Customer Reviews POST A REVIEW
2.0/5 from 33 users. ( 33 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (1.7/5)
  • Broadband speed (2/5)
  • Price (1.7/5)
  • Phone package options (1.7/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Incompetent, but hopefully now sorted, and good value
  · 6 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
3 Months ago I changed from a limited broadband only Plusnet account to an unlimited broadband and telephone Plusnet account.

Problem No 1. According to the website the plusnet answer machine would be off unless I turned it on. I was away when the change over happened, and my answer machine gave crucial details for people contacting me professionally - re-directing them to a colleague. But when the change over happened, they turned on the Plusnet answer machine so callers just got "leave a message". That caused significant distress for a couple of callers while I was away, and about ann hour's wasted time to sort out when I got back. I got an apology, but no compensation, and no apology was given to those who suffered because of the lack of contact details.

Problem No.2. I then discovered that they were taking money out of my account for the old contract as well as the new. About an hour on the phone to try to sort it. A promise that a manager would phone as it was a second problem. No manager phoned.

Problem No.3. A month later I discovered they were still taking the money for the old account as well as the new. Another hour wasted on the phone. Hopefully this time they have sorted it, but I am not that confident, and they say I will be refunded..., but no compensation for yet more of my time wasted.
Customer service people were friendly and helpful, but somewhere things do not work.
Good value package, and OK speed and reliability at the moment, but using a friends cottage which had Plusnet broadband while I was away, the broadband was unreliable.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
When people tell you not to use this company listen to them
  · 17 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
They made a total mistake with my contract. Then took me to the credit agency when there was no outstanding balance. Credit company sent a letter of apology Plusnet just continue to have my account in arrears hitting my credit score.
Please avoid at all cost
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Find another provider
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Dreadful, dreadful service. It is remarkable this company still advertise themselves as offering good customer service. I do not have a good thing to say about them.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Bad start
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Today is my first day as a plusnet customer. Previous Sky internet is off. Spent 40 mins on the phone with plusnet and spoke to 3 people before being told that the system decided not to send me a router and I can't use my sky router.
Lost a day of work today.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Disappointed
  · 1 months ago.
  • 2/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have been with plusnet for six years and I will be honest initially the service I had was great but over the past year or so my connection kept dropping. I strongly believe it's not my router and I am not the only person having this issue. I will be leaving plusnet by the end of the month for a more reliable service. Extremely disappointed
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Don't trust them
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Repeatedly increased my fees and, as a last touch, happily charged me an additional amount I was not expecting.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Waste of a day plusnet
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Failed to connect on time
Terrible waiting times for customer services
Poor communication
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
WORST WORST WORST!!!!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Never ever go for plusnet cheap customer service worst service provider unprofessional staff
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
PLUSNET TOTAL RUBBLISH
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Years ago I was with Plusnet and they were brilliant. Seeing their TV advert lately I decided to sign up with them for Fibre Broadband. Even though am paying double the price I was for Fibre, there is not an hour that does not go pass without the connection dropping and I lose my work. When I phone them on average daily or twice a day (as there is no point in phoning them) I am told your broadband is fine going to your house the problem is within your house of which nothing further happens.
Without doubt and by far the worst internet provider I ever had and even though I can prove that my computers are losing the connections they refuse to let me out of contract.
BEST ADVICE - STAY AWAY FROM PLUSNET!
Was this review helpful to you?
Ian HaggisHi James.
Plusnet will be aware each time the broadband gets reset or disconnected whether that be dropouts, faults on the line or being switched off. I know this because in the past they have showed me a log of my account which accurately showed all my issues. The fault then lies with Openreach to find and fix the issue. Any wireless dropouts will not show as an issue to Plusnet but if you are on a fixed wired connection and Plusnet cannot see the problem I would check your cables or run a packet loss test try it on this website http://freeola.com/line-test. I hear your frustration but it might not be the broadband? I don't work for Plusnet but have had great success with there service. Try the test on a wireless and wired connection and post your results.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
I do recommend Plusnet
  · 8 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
I have been with Plusnet for about 3 yrs with Broadband and I have never had a problem with them. I have found that they were always very polite and helpful when I have phoned them and have always fixed any problems. My phone was with The Post Office but but not any more. The last 2 weeks being with out a working phone line and trying to get through to them has been a nightmare and a very distressing time when I did get through. I just wish my phone had been with Plusnet from the start. I do recommend Plusnet.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Plusnet billing issues
  · 8 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
As a respected and major property business Director my credit score has always been excellent with no exceptions. I was invited to try the Experian Credit Report and was horrified to note my credit score was actually 'Very Poor' !! This was due a catastrophic error made by PLUSNET which states I owe £595.00 for some mystery Plusnet mobile account.I have NEVER had a Plusnet account of any kind or had any contact with Plusnet however they appear to have randomly added something to their records which potentially could have a major impact on me and our business reputation.Calling plusnet customer services was just a joy ! - 'Chloe' who eventually took my call and despite explaining the reason for my call asked for my ''account number/details' !! - explaining again I have NEVER had an account with plusnet therefore I have NO account details she abruptly advised she could no longer help as I had failed the security checks and hung up. Clearly customer services isn't something plusnet have invested in which could explain why their adverts state they are the 'cheapest' it really all makes sense now !I have gone back to Experian who will write to Plusnet but advise it could be at least 28 days before any response is received so in the interim it is unwise for me to apply for any kind of new credit facilities as these will be declined due to a 'very poor' credit score caused by plusnet's incompetence !!.I have also written to plusnet and to the CEO Andy Baker however from reading other customer reviews it appears Mr Baker is also unconcerned with customer issues.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Jack - Leicester
  · 8 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Completely agree! Have been with Plusnet for 2 years and just committed to another two years! When things have needed to be looked at they are on the case immediately and always a pleasant local voice! It's the John Lewis of broadband. BIG thumbs up. PS TALKTALK you're a nightmare that still haunts me.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Mr B T Blezard
  · 8 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
In the past I have used Talk Talk never again I then tried BT but they were the worst by far. Switched to Plusnet absolutely terrific no problems at all very helpful with any problems moved house without any problems could not have anything bad to say & would recommend anyone to try Plusnet.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Simon Lambe
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
'Plusnet are terrible!- cannot even produce a bill!!- just a payment failure notifying customer to pay within 14 days to avoid restriction...then 40mins later -Restricted. The answer is IT'S ALL SPIN. The "award winning customer service" is an internal award to their "customer service dept"- ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH SERVICE PROVIDED!!!Trading standards will be hearing along with CC Service. STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST SIGNING UP!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Roger That
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Nice one Eriko - it's now October 12 2015 - Have you got the dosh yet?
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Yuki
  · 1 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible terrible customer service. You have to wait 30-45 minutes to speak to their operator. I have waited 2 months to get some answer from them. At the end they told me that my previous provider rejected them several times. They ask me to pay additional £49.99 to proceed my order. It is not my fault that two providers failed to communicate. Why do I have to pay for their mistake?'
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Worth switching to Plusnet
  · 1 years ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
Switched to Plusnet about 6 months ago and it's the best ISP I have ever used. I generally change my ISP every two years because of a better offer or poor customer service. But I think I will probably stay with Plusnet as they seem different. My speed has been the most consistent I have ever had. Even during peak hours it does not fluctuate. The guys in the UK call centre are great and on average you don't need to wait more than 10 minutes to get an answer. The billing system is easy to understand unlike BT! But what surprised me most was the ability to tweak things like DNS get fixed IP addresses without an ongoing cost and change firewall settings and other techie stuff. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK PLUSNET!!'
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
AJ Johnson
  · 2 years ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
I have had to call Plusnet quite a few times recently but have never had to wait more than 15 minutes the average is about 10 minutes. It's worth the wait to speak to an English call centre. PLUSNET ARE THE BEST ISP! Trust me I have tried them all.'
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpfulEriko
  · 2 years ago.
I am leaving this comment here but would like it to be moved to a more prominent place so everyone can read it.I SUCCESSFULLY SUED PLUSNET/BT IN MY LOCAL COUNTY COURT !In February 2014 I contacted PLUSNET to install a phone line & supply a modem & broadband at the new house I was moving to I paid them £72.98 I received confirmation of my order (a contract ?)in the post the following day & 2 appointments were booked for a month later for the work to be done. I moved to my new house & waited I took 11 hours off work unpaid to be at home for the BT Openreach engineers but no one turned up I tried to contact PLUSNET on my mobile several times only to be told I was in a queue & had to wait over 40 minutes I also tried to contact them by using the local call box - again I was in a queue & would have to wait over 50 minutes. I wrote to PLUSNET to complain & demanded my £72.98 back plus my lost salary circa £400 including compensation for breach of contract & explicitly gave them 14 days to comply or I would take them to the small claims court their response was to offer me a miserly £25 for my inconvenience & my money back if I formally asked for it "HOW OUTRAGEOUS!" So of course I made a claim through MYCOL the online small claims service I offered mediation & waited for their response NOTHING for approximately 12 months ! so a hearing date was set & surprise surprise I start to get phone calls & an offer in writing of £150 to settle this time from BT LEGAL. I now know that PLUSNET in their incompetence failed to book the 2 appointments with their parent company BT OPENREACH thus wasting my time & causing my financial loss. The case was heard on 03/07/2015 PLUSNET/BT didn't even bother to attend simply sending a letter I had a very thorough & severe but legally professional examination of my claim & my evidence by the justice (I'm not going to mention his name) my award was just shy of £300 & they have until the 25th of July to pay. I shall keep you informed. I would urge anyone who has issues with utility companies be it water/gas/electricity or telecoms to do as I did & use the small claims court ? that is what it is therefore ! At the time of writing this BT have 5 CCJs against them dating back to 2011 (& now 6 with mine) this company & its subsidiaries simply don't care if they break civil law ? it's time we ALL complain & use the courts to get justice. Eriko.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Plusnet have been very helpful and far better than BT
  · 2 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
MY EMAIL TO PLUSNET! As per your email below I too have similar terms and conditions. After taking a day off work and waiting at home for an engineer to turn up if your engineer does not show at the property or fails to call to warn that he will be late or not able to make it there will be a charge of £50. ( We / (I the customer) accept cheque BACs or account credit notes as your payment is now due.). Please make sure your payment clears before the end of the next billing period to avoid incurring late payment charges. If you do not have sufficient funds available to make your payment please contact our customer service team who are sat at home waiting with nothing to do as they have taken the day off UNPAID! The £50 credit should help to raise morale. My customer reference number is: 106145951 My broadband disconnected over 30 times yesterday and the fault remains. An engineer has been booked but has fail to show up. WELCOME TO PLUSNET Yours sincerely a new customer! NOTE: ( I would like to add that despite my broadband problems Plusnet have been very helpful and far better than BT. My grievance is with BT Open Reach who struggle to keep appointments and fix problems.)
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Mark Cornelius
  · 2 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Superb... Best ISP I have had. Been with SKY Virgin and AOL and none have been anywhere near as good as Plusnet. Best on reliability great speed and price very competitive with cheap BT sport too! Only negative is queue to get through to CS! On the whole..Very good though Highly recommend they really do me proud!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Edgar Mills
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Hi i've had broadband problems with this company for years have now moved to BT. Plusnet cut your speed and as all other comments try and phone them impossible they are nothing but a load of rubbish.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Ashley
  · 2 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Appalling service. Over the last four days I've phoned them about 10 times and had to wait up to an hour before someone answers (typical wait times 30min). You can't reply to their emails and you can't phone them directly. They are an 'inbound call centre' only so they can't phone you ... and this is a communications company. I reported a line fault on 28th Jan and they say the earliest they can rectify it is 12th Feb. Customer service people are obstructive and unhelpful and just want to get you off the line.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Never less than 30 minutes to answer the phone.
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Customer service is appalling - never less than 30 minutes to answer the phone. Sloppy approach to fault finding and a complete failure to listen to our side of the story - do not go to Plusnet'
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
India Lopez
  · 3 years ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
I had a slightly above average experience with Plusnet. Their customer service was average but every time you had to wait 1/2 an hour to get through to an adviser. Their land line and broadband faults department are very poor with fixing problems. I had to leave because I just couldn't get them to fix my land line fault they just could not be bothered to investigate after I had repeated issues. However they are far better than all the other companies I've tried including Sky. So they are the best of the worst so to speak and I have had worse service in the past. I would say they are worth giving a go as for some people they are good. I would say however their broadband service was absolutely excellent I never had any drop of service or buffering and I had constant strong broadband all the time. They are very very good for this service but not so good for land line.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Don't be conned into paying this unnecessary fee.
  · 3 years ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
I have just noticed a comment about being charged for disconnecting your service. They tried to pull this one on me. If you move to another provider when your contract ends they will try to charge you £30 for moving but they say you have to be disconnected from their line in order to move to a new provider. You don't. They tell you it's a disconnection fee but you don't have to be disconnected. They tell you they have been instructed by B.T to charge customers for leaving as it's a loss of money to B.T financially so they make up for it by charging you to leave in a sense as they rent the line from B.T. You can be charged a disconnection fee but ONLY if for some reason you have got to be disconnected from the line not if you just move providers. Don't be conned into paying this unnecessary fee. They waved this fee when I sought advice from Ofcom and the Ombudsman because really there were no grounds to charge. They can attempt to charge this fee if you move providers and they decide to disconnect your line instead of allowing you to switch which means they can charge you. And your new provider can charge you £250 to have a new line installed. It's about making money that's all.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
CharliePapa
  · 3 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Having recently had dealings from hell with Post Office and Talk Talk re my mother's phone I'd like to put a positive one in for PlusNet who I've used for a couple of years and who've been good. I think their number of negative reviews compared to others says a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
charged for disconnecting their equipment at the BT exchange
  · 3 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Watch out with Plusnet. When I left them they charged for disconnecting their equipment at the BT exchange. New provider say they have never heard of such a thing.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Nothing good to say
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely disgusting. Extremely poor customer service. Tell you one thing and then do another. Poor service delivery. Check the contract - small print applies. Disgusting. Poor support. Do not move home if you are with them. Nothing good to say.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Was thinking of joining Plusnet
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Was thinking of joining Plusnet but after reading the customer reviews I think i'll think again. Thanks for the info I want a good deal with a good reputable company. Thanks to all x
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
They are owned by BT join them at your own risk
  · 5 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Plusnet are a joke have asked to have my line fixed twice still not fixed has the same problems. They bill for calls you don't make they are going down hill fast but then again they are owned by BT join them at your own risk.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Plusnet are a fraud
  · 6 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Plusnet are a fraud. They say one thing on the phone and on paper it's another thing. Calls are charged without u making them. Also charged for postage and packing and up front service two weeks before u switch over. They take money out of your account without prior knowledge and then say this is what happens.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Plusnet support team is a joke
  · 6 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Must be very careful working with Plusnet. They are not very professional. Support team is a joke. They will apologize for their billing errors but will never recompense you. Very disgusting behavior.
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 14 Sep £20.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 28 Sep £19.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
17 Mb
Unlimited Ends 5 Sep £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.