Plusnet Broadband

Fibre Broadband from £23.99 with a FREE £40 reward card Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

1.3 out of 5 from 126 reviews
Filter by rating:
8
5
4
12
90
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (124)
Broadband review by Jill
Jill
Poor Show
17 days ago.
Review
Hi there

I want to warn other people who are potentially thinking of changing broadband provider. I was with Virgin but was experiencing slow speeds and was paying too much for a service I only partially used. I looked online and thought the plusnet deal for phone and broadband looked good so I signed up. I then faced a very long wait trying to speak to someone as I have plusnet phone and broadband in one of my business premises so I wondered if they might have been able to offer me a better deal....I was transferred to someone else and lost the will to live having been on hold for over half an hour.

Later I received a text saying my installation had been changed from PM as requested to AM - I tried to contact plusnet about this but faced an unacceptable wait of over 30 minutes each time I tried. I then managed to log my question about this on their website and received a response saying it would be dealt with in 24 hours.....no response after 2 weeks and counting.

Anyway, I digress, the main reason I am disgruntled is due to the fact that nowhere on the site does it explain that if you don't currently have a BT phone line a new one will have to be installed which may involve drilling a hole into an external wall; maybe to some people this is obvious but I am a compete dunce when it comes to technology and I did not realise this - if I had I would never have signed up. I think there should be a check-list on-line for people to complete when they sign up for a service so people are aware of what may be involved.

Our engineer arrived this morning and within 2 minutes he said that he recommended staying with Virgin as he was going to have to drill a hole from outside in to our new extension and run several metres of cabling......he said to call plusnet and say I wanted to cancel and that I would be in the cooling off period so all would be well. I see from other complaints that the cooling off period applies from the date you place your order, not the date of installation - very convenient for plusnet. When I called to cancel (after another long wait) I was told that they would process the cancellation but that I would be charged £49 for the engineer's visit. I said I was upset about this as he didn't do anything except advise us to stay with our existing service and he was literally in the house no more than 4 or 5 minutes. I said I wanted to complain and a case was opened but during a call later in the day I was told that they were sticking with their decision not to refund me for the engineer's visit. I think this is shocking and want others to be aware so they don't make the same mistake as me.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by ferkemall
ferkemall
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
27 days ago.
Review
20 MINUTE TIMERS SET ON THEIR PHONES.
Need to be passed on ok another 20 minute wait need to speak to cancellations good luck with that one they wont pick the phone up and lets not forget we are talking about a COMMUNICATIONS COMPANY HERE. Their customer service [ thats a loose term ] will probably tell you its the publics fault because they don't understand how a router works, then another one perhaps you would better if you plug it direct into the router sounds like a good idea but i paid for wireless and the cable is only a meter long as supplied by Plusnet, another one, your starting to see a trend here ok so write this down and you can reprogram your router, it did not work ok i will send you an email the email had more instruction but it still could not get passed sign in.

Being as i started all of this in the morning and it was now give or take a few breaks 7pm. Getting through to cancellations after 40 minutes on the phone i gave up and just told the live chat i had had enough and was going to the bank in the morning to cancel the direct debit.

Plusnet is an absolute shambles from the top to the bottom their answer to the ever dropping numbers is more glossy adverts and cheaper prices for newcomers,

But when you look through all of the reviews it becomes apparent there is something seriously wrong with this company THATS OWNED BY BT ,

BE WARNED ITS A MESS !
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Maggie
Maggie
Absolutely shambolic company
29 days ago.
Review
Absolutely shambolic company.

Signed up online. Heard nothing. Called up. They said a problem with identifying the correct line. They said it was sorted.

2 weeks before I was due to go live I called up about the router. I still hadn't received it. Thry said I would receive it a few days before going live but there was a problem with the line. Apparently now sorted and I would still go live on the same day.

A week before going live I called about the router again. They said there was a problem with the line. Again. Apparently sorted. Router was dispatched. 

3 days before going live. No router. Called again. Problem with the line. My current supplier had cancelled my contract. Plusnet cant take over. I have internet. No router. No phone line.

Absolutely shambolic
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Susan
Susan
SHOCKING SERVICE
1 months ago.
Review
In my opinion the most shocking service known to mankind. I would not recommend this provider to anyone. I have changed the name of "Customer Service" to "Customer Torture". If you value your health and sanity stay well clear of this "mickey mouse" outfit!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Kelly
Kelly
Fabulous
1 months ago.
Review
Fabulous ISP, great price and UK customer service!!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Roman
    Roman 13 days ago.
    You must be very lucky person or you are one of plusnet employees.
Broadband review by Kitty wont be touching plusnet again
Kitty wont be touching plusnet again
John Lewis (which is Plusnet) is not even fit for Chavs! Plusnet the new Talk Talk - for the love of God avoid
2 months ago.
Review
Plusnet are intent of causing a nuisance to anyone who wishes to leave of changes their mind when they realise they should avoid them so cancel. Terrible services. Wanted rib of Plusnet so signed to to John Lewis thinking the name means quality. I then started getting emails from Plusnet email addresses saying that my John Lewis broadband was been set up. Turned out that they are John Lewis. Conned basically into sign up with the company that I wanted rib of. Terrible connection - drops out all the time. Customer services none existent. Now refuse to give me back my money via anything other than cheque to which the directors office - yes high up so its not juts the low down service that is terrible - said they will SEND in 10 days - thus making it untill next year before I get my money back. If I could give them minus starts that would be too much. Keep away from these malicious con artist. JOHN LEWIS BROADBAND IS not even fit for chavs!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Kelly
    Kelly 1 months ago.
    "JOHN LEWIS BROADBAND IS not even fit for chavs.. LOL" I would have to disagree but it made me laugh. It would make a great TV ad.
Broadband review by Ash ali
Ash ali
Avoid
2 months ago.
Review
I set up a line and bb with plusnet as sky were putting up the price. It took me over 1.45 mins to speak with someone then they transferred me to another department and the wait times were over 30 mins.

I tried again in the evening after 1 hour spoke with someone and explained I’m very angry
And wanted to speak with management

The lady forgot to put me on hold and all I heard was the agents having a laugh and a joke between them also speaking in foreign languages more importantly the lady then said these F****** customers have been complaining all day.

I then spoke to a manager coincidentally the call hadn’t been recorded but I think she heard exactly what was said and was very embarrassed

They don’t care about you just your money I hope they close down
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by dundee jim
dundee jim
STEER CLEAR, WORST SERVICE EVER
2 months ago.
Review
total waste of time you cant contact anyone , you will be on the phone for hours and nothing will change, they stole £257.87 from my account 5 days after me telling them not to, i,m into week 5 they still have my money, i have been told every lie under the sun the latest is they will send me a cheque, i paid by card they dont care about the service they supply ,i have had over 4 hours of phone calls and nothing has changed, theft is what i would call it on a grand scale,,STEEL WELL CLEAR
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nick
Nick
A good cheap option
2 months ago.
Review
Never been let down by plusnet. Broadband speed very consistent, and reliable.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Scouserjohn
Scouserjohn
What a disappointing provider
2 months ago.
Review
I was only receiving 3.9 Mbps , that was when I was actually connected. Having tried to phone for advice/ help, the quickest time ever quoted was 35 minutes to speak to an advisor. Although I have paid up to the end of my contract and because of the vagueness of transferring dates , then I am about to be charged an early leaving fee for the 20 days that the new provider will be swopping over .
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r