Sky Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a Sky broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Sky broadband
Customer Reviews POST A REVIEW
1.5/5 from 23 users. ( 22 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.7/5)
  • Broadband speed (1/5)
  • Price (1.2/5)
  • Phone package options (1.3/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Scum
  · 7 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely disgusting customer service - waiting almost 1 hour 30 minutes to speak to somebody whilst being batted about through different recorded messages, for them to eventually tell me that there's nothing they can do about doubling my bill on renewal without notification and the price is set in stone. Well done Sky - you've lost another customer, not that it will make a difference to the greedy money grabbing corporate scum.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Very disappointed and frustrated
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Sky is generally a crap... 20 minutes to get assistance, no help... 3 MBPS for £33 a month! Happy to cancel the contract!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Sky cannot offer broadband speed they have been charging me for for a year now
  · 15 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Sky is a joke, had a Openreach engineer out to find out what was wrong with our internet after phoning about an additional problem with the tv box not working. Open reach engineer told us that the max speed we could get due to our position to the exchange is 21mb however we are only getting 15 mb! However we are actually paying for 34.9-39mb for a year when we have phoned sky about this they have not offered us anything in a way of a refund even though they have charged us for a year for service we have not gotten! DO NOT get sky!!! The staff you speak to are a waste of time and very unhelpful!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Broadband
  · 16 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I regret joining sky, the service is terrible I have spoken with numerous advisors and was promised my broadband will go live on the 5th October 2017. I have not recieved the service I was promised. Before joining I requested an engineer to be sent out to my property the advisor said that will be fine but no one has come out, I have been receiving messages from the team asking if my broadband is live now I replied back no and no one has contacted me. I have been chasing them for my service and have been charged for a service that has not even been activated!!!!!! I still get emails from them to join, even though I am an existing customer already ....DO NOT JOIN
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Simply horrendous - Avoid at all costs
  · 20 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Simply horrendous is the only accurate description possible. Download speeds consistently less than 4 Mbps despite other providers managing 6 Mbps on the same exchange/line. Also a very noticeable worsening every evening to the point that pretty much all internet use is impossible. Avoid at all costs.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Worst internet
  · 21 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible speeds random times when latency is high seriously this internet is so bad.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid at all cost! Bad service and awful internet
  · 28 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worst service! Internet didn't work! Would never use them. Avoid at all cost
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Sky Broadband worst ever!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Sky is a nightmare! Worst provider ever! Moved houses and I have been calling everyday to find out what's happening after an engineer's appointment. The engineer has been to my area - was promised updates for the last 3 weeks. Everyday I call I get a different reason why my broadband has not been fixed yet. I have to take my whole lunch break to get an opportunity to speak to an advisor.
The messaging systems is just as bad every message goes, "please confirm name and address and I will help" I have so many of these without help. I wanted to cancel contract but cant even go thro to cancelations!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Bad experience
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
If it was only for the lack of the landline and the internet for a while I would probably not have complained yet. But if to the above you add an unhelpful member of the customer service then it gets too much. You would have thought that she would try her best to help but the beurocracy took first place in my case so just to say. I'm getting out. And if I were sky I'd look carefully into the department because one member of stuff may be the reason they keep or loose customers. There are so many providers currently on the market, why stick to the ones who can't be bothered to help.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Poor Service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
For the second time this year we're without broadband. The first time was for over a week and when Openreach finally came out (they're sky's partner) they identified a faulty router (total failure at just over a year old, a not unusual occurrence apparently) and then left us to get back to Sky to buy a new one and wait for it to be shipped.

Apparently, Openreach used to carry the routers, in view of the regular failures, but Sky stopped that for stock reduction reasons.

This time we have a total failure of the phone line. Reported 2 days ago and Openreach were supposedly working on it yesterday but haven't found the fault.

We've called Sky again and asked them to escalate the issue with BT because we have a not well elderly person in the house. We also need a landline to maintain contact with a very ill relative in a care home.

They don't care about any of this, their SLA with Openreach means they can't chase until 6 days have passed. That's their agreement and if it's not good enough it's our problem.

Sky are difficult to contact, in our experience, extremely cold and inflexible in their response. Their priority is always to get more money from the customer by selling replacement equipment or getting contract extensions.

We've a number of months remaining on the contract but as soon as possible we'll be moving to someone else.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Ask to speak to customer retentions if you want a better deal
  · 1 months ago.
  • 2/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
My parents recently had issues with their iPad disconnecting from the WiFi, as they were out of contract and had not updated the router for over 9 years I thought I would contact Sky and see if they would send them the new SkyQ router free of charge if they agree to sign up for another 12 month contract. After banging my head against a brick wall for 40 minutes, I gave in an just asked to cancel the contract. Plusnet were prepared to offer them broadband at the same price and a new wireless router so see no reason to fight to stay with them. After being put through to customer retention, it was a hole new world of happy to help. They offered me £295 off my parents current price and included the Sky Q router which was all I wanted in the first place . The retentions team (UK based) where amazing ‘No surprise’. In general no issues with Sky, but a little common sense from customer service would go along way!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Sky have put price up after promising it will stay the same, takes 40 minutes to get answer put on hold, took my variety tv package off me put me on worse version, even though paid upfront monthly. Offered me £5 goodwill gesture, it's plain and simple fraud no one has decency to call back please stay away from this sinking ship, all they want is your hard earned money I'm taking legal action.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Stay away bad service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have had 3 months of drop outs on my broadband and just had my 4th engineer in. No apologies from sky so wrote a letter of complaint with no response. When I phoned about the letter I sent (signed for mail) nobody could tell me anything about it or put me through to the complaints section. I asked for a reason as to why no apology or some sort of compensation as to having lack of service for 3 months and was told I don't pay for broadband anyway only line rental. Well I need a line to get broadband anyway!!!!! So I've been using the local library for the last 3 months as haven't had a good enough connection. THANKS Sky. So free broadband means nothing then.!!!!!!!!
I won't be renewing with them next time. Think they need to think about customer service.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Ripoff company in GERMANY..Bean counters
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Hi Sky,

I just wanted to say typical German attitude and a closed minded. by the way a good f**k YOU for cancelling the us sports. This is the only reason I signed up for you 1000 bul**it channels to begin with. nothing on them that I cant get on FREE TV! This is a breach of contract and I will not be paying you further you ba*tards! NOT everyone wants to see tennis and fußball...I guess KABEL is the better way to go or FREE internet TV. I hope you all burn in hell and go bankrupt like you already are!

I guess after 11pm every german likes to see porn right? what a waste of money.

​So disappointed in your service and trying to get me to pay for OLD a** MOVIES TOO! Amazon prime has them for a fraction of the price!​

Piss off,

from Germany!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible service from Sky
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
They sold my girlfriend a package where you have to pay per minute for phone calls. So we got a massive bill but they won't take the bill away as it was a simple mistake.

WHO USES PAY PER MINUTE NOW DAYS AND MORE IMPORTANTLY WHO SELLS PAY PER MINUTE.

Sky do. Plus they have terrible customer service.

use BT, Virgin, Vodafone for internet or anyone else but avoid Sky.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
No whining from me!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Price seems ok but always on the look out for a better deal, no reason to switch from Sky broadband other than finding something cheaper. But reading other reviews think I will stay with Sky for now. The broadband speed is only 4Mb but I am 2 miles from the exchange and don't want to pay the extra for fibre-optic broadband so I guess it's not bad? No issues with customer service, they seem able to sort things when they go wrong so no whining from me!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Daylight robbery
  · 5 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have been robbed of £154, been with sky since it started. Was out shopping when one of the sky salesmen from a sky store spoke to me about there new mobile phone packages, he asked what I was paying for my package I did not know so he said if I give him my details he could check. I left it with him and said i would check out reviews on mobile phone, a month later came home went to make a call and my phone was blocked by sky. After contacting them they told me I had made changes, total lies. I explained the situation and they said I would have to pay and they did not believe I had not given my permission. They then said because they sent me a email which I never ever read from them I had to pay. They did not believe me so I have decided to break my ties with them and cancel. People be warned don't talk to these Sky representatives or give your details disgusting treatment after spending thousands and thousands of pounds over the years with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Ciaran Patrick
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have been with Sky since 2012 and I can say its as bad as Virgin Media at least they did not call me "it's that deaf runt again" after cutting of my deaf phone for 33 days and I will leave you to work out what the true word of runt was. Sky on the other hand have managed to take customer service to an all time low. It seems they will promise the earth to get you to sign like promise help in the face to face hub for a hearing impaired person who does not like using the phone to act as a support link to customer services. Nothing has ever been resolved I still have an intermittent buzzing from 2 years ago. This week our broadband started to play up and it seems I am an unproductive customer so they won't talk to me at all only via email. I have spent 5 hours with one of there tech muppet's troubleshooting the issues with there new router and never got past him failing to work out what type of standard phone socket I have. They now want to send round an engineer to have a look as they feel talking to hearing impaired person causes unproductive calls and all unproductive callers are barred from speaking to Sky. If you join Sky because you like the price of the package pray strongly that nothing ever goes wrong because if it does you will find out in the starkest sense why it is so cheap. Its because there customer service is crap and abusive in the same measure. I would look elsewhere although from experience all the main telecommunication providers are as monumentally bad as each other. I suppose it boils down to when choosing which form of incompetence is best suited to you.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Paul
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Just come out of contract with Sky broadband and telephone and will change now. Why? I'm unwell and have a home care system connected to devices in my home - fire alarm. That sort of thing. Anyway Sky through the night disconnect and reconnect my landline over 10 times - yes 10 times every night. The result is alarms going off with the monitoring device and staff at the care contact center having to physically visit my home to see if I'm alive if the house has burnt down etc. That's aside from the fact I'll not be able to summon help should my line be off.. I've spent 7 months back and forth with Sky. They're unapologetic and care nothing for me. I've not had a sorry nor and explanation though they do confirm they switch my line off through the night like that!! I know - mad but hey - their loss and I'll be gone from them soon. I don't care (much) about price - I simply want a good nights sleep without alarms going off. Bye Sky!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
David G
  · 2 years ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
Have been with Sky for almost 12 months from when they took over my O2 contract. Absolutely fine no problems whatsoever either with BB or telephone. As the saying goes "You get what it says on the box".
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
India Lopez
  · 3 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely shocking service. I have only been a customer 4 months the faults began on my line four months ago when they changed me to Sky's own phone line prior to that great service from another provider so wish I had not had swopped. I have had loss of dial tone ghost calls call disconnection noisy line and ringing numbers and getting through to a wrong destination cross lines and no end of various line faults. Still not fixed and still no progress on fixing it. Openreach are blaming Sky and Sky are blaming Openreach. Ive been stuck in the middle for 4 months trying to referee between them. Been on the phone up to 9 hours a day for 4 months hundreds and hundreds of phone calls very little results. They have a policy of closing down faults fixed or unfixed within 4/5 days. This means you have to keep re reporting the same faults which means they just get closed down again and cannot always be fully investigated so this means they don't get fixed. Really stupid! This circle has been going on for 4 months. I have never ever experienced in my life such appalling customer service and and the buffering you get with their broadband means some days its impossible to use the internet. They have come up with 'I have a faulty laptop' because they simply don't have staff that are technically trained to even understand a 503 or 408 gateway error which they assume is a faulty laptop! We are not all computer idiots! Sometimes you really are dealing with utterly stupid people!. REALLY BAD COMPANY FOR PHONE AND BROADBAND I STRONGLY ADVISE STAY AWAY! I can't wait to leave!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Anne
  · 3 years ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
Been with Sky TV for over 10 years. Switched to their broadband 3 years ago. Enjoyed internet access that was reliable and the speed that we had signed up to. Experienced some problems recently that were dealt with in a timely fashion and ultimately were with our BT equipment. Overall I am a happy customer! I am currently still on ADSL. Does anyone have any experience of their fibre service?
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*