BT Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a BT broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review BT Broadband
Customer Reviews POST A REVIEW
1.4/5 from 41 users. ( 40 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.7/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.3/5)
  • Price (1/5)
  • Phone package options (1/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Awful
  · 3 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Unhelpful customer service, unreasonable additional charges, terms not being made clear, keep away, I do not recommend at all.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Sad to be leaving BT
  · 5 days ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Having read some of the reviews of BT I feel quite lucky since I have had no problems with their service or broadband.

However I am switching from BT because of cost. My initial 12 month deal was due to end and the new monthly cost was to be another £11 per month.

Having checked options I contacted BT Customer Retention team explained that I was not happy about the proposed new cost and planned to switch. (I didn't want to switch if I could avoid it).

This is when the lack of flexibility in what the staff could offer came to light. If I was a new customer there were all sorts of financial incentive's to switch to BT. I did note expect any of these but hoped they could get close to some of the offers that other ISP's had on the table.

Nothing the staff could do other than a token reduction (pennies) of my existing cost.

I feel sorry for the Customer Retention Team, I did not really want to switch but I am moving to a new provider.

BT are far too rigid a little flexibility and they could I am sure retain more customers instead of giving money away to attract new business.

A little bit of trepidation but lets see how it goes.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID BT LIKE THE PLAGUE
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Had a terrible time with BT and have been a loyal customer for years.

They offer such enticing deals to new customers "cash back cards!" & "free installation!" but when you end up out of contract and paying £40.99 for 12MB broadband and they offer you a subpar deal compared to new customers I thought it was time to leave. I made arrangements for NOW TV to take over the line and everything looked like it was working fine until I was informed by NOW TV that BT had cancelled the order mid process because I had asked them to...?!

Was then without broadband for 4 weeks and spent over 4 hours on the phone to BT to try get it fixed. 3 engineer visits later (first they sent a telephone engineer to fix a broadband fault, then they cancelled the engineer at 5.45pm when i was told to wait from between 1-6pm for the visit and finally on the third visit after 3 days off work and another 2 hours on the phone, they got it working again. FANTASTIC my 12MB overpriced broadband is up and running again.

So...

About 10 different BT representatives some of whom PROMISE to call back on XX day and never do or text saying will call in a few minutes AND NEVER DO.

Over four hours on the phone to BT via India, Cardiff, Newcastle you name the location... I've been on hold there. Being forced to listen to their infuriating on hold music.

3 engineer visits to fix the problem and THEY STILL cant tell me what the issue was. All the time they are direct debiting my account for more money.

The compensation?

£60...
£10 for each missed engineer £20 for not having broadband for a month and £20 as a "goodwill gesture"!

i'd love to leave them but i'am scared they will pull the plug and leave me without broadband again.

BT ARE TERRIBLE PLEASE AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible service
  · 21 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Left bt some time ago. Now with another company. I have had no internet for a month now. Bt promised a number of dates to fix problem with phone and not delivered. Keep changing the date. No sign of any open reach vehicles in the area. Come on bt give better service all the money in the company and none of it benefiting your customers. The company i'm with now have been so helpful but are beholden to bt like everyone else.
Pull your finger out and start serving your customers.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
No customer service care at all
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
No internet for over a month. Endless calls to BT and BT Openreach with same results - no one knows anything, no one can do anything, no one is trained enough, transferring calls to another person who as well don't know what to do or refuse to do anything. I have never ever been treated like this by anyone else but BT. For over a month! Their mistakes and no one want to correct it. Avoid! Unless you love to be stressed and completely ignored.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible customer service
  · 25 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was hoping that by leaving a bad review BT might sit up and listen - but with so many terrible reviews they can't care at all. I've just spent ages on the phone again trying to get fibre optic installed in our home - and I could hear loads of other similar calls going on in the background. It actually made me feel sorry for their call teams. It must be soul destroying to work for such a poor customer service company. I ordered fibre optic in the beginning of July. The lady on the phone said it would be installed two weeks later and gave me a date and time - I stressed that I would have to take time off of work and get staff in, so would be costly to me. So I wanted to know someone would definitely turn up (having been let down so many times before by BT on our business line). Naturally nobody arrived - no phone call - only the equipment was delivered as promised. Numerous phone calls and ten weeks later I've just called them again. Two weeks after the promised return phone call from them that never happened. This time I have been told that there is a fault with two packages being on the account (one the old copper and one the new fibre) - but I should be pleased because I am only paying for one even though the fibre hasn't been installed. And this had stopped progression of the order?? What is a girl to do? All I want is to upgrade from copper to fibre, as all their adverts suggest. Our copper is well below the acceptable download/upload rates and frankly not worth a penny. But apparently that is our fault for living in a rural area. So, the outcome - a complaint has been raised (AGAIN), and the issue has been escalated (AGAIN). It is in their hands and they will be in touch within five working days apparently. Not holding my breath that a) we will get a call or b) it will be a call worth taking and anything has actually happened. If you can avoid using BT then I would strongly recommend you do!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Awful customer service !!!
  · 27 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I joined BT because they had an Infinity fiber deal. Before the end of the contract I had to change my address and called BT to transfer my broadband to the new address. They told me that at the new address I can't get Infinity fiber, although fiber was available at the new address, they just had two same flat numbers on their website and mixed the address up. They attracted me into a Copper Broadband contract with slow speeds, promising that when fiber will be available I will be upgraded with no extra cost. Now they want me to pay extra if I want Infinity Fiber. Had a lot of phone calls and chats with their customer service but they failed to solve my problem. You talk to them and then nothing happens, the problem persists. Once they trap you in a contract you are just a good cash machine for them. Unreliable broadband and service. And the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life. Never again BT. This is my experience with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Bad experience
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Can't wait to finish the contract, bad experience with customer service. The router is advertised as most powerful when it comes to signal but is the worst router I have ever had. Try to obtain the id and password to install my own router but the customer service failed to help me. We live in a flat and the signal can't travel from living room to my bedroom or my kid bedroom and let me tell you is not a huge apartment. The router resets at least 3 times per day and that in the middle of the move, very frustrating.
All in one bad experience with bt fiber.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Very poor
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Poor service and even worse internet speeds. Regret changing from Sky. I'm sat here with 0.05 mbps when I used to get approximately 2.0 with Sky. Customer service in general is very poor and even have been cut off before as well as been patronised/cut up when speaking.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
The worst company ever
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BT are without a doubt the worst company I have ever dealt with. Some of their practises must be bordering on illegal. With so many tech companies out there you would be mad to deal with this company. If I could give a negative star rating, then it would be-10. They will never see another penny of my money or anyone connected to me. Vote with your wallet people.
Was this review helpful to you?
ChrisPhil, if you think B.T. are the worst, click on the link and look at Post Office telecom
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
There are no negative numbers on the ratings scale. Zero will have to do.
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Where to start...

The TL; DR:
- Misavertised product
- Poor to no connection
- Inability to fix recurring issues.
- Customer service that does everything it can to dissuade you from logging an issue

For those who want a more involved review:

When I signed up for BT Broadband, their website began by steering me towards their Infinity option (30 to 50mb at the time, I think). Then their scan told me I wasn't eligible. I ended up going with the standard broadband package, up to 17mb was the promised figure.
I later spoke with an engineer. He said there is no physical way I can ever get more than 3.

Less than two months after starting the contract I began to have connection issues. The speed would drop to less than half a mb, or would drop out altogether. Whenever I try to call, I am kept on hold for a minimum of 20 minutes, most often nearer an hour. In the first call, they tried to accuse me of badly wiring the phone lines in the house (i'd just moved in and I don't touch wiring) and said that if this was the case an engineer visit would cost £130.
A few words later, an engineer was booked without charge and he later found that the issue was due to a bad installation by the original installer prior to us moving in and due to the pole across the road being overrun with ivy and the box flooded. The engineer spent 2 hours cleaning the pole, fixing the issue.
Connection was fine (i.e. 2mb) for another few months, then started having similar issues. Phoned again, was left on hold again for ages, then they asked me to measure my broadband speed in about fifty different ways, all returning speeds between 0.5 and 0.7mb. They put me on hold for another ten minutes, then came back saying there was no problems on their end, but could I do another speed test. Suddenly, 2.3mb. Draw your own conclusions there.
I am now suffering these issues again, and to top it off they upped my bill three months ago (£33.99 to £41.99) without notifying me. Their excuse... "You would have received an email".
So... bad to unusable connection, poor customer service, a general inability to fix recurring problems and dodgy billing practices.

I am currently making arrangements to switch to Zen. If you like a stable connection and good customer service, then talk to a horse before trying BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Unreliable service and poor customer service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Our broadband service has been consistently bad the entire length of our contract with BT both excruciatingly slow and intermittent every single day. Faults never get fully resolved and customer service doesn't help with the situation. When we eventually moved home and didn't want to take BT with us we had to pay out the rest of our contract even though they had not held up their end of the contract. So basically the only person in contract is you not BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Vulnerable customer left without phone for 11 weeks
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My elderly parents live in a remote house on an Island in Orkney, Scotland. They have been through a tortuous year with BT as their "service" provider.

They have now been completely without a landline or internet for 11 weeks, let alone any chance of broadband. My father has been building a new house over the past few years next to the original croft cottage he owns. In November 2016 he contacted BT to ask them to move the line from the old house to the new house and was told this could not be done until February 2017.

The phone line then developed a fault around December 2016/January 2017 time and an engineer was not sent out until February. The engineer repaired the fault but would not move the phone line.

My father phoned BT again to be told that the line would be moved on the 19th May.

At this point, the "executive complaints department" took over following a complaint. BT then came back saying that my parents would need to register the new house as a different address, despite it being literally next door to the original house. Cutting this part of the story short, the planning department at the council agreed that this was not necessary.

The BT engineer failed to turn up on the 19th May, and my parent's landline and internet were both completely cut off by BT on this date. Since then, there have been 4 more arranged dates on which engineers were supposed to turn up but have not done so, with no notice or explanation.

11 weeks after the phone was cut off and the best part of year since my father asked BT to move the line and he is no closer to getting it sorted. The "executive complaints department" has been phoning my father on his mobile regularly but does not seem to be able to tell them why the engineers have not kept to their appointments or when they will actually turn up to fix the problem.

My parents have also been in touch with the Ombudsmen, the local MP and the local newspaper and are no closer to getting a resolution, which is why I am posting on here on their behalf (they have no internet to do so themselves!)

BT has a Universal Service Obligation to provide all households in the UK with a landline, even in remote parts of the country, and they are certainly not fulfilling this.

To have a working phone is a lifeline on a remote island as the mobile signal is not always great. My Father is in his 70's and my mother, her late 60's and are currently without any reliable way to contact the emergency services (or anybody else).
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking, Rude, overpriced. Do not go with them.
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Shocking services. NEVER GO WITH THEM and I will never again go with them; you have lost a young life time customer because of your shocking service and thieving ways.

Problem 1) Got fibre to our property, was a significant charge which was fair enough as the property didn't previously have fibre. However the new BT Hub 5 was utterly useless, kept freezing, cutting out and resetting constantly when connected to 2 or more devices. We logged the problem 8 times with BT in several different mediums, over a 2 month period. This was stressful and as my job relied on internet. The only attempt to fix the problem was that they sent us 5 of the same hubs, which did not fix the problem and left more and more effort for us to set up and sort out. EVENTUALLY I bought my own router which solved the problem and BT offered only 1 month of compensation for this even though the router cost us over 2 months’ worth, it was ridiculous. Still we have issues with internet cutting out etc., i reported these but never got much response. APPALLING.

Problem 2) We were promised around £165 in vouchers for setting up an account, I logged on and attempted to claim these for months, even rang up twice about them, until one day I was told we didn't claim in the adequate amount of time, so not only were we denied the offer of this deal and this was the main reason that made them slightly cheaper than other providers, without this they became expensive and useless.

Problem 3) In dealing with the above two problems staff have been rude and incredibly unhelpful, they have incompetent software engineers, clearly as the hub has serious code flaws when connecting devices and some services on it were still under maintenance and being updated!!!! SHOCKING. Similarly I had to speak to often foreign call centres and iChat’s with staff who can't even spell graduate!!

Problem 4) When setting up my tariff I asked for it to be back dated so that it would be finished for when our tenancy ended, however now I have been told that we will be incurring another £31.00 disconnection charge for leaving regardless, even though only last week I'd been told that if the future tenants had taken up our line we wouldn't be charged, TURNS OUT THAT WAS RUBBISH AND I WAS LIED TOO.

I am so frustrated, tired from dealing with the problems and fed up with the last year’s services and I doubt this review will get any response from BT. However with any luck it will stop people making the same mistake I did. All in all I shall be going anywhere else for my next property, they were far better and ultimately cheaper taking into account all the hidden sneaky charges BT don't highlight when you enter into a deal with them. By BT I shall not miss you.
Yours sincerely, angry fed up customer.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID BT AT ALL COSTS
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Moved to BT and what a big mistake. Broadband speed went down to less than 1mb, Connection kept on dropping out, totally useless.... customer service is non existent, when you eventually get through to customer service they either put the phone down or cannot understand English and don't listen at all... also if your paying via direct debit they take double payments on various dates and when you come to the end of your contract they add charges to change provider. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND BT TO ANYONE AND WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN FOR ANY SERVICES
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Abysmal 3 Months
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Currently stuck with BT at the moment.

Was unfortunately lulled into a false sense of trust and security by one smooth experience with them in the past. This seems like a distant memory now after 3 months of beyond the worst imaginable customer service.

To elaborate on this just a little... our original order for TV and broadband was mysteriously cancelled by one of bt's own staff members and the same individual brazenly called us and suggested we had cancelled it until we were eventually told it was due to a 'supplier issue' and reorderd the package for us. There has been later suggestion that the offshore workers cancel orders and put new ones through in order to earn commission and simulate a sale that they have made... Only they did not put through a replica of the deal that we ordered. It was put through with none of the add ons, with 3 mysterious connection charges adding up to £169.99 (£100 more than the original order), a lower broadband speed than was offered at the time of the original order and at a higher rate of expense. The cancellation meant we had to wait longer for our internet services to be switched on and a lot longer for the TV package to be fixed. Three months down the line we further still don't have the free upgrade to the higher speed broadband package that was on offer when we placed the original order, we have now been declined cashback through a third party because the original order was cancelled and therefore not tracked (this is something that is no fault of our own but sees us £90 down - an incentive behind our choice taken away from us). All this doesn't even take into account the time that my partner and I have had to waste talking to bt representatives, incredibly disruptive to both work and free time. Representatives that call randomly (instead of ant previously agreed times) and make it incredibly difficult to get back in touch with them. I don't think any of them read the notes, we were constantly having to spend time re-explaining the complete mess they had made of it. Very few positives to be said for the process and absolutely no sign of an apology. Our open complaint seems to have now disappeared for a second time and there seems to be no level of accountability being taken - it's as if we are wasting their time.

To top this off, our broadband stopped working 6 days ago. We logged the issue with them and there was supposed to be a three day turnaround. What actually appears to have happened is they have closed the initial log as complete (pretending they met their SLA) and then re-logged the issue themselves at a later date... 6 days on we are still waiting with no internet and no contact from BT.

This really is only the key points and I think I could now spend weeks writing a book on the failings of BT.

I can't recommend due to their inability to provide a reliable service or react with any level of problem solving ability and customer care when things do go wrong. We still live in hope that they show us some respect and somehow turn it around.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Worse than Trump's White House
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worse than terrible, BT is probably the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of trying to work with. British radio is wonderful, but three weeks disconnected from the outside world while being fed lies and rubbish nonsensical excuses by at least six incompetent BT staff as to why they couldn't connect my broadband was too much. Fortunately, Sky for tv was an absolute joy to work with and Zen for fibre broadband was equally uncomplicated. If the B in BT stands for British then they are a national disgrace.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Total Ca-yous
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Total Ca-yous Bombay BT was bad and an insult to paying customers intelligence, but I now believe the service has deteriorated even further. Had to stop standing order to stop bank raids each month as they found difficulty in deciphering there own contracts, waiting for the end of contract to get rid, only a few more weeks to go !!
'Unhappy Bunny'
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Don't go to BT!!!!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Switched to BT in February. Wish I hadn't, pay top wack for broadband and it has been off more than it has worked. They now say I have a faulty hub so are sending me a new one, 2 weeks on and I still haven't received it. Tried to cancel my contract and told that I will have to pay.
They are sending me out another hub and then tried to charge me nearly £10 activation fee??? I paid this when I joined. And I have to wait 48 hours+ for the complaints department to ring me back. Probably very busy as their services is atrocious.
Pay £27 for sky sports package and only get 2 channels and then they send me an email saying they are putting it up by £6.50 a month!!! I dont think so. Cancelled it.
New hub supposed to be coming on Friday. Not holding my breath. Cant wait until February when I can cancel it.
Oh and no compensation for being without proper internet connection for nearly 2 weeks!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
People Beware BT
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
People beware, while their initial offer may seem great, they do not hesitate in increasing your monthly costs, give you terrible broadband service, take money for something you do not receive and then state you must renew your contract in order for you to continue the support on their equipment.

There are better services out there and would deter anyone from using BT. Too expensive, lie to the customers and basically steal money without consent.

Your choice, but please look at other reviewers, we cannot all be wrong can we?
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling Customer Service
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT avoid! Overpriced and appalling customer service!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Absolute scammers
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute scammers
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
BT Cease Charge
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Besides having Wi-Fi connectivity issues with this acclaimed BT Smart Hub 5 every now and then, making me pay an exit fee of £31 (You'll need to pay £31.00 for stopping your BT services. This includes: Charge for stopping your broadband - You'll need to pay about £31.00 for stopping your broadband. You can find out more about this at bt.com/ceasecharge) made me in the future to keep in mind things like this when selecting another supplier. These connection/disconnection charges are stupid. Sh!tty service everywhere. I really hope Virgin will cable more and more as they don't charge this stupid fee.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
BT Cloud voice issues
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was encouraged to go to BT Cloud voice to improve my business telephony performance. DON'T DO IT! I have had six months of hell. Every phone call cuts off three seconds of the beginning of a conversation. This also happens when transferring calls. I have made 27 telephone calls reporting this and spent over 4 hours on the phone. The BT cloud voice team on two occasions told me i don't have an account! I am now taking legal action against, for misspelling.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
False advertising, worse service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
After seeing the advertisement with Ryan Reynolds getting wifi signal all over his house I thought BT would be good. They are not and on contacting them I was told that the advert was completely inaccurate. So I can not get access in my entire home. Its a small 3 bed detached.
I was told by the engineer to swap to wires in my master hub by removing the front cover. On doing this the insides fell out also.
I called bt as that should not happen as there should be clips holding it in.
BT said they can fix the box at a cost of £250. This was after hours of trying to talk on the online chat where they pass you from person to person and get you know where. Horrible company and I can't wait to be done with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Poor service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Bt service is very bad service
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Dreadful/Non-Existant Service from Customer Complaints Department
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
When BT increased my broadband and unlimited call charges without informing me first I rang their Call Centre and asked on what authority they had to make this change. They said they had sent me an E mail for which I had no record of receiving. I asked for a copy which they couldn't provide. As they were unable or unwilling to reverse the increased charges I asked for compensation. This is where the fun starts! After 9 separate promises for someone, presumably from their so called Customer Review Department and hours of my time explaining my issue to their Call Centre Staff I eventually received an Email asking me to accept compensation. After a week and leaving countless voice messages no one has replied. When you ring the Call Centre you are told you cannot not speak to their Customer Review Team directly. When you ring the Customer Review Service (sic) on the Tel No provided you always get a voice message to leave a message and someone will ring back-no one does! I was left with no option but to write them an old fashioned letter. After nearly 6 weeks after registering my complaint I am still unable to get anyone to contact me I am going to the Financial Ombudsman in disgust. They call themselves BT, the 'T' stands for telecommunications! - what went wrong?
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
bt upload speed better than virgin media
  · 4 months ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Switched from virgin media to bt because of terrible upload speeds with virgin media. BT is rocksolid and so much better for gaming upload. The switch over was easy, the only downside is not having cable tv. But it was something that I never used so guess it will not be missed time will tell... `It's also much cheaper
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
BT are awful
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Whatever you do, do not switch to BT. I was given a date of 4th may for my broadband activation and got given excuse after excuse for so many delays. Did not get connected until 4 weeks later on 1st June. Customer service has been poor, I have been passed from adviser to adviser, no one ever calls me, I have to do the chasing of updates and no one ever advise you on what the customer complaints process is. They just try to palm you off all the time. Avoid BT like the plague.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Customer service is laughable.
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I ordered phone line and broadband with BT and BT OpenReach installed my services yesterday, but I have no broadband. After 6 hours on the phone I have been given an other 48 to 72 hours for it to be fixed. Absolutely terrible service and the customer service is laughable.


Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Laurence Watermeyer
  · 6 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely appalling customer service. If you move address good luck. As someone had taken over my old landline I had to create a new order. This kept being cancelled without informing me and dates kept being pushed back. I only discovered this each time when I called up. Most call centre operators so so rude. Also overcharge and then have no record of it. I'm usually pretty laid back. First time I have ever made a complaint like this in my 35 years. Avoid BT like the plague. I'm going to Virgin. Good riddance BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpfulJayne Stokes
  · 9 months ago.
Avoid poorest customer services ever experienced. Going to Virgin goodbye BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
Bogdan Popescuand me to SKY until Virgin cables my street.
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
India Lopez
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
AVOID AVOID AVOID: With respect their Indian advisers often speak very good English and are very polite nice people but they don't listen you have more luck talking to a dead dog! They get everything wrong. Charge you the wrong amount. Can't fix faults communication between the UK and India is very poor almost non existent. BT in the uk express they have no responsibility for employees that are not in the UK. B.T in the UK cannot monitor any goings on with staff abroad! They write incorrect accounts of discussions about account changes and personal details. They don't always tell the truth and they are constantly wanting to argue about everything! It's impossible to have a civil conversation a lot of the time. They kept giving me Indian names like Mr Vikram and Mr Patel!. NO:1 I'm British NO 2 I'm a woman and I'm a miss! After that they still called me Mr! They argued with me over my date of birth they argued with me over my postcode told me that wasn't my postcode. It is because I live there I should know! Then they argued with me over my name because they can't pronounce it so they left out the last letter! I got so frustrated I never rang again and moved provider. Try explaining this to them they just don't understand! .No offense as their English was excellent but even if it is they are still completely useless as a company and employ people who just can't be bothered!'
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Neil Gundry
  · 3 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
My broadband speed has been slowly dropping over a two week period when it eventually reached an irritating 1.5Gb download speed I contacted BT. They agreed to send an engineer out to take a look after a day of head scratching and swapping our phone line to an new one in the exchange the speed reached 3.5Gb still slower than our old average. The frustrating thing is the BT home hub reports that it is receiving a connection speed of 6Gb but the computer only reports 3.5Gb. After another call to BT a second engineer was sent out. More head scratching as his test equipment and the home hub is still reporting a possible speed of 6GB. He resorted in calling the BT help line and asked for the 'B-RAS' to be reset. Apparently this is what restricts the home hub speed. The effect was instant and we can now receive 6Gb. Faster than we have had in the passed. Overall the BT engineers were very pleasant and still think BT are the best! I would shudder to think how this would have been resolved if I was with my old provider TalkTalk.'
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Jay B
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Have had problems since getting Broadband years ago. BT helpline don't help and I can't understand some of them. Now in bitter dispute over charges. AND they're expensive. Is there a decent provider out there?
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Jamie
  · 3 years ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Just had BT infinity installed - OMG. Fabulous!! Bye Bye talktalk HELLO BT.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpfulGUEST
  · 5 years ago.
It is not necessary typically you plug your ADSL filter into your master socket. Achieve the same effect by removing the 3rd "pin" from your ADSL filter.. (1 is adjacent to the wedge side and typically 1 is not fitted) all you need is a small electricians screwdriver push on the edge of the little gold sliver which will pop out. Refit filter 'done'
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Noisy phone line
  · 5 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The phone line is noisy - the broadband connection closes down frequently. BT insist there is no problem so I can only assume they are incapable / unwilling to help. The noisy line means that Sky won't work either so I am looking at a cable connection to bypass the phone line.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
GUEST
  · 7 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
BT also call it a Broadband Accelerator same thing as an iplate
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
ROB P
  · 7 years ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Thought that I would share some wisdom - If you are a BT customer you can get a device called an I-Plate from them free of charge. You attach it to your BT master socket and it increases your broadband speed (we got just over 1Mb more - not to be sniffed at). Otherwise customer Service hit and miss (think Indian call centre) but no major issues to report. Search for i-plate on BT's website
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*