Plusnet Broadband

Broadband from just £18.99 with a FREE £75 reward cardCompare Plusnet Broadband deals

 

Search for plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r

 
 

Plusnet Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Plusnet broadband customers.

1.3 out of 5 from 120 reviews
Filter by rating:
7
5
4
10
87
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (118)
Ash ali
Avoid
12 days ago.
Review
I set up a line and bb with plusnet as sky were putting up the price. It took me over 1.45 mins to speak with someone then they transferred me to another department and the wait times were over 30 mins.

I tried again in the evening after 1 hour spoke with someone and explained I’m very angry
And wanted to speak with management

The lady forgot to put me on hold and all I heard was the agents having a laugh and a joke between them also speaking in foreign languages more importantly the lady then said these F****** customers have been complaining all day.

I then spoke to a manager coincidentally the call hadn’t been recorded but I think she heard exactly what was said and was very embarrassed

They don’t care about you just your money I hope they close down
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
dundee jim
STEER CLEAR, WORST SERVICE EVER
12 days ago.
Review
total waste of time you cant contact anyone , you will be on the phone for hours and nothing will change, they stole £257.87 from my account 5 days after me telling them not to, i,m into week 5 they still have my money, i have been told every lie under the sun the latest is they will send me a cheque, i paid by card they dont care about the service they supply ,i have had over 4 hours of phone calls and nothing has changed, theft is what i would call it on a grand scale,,STEEL WELL CLEAR
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Nick
A good cheap option
13 days ago.
Review
Never been let down by plusnet. Broadband speed very consistent, and reliable.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Scouserjohn
What a disappointing provider
13 days ago.
Review
I was only receiving 3.9 Mbps , that was when I was actually connected. Having tried to phone for advice/ help, the quickest time ever quoted was 35 minutes to speak to an advisor. Although I have paid up to the end of my contract and because of the vagueness of transferring dates , then I am about to be charged an early leaving fee for the 20 days that the new provider will be swopping over .
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Ann
Plusnet - Very Poor Internet Provision & Very Poor Customer Service
1 months ago.
Review
We had two lines with Plusnet - their claim to provide fantastic broadband coverage and value for money deals. We did not want broadband on both lines, but it's impossible to have a line with this company without Broadband. Their internet provision is appalling - not able to have enough speed to make more than one banking transaction at a time - never able to up the speeds sufficiently. The experience being that the internet service is so poor that it constantly 'drops out' while browsing; trying to make a purchase online is virtually impossible.


Be wary of their claims to be award winning splashed across their website - delve into that to find out what they are. They claim that Which? and Broadband Buyer have given them awards for great customer service - it makes you wonder if either of those organisations endeavoured to reach Plusnet by phone for customer service. The very minimum you'll have to sit on the line waiting for them to take a call from you is 40 minutes - meanwhile your line cannot receive your business's calls because it's engaged waiting for Plusnet to answer you.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Nick Egerton
Very poor customer service
1 months ago.
Review
As I write I am awaiting my 3 call to plusnet to be answered. Web chat always unavailable. They use to be good, but not any more.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
STEPHEN
JOHN LEWIS BROADBAND IS PLUSNET
1 months ago.
Review
We recently changed telecoms supplier. We chose John Lewis because its a trusted name.
5 weeks after installation broadband stops. I ring helpline and the ten minutes wait is actually 40 mins. It transpires the new router is not working. A new one will be sent out by Royal Mail and arrive in 3 to 4 working days
Well this is a Friday evening and so the earliest it will arrive is Wed possibly Thursday which is a week.
My wife came home unhappy called the contact . 40 mins wait. Nothing can be done says the operator thats how we do it. Oh and its £200 to cancel.
As i said i can ordered a pair of socks Sat night and have them by Sunday lunchtime.
This is infrastructure its highly profitable and yet no courier service. ITS PLUSNET Avoid.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Britishconsumer
Avoid, Avoid, Avoid
1 months ago.
Review
We would have given a -* if there was one! Absolutely awful, beyond a joke!
Initially speed slowed, rang to query, PN claims no issue! When PN discovered we know a bit about broadband, PN offered us two months free service, but then tried to say its only for line rental, not broadband! After more phone calls to complain, PN agreed includes BBand.
Then, we found we were charged for BBand the next month, when it's suppose to be free!
More phone calls, PN says their accounts doesn't show the charge! Had to forward bank statement copies etc, which we did.
No reply, no refund still
NOW, we receive an invoice for £40.80 for following month when it should still be our 2nd free month!
We've left PN, cancelled direct debit, lodged formal complaint with Ombudsman and instructed bank to claim back the £20.99.
Guess what? Just received another email from PN, saying they hate goodbyes, offering £19.99 service! but still no refund of the money fraudulently taken from our account though!
Talking about the bad penny ...
Avoid at all costs unless you're game for a journey through hell and back!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Paula
If you want messed about...
1 months ago.
Review
Ordered and paid for Plusnet broadband to be installed back in August, engineer was supposed to install it on 24th September between 1pm and 6pm. They changed the time I requested to a time I couldn't manage and I had to make several calls, each time waiting 20 to 30 minutes to speak to a person, before I got the original time slot reinstated. Organised to be at home that afternoon however at 5pm got a text saying the engineer wasn't coming and I needed to reschedule within the next 2 weeks. This wasn't possible (I work and they don't do evenings or weekends and won't narrow their 5 hour time slots)so I cancelled installation and was told I would get a refund of my £73. This was on 24th September. Phoned on 9th October as I had not received a refund only to be told they hadn't bothered doing anything as they can't put the money back in my account and they need to issue a cheque - my bank is online, no branches. After getting nowhere with either of the people I spoke to I agreed to accept a cheque which they said I would get to me in 15 days. 15 days later, no cheque. Phoned yet again, apparently they meant 15 working days and I will have the cheque by Monday.
Today is that Monday, and still no cheque.
My money, Plusnet has held since August, failed to show at the appointed time to install and failed to refund despite agreeing they would over a month ago.
Tried to phone again today, minimum 20 minute wait time.
To quote one of their managers, "what do you expect me to do"
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
suraj
Runaway from plusnet
1 months ago.
Review
plusnet team member has mistakenly cut my broadband on 15th oct , now over two weeks i dont have internet.
please see below reply received from plusnet

Dear Mr Gulhane,

Thanks for your call

As we discussed over the phone you are going live on the 1/11/2018 i do apologize for this , but there is no quicker way of getting you live and for that we can apologize , if you have any other queries feel free to contact us.



Kind regards,

Konain Khan
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.