Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

1.1 out of 5 from 470 reviews
Filter by rating:
13
9
9
36
381
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (637)
Broadband review by JM
JM
Don't expect good service then you wont be disappointed
6 hours ago.
Review
No communication, No Broadband. No resolution for at least a week.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Joseph
Joseph
Stay Away!
14 hours ago.
Review
If you want 12 months of torture, then go ahead. Post Office Broadband is by far the worst I have ever been with, constant disconnections, fluctuating speeds and just an overall really bad experience.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jimmy
Jimmy
I would stay away from Post Office Broadband (even if it is the cheapest)
1 days ago.
Review
The Go Live date was 15th April and there was no broadband, no signals other than a power light on the router being on. I have rang them numerous times and they get me to do checks, sometimes they put me on hold and it lasts for so long that I lose the person on the other line! I always get different stories like there is an outage in the area. Then later, they detect a Talk Talk router when a Post Office router is plugged in! They don't really have a clue what is going on and blame the Open Reach engineers. I have asked them to send an engineer out or to at least send a new router. They have refused saying they want to go through all the other checks first!

This is the first time I have experienced this with any providers. Normally if there is an outage, it would last less than a day. I have had to buy a MIFI as need the internet for my home business and this has cost me £60. Granted the Post Office have credited me with some money but I have little confidence with them. I would like to leave the Post Office broadband but the penalty is £150 plus. However, if this problem is not fixed in in 28 days, I can leave for free, so fingers crossed that they do not fix the problem.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Roy Wall
Roy Wall
Post Office Broadband overcharging me.
2 days ago.
Review
I am on a 24-month "fixed" contract for broadband and line-rental but now, PO has increased the "fixed" charge by £0.64 per month.

Also, I recently noticed that when I generated traffic via my VPN service with PIA, the PO throttled my internet-speed.

Yesterday, I got round this by connecting to PIA in France but, today, PO seems to have BLOCKED ALL CONNECTIONS to ANY PIA IP address.

In other words, PO seems to be taking some drastic measures of unacceptable behaviour. I am guessing that PO is campaigning against me so that I will go elsewhere so that it can than charge me heavily for leaving PO.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Anon
    Anon 1 days ago.
    Unless things have changed a lot since I worked for po tech support, they don’t support any kind of vpn software and the usage of them is technically a violation of their terms and conditions
Broadband review by Dave
Dave
DO NOT USE
5 days ago.
Review
Moving to Post Office phone + broadband they cancelled the order saying my phone line was "inactive" (this is the line I use everyday) I checked the line whilst talking to them on my mobile and confirmed it works fine. They refused acknowledge it and cancelled my order saying I would have to take out another order in 24 hours. It just so happened that I had taken the product out with them as there was a £50 credit if done within a certain time period (which I did) but as they had to cancel and let me take it out again (on the same number) I would not be eligible.......MMMMMMM I wonder wehy they canceled the first yet would let me use the same number again AFTER the offer ended.
DO NOT USE ......ABSOLUTE SCAM
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Roy Wall
    Roy Wall 2 days ago.
    PO appear to have adopted unscrupulous tactics in order to save money. See my review, above.
    Of course, many other companies are also doing this. They do things that are not technically illegal, but they also do things which ARE illegal but which they know that they will get-away-with. E.g., overcharging me is FRAUD.
Broadband review by Moogle
Moogle
Virgin is looking better and better
9 days ago.
Review
I recently renewed this "service" because I *need* the internet for job searching.
I also own a hand me down Xbox, and downloading some games can take more than 24 hours - this was for a 14gb update! Don't bother with the Post Office "broadband" (more like narrowband) with its frequent outages and spotty internet.
Watching a 5 minute YouTube video can take half an hour with the constant buffering every few seconds, so why watch anything at all? It isn't exactly coherent that way.
Assuming the internet's on long enough to access YouTube, of course.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Diane
Diane
Rubbish
10 days ago.
Review
Absolute waste of money. Literally no Internet anytime. Don't waste your money !!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jacey
Jacey
Dreadful. Worst broadband ever.
11 days ago.
Review
I usually read reviews before going for something new but this time I didn't. I was lulled into a sense of security by the brand name. I do end more than 4 months a year abroad so wanted a cheap package. The speed is so slow I've looked for a winder and I have to turn the wi fi off to open numerous Web sites on my phone as they will not other wise open. I end up running out of data. Just received another router but hasn't made the slightest difference. I am tied in for another 12 months of this 18 month contract or pay a massive get out charge.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Tel
Tel
Don't bother
11 days ago.
Review
If you want broadband that drops out regularly with speeds below 1 mb regularly and courses printer problems this is the one for you.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by KEVIN
KEVIN
Excellent service
12 days ago.
Review
I changed to post office and have to say there service as been excellent.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Roy Wall
    Roy Wall 2 days ago.
    I am guessing that your few words indicate that you are, somehow, in-the-pay-of this indefensible and unscrupulous company.
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Very competitively priced
  • Line rental from £11.50 per month
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • Poor customer service
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.