Plusnet Broadband

Exclusive offer via this page | £70 CASHBACK Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Plusnet £70 Cashback

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

avatar
1.3 out of 5 from 161 reviews
Filter by rating:
9
5
4
19
117
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (159)
Broadband review by LSD
LSD
Absolute Crap
1 days ago.
Review
Don't waste your time with a bunch of stupid disconnected people, unprofessional management, broken systems, department mentality, rubbish attitude. I am wasting my life to overcome their incompetence. I've had enough.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jenjen
Jenjen
Would give 0 Avoid
3 days ago.
Review
Awful customer service and awful product avoid!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nina
Nina
DO NOT GO NEAR PLUSNET
7 days ago.
Review
Absolutely disgraceful company!
I joined 10 MONTHS AGO and cancelled straight away as they couldn't do what they said re broadband and were EXTREMELY RUDE. 10 months down the line I'M STILL WAITING FOR A REFUND.
They sent me an email and a phone number to call to confirm the address for refund cheque - DISGUSTING CUSTOMER SERVICE. Just don't do this it's not worth it
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Terry Bedford
Terry Bedford
Do not Use this Company!
9 days ago.
Review
Switched from EE five months ago for commercial reasons only and had nothing but poor performance and stalling. Kept getting in touch with technical support only for some minor issue and wait two weeks for it to “settle down” Spoke with customer service who were incredibly unhelpful and stroppy. Please, please don’t be tempted by the price (if it don’t work or is slow it’s not a good package value) and fancy marketing this company is complete and utter rubbish who don’t care once you have signed on the dotted line.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by starchild
starchild
Plusnet is no longer a viable option as there are far better alternatives
11 days ago.
Review
Been with Plusnet for many years now on their top tier package but have noticed a gradual decline in the level of customer service.

The final straw came when recently I contacted them to report an issue that I was having sending emails as they were being rejected by their servers. The agent immediately dismissed my problem, was unwilling to engage a member of the email technical team, was very impolite - and then closed the chat! This is despite the fact I explained that Plusnet accidentally put a block on my sending emails previously so there was already a history of poor technical service.

It's sad to see, what used to be a quality service provider, erode their customer service but I for one will now be moving away from Plusnet.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Denzil
Denzil
Utterly awful company
13 days ago.
Review
I'm on standard broadband. Plusnet made me wait over a week before I could connect. Then they make you wait longer whilst the 'broadband stabilises'.

I gave it a few days and the result is that sometimes I get 6mbps, sometimes I get 1mbps, sometimes I get nothing at all.

It became very clear from the start that this is how it's going to be for the length of my one year contract. So I called to cancel within my 14 "cooling off" period. But because I'd had to wait to connect 16 days had passed since I'd started my contract even though this was long before I'd even been connected. First front line customer service guy was great. Very helpful, but he had to pass me to a different team who are trained to be rude and aggressive.

Despite arguing I've got nowhere. Up and down connection and generally slow. Spotify is reasonably OK. Viewing Web sites is slow, pictures take a while to load. Streaming Amazon prime is slow and often pixelated.

I regret taking out anything with plusnet and now I've got to spend my evenings fighting this utterly awful company to get my money back.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by BB
BB
Utterly shoddy service
16 days ago.
Review
Outrageously raised prices for MMS.

DOES NOT support short code (short mobile number that utilities companies and banks use to contact you). If you receive a message from your bank that uses short codes (e.g., 456633), you will not be able to reply to that SMS, however important that might be.

Call the customer service and some guy responded in most surly voice that they don't support it - that is it.

Mobile network coverage is poor in many part of the UK and it is pathetic in Germany. So if you have Plusnet and thinking of taking your mobile abroad, think twice.

Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Gerry..Can
Gerry..Can
Cut off after only 1 day of not receiving due payment !
17 days ago.
Review
Been struggling with the bills for 3 month's now due to ill health and out of work,
As a result The direct debits have been difficult to maintain especially plusnet one as is the last after partner's pay day and we're managing on the one wage ! We pay plausnet just a bit later than due once we've found the money from other sources anyway..
The point i want to make is this..
As soon as the direct debit is missed , withing 1 day plusnet pretty much cut you off !!!
They point out restrictions after 14 days if not paid but they do it straight away.
When you go on their site to make the payment they acknowledge as soon as you've paid that they'll now remove the restrictions from your account so actually admitting they have indeed restricted you or as i see it ...cut you off !
Fed up with this 3 month's in a row they are not being paid this month and i have signed up the another ISP !
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by lucifer.1
lucifer.1
Cuts you off internet after only 1 day of failed payment !
20 days ago.
Review
Been out of work and struggling to meet direct debit payments, Now other companies either try again within 10 days or alternative payment or wait until 14 days before restrictions and they notify you..NOT PLUSNET !!!
They just restrict you until you pay up ! Done this 3 month's in a row now and I've always paid within few days of late payment ..NOT this time.
I've cancelled dd with them now and they can spin for it !
Not bothered about black marks, credit agencies etc.. already got damage in that dept !
So I've just got a new job and signing up with a better company so I'm told.

Good riddance Plusnet...They'll be finished in few years !
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by tomt
tomt
Non existent customer service
22 days ago.
Review
Useless, customer service could not find fault on my phone, we will get technical to sort it out and call back in 1 hour no call back thinking of cancelling and going back to previous supplier.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r