Sky Broadband

11Mb Sky Broadband from just £20 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews.

104 customer reviews

1.3
100 reviews
Post review
  • 4
  • 6
  • 5
  • 8
  • 75
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.7/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.1/5
Never had a problem
 · 5 days ago
Review
Sky TV is without doubt the best ISP we have used. The billing is easy to understand and the website is simple to find what you need. Always seem to have offers for existing customers. Was going to switch to try and save some money but having read the other reviews will stick with Sky.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    4.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Be careful of sky
 · 24 days ago
Review
I've been a loyal customer to sky for 19 years and the prices have gone up terrible now when I said I was leaving them there reply that's fine and you ask to speak to a manager it's either ones not available and they will ring you back when available and don't or you have to be stern with the customer service advisors as they just keep say why all the time even though you have told them why 5 times before. The customer service is so rude I won't ever go back to them again. Unfortunately If I could give you no stars all over I would but guess you wouldn't like getting no stars in everything.
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Abysmal
 · 25 days ago
Review
Abysmal service. They have been charging higher and higher fees year on year. Then threatened to join another provider and they agreed to reduce the fees by over 70%. Agreed one thing in writing with them and now they are claiming higher fees using feeble excuses. Once you sign with them then it's extremely difficult to get out as they have t&c's within t&c's. Will leave as soon as I can and NEVER return
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish
 · 1 month ago
Review
Been on this sky broadband for 4 years and its been the worst service ever. internet gets cut out in the middle of the night for no reason and when my internet stops working it takes them 3-4 weeks sometimes for sky to fix the problem. I requested a home move for 2 weeks advance and asked for my internet to stay on until then. the next day my internet gets cut out. when i phoned about the problem ive been told nothing can be done and the internet wont get turned on. i try to explain that is not what i want or asked for but the rubbish manager that i spoke to said he will look back into the phone and see what was said. but even so what is the point. i wanted to cancel my move with sky and let the contract run out with them which expires next month but they wont even let me do that. managers do not know how to speak to a customer aswell some being very cheeky. in the area i live in no they is no other services thats why we choice and stayed with sky but after today i am happy after 4 years i will be leaving
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
rip off company
 · 1 month ago
Review
rip off company tried cancelling over 2 years ago, thought account was now closed as spoke to many people at sky, now they have pased on to a *third* debt recovery company even after sending me letters every few weeks : come back to Sky! no Way!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
AVOID!
 · 2 months ago
Review
Been with Sky 2 years now and all i can say is avoid them if possible..

1. Their customer service is shocking, were i don't mind if companies want to outsource their call centres at least have them understand basic English, The amount of times i have called over problems to get through to someone who can barely understand what i am saying, and its not fair on that poor sod that answers, can't understand then gets hail of abuse hurled at them down the phone(not me personally) but i know they probably get both barrels.

2.Download speeds are rubbish, i'm on one of the faster connections they do and for a 20gb game i can be waiting hours for it to download, where i have timed it with friends and family who have very similar speeds(different isp's) and it takes then quarter/half the time, and thats from a cable connection to my pc not even wifi.


3. wifi constantly drops.

4. Call prices are extortionate. Was actually charged £15 for a 40 minute call to a FREEPHONE number.. yes freephone, which i have called from mobile many times with no credit.

5. Only billing option is debit card, so if 1 month for any reason your bill may be late even by a day or so, you can't remove your card or they cut you off, so it's either bank charges or remove your card and be cut off then incur late fee's. recently experienced this myself as swapped jobs and had other priority bills to pay, rang spoke to sky to see what could be done which was basically nothing other than getting cut off and incurring late fees of £20, which i will hand it to them , they did remove after i explained the situation to the manager.

6. The only other real plus i can add is when they have been working in the area and iv'e had lost service they have knocked money of the bill or given certain services that were affected free for that month.

If you have virgin or any other provider in your area go with them, if you can only get sky as in my case(area i live is rather remote so no virgin) then i hope your experience is a lot better than what i have had with them

  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Bad service with customer services
 · 2 months ago
Review
Phoned them to complain about having no internet, to be told the fault is within the property and because we are out of contract it will cost £65 for an engineer to visit!!! I remarked about an engineer being around the corner for the last few days and it’s probably from them fiddling ( as this is common) and I’m not prepared to recontract and pay more money when I’m a paying customer..... Fuming 😤
Steer clear Sky are a rip off
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
HAPPY :-)
 · 2 months ago
Review
No reason to complain. It just works!
  • Package price
    5.0/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Shocking - DON'T GO SKY INTERNET
 · 3 months ago
Review
The service is awful. They will RIP you off. They will overcharge, they will ignore your complaints. They will always blame the customer. Beyond awful.
No idea how they are allowed to operate this joke, RIP off company in the UK.

Go EE, virgin, talk talk. Just not this robbing bunch of cowboys!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Appalling customer services
 · 3 months ago
Review
We had to contact Sky after one of their engineers installed a new system to our neighbour. As a result of doing so it resulted in losing our signal / unable to access any services. This was 100% their error & their attempts at a resolution was leaving us without any services for 4 days until "an engineer was in our area". No attempt was made to resolve speedily ie an engineer next day. Even with their proposed date again no flexibility was given to give a morning slot only PM. We have escalated past their supervisor to a manager but I have little confidence the manager will recontact me. APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful

Search for Sky Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.