Plusnet Broadband

Exclusive offer via this page | £70 CASHBACK Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Plusnet £70 Cashback

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

avatar
1.3 out of 5 from 157 reviews
Filter by rating:
9
5
4
19
113
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (155)
Broadband review by starchild
starchild
Plusnet is no longer a viable option as there are far better alternatives
1 days ago.
Review
Been with Plusnet for many years now on their top tier package but have noticed a gradual decline in the level of customer service.

The final straw came when recently I contacted them to report an issue that I was having sending emails as they were being rejected by their servers. The agent immediately dismissed my problem, was unwilling to engage a member of the email technical team, was very impolite - and then closed the chat! This is despite the fact I explained that Plusnet accidentally put a block on my sending emails previously so there was already a history of poor technical service.

It's sad to see, what used to be a quality service provider, erode their customer service but I for one will now be moving away from Plusnet.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Denzil
Denzil
Utterly awful company
3 days ago.
Review
I'm on standard broadband. Plusnet made me wait over a week before I could connect. Then they make you wait longer whilst the 'broadband stabilises'.

I gave it a few days and the result is that sometimes I get 6mbps, sometimes I get 1mbps, sometimes I get nothing at all.

It became very clear from the start that this is how it's going to be for the length of my one year contract. So I called to cancel within my 14 "cooling off" period. But because I'd had to wait to connect 16 days had passed since I'd started my contract even though this was long before I'd even been connected. First front line customer service guy was great. Very helpful, but he had to pass me to a different team who are trained to be rude and aggressive.

Despite arguing I've got nowhere. Up and down connection and generally slow. Spotify is reasonably OK. Viewing Web sites is slow, pictures take a while to load. Streaming Amazon prime is slow and often pixelated.

I regret taking out anything with plusnet and now I've got to spend my evenings fighting this utterly awful company to get my money back.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by BB
BB
Utterly shoddy service
6 days ago.
Review
Outrageously raised prices for MMS.

DOES NOT support short code (short mobile number that utilities companies and banks use to contact you). If you receive a message from your bank that uses short codes (e.g., 456633), you will not be able to reply to that SMS, however important that might be.

Call the customer service and some guy responded in most surly voice that they don't support it - that is it.

Mobile network coverage is poor in many part of the UK and it is pathetic in Germany. So if you have Plusnet and thinking of taking your mobile abroad, think twice.

Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Gerry..Can
Gerry..Can
Cut off after only 1 day of not receiving due payment !
7 days ago.
Review
Been struggling with the bills for 3 month's now due to ill health and out of work,
As a result The direct debits have been difficult to maintain especially plusnet one as is the last after partner's pay day and we're managing on the one wage ! We pay plausnet just a bit later than due once we've found the money from other sources anyway..
The point i want to make is this..
As soon as the direct debit is missed , withing 1 day plusnet pretty much cut you off !!!
They point out restrictions after 14 days if not paid but they do it straight away.
When you go on their site to make the payment they acknowledge as soon as you've paid that they'll now remove the restrictions from your account so actually admitting they have indeed restricted you or as i see it ...cut you off !
Fed up with this 3 month's in a row they are not being paid this month and i have signed up the another ISP !
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by lucifer.1
lucifer.1
Cuts you off internet after only 1 day of failed payment !
10 days ago.
Review
Been out of work and struggling to meet direct debit payments, Now other companies either try again within 10 days or alternative payment or wait until 14 days before restrictions and they notify you..NOT PLUSNET !!!
They just restrict you until you pay up ! Done this 3 month's in a row now and I've always paid within few days of late payment ..NOT this time.
I've cancelled dd with them now and they can spin for it !
Not bothered about black marks, credit agencies etc.. already got damage in that dept !
So I've just got a new job and signing up with a better company so I'm told.

Good riddance Plusnet...They'll be finished in few years !
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by tomt
tomt
Non existent customer service
12 days ago.
Review
Useless, customer service could not find fault on my phone, we will get technical to sort it out and call back in 1 hour no call back thinking of cancelling and going back to previous supplier.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Patrick
Patrick
Liars, uninterested, broken service
17 days ago.
Review
I was a Plusnet customer for many years, had no service issues and was happy enough. I then moved house, which began a 6 months battle with them.

The internet service in my new home only worked 50% of the time. It was a new build, so the line and socket was brand new. My equipment was exactly the same as had been working perfectly for 18 months at my old address (same router and computers etc). I am also ex-IT industry so have a fair level of knowledge when troubleshooting.

Queue a six month battle whereby Plusnet tried every way they could to blame me, my devices or BT Openreach. The Openreach guys were excellent, in total coming out 5 times in six months. They replaced every bit of the line and equipment between me and the exchange and my line is as good as it could be. Plusnet were still blaming the line.

The connection itself wasn't dropping, rather everything would just start to timeout. This was completely random and could occur any time of day or night, for minutes or hours.

Plusnet were completely uninterested in doing any troubleshooting beyond a line test, which didn't show the problem.

My own tests using speedofme, tracert/ping, networx and wireshark all showed that the problem occurred as soon as the traffic entered the plusnet backbone.

Plusnet completely ignored every bit of diagnosis I sent them and blatantly couldn't be bothered to investigate, despite being assured several times the matter would be "escalated". All I got was someone running the same old test on my line once a week and getting told everything was fine.

I then was blatantly lied to and fobbed off by a second line engineer who told me that ping/tracert tests to google, bbc, facebook etc should be timing out due to their firewalls. I can see how a lot of people would accept this, but for someone who is cisco qualified this blatant b*llsh*t absolutely infuriated me beyond words. It is absolutely appalling. I directly complained about this and Plusnet completely ignored me, despite the engineer being named and what he said to me recorded.

Plusnet also messed up my billing as my package was slightly different, leading to them overcharging me for six months. their solution to this was that I had to ring up every month and ask for a refund.

I have now happily moved to Zen and my service is solid, reliable and fantastic. Plusnet - you have lost someone who recommended customers to you and I will now actively recommend against you. You have already lost 3 further customers due to this and will lose quite a few more. You are an utter disgrace.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Lee
Lee
Impossible to cancel!!!
25 days ago.
Review
Worst experience ever! Had a monthly contract sim for my son, unfortunately the phone and sim was lost and his replacement phone was locked to a different network. I tried contacting Plusnet to cancel the sim but on every attempt I was passed from pillar to post to eventually just getting disconnected. I do run my own business and can not spend my entire day trying to contact them, after all of my attempts I felt I had no option but to simply cancelled the direct debit. However 3 Months later they send me bills, I was not happy about the bills they had raised for me especially as they were aware that I wished to cancel. I was told to pay the bill and my account will be closed so I swallowed it payed the bill and was then told I now need to pay a final bill!!! An absolute joke of a company! I was put on hold and behold disconnected again! I called again, disconnected again, called again and finally managed to speak to someone so I could pay the next months rental just so I could wipe my hands of these dirty rats. In a nutshell I can not recommend using Plusnet their customer service can be polite but as for being helpful "not at all".. Worst experience ever I have had better luck in the past dealing with overseas call centres, Plusnet are a bunch of ponces and will never receive custom from myself or my business ever again.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nina
Nina
Terrible customer service
26 days ago.
Review
Extremely dissenting with their service and customer care. Took over two months for us to get the wifi up and running. On the first visit the engineer wasn’t able to get the connection set up and stated that he can only access virgin network but cannot find vodafone, therefore, we had agreed we will get someone to run another cable. My boyfriend called the company a week later to schedule another engineer visit and they gave him a slot the following Tuesday. When we called on Monday to confirm the times they didn’t have any record of the phone call even though we had a screenshot of this phone call. They were not able to give us another slot until the following week. I have raised a complaint regarding a charge for the second engineer appointment who claimed he was not able to get into the property - even though he was there and was unable to get the network set up as well as complaint about them wasting our time and giving us an appointment they never scheduled in. Refused the complaint and keep stating engineer wasn’t there on the first visit and that my boyfriend never scheduled the second appointment in. Would not recommend to anyone, terrible customer service, a lot of time spent on the phone arguing.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Arun
Arun
Truly awful broadband provider and customer services
1 months ago.
Review
No customer service whatsoever now that BT own them!
Do not go to them, whatever their cheap deals are. I am on the premium service and still they do not listen to my technical knowledge in networking!
They just repeat the same questions day in day out and do not even read the previous case handlers notes!
Stay well away!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r