Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

avatar
1.1 out of 5 from 509 reviews
Filter by rating:
14
9
9
45
410
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (676)
Broadband review by DT
DT
Don't Go There !
5 hours ago.
Review
It's astonishing to see the number of complaints in these reviews ! I do completely endorse what I see !
We had Post Office Broadband for a while. Absolute garbage. Slow speeds , un-announced 'outages' ,
non-existent 'technical support' from un-trained staff, 'lost' email addresses ... they sent us a new 'router'
to solve this one ! Blistering speed at it's lowest 0.08mbps, but to be fair, it did climb to around 4 mbps
sometimes. The list goes on. No longer with them of course ! Beware ! I would advise anyone
who has signed up to this nonsense to get out asap ! Surprised that nobody at Post Office hasn't worked
out, or is aware, that they are getting reviews like these, or maybe they just simply don't care and will
continue to play along with a crap product sadly using our well known UK 'Post Office' logo.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Chelle
Chelle
No stars
1 days ago.
Review
Totally rubbish RUBBISH rUbBiSh....... rubbbbbbish
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Peter Edwards
Peter Edwards
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!!
1 days ago.
Review
So my bill was late... I called them to speak to someone to be told internet has been cut off !!!! After bill has been paid......I asked to speak to manager who was a lady named Chelsea (wouldn't give me her last name said she's the only "Chelsea"working for them.
She had the worst attitude of anyone I have ever spoke to in any service team, she was dismissive and rude throughout our call and provided me with no help at all to resolve our issue, she said that it's "out her hands " what a gang of useless people these are !!!! Strongly advise against anyone using this service.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Sam
Sam
Awful service
3 days ago.
Review
We have almost two weeks with no internet, we call and call and nothing, they just say that a technician is coming. Well we’re waiting and we already pay everything so we’re eating our refund!!!

Do not contract with post office
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by DEREK
DEREK
MICKY MOUSE BROADBAND
4 days ago.
Review
Had to stick with this for 12 months when can you ever watch netflix? its so crap and slow. if you are using the net or watching netflix and the phone rings, it cuts the tv off. if you are using the tv you cannot receive any calls. It just cuts everything off. Good price, but does not work.. going back to BT.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Matt D
Matt D
Avoid Post Office like the plague!
5 days ago.
Review
I have had broadband for many years with many different providers and never noticed any difference between them – until getting post office broadband. It is awful! Unreliable (intermittently disconnecting 10 times a month), slow (download speeds less than half of those advertised 10 times a month) and their customer service is awful (they denied that I was experiencing any issues!).
I would never use any Post Office service ever again!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Mark
Mark
Awful
5 days ago.
Review
Avoid at all costs, Connection speeds are non existent, customer service is appalling and as you can see from reviews they constantly blame internal line faults, Open Reach must hate them as much as their unfortunate customers.

I've cancelled my DD and i'll be taking them to court if they don't release me from my contract.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Chris S
Chris S
BUYER BEWARE- 14 DAYS WITHOUT INTERNET!!!
7 days ago.
Review
BUYER BEWARE- 14 DAYS WITHOUT INTERNET!!!

The short story is the Post Office left us internet-gazumped. For 14 days, imagine- no streaming services, my wife (who is studying her Masters) unable to study, we both unable to work from home- having to have work conference meetings at relatives’ houses etc. A complete nightmare.
Here is what happened

The horror stories are true. But with the Post Office, the experience was so bad before I had even got my broadband. I purchased the broadband through the Post Office website. They contacted my then-provider. As my custom was going over to the Post Office, the then-provider in-affect begins the switch-over process. Please note, that once this takes place, the then-provider is unable to cancel the cancellation of their services unless the Post Office makes the request. I was informed (by the then-provider) they had received the request for a switch-over and it would happen in 15 days’ time.

One week later I received an email from the Post Office saying they had rejected my order because the landline information was incorrect. After speaking to the then-provider, I confirmed the landline details. Rather than complete the existing order, Post Office created a new order.
A day later I received another email rejecting my order again, this time because “someone had already put in a request to take over the line”. When I pointed out that someone was them, they told me they were unable to complete the order until the initial 15 days was complete then is would be a further 14 days until they could provide the internet. And because my then-provider had begun the switch-over process, they were unable to continue the internet to that time because they hadn’t received a request to cancel the cancellation, once Post Office rejected the first order.
Confused? Try spending 3 hours on a Saturday on the phone trying to find out what went wrong…

Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Andrew
Andrew
Rubish
11 days ago.
Review
Always buffering or stopping altogether do not get it it's the worst broadband I've ever had
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by mags
mags
Poor quality broadband and overpriced.
14 days ago.
Review
I was going to go online today or phone them to see if i could work out a better deal as I'm paying £30 a month, i thought i was on a fixed deal for £18 a month after them purchasing Fuel broadband but obviously not.
I also thought i was the only one with poor broadband connection, my connection goes down at least once a week and it takes hours or even days to sort the problem out, i thought this was because i live on an unadopted road, clearly after reading the reviews this is not the case. I'm... when i finally find any details i have on post office as i had 1 letter which i seem to have lost i will be cancelling my contract.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Very competitively priced
  • Line rental from £11.50 per month
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • Poor customer service
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.