John Lewis Broadband

Free Google Home Hub with John Lewis Broadband Compare John Lewis Broadband deals

John Lewis broadband - Google Home Hub offer

John Lewis Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest John Lewis broadband reviews.

9 customer reviews

2.0
9 reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5
  • Package price
    2.8/5
  • Customer service
    2.4/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.2/5
Positive John Lewis broadband review
 · 4 days ago
Review
John Lewis broadband deserve a positive review, my parents use them and never have any problems. This is who I will be switching to when my contract expires next month.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Avoid like the plague
 · 14 days ago
Review
Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

The worst broadband quality and poorest service I’ve ever encountered.

Service just cut out endlessly every day.. Spent 4 months trying to rectify by speaking with technical support. 8 different people suggested 8 alternative ‘fixes’. None worked. Am currently in process of transferring.

Relative also experiencing similar pitifully slow interrupted broadband. Have terminated contract and despite JL agreeing on the phone to waive the early termination fee, they’ve immediately written to an 81 year old lady demanding early closure fees.

By the way JL broadband is just Plusnet with JL fronting it

They are the worst company I’ve ever had the misfortune to deal with a recommend to avoid like the plague
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Don't waste your time
 · 27 days ago
Review
Not only my go live date was delayed but once we got the broadband, it was absolutely shocking. The connection kept dropping all the time and we spent way too much time talking to their technical support about it. To be fair, most of the support staff were pretty good and they did send the engineer to have a look (no faults with the line found). They were pretty funny about cancelling at first trying to tell me that we were bound by the contract but completely ignoring the fact that their service was not fit for purpose. Ended up cancelling after one week of this disastrous connection (or lack of one for the majority of time) after spending a fortune on my mobile data as the broadband was so poor I had to use my mobile hotspot. They didn't even refund me in full arguing that the phone line their supplied was not faulty! Really a let down form John Lewis, never again. Signed up with BT straight away and their free public WIFI works better than JL's ever did.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    2.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Never use their broadband - it always stops working - just Google 'john lewis broadband reviews' to see what i mean
 · 3 months ago
Review
Never try their broadband. They use a cheap router and you have to change the channels regularly to make it work. We always have drops in our internet upto an hour long, and when i ring their technical dept they say that it is expected to have at least 3 or 4 drops every 3 days, ive never had that with Sky or anyone else.

We spend over £130 a week with Waitrose shopping and buy clothes and electricals from John Lewis, and when we said we would cancel all those weekly orders for the sake of a £100 cancellation fee, the person said, i have the ability to remove the cancellation charge, but i wont do it, even though he knew they would loose £6-8000 a year in shopping. What a joke.

We are taking it further so i would let you know what his managers say about loosing £8000 a year for the brand to keep £100 in his department.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Poor - just don’t do it!!
 · 4 months ago
Review
Poor service, been with them a year almost and it’s a monthly occurrence - poor internet, phone line issues...yet again today phone line is down, internet slow, have 6 weeks to go till end of my contract...told line fault will be fixed by end of the week...I’m can’t stand the poor service anymore and I’m leaving early..paying the early exit fees, but I just don’t care -it’s been such a poor service!!
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    2/5
  • Broadband speed
    3/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Cut off for over a week
 · 5 months ago
Review
In short, don't use them.
Our phone line and internet were cut off for over a week. After an engineer could not find a fault at the exchange, they sent an engineer to the house without an appointment. No one was in, and then they told us they could not send another for 4 days. When the engineer did come (after a week), it turned out that the fault was at the exchange all along and the first engineer had missed it.
Customer service was poor, giving different excuses for not sending an engineer, and it was impossible to elevate the complaint.
When the line is working, we only get download speeds of max 2mbs, but this regularly (every couple of days at the moment) gets dropped down to 0.2mbs. When we call, the speed goes back to normal, so BT must be choking the speed.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish provider, don’t bother. Check other review sites before thinking about it.
 · 10 months ago
Review
After ordering the broadband I had to call them just before the start of service to ask for a router. Apparently it had been forgotten to be sent out. One minute after asking for the router I received an e-mail stating my broadband order had been cancelled. Nobody could tell me why this had happened and I had to wait 5 days before anyone contacted me. When they did they just said they didn’t know why it was cancelled and that I woud have to start the order again from the start. Apart from ‘I’m sorry’, there was no offer of compensation or anything. I had to beg my previous provider not to terminate my broadband/phone. NOT recommended! I wish I had read these reviews before wasting my time. Very disappointed that John Lewis are treating their customers in this way.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
You get what you pay for
 · 2 years ago
Review
Their broadband is operated by Plusnet who are also reliable, should be amazing really.
  • Package price
    4/5
  • Customer service
    5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
Roger That
 · 3 years ago
Review
This must be the perfect supplier - No bleats from anyone - then again perhaps nobody uses them!
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful

Search for John Lewis Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best John Lewis Broadband deals

 
 

John Lewis Features

How do I switch my broadband to John Lewis?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to John Lewis broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by John Lewis. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both John Lewis and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a John Lewis broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our John Lewis broadband calculator above to see which John Lewis broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to John Lewis broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to John Lewis?

From the moment you order your new John Lewis broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 12 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 12 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

John Lewis review logo

John Lewis Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of John Lewis

John Lewis Pro's

  • 24/7 Freephone UK customer support
  • Free Google Home Hub (Limited offer)
  • John Lewis broadband is provided by Plusnet plc

John Lewis Con's

  • 12 Month minimum contract
  • No line rental saver discount
  • Special offers for new customers only

Can I get John Lewis broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to John Lewis broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to John Lewis and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your John Lewis broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to John Lewis broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (John Lewis). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.