BT Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a BT broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review BT Broadband
1.3/5 from 57 users. ( 55 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.6/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.3/5)
  • Price (0.9/5)
  • Phone package options (0.9/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Constantly increasing prices
  · 3 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I started off an infinity contract with high hopes, However after a couple of months they added £6 to the price I contacted them and the assured me this was both ok and common practice, ?.
Apparently on the bottom of the adds it states "prices may change" at month 6 of my 18 month contract they increased it again,
To cut a long story short They locked me into an 18 month contract then continually increased the price with me being unable to do anything about it I was locked to BT and My only way out would be to pay the rest of the contract up front, By the end of the contract I was paying just £1 below the full price,
Be very careful they lock You in. Then rip You off,
The bargain ? price advertised on the TV is accurate for just a month really,
Awful company,
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Sub standard BT
  · 6 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My standard BT broadband was very slow and constantly buffering, I contacted BT who said I need to up grade to infinity and I would get a minimum speed of 17 Mbps. Utter rubbish, the speed is less than 10 Mbps, BT have done several checks and tests and can't improve the speed. They will not reduce the price but said I can leave without a penalty, now I'm trying to switch provided BT want £330. They don't care at all about there customers, they only want their money. I can't and won't recommend BT to anyone as the service is terrible, their communication is terrible (apart from when they want your money), the attitude of some of their staff is terrible.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
BT Mobile Scam
  · 17 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT say they will send you a text on your mobile when you are getting near your data limit, yet they are not checked until every 15 minutes so by the time you get that text you have gone over and they charge you. Been charged £5 before I even got the text message. Total scam as far as we are concerned and will be leaving. Be warned people, they like to take money for nothing.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Be warned!!!!!!
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The worst customer service I have ever experienced! Issue with our business phone not receiving calls, now been going on for 15 days and no one seems to know why its broken. We have lost thousands in revenue due to no phone connection but BT really don't seem to care!! extremely incompetent is an understatement!! Plan on leaving as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Useless
  · 25 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Customer support is based in India and offers no support.
Performance is OK when router is working but sadly needs rebooting every other day. The price has steadily risen without me knowing - I contacted them to complain about a charge that was 3 times what I was originally told and was passed to India where they just repeated the charge to me £70/month! Wow!!
The phone works.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Horrendous customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I reported a fault with my broadband (receiving 1mg instead of 55mg) on the 7th December. I was informed after at least 10 phone calls it was a fault at a substation and it would be fixed shortly, now we are at the 23rd December with no resolution, I have called at least 20 times not including 4 times today where I was promised a call from a senior manager none which were received. I have now made a further phone call and been told it has been passed to a case manager and someone will call me back within 48 hrs not including Christmas Day, I asked if they would give me a resolution date and they said no it will just be call to let me know who my case manager will be. I HAVE TO SAY BT OFFER THE WORSE customer service I have ever known.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid BT like the plague!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Rubbish company. Utterly shafted us on connection. Received a text on two consecutive days to say broadband was being installed by midnight. Nada.
Rang up they'd lost the order, actually classified it as "fake". Had to reorder don't get broadband until the New Year now. No Netflix, iPads for the kids, Skype for the visiting in-laws over Xmas. BT's customer service utterly ineffective. AVOID AVOID AVOID!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst Experience with any Company (ever)
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worst experience with any company I think I’ve ever endured and I rarely complain about anything. I booked in to connect to a new property as I was moving, did this well in advance and was set with a connection date. Was asked to stay in between 8-1 on this date. So I stayed in and no one came between 8-1. Called half hour later to be told by engineer he was stuck on a job and it would be given to another engineer. In contact with BT on and off but not getting any definites. Original engineer turned up a couple of hours later and did something to the socket in the flat then went out to the box on the street. A couple of hours later come back in saying fault on line and while most of this sorted out, they needed access to a communal cupboard which I didn’t have access to so an appointment would be arranged. Heard nothing back again the next day so contacted and was told nothing had been arranged. They made arrangements while I was on phone to come back and told me explicitly that I didn’t need to be in, that they needed access to communal cupboard and this would be sorted by them. Come home to find a missed appointment card (I didn’t have a missed appointment) and called and was told I’d have active services by midnight. I tried explaining situation to be told that the line would be active and not to worry. The line was not active the next day. Called back and was told that an engineer needed access to the communal cupboard, I explained the situation (again) and so a date was set for a week despite me explaining my autistic son was staying for weekend and the issues this would cause. The advisor did send me money to pay for a mi-fi device but the data on this was eaten within a night. Today was the date the engineer was sorting out whatever needed sorting in the communal cupboard. Had a number of missed calls (I was in training) and when I called back engineer said he couldn’t access my flat. I explained (yet again) that I was not asked to be in the flat, that they just needed access to the cupboard to be told that there wasn’t an issue with anything in the cupboard, the fault was within the flat (that the first engineer had come in and apparently sorted). He said to call BT and rearrange another appointment. I contacted BT and while helpful and friendly, the customer service advisor told me they openreach had me down as missed appointments and as such the next appointment they would be able to set was for the 27th (it’s the 11th today). Despite my protests, explaining that none of this was my fault, she was unable to do anything about it.

The issue has been poor communication all the way through, and to be told I’m being noted as at fault when I’ve been told I don’t need to be at the flat for the appointment is just plain ridiculous. The only positives I can think of is that the customer advisors have been friendly enough but being friendly hasn’t got my service running.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Bt broadband
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely rubbish broadband. You would think a brand like bt would be decent quality but think again. Nowhere near the speed of sky or any of the other broadband providers I have tried on the same style package. It feels like I have taken a trip back to 2005 in terms of the speed. Not to mention the countless times it loses connection. They have the audacity to try and charge you a ridiculous fee to call out an engineer if they think the fault is yours and threaten you with this when you call them up.

Was a big mistake signing up for them.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Bad
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have recently joined with bt and my internet has not been working for 8 days now i have sat in my house between 8 and 1 for 3 days now waiting on an engineer and not one has turned up i am absolutely fuming as i have waisted 3 days on them and I am still not anywhere further on to why this has happened it is a joke !
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
great service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Just gone to B.T. after 3 years of hell with the Post Office, I can now use more than 1 computer, and watch catch up T.V.
I am more than happy with B.T. should have gone to B.T. when moved house 3 years ago
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
DO NOT USE BT
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Don't go with BT unless you want high blood pressure. They have to be the worst company out there. They don't listen and given they are a telecommunications company says it all. They do nothing to help you, try to fix problems or understand. I have spent 6 months trying to get them to fix my broadband and still nothing just test upon test upon test. Rubbish. They should be ashamed of what they offer and perhaps try looking at all the reviews site they all say the same
Was this review helpful to you?
chrisTry reading the reviews about the post office telecoms before you say B.T. is the worst, B.T. is far better than post office.
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Use a potato instead!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Don't even bother!!! They have absolutely NO interest in their customers
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
BTTV+Broadband: You will be when you talk to customer service after office hours
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
POOR Quality. I am going to cancel it within 14 days. I never had experience like this before with SKY for 6 yrs.
Customer service from India has an attitude problem. BT got a customer service somewhere in slum place
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT worse service ever for Cloud Voice!!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible customer service. Mis-sold us cloud voice and ignored my emails to cancel. 1 month still I have not had cloud training. Excuse was the trainer was away!! surely more than one trainer is hired by BT. Seriously the cloud voice sellers are only interested in the sale. They will ignore you after and show no care if you are happy or not. Plus lie and hype it up to you. Its a terrible phone system. Does not do simple things that our business needs and wants that we had on our old BT phones. Trainer has not still managed to get the right functions for us in place after a month. Terrible service and really dont understand what the big hype is about cloud voice. It means we have to do everything from the portal in addition to our jobs as this is how it works. I wish I never fell for their tricks. Anyone getting this please try another organisation if possible. BT Net who deal with loud migration and Fiber installation are the best teams. You would think being a telecommunications company they would have customer service on point with phone systems. NOPE!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Awful
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Unhelpful customer service, unreasonable additional charges, terms not being made clear, keep away, I do not recommend at all.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Sad to be leaving BT
  · 3 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Having read some of the reviews of BT I feel quite lucky since I have had no problems with their service or broadband.

However I am switching from BT because of cost. My initial 12 month deal was due to end and the new monthly cost was to be another £11 per month.

Having checked options I contacted BT Customer Retention team explained that I was not happy about the proposed new cost and planned to switch. (I didn't want to switch if I could avoid it).

This is when the lack of flexibility in what the staff could offer came to light. If I was a new customer there were all sorts of financial incentive's to switch to BT. I did note expect any of these but hoped they could get close to some of the offers that other ISP's had on the table.

Nothing the staff could do other than a token reduction (pennies) of my existing cost.

I feel sorry for the Customer Retention Team, I did not really want to switch but I am moving to a new provider.

BT are far too rigid a little flexibility and they could I am sure retain more customers instead of giving money away to attract new business.

A little bit of trepidation but lets see how it goes.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID BT LIKE THE PLAGUE
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Had a terrible time with BT and have been a loyal customer for years.

They offer such enticing deals to new customers "cash back cards!" & "free installation!" but when you end up out of contract and paying £40.99 for 12MB broadband and they offer you a subpar deal compared to new customers I thought it was time to leave. I made arrangements for NOW TV to take over the line and everything looked like it was working fine until I was informed by NOW TV that BT had cancelled the order mid process because I had asked them to...?!

Was then without broadband for 4 weeks and spent over 4 hours on the phone to BT to try get it fixed. 3 engineer visits later (first they sent a telephone engineer to fix a broadband fault, then they cancelled the engineer at 5.45pm when i was told to wait from between 1-6pm for the visit and finally on the third visit after 3 days off work and another 2 hours on the phone, they got it working again. FANTASTIC my 12MB overpriced broadband is up and running again.

So...

About 10 different BT representatives some of whom PROMISE to call back on XX day and never do or text saying will call in a few minutes AND NEVER DO.

Over four hours on the phone to BT via India, Cardiff, Newcastle you name the location... I've been on hold there. Being forced to listen to their infuriating on hold music.

3 engineer visits to fix the problem and THEY STILL cant tell me what the issue was. All the time they are direct debiting my account for more money.

The compensation?

£60...
£10 for each missed engineer £20 for not having broadband for a month and £20 as a "goodwill gesture"!

i'd love to leave them but i'am scared they will pull the plug and leave me without broadband again.

BT ARE TERRIBLE PLEASE AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible service
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Left bt some time ago. Now with another company. I have had no internet for a month now. Bt promised a number of dates to fix problem with phone and not delivered. Keep changing the date. No sign of any open reach vehicles in the area. Come on bt give better service all the money in the company and none of it benefiting your customers. The company i'm with now have been so helpful but are beholden to bt like everyone else.
Pull your finger out and start serving your customers.
Was this review helpful to you?
Jamie willowHi

Openreach are now a separate company to BT. Advisors try to fob you off saying that it's Bt engineers for an easier conversation. All providers have access to openreach portal, fault tracker and we can call and they will ask the provider.
Jamie willowHi, Openreach are no longer owned by BT, advisor try fob you off saying there nothing they can do they are BT engineers. This makes it an easier conversation for the advisor, but all providers have the same communication with openreach as BT do.
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
No customer service care at all
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
No internet for over a month. Endless calls to BT and BT Openreach with same results - no one knows anything, no one can do anything, no one is trained enough, transferring calls to another person who as well don't know what to do or refuse to do anything. I have never ever been treated like this by anyone else but BT. For over a month! Their mistakes and no one want to correct it. Avoid! Unless you love to be stressed and completely ignored.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible customer service
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was hoping that by leaving a bad review BT might sit up and listen - but with so many terrible reviews they can't care at all. I've just spent ages on the phone again trying to get fibre optic installed in our home - and I could hear loads of other similar calls going on in the background. It actually made me feel sorry for their call teams. It must be soul destroying to work for such a poor customer service company. I ordered fibre optic in the beginning of July. The lady on the phone said it would be installed two weeks later and gave me a date and time - I stressed that I would have to take time off of work and get staff in, so would be costly to me. So I wanted to know someone would definitely turn up (having been let down so many times before by BT on our business line). Naturally nobody arrived - no phone call - only the equipment was delivered as promised. Numerous phone calls and ten weeks later I've just called them again. Two weeks after the promised return phone call from them that never happened. This time I have been told that there is a fault with two packages being on the account (one the old copper and one the new fibre) - but I should be pleased because I am only paying for one even though the fibre hasn't been installed. And this had stopped progression of the order?? What is a girl to do? All I want is to upgrade from copper to fibre, as all their adverts suggest. Our copper is well below the acceptable download/upload rates and frankly not worth a penny. But apparently that is our fault for living in a rural area. So, the outcome - a complaint has been raised (AGAIN), and the issue has been escalated (AGAIN). It is in their hands and they will be in touch within five working days apparently. Not holding my breath that a) we will get a call or b) it will be a call worth taking and anything has actually happened. If you can avoid using BT then I would strongly recommend you do!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Awful customer service !!!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I joined BT because they had an Infinity fiber deal. Before the end of the contract I had to change my address and called BT to transfer my broadband to the new address. They told me that at the new address I can't get Infinity fiber, although fiber was available at the new address, they just had two same flat numbers on their website and mixed the address up. They attracted me into a Copper Broadband contract with slow speeds, promising that when fiber will be available I will be upgraded with no extra cost. Now they want me to pay extra if I want Infinity Fiber. Had a lot of phone calls and chats with their customer service but they failed to solve my problem. You talk to them and then nothing happens, the problem persists. Once they trap you in a contract you are just a good cash machine for them. Unreliable broadband and service. And the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life. Never again BT. This is my experience with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Bad experience
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Can't wait to finish the contract, bad experience with customer service. The router is advertised as most powerful when it comes to signal but is the worst router I have ever had. Try to obtain the id and password to install my own router but the customer service failed to help me. We live in a flat and the signal can't travel from living room to my bedroom or my kid bedroom and let me tell you is not a huge apartment. The router resets at least 3 times per day and that in the middle of the move, very frustrating.
All in one bad experience with bt fiber.
Was this review helpful to you?
Jimmy fallosIn terms of signal bt can't guarantee Wi-Fi signal as too many variables in the home that could effect this. No matter what provider your with your going to get same signal issues, something in your home blocking signal. You can try WI FI extenders that would sort your issue. By are responsible from the pole to your house. In regards to dropping connection call bt and they will run a test, to save yourself the potential engineer charge do some socket test; first you need to identify what socket you have, if you have a adsl filter have a look at replacing this, you can also put it directly into the test socket to see if it's the front face plate. Once you do this you know that the connection has to be dropping from the line.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Very poor
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Poor service and even worse internet speeds. Regret changing from Sky. I'm sat here with 0.05 mbps when I used to get approximately 2.0 with Sky. Customer service in general is very poor and even have been cut off before as well as been patronised/cut up when speaking.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
The worst company ever
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BT are without a doubt the worst company I have ever dealt with. Some of their practises must be bordering on illegal. With so many tech companies out there you would be mad to deal with this company. If I could give a negative star rating, then it would be-10. They will never see another penny of my money or anyone connected to me. Vote with your wallet people.
Was this review helpful to you?
ChrisPhil, if you think B.T. are the worst, click on the link and look at Post Office telecom
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
There are no negative numbers on the ratings scale. Zero will have to do.
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Where to start...

The TL; DR:
- Misavertised product
- Poor to no connection
- Inability to fix recurring issues.
- Customer service that does everything it can to dissuade you from logging an issue

For those who want a more involved review:

When I signed up for BT Broadband, their website began by steering me towards their Infinity option (30 to 50mb at the time, I think). Then their scan told me I wasn't eligible. I ended up going with the standard broadband package, up to 17mb was the promised figure.
I later spoke with an engineer. He said there is no physical way I can ever get more than 3.

Less than two months after starting the contract I began to have connection issues. The speed would drop to less than half a mb, or would drop out altogether. Whenever I try to call, I am kept on hold for a minimum of 20 minutes, most often nearer an hour. In the first call, they tried to accuse me of badly wiring the phone lines in the house (i'd just moved in and I don't touch wiring) and said that if this was the case an engineer visit would cost £130.
A few words later, an engineer was booked without charge and he later found that the issue was due to a bad installation by the original installer prior to us moving in and due to the pole across the road being overrun with ivy and the box flooded. The engineer spent 2 hours cleaning the pole, fixing the issue.
Connection was fine (i.e. 2mb) for another few months, then started having similar issues. Phoned again, was left on hold again for ages, then they asked me to measure my broadband speed in about fifty different ways, all returning speeds between 0.5 and 0.7mb. They put me on hold for another ten minutes, then came back saying there was no problems on their end, but could I do another speed test. Suddenly, 2.3mb. Draw your own conclusions there.
I am now suffering these issues again, and to top it off they upped my bill three months ago (£33.99 to £41.99) without notifying me. Their excuse... "You would have received an email".
So... bad to unusable connection, poor customer service, a general inability to fix recurring problems and dodgy billing practices.

I am currently making arrangements to switch to Zen. If you like a stable connection and good customer service, then talk to a horse before trying BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Unreliable service and poor customer service
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Our broadband service has been consistently bad the entire length of our contract with BT both excruciatingly slow and intermittent every single day. Faults never get fully resolved and customer service doesn't help with the situation. When we eventually moved home and didn't want to take BT with us we had to pay out the rest of our contract even though they had not held up their end of the contract. So basically the only person in contract is you not BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Vulnerable customer left without phone for 11 weeks
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My elderly parents live in a remote house on an Island in Orkney, Scotland. They have been through a tortuous year with BT as their "service" provider.

They have now been completely without a landline or internet for 11 weeks, let alone any chance of broadband. My father has been building a new house over the past few years next to the original croft cottage he owns. In November 2016 he contacted BT to ask them to move the line from the old house to the new house and was told this could not be done until February 2017.

The phone line then developed a fault around December 2016/January 2017 time and an engineer was not sent out until February. The engineer repaired the fault but would not move the phone line.

My father phoned BT again to be told that the line would be moved on the 19th May.

At this point, the "executive complaints department" took over following a complaint. BT then came back saying that my parents would need to register the new house as a different address, despite it being literally next door to the original house. Cutting this part of the story short, the planning department at the council agreed that this was not necessary.

The BT engineer failed to turn up on the 19th May, and my parent's landline and internet were both completely cut off by BT on this date. Since then, there have been 4 more arranged dates on which engineers were supposed to turn up but have not done so, with no notice or explanation.

11 weeks after the phone was cut off and the best part of year since my father asked BT to move the line and he is no closer to getting it sorted. The "executive complaints department" has been phoning my father on his mobile regularly but does not seem to be able to tell them why the engineers have not kept to their appointments or when they will actually turn up to fix the problem.

My parents have also been in touch with the Ombudsmen, the local MP and the local newspaper and are no closer to getting a resolution, which is why I am posting on here on their behalf (they have no internet to do so themselves!)

BT has a Universal Service Obligation to provide all households in the UK with a landline, even in remote parts of the country, and they are certainly not fulfilling this.

To have a working phone is a lifeline on a remote island as the mobile signal is not always great. My Father is in his 70's and my mother, her late 60's and are currently without any reliable way to contact the emergency services (or anybody else).
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking, Rude, overpriced. Do not go with them.
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Shocking services. NEVER GO WITH THEM and I will never again go with them; you have lost a young life time customer because of your shocking service and thieving ways.

Problem 1) Got fibre to our property, was a significant charge which was fair enough as the property didn't previously have fibre. However the new BT Hub 5 was utterly useless, kept freezing, cutting out and resetting constantly when connected to 2 or more devices. We logged the problem 8 times with BT in several different mediums, over a 2 month period. This was stressful and as my job relied on internet. The only attempt to fix the problem was that they sent us 5 of the same hubs, which did not fix the problem and left more and more effort for us to set up and sort out. EVENTUALLY I bought my own router which solved the problem and BT offered only 1 month of compensation for this even though the router cost us over 2 months’ worth, it was ridiculous. Still we have issues with internet cutting out etc., i reported these but never got much response. APPALLING.

Problem 2) We were promised around £165 in vouchers for setting up an account, I logged on and attempted to claim these for months, even rang up twice about them, until one day I was told we didn't claim in the adequate amount of time, so not only were we denied the offer of this deal and this was the main reason that made them slightly cheaper than other providers, without this they became expensive and useless.

Problem 3) In dealing with the above two problems staff have been rude and incredibly unhelpful, they have incompetent software engineers, clearly as the hub has serious code flaws when connecting devices and some services on it were still under maintenance and being updated!!!! SHOCKING. Similarly I had to speak to often foreign call centres and iChat’s with staff who can't even spell graduate!!

Problem 4) When setting up my tariff I asked for it to be back dated so that it would be finished for when our tenancy ended, however now I have been told that we will be incurring another £31.00 disconnection charge for leaving regardless, even though only last week I'd been told that if the future tenants had taken up our line we wouldn't be charged, TURNS OUT THAT WAS RUBBISH AND I WAS LIED TOO.

I am so frustrated, tired from dealing with the problems and fed up with the last year’s services and I doubt this review will get any response from BT. However with any luck it will stop people making the same mistake I did. All in all I shall be going anywhere else for my next property, they were far better and ultimately cheaper taking into account all the hidden sneaky charges BT don't highlight when you enter into a deal with them. By BT I shall not miss you.
Yours sincerely, angry fed up customer.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID BT AT ALL COSTS
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Moved to BT and what a big mistake. Broadband speed went down to less than 1mb, Connection kept on dropping out, totally useless.... customer service is non existent, when you eventually get through to customer service they either put the phone down or cannot understand English and don't listen at all... also if your paying via direct debit they take double payments on various dates and when you come to the end of your contract they add charges to change provider. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND BT TO ANYONE AND WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN FOR ANY SERVICES
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Abysmal 3 Months
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Currently stuck with BT at the moment.

Was unfortunately lulled into a false sense of trust and security by one smooth experience with them in the past. This seems like a distant memory now after 3 months of beyond the worst imaginable customer service.

To elaborate on this just a little... our original order for TV and broadband was mysteriously cancelled by one of bt's own staff members and the same individual brazenly called us and suggested we had cancelled it until we were eventually told it was due to a 'supplier issue' and reorderd the package for us. There has been later suggestion that the offshore workers cancel orders and put new ones through in order to earn commission and simulate a sale that they have made... Only they did not put through a replica of the deal that we ordered. It was put through with none of the add ons, with 3 mysterious connection charges adding up to £169.99 (£100 more than the original order), a lower broadband speed than was offered at the time of the original order and at a higher rate of expense. The cancellation meant we had to wait longer for our internet services to be switched on and a lot longer for the TV package to be fixed. Three months down the line we further still don't have the free upgrade to the higher speed broadband package that was on offer when we placed the original order, we have now been declined cashback through a third party because the original order was cancelled and therefore not tracked (this is something that is no fault of our own but sees us £90 down - an incentive behind our choice taken away from us). All this doesn't even take into account the time that my partner and I have had to waste talking to bt representatives, incredibly disruptive to both work and free time. Representatives that call randomly (instead of ant previously agreed times) and make it incredibly difficult to get back in touch with them. I don't think any of them read the notes, we were constantly having to spend time re-explaining the complete mess they had made of it. Very few positives to be said for the process and absolutely no sign of an apology. Our open complaint seems to have now disappeared for a second time and there seems to be no level of accountability being taken - it's as if we are wasting their time.

To top this off, our broadband stopped working 6 days ago. We logged the issue with them and there was supposed to be a three day turnaround. What actually appears to have happened is they have closed the initial log as complete (pretending they met their SLA) and then re-logged the issue themselves at a later date... 6 days on we are still waiting with no internet and no contact from BT.

This really is only the key points and I think I could now spend weeks writing a book on the failings of BT.

I can't recommend due to their inability to provide a reliable service or react with any level of problem solving ability and customer care when things do go wrong. We still live in hope that they show us some respect and somehow turn it around.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worse than Trump's White House
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worse than terrible, BT is probably the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of trying to work with. British radio is wonderful, but three weeks disconnected from the outside world while being fed lies and rubbish nonsensical excuses by at least six incompetent BT staff as to why they couldn't connect my broadband was too much. Fortunately, Sky for tv was an absolute joy to work with and Zen for fibre broadband was equally uncomplicated. If the B in BT stands for British then they are a national disgrace.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Total Ca-yous
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Total Ca-yous Bombay BT was bad and an insult to paying customers intelligence, but I now believe the service has deteriorated even further. Had to stop standing order to stop bank raids each month as they found difficulty in deciphering there own contracts, waiting for the end of contract to get rid, only a few more weeks to go !!
'Unhappy Bunny'
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Don't go to BT!!!!
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Switched to BT in February. Wish I hadn't, pay top wack for broadband and it has been off more than it has worked. They now say I have a faulty hub so are sending me a new one, 2 weeks on and I still haven't received it. Tried to cancel my contract and told that I will have to pay.
They are sending me out another hub and then tried to charge me nearly £10 activation fee??? I paid this when I joined. And I have to wait 48 hours+ for the complaints department to ring me back. Probably very busy as their services is atrocious.
Pay £27 for sky sports package and only get 2 channels and then they send me an email saying they are putting it up by £6.50 a month!!! I dont think so. Cancelled it.
New hub supposed to be coming on Friday. Not holding my breath. Cant wait until February when I can cancel it.
Oh and no compensation for being without proper internet connection for nearly 2 weeks!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
People Beware BT
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
People beware, while their initial offer may seem great, they do not hesitate in increasing your monthly costs, give you terrible broadband service, take money for something you do not receive and then state you must renew your contract in order for you to continue the support on their equipment.

There are better services out there and would deter anyone from using BT. Too expensive, lie to the customers and basically steal money without consent.

Your choice, but please look at other reviewers, we cannot all be wrong can we?
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling Customer Service
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT avoid! Overpriced and appalling customer service!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Absolute scammers
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute scammers
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT Cease Charge
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Besides having Wi-Fi connectivity issues with this acclaimed BT Smart Hub 5 every now and then, making me pay an exit fee of £31 (You'll need to pay £31.00 for stopping your BT services. This includes: Charge for stopping your broadband - You'll need to pay about £31.00 for stopping your broadband. You can find out more about this at bt.com/ceasecharge) made me in the future to keep in mind things like this when selecting another supplier. These connection/disconnection charges are stupid. Sh!tty service everywhere. I really hope Virgin will cable more and more as they don't charge this stupid fee.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT Cloud voice issues
  · 7 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was encouraged to go to BT Cloud voice to improve my business telephony performance. DON'T DO IT! I have had six months of hell. Every phone call cuts off three seconds of the beginning of a conversation. This also happens when transferring calls. I have made 27 telephone calls reporting this and spent over 4 hours on the phone. The BT cloud voice team on two occasions told me i don't have an account! I am now taking legal action against, for misspelling.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
False advertising, worse service
  · 7 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
After seeing the advertisement with Ryan Reynolds getting wifi signal all over his house I thought BT would be good. They are not and on contacting them I was told that the advert was completely inaccurate. So I can not get access in my entire home. Its a small 3 bed detached.
I was told by the engineer to swap to wires in my master hub by removing the front cover. On doing this the insides fell out also.
I called bt as that should not happen as there should be clips holding it in.
BT said they can fix the box at a cost of £250. This was after hours of trying to talk on the online chat where they pass you from person to person and get you know where. Horrible company and I can't wait to be done with them.
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*