Plusnet Broadband

£75 CASHBACK Hurry offer ends 27th August.Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Plusnet £75 Cashback

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

168 customer reviews

1.3
166 reviews
Post review
  • 10
  • 5
  • 4
  • 21
  • 121
  • Package price
    1.9/5
  • Customer service
    1.4/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.9/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.9/5
Plusnet are liars
 · 8 days ago
Review
Signed up with Plusnet after moving house. They promised I could keep my telephone number, which I've had for over 20 years. After moving, they gave me a new telephone number without explanation. Took a number of phone calls to different departments before being told I couldn't get my old number back.

I was mid-conversation with a young man who was dealing with my request to leave Plusnet, when the phone call was taken over by the smarmiest person I've ever spoken to, who suggested I "have a sleep before making a decision to leave". He implied that I had misunderstood the guarantee of keeping my phone number, and he also said that they had recordings of my phone calls.

I've requested recordings of my phone calls because I'd like to hear exactly how I've misunderstood Plusnet, but they have not responded. Be very wary of getting into discussions with them, because they lie at every possible opportunity.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
2013 - 2018 - Absolutely GREAT ... Not anymore!
 · 13 days ago
Review
I have been a Plusnet customer since 2013 (I was even a reseller for a few years as I thought the service and support was fantastic). Since January 2019, I've gradually saw a decline in both the support and service which I receive from Plusnet but over the past 3 months, it has been absolutely terrible.

I'm self employed and for the past 2 months I have been paid later than normal from my clients. I tried to change my payment date this month and even contacted Plusnet (both online and over the phone) about the situation. They said they would give me a "grace" period and no restrictions would take place on my account. Both months, the day after my normal payment date, I received an email stating "your payment has not been received, please pay within 14 days at www.plus.net/pay or your service may be restricted". It wasn't really a massive surprise to see that my service was restricted within an hour of receiving this email (which by the way isn't entirely legal!).

I borrowed some funds and rang Plusnet to pay my bill, even though I agreed a "grace" period with them - which by the day was only 3 days. I couldn't pay online because the restriction blocked me from accessing the Plusnet website (even though all other sites work OK, although very slow) so rang them but there systems were down so couldn't pay my bill. I tried again 3 times over the course of three days and also made customer services aware that I have tried paying numerous times. What sort of messed up procedures do Plusnet have where they let their customers access Facebook/Twitter/YouTube etc when "restricted" but won't let them access their own website to make payment?

Today, I received an email stating that I have breached my terms and conditions because I didn't pay by the "grace" date, they have cancelled my Direct Debit and have threatened me with debt collection if I do not pay within 54 days. They have also added late fees. All because I asked for 3 days extra to pay a bill and couldn't pay either before or on this date because their "systems were down".

ARE THESE GUYS ACTUALLY HAVING A LAUGH??? Luckily I have all of the online chat transcriptions and all email responses. I'll also be requesting all phone call recordings. I hope nobody else has this issue but for me, I'll be looking at migrating away at the first available opportunity, which is a shame as Plusnet were by far the best on the UK market back in the day.
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Absolute rubbish
 · 19 days ago
Review
Service constantly dropping out. Delays in setting up. Rude and unhelpful customer service staff. Excess of extortionate hidden fees buried deep in the terms and conditions. I would sooner advise using carrier pigeons to keep in contact with the world than using this absolute farce of a company.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
No problems
 · 1 month ago
Review
I disagree, I have had no problems with Plusnet broadband or with my phone line in the three years I have been with them. Customer service are also good in my experience.
  • Package price
    5/5
  • Customer service
    5/5
  • Broadband speed
    5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Unprofessional and inefficient company who are slow to dead stop in paying a refund due on a cancelled policy.
 · 1 month ago
Review
I cancelled plusnet within one hour of signing up due to the terrible reviews. It was cancelled immediately and confirmation sent via email by plusnet. In that short time they had taken the initial payment from my card. No refund has been processed despite calling twice about it now have to wait for billing to action an email sent to them from customer service after the second call. They don’t take phone calls from customers. I have had to cancel the direct debit as plusnet billing had presented it to my bank and block any further attempts on my debit card. And surprise, they soon emailed within hours to tell me they wanted bank details for a direct debit. But no email about my refund. So it looks like they are totally incompetent or deliberately obstructive when it comes to paying money back they have no right to hold on to. I have contacted the card fraud company for them to sort this out for me as it is very difficult communicating with a brick wall. I would never recommend plusnet or consider them as an option provider.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Don't bother.
 · 1 month ago
Review
Save what sanity you have and don't use Plusnet or any BT business if you can.

From the day I went 'live' i have been having wifi issues. After 4 weeks of them telling me how to fix the router, they won't guarantee that it should work. Blaming me. Copy and paste replies to complaint and emails, no compassion, no understanding, and no real desire to help, unless its to charge you to cancel the contract 17 months early.

Just don't, dont trust the adverts or 'do you proud'. What does that even mean?
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
The customer service is absolutely shocking
 · 1 month ago
Review
Business Broadband is absolutely shocking. The internet keeps cutting out. I've contacted Plusnet to get the issue fixed but are literally not interested in responding.
Since I reported the above issue I am moving offices and they are more than happy to do that but I still need my internet working in the meantime but again they decided not to respond to that issue.

I did have Plusnet home broadband, I live in a normal sized flat but the internet did not reach to the whole flat, very poor. I have sinced move my home broadband.
Once my business broadband contract is up I'm 100% moving.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Absolute Crap
 · 1 month ago
Review
Don't waste your time with a bunch of stupid disconnected people, unprofessional management, broken systems, department mentality, rubbish attitude. I am wasting my life to overcome their incompetence. I've had enough.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Would give 0 Avoid
 · 1 month ago
Review
Awful customer service and awful product avoid!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
DO NOT GO NEAR PLUSNET
 · 2 months ago
Review
Absolutely disgraceful company!
I joined 10 MONTHS AGO and cancelled straight away as they couldn't do what they said re broadband and were EXTREMELY RUDE. 10 months down the line I'M STILL WAITING FOR A REFUND.
They sent me an email and a phone number to call to confirm the address for refund cheque - DISGUSTING CUSTOMER SERVICE. Just don't do this it's not worth it
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful

Search for Plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r