Post Office Broadband

Average peak time speed: 11Mbs, prices start from £15.90 per month Compare Post Office Broadband deals

 

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Very competitively priced
  • Line rental from £11.50 per month
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • Poor customer service
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

Post Office Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Post Office broadband customers.

1.1 out of 5 from 403 reviews
Filter by rating:
11
9
8
26
327
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (570)
Kate
Useless
6 days ago.
Review
I tried to join Post Office Telecoms using their black friday deal. I was told they were able to provide me with a line. They said they would send me a confirmation email. Before I could ask when the email would be sent and to check they had my correct email address (as the advisor had not repeated it back to me) I was put through to a survey.
I rang back and asked about the email, they said I would receive the confirmation email for my order within 24 hours. (normally companies send them within minutes of making an order).
I waited for 35 hours and still had not received an email so called them back. They told me my order had been rejected and they'd be looking into it on the 3rd December. Apparently there wasn't enough room at the exchange for my line (even though I was told it was a simple case of switching over my current line from BT to them).
They advised me they would call me on 3rd December to let me know an update.
On 3rd December I received a phone call of one ring which then rang off...
4th December I received a letter welcoming me to Post Office Telecom and and advising me to login to my account using the username given to me when I first placed the order (no username was given to me).
5th December I called them again and was advised that my order had been rejected and that they've sent me an email and attempted to call me to advise me of this.No email received (yes, even in my spam folder) and the one ring call made on Monday is apparently their version of attempting to call me. I was advised to call another telecoms operator - why would I when all the black friday deals no longer apply. Their incompetence and lies have meant I've missed out on all black friday deals that other operators were offering.

I requested they send me an email to confirm the order has been rejected and that BT are aware that I don't want my phone cut off. I still have not received this email. (or any emails from them).

If they had been able to provide me with the service they told me they were able to provide me the package price would have been excellent. A saving for me personally of £45 per month which is a massive saving compared to BT's exorbitant prices. Totally pee'd off that they made miss out on other black friday deals
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
john4612
Dead as a dodo service
7 days ago.
Review
Well the PO broadband has now gone from awful to totally dead, submitted a formal complaint both by email and letter, Called again this morning asked the same set of questions by some trained monkey they employ, will keep you updated on this saga.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
JN
Terrible...I have literally just lost my job due to abysmal internet. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
7 days ago.
Review
First, the router went missing in the post and they insisted it had been delivered even though it hadn't. Therefore I couldn't get internet for 3 days after I was supposed to start. They promised me a free month to compensate so I gave them the benefit of the doubt, even though the first woman at customer service was extremely rude, the second one forgot to actually order the new router and it took to the third attempt to even get the internet installed.

I teach online and have lost several clients mid-lesson due to the internet being unable to cope and continually crashing. According to the tests I have to run it should have the capacity to handle the system I have to use for work but it can't handle it. It crashes and freezes all the time. It's slow when it does work. I've had it a week and I am going to cancel today.

It doesn't deserve the half stars but I can't go any lower.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
John4612
Avoid at any cost, even free
9 days ago.
Review
Even if PO Broadband offer you free internet and phone don't take it, they are total rubbish. My sister switched a few moths ago and we still having problems from day 1.

Download speed is 0.22 Meg, upload speed is 0.56meg , still cant figure that one out.

4 BT engineers have been out, claimed to have fixed the fault and its still the same, , 2 new routers and still the same.

BT are meant to text you BEFORE they come to the house , they actually send me a text 2 days AFTER they had been.

The last BT engineer blamed PO for using cheap equipment, because they actually are run by Talk-talk, need i say more

Would love to leave negative feedback but you cant.

This company should be legislated out of business.

Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Alex
Avoid like plague!! intimidating customer service
11 days ago.
Review
After many years being with PO I decided to switch to a new provider, Simply because they're cheaper and with PO every bill would be different or higher and hard to understand.Switching was supposed to be easy........I contacted my new supplier and soon after they gave me the date when my service will go live with them. As I would always pay for 3 months upfront with post office broadband, The bill they created was also for 3 months. broadband, I was advised by their customer service to not pay it and wait for the adjusted final bill for only 1 month....However I didn't receive the right bill and I was constantly harassed by post office to pay the total for 3 months! I phoned them to explain the situation and asked for the right bill.They kept sending me letters or phoning me that my bill is overdue, Intimidating that this will have an effect on my credit score and so on.....I decided to write a complaint and over the sudden, few days later I FINALLY got the proper bill! HURRAY!! ...But this is not the end of the story...... The letter I got yesterday ( 29.11.1 was for the right amount and to be paid by 8th December. Today (30.11.1 I GOT ANOTHER LETTER STATING THAT THEY STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED THE PAYMENT, AND THAT THE OUTSTANDING AMOUNT MUST BE PAID IMMEDIATELY?? I mean REALLY?? I had to ask and explain my bill for a month o you ! and you're again intimidating me with your letters? The reason why the bill hasn't been paid yet is because YOU HAVE A MESS IN YOUR SYSTEM!!! how can you possibly send me one day the bill that should be paid within 9 days, and the next day the bill ordering to pay immediately?? NEVER AGAIN!!AVOID !!shame you cant add attachments to this review!! how you can send completely different statements in 1 day apart!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
John
Rubbish Broad Band
15 days ago.
Review
Absolute Rubbish even after my complaint they told me it was because i switched my Router off at night and when I tried to explain that I had been a BB user for almost 20 years and had never had to leave my router on at nights I had never had this much trouble then my phone call went dead. So well done Post office complaints department.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
BA
Extremely poor service
20 days ago.
Review
Reported a fault on a Friday: telephone and broadband were both not working; informed it would be after the weekend before my faults could be fixed as the engineers don't work on a weekend!. Reported the same faults on the following Wednesday and was informed that it would be 'a couple of days' before the faults could be fixed. No reasonable explanation as to why it is taking so long to fix faults - same excuses and apologies.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
karen
Rubbish
21 days ago.
Review
I got switched from primus to these without being informed it it useless consent buffing rubbish waste of money
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Rybot
Epic Fail
22 days ago.
Review
So when we got the post office broadband service last year it wasn't at all good. Everyday I'm trying to get signal via WiFi router, it pisses me off. When i take my phone upstairs it cuts out completely. I do alot of work from home n i need a full connection all the time, this is not the case, never in my life have i had to save work every 2mins. The Internet goes off everyday, nearly every couple of hours. When I'm working on my music it doesn't stream very well. Everytime i call the service they always say its something to do with where the phone is plugged into. But i know for a FACT that its pure BS. I know more about the Internet than those who work for post office broadband service. All they do is FOB u off. My advice to you is AVOID!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Hello sailor
Non return of unused line rental.
27 days ago.
Review
Post Office broadband increased their prices twice in the past 6 months and when I asked for the return of 2 months advanced line rental, when I left for another provider, they stated that no return was possible as the contract was ended early. What they forgot to mention was that THEY caused the contract's early end by increasing their prices thereby allowing me to leave without penalty. How can they charge me for 2 months rental when there is no possible chance of ever using their broadband again?
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.