BT Broadband

Up to £140 Reward Card + Free access to over 5 million UK wi-fi hotspotsCompare BT Broadband deals

 

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

BT Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from BT broadband customers.

1.2 out of 5 from 119 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
6
1
8
89
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (116)
AGW
do bt abide by the new Ofcome scheme?
1 days ago.
Review
https://www.theguardian.com/money/2017/nov/10/broadband-landline-compensation-scheme-payouts

tell me why I have to accept a constant download speed of 29.3-29.5mb (should be 60-80mb) on BT FastBFII and constant downtime and a landline with no dial tone since sign-up only a few weeks ago! after an hour on the phone and its the same BS script about sending out an engineer - the same engineer fee as the previous supplier - the unscrupulous context of having to agree to their terms and to agree to their quote over the telephone. is this industry regulated. BS
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Rachel
Locked Phone
6 days ago.
Review
We have been with BT for years and have trouble throughout our experiences. Customer Service is a HUGE problem. Our latest frustration has been that recently I have moved away form BT mobile as our signal was really bad, my phone would say I had signal but friends and family repeatedly couldn't get through to me. Upon changing my number to another provider I discovered my phone, which had been paid for independently had been locked to BT. I have now been waiting 6 days for BT to unlock my number and have been phone less this entire time. I am frustrated firstly because the online chat forum required a number to contact me on despite me repeatedly stating that I had no phone because it had been locked without my knowledge. Secondly I am frustrated that a simple procedure has taken 6 days and counting. BT seem to have no control or inclination to hurry up with this procedure and meanwhile I am contactless and without a phone which is required for work purposes.

Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Max
A shower of onanists.
10 days ago.
Review
Nothing but problems with both broadband and mobile device. Always making excuses it's the SIM card..no...it isn't as I have changed SIM card TWICE in 1 year. Customer 'service' do me a favour...pay peanuts get monkies in fact monkies would be preferable to this shower of truths economists. Not sure where to go next not to be shafted as it's becoming very painful.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Gorseinon
great internet but expensive
24 days ago.
Review
Have been with BT for over two years and the service is always reliable with good speeds.Just wish it was cheaper. I pay £55 per month and it bugs me seeing all the offers available for new customers. No reward for loyalty
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Shel
Terrible customer journey is not worth the supposed 'saving' by switching
28 days ago.
Review
I am a new BT customer and have been plagued with lack of service, poor customer care and incorrect billing. The time spent trying to sort this out has cost me far more than any prospective savings from lower bills for the 18 month contract period and I wish I never switched.
It took BT over a month to connect me from the first visit. In that time BT closed tickets telling me the problem was solved yet I did not have the service I was being charged for. Just as I finally get sent an engineer that knew what he was doing and does connect me, I am incorrectly charged £130 for the engineer visit. This fee is only meant to apply where the fault is with the customer (either on their property or with their equipment). This was not the case with me and I was told by the engineer that the fault was further down the line.
I do not like the way BT assume the customer is in the wrong at every step of the way. I am complaining to get the matter rectified, but I bet there are many people who do not understand what they are being charged for and just pay the money. This has been a terrible customer journey. I do not only NOT RECOMMEND, I would actively say GO ANYWHERE ELSE!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
7 people found the following review helpful
Kat
BT
1 months ago.
Review
I'm totally lost for words, good thing I have a mobile bt on speed dial now, I have a fault on my phone line so no phone and the broadband is trickling in, three weeks of many calls open reach came out they have to dig the road up which will be another week, put complains into bt which they keep closing, how dare they, Ofcom is my next call on my mobile!!!
Overall satisfaction
6 people found the following review helpful
rigamortice
BT is awful
1 months ago.
Review
Complain to :-report telecom issues to Ofcom here: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/how-to-report-a-complaint
If Ofcom get enough complaints they may do something about BT's awful service.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
rigamortice
BT iss simply awful
1 months ago.
Review
I would strongly recommend that everyone changes to a different broadband supplier, It would seem to be the only way to make BT improve both its service and customer care service
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
73 people found the following review helpful
Mark
THIS COMPANY IS A DISGRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 months ago.
Review
After ordering bt broadband as i was trying to move from virgin i realised the broadband was no good as i need a fixed ip address and that bt provided revolving ip addresses.

I used the broadband 2-3 times just to set it up but as didn't start using it until 2 days after the 14 day cancellation they said i owe them around £400 to cancel.

Absolutely ridiculous amount of money for a service i only used to set it up. now they have passed the debt to a collection agency and added 25% so it is now £565.66.

i told them numerous times on the phone the service was unusable to me because the ip address was not static. if they had made this clear upfront i would never have ordered but doing so would probably mean less customers so the details were hidden away.

I sent all the equipment back with 7 days but they then added an equipment charge on top. I used the broadband to set up 1 pc and never used the phone line at all.

how can such a company that prides itself on being a family operator be such an aggressive, venal predator?

At some point there will be a debt collector at my door to take my possessions. all because i went 2 days over the 14 days because it was not straight-forward to switch from virgin to bt as i run a home office.

THIS COMPANY IS A DISGRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
233 people found the following review helpful
Paulo
Broadband and phone expensive useless
1 months ago.
Review
Internet and phone, from my own experience is just total wasting of money, I regretted make the contract start at £31....and after got into £34.....Don’t make a contract or deal with BT, customers services is just crap and unprofessional, unproductive. The services they provide is not good value and I’m sure you can find cheaper and better. They are very manipulative without having a clear payment at the end of the month. Also they don’t inform you about the price going up.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.