Post Office Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a Post Office broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Post Office Broadband
1.1/5 from 360 users. ( 527 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.5/5)
  • Broadband speed (0.6/5)
  • Price (1/5)
  • Phone package options (0.9/5)
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Post Office Broadband Package
  · 3 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have recently taken out a broadband package with The Post Office and as part of the features in my contract it states 'voicemail plus'. The Post Office have now decided they will start charging me for this feature despite several complaints from me highlighting that this was included in my package, however they aren't interested.
I think this is unacceptable to add this as a feature of the service then decide to start charging extra for it.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Lets fight back.
  · 4 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
They can't get away with this and I don't think leaving reviews is going to change minds or business habits which the post office have adopted. More of us together the more of a chance we have against this disgusting company. If you email me I will get us all together to voice our treatment to the right authorities so hopefully people can get their money back and this company gets shut down. If you would like to know something funny, take a read of what they said upon its release: link in last post below. Could you please contact me [email protected]
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Has anyone read the release information? just take a look at this sh!t.
  · 4 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
READ THEIR BLATANT LIES.
For anyone that wishes to go further with their complaints I would suggest us getting together in a facebook group to be counted for and offer a report against this awful company, also I believe a law suit is in order because its complete extortion what they are doing. www.uswitch.com/broadband/news/2017/08/
post_office_telecoms_welcomes_60_000_fuel_broadband_customers
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
The customer service advisors need to be retrained
  · 11 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I moved property in March and was told that my interior line was broken and I would have to pay £125.00 for someone to come out and fix it we did not pay because we decided it was too much and we wanted to use internet. My internet went down in August I called they informed me I need a microfilter I went out to buy one. The internet still did not work I called again they told me I did not need to buy a microfilter they had made a mistake. Still no internet.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Post office broadband
  · 12 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have now called Post office telecoms on 6 occasions over last 10 Days to be told a recording would be listened to.
Needless to say I'm still waiting on them calling back and someone listening to this recording. So new direct debit cancelled tmw and look for new provider. Customer service absolutely shocking.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Post Office Broadband
  · 12 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Post Office Telephones worst service ever experienced, endless calls to customer service who make it up as they go along, some very difficult to even understand, their English is so poor.

In the process of changing to another supplier, avoid Post Office Telephones like a 42 ton truck out of control!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking
  · 12 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Shocking WiFi speed in a 2 bedroom terraced house, constantly goes onto my 4g phone data, minimum £150 cancellation fee after 10 days use, I was told to wait 10 days for it to settle down, still no better, I would of had to cancel 14 days from the day I clicked to enter the contract, which is of no use if you have to wait for connection, post office has run tests on my line and said this is normal speed!! After running several speeds on websites they all state my speed is slow and below average, very very frustrated that I have to stay with them for the full 12 months without adequate WiFi around my home, in addition I live alone therefore I am the only one using WiFi at any time, stay clear of the post office, cheap is not always good as I have now realised
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Post office broadband
  · 16 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Can't get through to customer service rang 4 times they're experience a very large number of calls and cuts you off. I'm going to be ringing Ofcom to complain.
Here's Ofcoms numbers if anyone needs them:

Ofcom 0300 1233000
Internet services 0300 1233333
Head office 0207 9813040
Was this review helpful to you?
LandlinesaverThank you for adding the Ofcom telephone numbers.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Had post office broadband for 9 months and had problems from the start..slow broadband speeds and when I rang in april was told to make sure I had everything plugged in right...was made to feel like a child with all instructions..was taken through all checks then they rang me on my mobile and said fault was at exchange and they would sort it within 72 hours and text me when all ok...20 minutes later get a call from engineer saying when will I be in so they can sort it and cost was £144.....told him to jog on as fault was at exchange..after much talk backwards and forwards said I wanted to cancel and told cost would be £147....been ringing every week since and getting no where....just fob people off with waffle....would NEVER recommend post office...hope this helps someone out...think offcom is my next step..
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid like the plague
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Do not use - customer service is non existent. Had to buy a mobile 4g contract as this internet is unusable. No one wanted to help. Off to Ofcom to complain.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
The U.K's Most Appalling Broadband Service
  · 19 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Relax, Uncle Joe Stalin is in charge of the State owned Post Office Broadband. If you seek First Class Customer Service you will be sent to a Siberian Gulag. You will give them your money and will not be entitled to a service fit for purpose.

Over the years I have been with Be, Telefonica, o2 and Sky. Never a single problem and if there was a hiccup it was seen to immediately. Sky was fantastic!

Since moving home I have been with Post Office Broadband for over 20 months and would only ever use them again when Hell freezes over. Here's the list. Sit back and have a cup of tea or a shot of vodka.

1. Constant drop outs sometimes for a few minutes and more often than not for a full or half day.

2. Atrocious customer service. Some staff will hang up the phone. Obviously trained by The Kremlin.

3. They will try to blame you the customer if something is wrong. Even if you have somebody with a degree in computer engineering, as my grandson has, they will still try and blame shift. Never once in dozens have calls have they admitted it is their servers or rather the trash infrastructure of TalkTalk which they use.

4. Forget escalating customer complaints to a Senior Manager. No doubt they think an escalator is something you'll find in a Super Store.

5. They will tell you it will cost £150.00 to send out an engineer if the fault is on your premises - ignoring the fact that it is they who have provided the filter, router and possibly line in. This is to put you off. I had two engineers visit and they said my equipment was perfect and the fault was with the underground cable box. Yes, I already knew. Meanwhile a few days later the Wi-Fi goes back to normal cutting out. Oh dear! TalkTalk must be overloaded yet again.

6. They may suggest that your filter is damaged and tell you that you will have to bear the cost of a new filter. Keep in mind that is is the filter they supplied and as such a replacement should be there responsibility.

7. You will note that unlike others they do not have a Customers' Forum. The last thing they want is for their customers to share tales of horror and woe. As for Service Status. lol.

8. Finally the sting. If you pay your line rental a year in advance and cancel before it expires not only will you not get any money back for any unused period but they will also charge you for cancelling!
Yes, Uncle Joe Stalin and his lackeys want to get as much money from you as they can. Not satisfied with having your money in their bank for twelve months they will charge you for leaving them.

If you want to know more please fell free to contact me. I am raising the various issues with my Member Of Parliament, Trading Standards and the Secretary of State For Digital, Culture, Media and Sport. They are not Fit For Purpose. They do not honour their part of the agreement by providing a reliable and efficient service.

If you really are intent on using Post Office Broadband I would strongly recommend consulting a psychiatrist before parting with your money. Failing that, read all the reviews on here and other sites.

A tip: Don't bother with a land line for calls. Cheaper to have a mobile with Pay As You Go. At least you'll not get ripped off with any non refundable contract.

Oh...and just remember. All those calls to Customer Service, all the waiting, all the stress, all the times you are disconnected. One thing you can not get back is time. Life is too precious to have it wasted by Uncle Joe Stalin's State Owned Post Office Broadband.
Was this review helpful to you?
joeumm. not owned by the state anymore. so if possible its gotten even worse coz the bosses only care about the profits not the products.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Bad choice
  · 22 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Internet keeps dropping every five minutes cutting off all devices in our home including our TV so tonight is the last straw we have had enough 4 years of drop outs and bad internet connection and an bill increase of £10 taking the full amount to £40 a month and then £30 on top for subscriptions we are basically giving our money away for a very bad service and paying for TV we can't even watch without interruptions. Tomorrow we will get the internet cut off all together and sell all our computers as there's no point in having them . We are on a low income and wanted to have a bit of luxury but the good thing will be an extra £70 a month back in our pockets. The service is a rip off and IL be glad to get rid of as it causes nothing but stress and arguements as tonight we have had 7 no internet drop outs since 6pm and it's still not working
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
The worst thing I have ever done
  · 27 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This is the worst thing I have ever done
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Router automatically resets itself
  · 28 days ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The speed is fine but the router keeps resetting itself why does this happen especially when playing online games every day since I've had it installed
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Disgraceful Shambles / Faulty Routers Supplied
  · 28 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The routers supplied by this hopeless provider has faults communicating with other devices, printers, smart tv's. They are aware that they are sending out faulty routers but continue to do so. I los 17 hours in a week finding this out. The tech team is a disaster because only half of them are aware the others are rude and incompetent. The managers are beyond ignorant, they offer a solution of a £25.oo credit if you go to Argus and buy another router, they will not send a replacement. They deliberately miss sell the service by not informing you of the problem they are aware of at point of sale. The fourteen day opt out period by design expires before your service is live, leaving you stuck with this cynical hopeless belligerent talentless shambles. Avoid
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Awful service! Awful broadband speeds! Awful customer service!! Theft
  · 29 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I swapped from BT as after a year BT's price rise was astronomical. I'd been with PO before and had a no-fuss service so switched to them without a second thought.

Immediately there was a decline in speed, I'm in a rural location some distance from the exchange so I expect slow speeds, but not <1mbps on average after promising 1-3mbps minimum and having had 3.5mbps from BT. The line kept cutting out entirely for a few seconds, for which most annoyingly the constant connection and reconnection of various programs pinging at me was almost worse than having it cut out properly.

After complaining post office told me this worse speed than BT is because they cannot afford good routers and servers. During this time a superfast fibre broadband cable was put in 10 feet from my house and my neighbour connected to it through BT, I was kicking myself for having swapped, as apparently PO cannot give anyone fibre service. Having a speed of 0.3mbps when a 200mbps/second cable is within spitting distance is harsh, but I'd have been only mildly frustrated by the dangling fibre bait if post office had just provided 3mbps as promised, I could have done the things I needed on that speed...but not on 0.5mbps, you can't watch a video, upload a photo to FB, attach a document to an email..it's worse than it not being there because the amount of time wasted watching the "processing" icons hoping it works this time, then failing and having to try again.

It took 6 months of repeated calls and hundreds of speed tests that I had to report for them to acknowledge they were providing an inferior service (speed too low to load a facebook photo!) and to release me from my contract.

They then fluffed up my final bill, didn't register my service had ended and kept sending bills for a service which had already ended, and taking amounts of money for which there was no explanation (not fees, call costs, services, charges, no explanation at all).

They took more than £134 in 2 months (when my monthly bill had been £23). Multiple calls to them led to my having to start from scratch with my explanation of the problem each time as they did not read their own notes, repeatedly get told incorrect information and take the customer service person through the process of recognising they had confliciting end dates and bills in their own system.
Each time they acknowledged their error, appologised and promised to set it straight...then more unauthorised money would be stolen from my bank without warning, which led to overdraft charges.

It was only when I threatened to go to the police to have them charged with the theft that they sorted out the final bill showing I was in credit for the amount taken and would be repaid, but despite promising to put the money back immediately it still hasnt been repaid causing more and more overdraft charges.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Do not bother fraudsters the lot of them
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have been with these shisters since Dec 2017 and all i can say is what a disgraceful company. I have got home from work to be informed by my husband that my broadband has been restricted without any notification so i decided to call them and that is where the joke begins. I am a disabled person and my children are home schooled now post office is already well aware that i am disabled, so i talked to an advisor called liza ha if that is what you to call it she informs me that someone in her department on the 6th of July and spoke to him i told her no such calls have been received in my house at all and they had the bear face cheek to lie to me and they said they have spoke to my husband and they have tried to call me 3 times and have managed to speak with somebody everytime at this point i am beyond fury with i work for a telecommunications company and you are supposed to let them in writing if seevices are going to be disconnected they have completely breached their contract with me so i am going and as they breached the contract they can forget ETFs as i aint paying seriously beware these shisters at all costs purely evil and don't care about their customers decided i am going to go to Vodafone much better customer services and service full stop
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish never use the post office
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
After a dear friend had problems with no service it took 17 telephone calls, 2 emails, 2 weeks & 2 engineers.

Disgraceful
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Absolutely awful!!!!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I cannot empathise how truly awful this company is.

Our internet speed was horrendous. From the moment we woke up to when we went to bed, the internet constantly dropped in and out.
We could rarely watch a movie or even search the web, so we called the 'Technical' team on several occasions, who just seemed to check our line and just say it was working fine, and that was it. Apparently, no fault.
After 10 months we finally got fed up and went elsewhere, only to be hit with a bill for £130!!! After my emails being ignored, i caved and phoned to pay in 3 instalments. This was rejected by PO telecoms.
Needless to say, they wont be getting a penny from me now.
My 6 year old could give better customer service than this lot!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
trying to disconnect my dads phone account
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
trying since the end of May to disconnect my dads phone as he has gone into a care home. i stopped the direct debit but that is not enough. I got the letter from the care home as requested. Still not enough. Even though I am the one paying the bill, they cannot tell me anything about the account. Bonkers. Still paying.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Email
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
If you want results, go to the top,
[email protected] Give it a go!
Was this review helpful to you?
soontobe expostofficecustomerSome more Post Office people here (press) - maybe they don't know how bad their service is (?) http://www.mynewsdesk.com/uk/post-office/contact_people/47162
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
No complaints
  · 1 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Can't complain about the service, the speeds are alright and never had any issues. Rang up a few times to query some things and always get an answer. Definitely better than when i was with Sky.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Utterly, completely unfit for purpose (0.5mbps, customer service loops)
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Since going live, we have received a technical capability and customer service level which has been completely unfit for purpose. After weeks of engaging with the Post Office Telecom processes, we have no choice but to conclude that it fundamentally lacks both the engineering capability as well as customer service ability to competently rectify the problems.

We have been receiving fluctuating speeds on our broadband line from the start, with no clear pattern - sometimes as high as 6Mbps, but most evenings down to less than 0.5Mbps. This speed is poor enough that, at one point, we didn’t even have enough internet speed to search online for the right technical support telephone number to investigate the issue.

Worse than the actual technical problems, it seems that the business processes being followed at the Post Office customer support lines are in complete disarray.

In the first two weeks of service, the employees we spoke to assured us that the speed of our line would settle down after the fortnight “bedding in” period where speed vs. reliability tests were conducted. It did not.
Therefore, in mid-May we started conducting frequent speed tests using their tool, and feeding those data points back to Post Office Telecoms.
On 21/05/2018 we were asked to send in at least 3 ping and tracert data points using an ethernet connection and the RJ45 test socket in the main telephone point of the house (to [email protected]) whilst no wifi was connected. This was done exactly per the instructions. An automated response email and later discussion with their employees confirmed our email was received - indeed, they told us, we should expect a response around 24 - 48 hours later. We just needed to give them time to look at the ping and tracert data we'd sent.
Lovely.
Except...
Between then and 07/06/2018, the primary account holder called in every 2 or 3 days to chase progress on this. At every call, the call centre script with your employees was basically the same: had we done speed tests? Were they on the test socket? Were wifi devices on? Was it on an ethernet connection? Can we send in ping and tracert data again? (GAH!)
Occasionally, the employees would try a variant… they’d confirm the issue had been passed to an engineering team, who had “closed the support ticket as they were waiting on ping and tracert data”. Which we duly re-sent via email the same day, and received automated email responses acknowledging its receipt.
On 07/06/2018, after many, many phone calls… as a native English speaker, who works in technology herself, and who has worked on IT support desks so has an unusually high level of patience when dealing with contact centres… our primary account holder gave up on the Post Office support team as a lost cause.
Spouse (co-account holder) took up the battle.
Thereafter has followed another week of regular support calls, with us sending speed tests, doing a fresh sets of ping and tracert data captures (with screenshot proof of wifi being off, pictures of the command line output, screen grabs of the speed test results).
The same lack of customer service has continued.
On 14/06/2018 17:46, we received an email stating that a technical fault had been fixed.
This morning (15/06/2018 09:10), we received a telephone call confirming that the Post Office had received the ping and tracert data we'd sent a few days ago. Apparently, the matter was going to be passed onto the engineering team and we would hear back within 3 working days.
Confused, we rang back to clarify why the email of 14/06/2018 had suggested a fault had been found and fixed but there was an engineering ticket open… only to be told that no one from the Post Office had emailed us, no one had called at 09:10 this morning, and that the latest status according to this colleague’s support ticket was that we needed to send in ping and tracert data.
At this point, we decided to terminate the service.
We told the employee (Ryan) that we are going to post off a letter requesting that the service is terminated - the employee told her a letter won’t do any good, he will transfer her to the Service Termination Team on the call. We agreed. Except Ryan accidently cut the line whilst trying to transfer the call. Called back a few mins later to apologise and try again. We agreed again to talk to the termination team. The call was cut off again.

WE GIVE UP TRYING TO GET THEM TO PROVIDE ANY LEVEL OF SERVICE AND ARE RESORTING TO AN OFCOM COMPLAINT.

The Post Office is clearly unable to provide the service we purchased, technically or in terms of customer service. Our broadband experience has been an utter waste of time, with countless hours wasted in troubleshooting and in weeks of calls to a support team who achieved precisely nothing in that time.
We've never dealt with an organisation that was so inept!
Save yourself the headache and look to one of their competitors.
UPDATE JULY 2018: we've activated the service with a competitor and on the exact same line are getting reliable peak traffic speeds of 8-15mbs. More than ever, wish we'd not wasted 4 months of headaches with the Post Office!
Was this review helpful to you?
CetaSadly I’m currently in the same situation you were in with PO broadband but haven’t a clue how to do ping or tracert data tests,I only have 1 mobile phone,1 PS4 games console and 1 smart tv as connectable devices (I don’t have any kind of laptop or pc even) and this is my very first time on home broadband,I went live on 20th June and just 1mth later and I’m so deeply dissatisfied with the dreadful internet speeds that I’m intermittently receiving,which incidentally are nowhere near what was estimated,even when it’s “good” and I only have my mobile phone connected I still get warnings on my phone that the connection is too slow,I’m currently in the process of trying to learn if and how I can leave PO broadband,my first bill wasn’t even showing and although I called and emailed I got nowhere and it’s only now my 2nd bill has been issued that it’s showing my bills online but prior to this I couldn’t check or monitor usage and/or fees etc,to say I’m disgusted is a gross understatement!
If you have any advice for me I would be so deeply grateful as I’m at a complete loss.
Thank you.
Rhian@Victoria YAtes: If you have documented proof (speedtest reports that go to them) of your service being repeatedly below their promised speeds eg you were promised 3-5mbps and are getting an average of 1mbps) of them failing to uphold their end of the contract then the contract can be terminated without charge. Getting to that point is the hard bit, expect about 30 hours of phone conversations, lies, being spoken down to in a "have you tried switching it off and then on again?" way, repeating yourself till you press mute and scream for 10 seconds.
Hold your nerve and ask for termination of contract immediately and repeatedly, threaten them with offcom, ask to speak to managers immediately... then maybe they'll think you're too much bother to keep playing games with and give in.
View more (1)
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Worst UK internet ISP - EVER
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Rubbish service. The PO router is connecting through for data...48hrs of no service.
Told by CS to change the microfilter...did that to no avail? Want to charge £140 for an engineer.
To do what? Look at a perfectly fine BT openreach box?
What charlatans AVOID THIS USELESS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS
Was this review helpful to you?
Nicole and kevThey keep telling us the same about the filter after 5 filter changes we still have a bad service so it definitely ain't the filter. It's just there excuse to get away with there bad service
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
AWFUL
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Cuts off. No speeds. AWFUL. Worst internet I’ve ever been with. Worst customer service. DO NOT USE POSTOFFICE
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Disappointing beyond belief
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
What a terrible company. Phone to sort out my Dad's phone as he needs it in an emergency. Without to much detail, he is 90 and dying. He needs a phone in an emergency, he is constantly on oxygen and needs to be able to call emergency services. Phone the Post Office to get an engineer out as the phone line is crackling and cutting off.
The operator refused to speak to me as i hadn' t got LPA even though my name is on the account, eventually i got her to talk to me, what a shambles trying to get an engineer out. They wanted me to do a line check, then a jack point check, which we had already done, still refusing to send an engineer as the line was still live even though intermittant. Eventually they agreed to send an engineer but not within 24hrs, could take 3-4 days, my Dad probably hasn't got 3-4 days, now his wish to go home to die has fell behind deaf ears thank you Post Office!! as the emergency services won't let him without the phone. Don't touch this company with a barge pole!!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Mis-sold
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
When i contacted the sales person originally he asked what i used broadband for i explained personal laptop usage and Amazon Firestick he said no problem.....however after joining i found out that the Post Office don't allow Amazon Firestick usage! my speed is also slow. when i rang to complain they stated if i cancel i would have to pay for the rest of my 2 year deal..not happy as i feel this was mis-sold to me. also found lots of restricted sites incl national lottery? what a waste of my money
Was this review helpful to you?
DavidAs you told them what you wanted, they have failed to supply, so they cant hold you to contract as they are not giving you what you ordered.
The post office are a bunch of W*****s
contact the ombudsman, they will say anything to get a sale, they should be able to get you out
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Moving House - Why so long?
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
We are moving house soon, but the difficulties we've experienced with our chain pale into insignificance compared to the obstacles Post Office Phones put in our way. I understand that the 14 day notice may be a legal requirement, but I'm sure they don't have to make it 14 days from each time we contact them. We notified them yesterday that we we were moving and they told us that they would be able to give us our new number tomorrow if we called them (go figure!) and our line would be cut off at midnight. So we called them today (because they had failed to turn off our line) and they then told us we would have to wait another day for the line to be cut and a further 14 days for our new number to be active because they couldn't handle two transactions at a time on one line. Of course, what they also failed to consider was that we were only starting another transaction because they had failed to do as they promised in the first place. In other words, we were being penalized for their incompetence. It seems they haven't cut the line today either so we confidently expect to face this same charade tomorrow, which will then mean we have to wait a further 14 days. How can any organization really be that incompetent and obstructive and hope to survive in an open competitive market? Do these directives come from head office or are their customer services departments staffed by a bunch of driveling idiots? If anyone reading this is tempted to go with this company because of their competitive pricing, I can only say DON'T GO THERE!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Post office broadband review
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Post office broadband review
Customer service is everything in a competitive market; it can make or break your business. Nobody expects everything to go right every single time, so it is when things do go wrong that customer service should come into its own. They are your customer’s first point of call, that which shapes your image in the eyes of the public and separates the good from truly awful. It is a skill which has to be perfected over time with experience, knowledge and commitment.
With this in mind I will say that Post Office Broadband customer service is one of the worst I have ever experienced. The first thing that confronts you is the apathetic attitude. You are not important to them and they are not interested in you or the company they represent. They are unable to enunciate their speech or communicate in a clear and helpful manner. They have no verbal or listening skills so you have to constantly repeat yourself to get your message across. Then when you become frustrated, instead of calming the situation down with reassurances and empathy they simply turn the tables and make you feel that you are a nuisance and being unreasonable.
One customer service officer at Post Office broadband has recently told me to stop interrupting him, when I informed him I wanted to make a complaint he seemed aggrieved and outraged. When I insisted that he acknowledge my complaint he informed me that it wouldn’t make any difference. I still waiting for a phone call back from them, but I’m not holding my breath.

Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 readers found the following review helpful
Absolute Joke
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Have been with the post office now for nearly 18 months and I just can’t wait to be rid of this ridiculousl company.

We have constantly had mega slow speeds, or no internet at all since we took the contract out. When we ring to complain phone staff are rude & tell us “there’s no problem our end” “do a speed test” when the speed tests look fine to them were told nothing can be done.
A month ago I rang very angrily and said I’d spoken to the twitter team ( this is a verified page) and was told by the man on the phone “how do you know it’s a real twitter account, it’s someone pretending to be the post office” I was shocked. I asked to talk to technical support, this gentleman was lovely and very helpful. He said he could change a few things and it should work. It did, for about 2 weeks.
I’ve called again today and been told I should buy a new filter for the wall connection, I can have an engineer come out for £144 if I like. I asked if this part is something that goes wrong immediately and was told no, so how has my internet been rubbish since we started the contract.
Definitely avoid this company, they are just rude and don’t want to help at all. Have wasted money paying for a service we haven’t received.
Was this review helpful to you?
ElizabethI was with them but have since cancelled with them as I was getting billed £63 a month for standard broadband!! The last two months!!! When I paid my bill and contacted them they said it could take up to 24 hours to reconnect it. Now this is the second month in a row that they have done the same. Sadly I paid my extortionate £63 bill again. 24 hours later still no broadband!! Rang customer services and now it will be up to 72 hours to reconnect. When I asked why my Internet is so expensive and being cut off the reply I got was that the direct debit was cancelled. I informed them I did not cancel it. They admitted they did and if I wanted to be informed of when my bill was due I had to pay £1.50 a month. Doesn't sound like much but it all adds up. Now, even though they are quick to take my payment and switch me off when I had no idea when my bill date is due it can take up to 14 days to cancel my broadband with them!!! If I could give anyone any advice I would say to stay clear of them. I have now signed up to a cheaper broadband deal and it is cheaper. Complete rip off for what you get.
11 of 12 readers found the following review helpful
Don't buy post office broadband
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Was due to go live but the same old crap from customer service if that is what you can call it. Run by the thick and stupid. Can they get anything right? Left with no phone no broadband, do not use the post office. Take note of the reviews, I wish I had done. You never get an answer only some crap excuse. Good riddance, spend money anywhere, but not with these fruit cakes!
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Quite slow
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Everything was fine until my internet started going slow, as if I was in the 1990s dial up, with pages stopping or taking ages to load. Then they just seem to read from a script telling me to do things my end such as buying a new part that goes into the socket which didn't make any difference. Then after 4 times of contacting them they told me to test my own speed by taking screen shots to send them. Felt like they were wasting time until the next time they told me they can't do anything.

When I was with another company they had ways of testing speeds themselves or do something their end. I could only test the speeds when the pages hadn't stopped but they didn't care about how the pages kept stopping.
Then after I sent in screen shots they asked for they told me it was in the speed limit, and offering me another contract for fibre broadband. I told them that if they aren't going to do anything now, then why would I take out a contract for fibre broadband so I can't go to a more helpful company? They have left me little choice but to change to another company
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Ok for us
  · 2 months ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
My 18 month contract expires next month and I can honestly say the PO has been no better or worse than my other providers. I've called customer services twice in 18 months and neither one was about the speed. It's dropped off a couple of times but we reset the router and were back up and running again. I have a smart tv so stream YouTube and Spotify from my tablet to my tv, download films, catch up tv etc with no problem. I am going to change to fibre as there are some pretty good deals but when I've reviewed the providers all there is are bad reviews but you need to look past those otherwise you wouldn't have any internet at all!
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 readers found the following review helpful
Total Rubbish broadband should be called NO BAND
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
This is by far the worst ever ever ever connection, too slow to run speed test, cannot open basic web pages without waiting 5 mins, every page slow, pictures takes minutes to download, absolutely rubbish as an experienced internet user, I can say this broadband is definitely NOT broadband I can get quicker speeds with a 36K modem remember what one of those is.... this is absolutely awful so slow and unreliable you may aswell walk to GOOGLE and get them to search for you, absolute RUBBISH I wouldn't recommend this service to my worst enemy... dowmloads at 1 or 2K in this day and age is totally unacceptable... absolutely shocking poor tragic service provider... talk about waiting waiting and waiting 10 minutes to login into my email) Hotmail every time so slow should be called SNAIL NET … total RUBBISH, I will be changing as soon as possible AVOID AVOID AVOID…

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY go to Virgin or SKY avoid this terrible service do not make the same mistake as me.. Oh yeah Post Office if you want to challenge me then bring it on I have a PHD in computer science and over 20 years working in IT at Architect level so if you want give me a call to discuss 01952 770 772...

YOU really are Jokers...
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish.
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I'm 73 years old and have had internet providers since the very beginning and I can honestly say I have NEVER had such a terrible connection. Slow is an understatement non existent more describes it and when I tried to cancel after 10 days I was given the run around and told I would have to pay early cancelation fees and to connect with a ethernet cable so they can check speed. What a joke, I signed up for wi fi NOT to have a cable running all over my bungalow as a death trap to trip me up. Please DO NOT sign with Post Office they are truly rubbish and not fit for purpose I can not warn people enough. Thank you
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Just awful!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Avoid this shocking company
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Stay well clear
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Fed up trying to get anyone to do anything other than tell me to send in speed checks! Had enough! Going to ombudsman if I can't get out of this totally useless contract!
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Literally the worst
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Don't buy this. Simple as that. It disconnects constantly, barely even reaches 2 mbps down and 1 mbps up. I'd not care if the disconnects were rare but they're not, they happen 3+ times every single day. I can assure you there are no worse providers out there. Save yourself a headache, spend a little extra money and get something infinitely better.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
GO WITH ANY OTHER BROADBAND PROVIDER
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I wish I had read the reviews on this site first and gone elsewhere. Tried to set up order on line, filled in all required got to end bank details etc, received the please wait buffer for 15 mins, had to call them which I didn't want to do, The please wait happens a lot, spent over 30 mins on the phone to set up order received confirmation of appointment etc on the 6/6 on the 8/6 received to say order needed more info, click on link, of course didn't work. Had to call again, to be informed the original operator hadn't completed the order and my installation was now pushed back 2 days and NOTHING could be done to change it. Long story short lost temper, manager or supervisor as I also believe in shouting at them no the poor sod who answers the phone wouldn't speak to me! In summary DO NOT TAKE BROADBAND FROM THE POST OFFICE !
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 8 readers found the following review helpful
Good
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I don't get all of these negative reviews, I've had no problem with PO Broadband. Much better than my last provider with which I had to wait on hold for half an hour before i was able to speak to anyone.
I would recommend them to anybody. I'm getting 13 megabytes on a standard broadband.
Was this review helpful to you?
Review your broadband provider

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
→ By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 23 Aug £18.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited £17.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 21 Aug £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.