Plusnet Broadband

PLUSNET OFFER | £50 Cashback hurry offer ends soon!Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

 

Search for plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r

 
 

Plusnet Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Plusnet broadband customers.

1.4 out of 5 from 105 reviews
Filter by rating:
6
5
4
7
76
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (103)
Roy
Diabolical Call Centres
1 days ago.
Review
Obviously Plusnet have learnt from BT , most customers get fed up chasing their tails and thus disappear , thus in truly * Tony Blair* fashion there is no evidence. I have wasted 3 hours attempting to help my Old Sick friend to request that Plusnet , who in correctly Spelt her name and Bank details wrong .
To make corrections .
Their Web Site Help Line is a Joke again copied from an Indian Format.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Hilary C
appalling
5 days ago.
Review
Customer service? Where? How?
Fantastic hook you in deal, and as soon as you are hooked you cannot get off. No-one answers the phone (only if you call new orders as clearly they want to hook you in).
Don't fall for it.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Aaron
Customer Service wait times take the P'
14 days ago.
Review
Customer service waiting times are a damn joke!!! 50 minutes on the first time i needed them when i wasn't getting broadband on the day the promised. Then 45minutes a couple of weeks later! Appauling!! Employ more staff and make it better!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Iro
Don’t expect customer service/compensation if you are signed up to an offer!
26 days ago.
Review
Having signed up with plusnet based on positive reviews, I fail to see where these positive experiences have come from.
I recently moved into a new flat and when calling plusnet, was told that there was no active line in the property. I knew that the previous tenants had not cancelled the line so thought this was surprising.
I specifically asked whether this would be the case with all providers and was told no matter who I went with, I would need an engineer to come out to re-activate the line. This meant an additional £49,99 as plusnet would not wave the charge.
After deliberating on this, I called back the next day and was again told that no matter which provider, the line was cut and an engineer had to come out. I made a point of repeatedly asking and they kept saying that yes, other providers were the same.
Believing them at their word, I agreed to paying for the engineer, (even though Sky would have been cheaper) because I was willing to pay a little extra to have excellent customer service.
Imagine my surprise to find that there was an active line!! The engineer was equally surprised, said it would be working with another provider and wasn’t quite sure why/how this has happened.
When calling plusnet to report this, I was told that this was not their fault but that maybe sky had incorrectly registered the line as inactive. I explained that in this case, their sales agents should not speak on behalf of other providers. I was told that they felt that they were being honest and upfront. I explained that they should not speak on behalf of other providers as this is not correct. Either blame Sky OR align with them and take responsibility. You can’t have it both ways. After a 45 min conversation, Kyle (customer service agent) asked to remain on the line. A while later he came back and said “ I have spoken to several people but because you are already signed up to a special offer, there is nothing we can do except to say sorry”. In disbelief, I asked “so if customers have signed up to a special offer, they have to just accept poor customer service?”
I was told “your complaint is valid, we will take your feedback into account and feedback your concerns but we feel we have done nothing wrong and will not offer you anything but an apology”.
What a joke!
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
James Livesey
Plusnet Are Thieves
1 months ago.
Review
I joined Plusnet and then changed my mind about half an hour later. I called and cancelled and they said that was fine. Three days later, they took £80 out of my account and made me overdrawn which will incur charges. I have tried calling them and tweeting them, but they are refusing to give me my money back. Avoid these crooks at all costs.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Tony New
Rubbish
1 months ago.
Review
Don't go there, there customer service it the worst company I have ever dealt with. It does not matter what time you call them, morning noon or night it's almost 30 minutes every time!!!! They keep over charging me so I spend most of my time on the phone. THE WORST BROADBAND COMPANY BY FAR. DON'T GO THERE!!!
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Jonathan Long
Plusnet is truly awful - go elsewhere
1 months ago.
Review
Terrible customer service - would strongly advise you go with the parent company BT and avoid this lot. We're still waiting for a £200 refund - over 4 weeks now and we have had to involve our credit card company to get a result. Absolutely terrible.
Package price
Broadband speed
2 people found the following review helpful
Maurice Chaplais
zero customer service
1 months ago.
Review
Having just changed from Carphone Warehouse, I was looking forward to amazing customer service from Plusnet. Already I regret changing as It is impossible to get hold of anyone. After holding once for 32 minutes and than again for 28 minutes and my final attempt for 33 minutes, I had to give up, as life is too short. Unable to contact them with online chat as no-one available. It makes me desperate.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
3 people found the following review helpful
Jon
Overcharged 4 times out of 12 months
2 months ago.
Review
Paid for years up front. Got billed twice. Had to call up after 1st and 2nd month to refund month bill.
Left Plusnet. Got email saying I was going to be billed. Phoned Plusnet and they said that email was automatic and that I wouldn't get billed. Guess what. Still got billed.
Avoid
2 people found the following review helpful
Mike
What a joke
2 months ago.
Review
You couldn't pay me to go back to them ... counting the days to get rid! Speeds <0.5mbps in Southampton (advertised as average 10), and that's on a good day when it works! Most of the time it cuts out, even outside of peak times. A total waste of money. Cheap and very very nasty ... do not be sucked in!
4 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.