with BT. You could simply just save your money and go on a nice holiday and the internet would be better there. BT are literally terrible ripping us off and slow internet. They are liars saying Superfast internet. They also rob your money and you should go with a better supplier like sky or talk talk. Only good thing is they are quite friendly to talk to but that’s it.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
BT = Big Trouble
 · 15 days ago
Review
BT is the worst company I have met so far. I have been with BT since January and since the beginning, I have told BT to make sure if they can provide the service they were offering because I would need it. They kept saying that absolutely they could provide me and guarantee me a specific speed. Well, since January I complained as they never ever provided me with that speed that they said they would and that I was paying for. I spent so many hours to try to help them in solving the problems and having engineerings in and out, for absolutely nothing! Plus, they kept saying they would call me and they would not. I normally do not write reviews but this I really had.

BT the worst ever in service, price, and communication.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • faisal rashid 13 days ago
    worst customer service ever......false promises every time.......keep sending me Bill's for the tel line never been activated.........scale between 1 to 5.....I give 0.25........worst ever
The worst service provider I've ever experienced
 · 15 days ago
Review
We have never had a good experience with BT. Our line took over 2 weeks to activate, despite being purchased well in advance. We found the line to be unreliable at times, with variable download speeds. When we needed to relocate to another address over a year later, the online relocation webpage was not working so we spent over an hour on the phone trying to request a change of address. Towards the end of that we were given the wrong date for installation, and when we requested that this be changed we were told it cannot be rescheduled, that we would have to wait until the next day to cancel the order, and then wait another day before calling back to make another request to change address over the phone.

If a broadband provider takes 24 hours to process a request, and 3 days to change an appointment, imagine the poor quality of broadband and service they provide in general.

Interestingly, when we enquired about the complaints pathway, we were informed that BT would respond to a complaint after the line was installed, which would be 4 weeks from now, when we would be 3.5 weeks into a contract with another service provider.

If you choose BT... good luck!

  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
The worst service provider I've ever experienced
 · 15 days ago
Review
We have never had a good experience with BT. Our line took over 2 weeks to activate, despite being purchased well in advance. We found the line to be unreliable at times, with variable download speeds. When we needed to relocate to another address over a year later, the online relocation webpage was not working so we spent over an hour on the phone trying to request a change of address. Towards the end of that we were given the wrong date for installation, and when we requested that this be changed we were told it cannot be rescheduled, that we would have to wait until the next day to cancel the order, and then wait another day before calling back to make another request to change address over the phone.

If a broadband provider takes 24 hours to process a request, and 3 days to change an appointment, imagine the poor quality of broadband and service they provide in general.

Interestingly, when we enquired about the complaints pathway, we were informed that BT would respond to a complaint after the line was installed, which would be 4 weeks from now, when we would be 3.5 weeks into a contract with another service provider.

If you choose BT... good luck!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Bt problems
 · 1 month ago
Review
Worst company ever dealt with not getting service I paid for, take my advice stay well away
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Shocking service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Shocking from start to finish broadband issues from the start of the contract customer service is useless felt trapped for 18 months will never use again. No compensation as advertised
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Poor internet and service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Slow service and poor internet. I really don't like being a customer but I'm locked in because I need to pay them something like £250 because they 'own' the land lines in the area. Slow internet. My contract expired and over the next three months they charged me double form £32 to £65. Such attitude on the phone when I tried to apply for a rebate. Speaking over me. Then finally when I got the lady to take my complaint, she kept me on hold just out of spite.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • B whitton 1 month ago
    My super slow bt so called super fast. I complained and they sent me another hub today, Box not sealed looked like it had been kicked around ware house it would not connect to my smart plug. Fed up of being fobbed off by them they sell super fast that they know they can’t provide and they won’t invest in putting it right for customers.
The Curates Egg,
 · 1 month ago
Review
I have only ever used BT. The phone side is excellent. Customer service is as good as any. My only gripe is the price. It is 3 times dearer than other providers and for that reason I am contemplating to switch. The question is to where as most providers have good then poor reviews, Devil you know question
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    3.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    3.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful internet and full of scammers
 · 2 months ago
Review
BT is a big scam for your money, never ever get, they are HALF decent when you get them (no where near as close as they say they are as good as) and then the internet gets worse and worse and worse. They send a person round to “fix” the internet but he explains how he makes it slower yet this makes the internet even worse then it already is but consistently bad, they then ask you to pay £400 to get out of the contract even though they should be giving you a refund because the contract promised “unlimited fast internet” which this does not have at all, they are THE WORST AND SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN FOR GOOD!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT Broadband deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.