Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

539 customer reviews

1.1
706 reviews
Post review
  • 15
  • 9
  • 10
  • 52
  • 431
  • Package price
    1.7/5
  • Customer service
    1.3/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
With Post Office for a week, received less than 24hours of WiFi service.
 · 14 days ago
Review
I just want to say that I’ve never felt soo dumbfounded by the Postoffice Broadband services.

Firstly, as a new customer (for less than 24hours) I was left on my go-live day (Monday 29th) with no phone line or WiFi, was told several times by different customer service agents that it’ll go live anytime within the 24hours. It didn’t! Called customer helpline, got the phone put down on me, was told an engineer will be arranged to come and check my line, but it will take 3 working days to confirm when they can come out.
So I was left without WiFi for 3 days, then like a miracle, the WiFi started working on the Thursday afternoon (Thurs 1st). It worked, but it was really slow and impossible to view Facebook or check emails.

Friday morning I get a call from a customer service agent asking if I was happy with the WiFi and service, he does something to the Broadband from his end to improve the speed. WiFi goes down, so no WiFi all day Friday. I called customer service agents and told them what happened, the first agent did something and it’s stopped working, the second agent says he’ll undo what the first agent did, your WiFi should start to work in a couple of minutes.

It didn’t, I called again Friday night for the 3rd time, the agents check my line, confirms it’s fine. He doesn’t know what’s happened as he couldn’t access the notes from the previous agents. He’ll arrange for an engineer to come and check the line at mine.
Long story short, I HAVE NO WIFI. It’ll take another 3 working days to confirm an engineer. What I bloody joke! I will be left for almost 2 weeks without WiFi.

I’m self-employed, I work from home. I have lost a weeks earnings, and possibly a 2nd week's earnings because of Post Office Broadbands crap service! But of course, you don’t offer compensation, because you don’t do Broadband for businesses. That doesn’t help me, I’m self-employed and work from home!

It’s like a really bad comedy sketch, it just gets worse and worse! I’ve decided to go with Sky, and my new go-live date is the 16th of August. If the Post Office doesn’t sort out my Broadband, I will have been left without WiFi for 3 WEEKS!
  • Package price
    3/5
  • Customer service
    2/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Hanal 12 days ago
    Hi, did you ask them to cancel the contract before joining Sky? As they will charge you a cancellation fee for the whole of the contract.
Terrible!
 · 23 days ago
Review
Worst service ever recieved. Moved from sky because of price hike, worst mistake ever! I've never had such bad service, can't watch TV and use a laptop at the same time, can't get Internet in the next room, have been trying to complain about this for months and getting nowhere. They deliberately make the complaints process difficult, you can't reply to emails they send you, every email you send goes to the back of the queue, they don't hwve a free number to call and are the most unhelpful people to deal with. Whatever you do, don't go with them because they are cheap!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
  • Hanal 12 days ago
    Hi, did you ask them to cancel the broadband because of that problem? I am having the same problem and they say that they will charge me an early termination fee which is equal to the whole of the contract time
Dont buy
 · 24 days ago
Review
Internet speed sooooo slow cant believe how slow it is at times especially on the weekends. There promise of low limit speed is false
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
DO NOT SIGN UP TO THE POST OFFICE BROADBAND
 · 26 days ago
Review
The internet drops out all the time - literally sometimes every five minutes. Luckily I only have a month to go and can then change to another provider. I will be much more careful next time and choose quality over price! Unbelievably it even dropped out while I tried to post this review - it's a joke!
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    3.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
Don't waste your time
 · 1 month ago
Review
Bad! you can't do anything
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Dont waste your money
Review
No speed at all. Constantly cuts out. Keep having to use my phone data.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Unreliable service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Slows down then cuts off
Even customer service cut me off whilst on hold - do you think they called me back? ........NO!!!!!
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
Absolute scam, stay well away from these thieving bas^ards...
 · 1 month ago
Review
We contacted to leave before our contract ended, post office then said they would do us a deal, instead they tried to charge us for being out of contract which we were not, their systems and staff are just too sh^t to process anything fast enough.

The router dropped out frequently and the speeds were barely usable... Wouldn't touch with yours mate.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Experience/feedback
 · 1 month ago
Review
I got Post Office broadband 3 months ago. It is still working for me. All together I am happy with this broadband. Firstly the first year is very cheap. I received yesterday (after 3 months of order the broadband) the £50 Amazon voucher as they promised when I ordered. After I ordered the broadband I had to wait almost one month to get started. I find this too much time to wait. I called customer service and the woman on the phone has not got a clue about their product. Every time she puts me on hold as she had to ask someone around her for an answer to my question.

About the broadband: the ping time could be better.

My ping time around 10msec or more.
Download speed steady 1.9MB/sec - 2MB/sec.
Upload speed variable. Jumping between 700kB/sec and 1.1MB/sec.
The service always available. Sometimes I lose internet signal on the router for a minute maybe. It is happened ones, twice in a week.
I have a chrome cast when I turn on sometimes I cannot see on my device's for a very long time. With my previous router it wasn't problem at all.
It is not the best broadband for sure but useable and very cheap (the first year only). After the one year will finish I think I will get an other broadband. I think it is not fair to increase the price from £15.90 to £30/month after one year. I will go somewhere as a new customer and get another cheap deal..
I hope I could help.
  • Package price
    4/5
  • Customer service
    2.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    3/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Avoid at all costs
 · 1 month ago
Review
Hopefully those reding this review will believe that I have given a totally honest review of my experience with post office broadband. Here goes:
1. Customer service-no issues at all. They were helpful as could be but after 3 months of not being able to get a stable and strong signal I would have traded a good broadband for rude staff!
2. Price-believed it to be really good although as time went by I realised that cost, whilst important, is not everything.
3. Broadband- Out of the 3 months I've had post office broadband there have been trouble free days for under 40% of the time. The problem with losing the internet/poor speed began on day 1 and continued until I made a formal complaint threatening the involvement of OFCOM, trading standards and anyone else I could think of.
Lots of attempts to remedy the situation with several visits by engineers but to no avail. I had to wait several days however each time for them to try to fix it!
I had had another provider for the 2 years preceding the PO contract using the same OPENREACH infrastructure. Only 1 drop of internet in that period!
I am not an engineer but honestly believe that the problem was the flimsy router. It came (as far as I could ascertain) missing the latest firmware version. It was also configured to automatically select the best channel. One of the engineers told me that this was not recommended and duly changed it to channel 11 to limit overlapping issues. I was given a replacement router which had the same issues.
In addition, contrary to PO bumf promising a strong signal to every "nook and cranny" of the house it was intermittent to my son's bedroom which resulted in his PS4 kicking him out of games and a massive lag issue. I resolved this by buying a powerline adapter (£35)! but I shouldn't have had to. Again previous provider provided perfect signal to son's room for the 2 years.
All in all I really wouldn't touch the PO even if the broadband was free and they gave me a year's worth of first class stamps!
It may get better in time but we all live in the present don't we?

Do have to repeat that the customer service people are really friendly. I was allowed to leave without early termination charges and found the complaints handlers very good too.

Overall summary- AVOID!
  • Package price
    4/5
  • Customer service
    3.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Below industry average Ofcom complaints in 2019
  • Very competitively priced
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • No TV options
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.