Sky Broadband

11Mb Broadband from just £18 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

 

Search for Sky TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky TV & Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

Sky Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Sky broadband customers.

1.4 out of 5 from 73 reviews
Filter by rating:
3
4
5
4
51
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (69)
Jo
Very F*******G annoyed person
3 days ago.
Review
Absolutely 100% rubbish service would never never have it. Mind you I never got any where near having it installed. Would never tell anyone to have it. TOTAL SHAMBLES.
Health and safety gone mad.
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Reagan
Painful
11 days ago.
Review
I barely write reviews but I felt the need to warn others of this company. I recently moved into a new flat and was shopping around for the best deal, so I decided to visit one of sky pop up stands where they offered me a deal of £33 for sky fibre, broadband, and tv package. When I said I didn’t even have an aerial, the gentlemen response was that fine, we have setup Sky in the property up before.....LIE.
I had two of their engineers come round and unfortunately I had to leave them to it, so shortly after I receive a phone call saying they needed to do some drilling and I will need to be present, and I was more then fine with that, so I phoned up again to rearrange another engineer to come out and I was on the phone for 40mins whilst this trainee went through trouble shooting after I said my sky Wifi was working fine because BT are now thankfully working with the awful company. I then finally arranged for an engineer to come out and he was in the property for all of FIVE MINUTES! His response was there is nothing they can do and recommended me to a competitor without fully informing me as to why they couldn’t setup the tv box. So once again I was on the phone to them asking to cancel the contract as they BROKE the terms conditions from the word go by giving me false information, they then said they will close the account after officially making a complaint.
I then receive a letter through the post saying I owe the company around £90, so once again i phone the company up and they say actually you just owe us £30 for having the WiFi in place. So once again giving out false information, and this stage I have been off and on the phone to sky several times racking up a lovely phone bill. I finally manage to get the money refunded after them saying they only owe me £12 instead of the full amount they took out my bank account, and what I thought was the end....was defenitly not! I then receive another letter through the post saying I owe £170 for early termination charges! When the whole reason why I terminated the contract was because they couldn’t fulfil their promises. So once again I’m on the phone for 40mins, and they have promised to refund the money....so I’m currently waiting.... after being charged bank fees and a phone bill.
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Jamie
DO NOT USE SKY !!!
15 days ago.
Review
Absolute ridiculous company to have installed! upgraded to sky q and multiroom and was told a specific amount that we would be getting charged to then have an email stating we was being charged double, after already paying installation fees!! rang Adam who advised we cant expect to get a month free !!! (not what we was asking), but given we was misinformed in the first place is a joke, was going to cancel and he said we would still ve charged this month and next month even though we hadn't even used it!! asked 2 speak with a manager and was told that no one else was there and that it wasn’t a manager’s priority to deal with something like this !! the customer service i received was unbeleievabley disgusting it was as if the agent couldnt be bothered as he stated he wasn’t supposed to be in today so clearly didn’t want to deal with our query! i am expecting a call back from a manager on Wednesday as i was told the department was closed until then (rubbish), if i don't receive that then this won't be the last reveiw i write !!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
UnhappyCustomer
Warning - Incoming rant.
26 days ago.
Review
I actually do not know how this company is allowed to continue with their practices.
I recently joined Sky after moving home and almost instantly regretted doing so.
The customer service personnel do appear to be helpful at first, but given enough time it soon becomes evident that they merely say whatever they have to, whether it's true or not, to keep you paying.
They do not honour their deals. They are consistently inconsistent in that they promise one thing and do the exact opposite.
They over complicate their deals and packages to keep you in contracts.
The first months bill is always double, yet they also charge you for an extra month at the end of the contract as well. How is a company allowed to behave in this dreadful manner?
They have the monopoly and they know it.
Please, anyone reading this; do not be fooled by their glitzy, appealing sales techniques and tempting offers, because the broadband is tremendously slow, despite what they offer, and whatever you may think you are saving financially you will need to spend 10 times as much in therapy sessions after dealing with this money grabbing corporation.
If anyone has had similar experiences, and judging by the reviews here, that does seem to be the case, then I would strongly advise that you go to every relevant body such as Ofcom, trading standards and any other organisation designed to deal with shoddy practices.
They cannot be allowed to continue to treat people this way and the more people voice their grievances, the better. One persons voice next to a thousand others becomes a roar. We are human beings as well as profit.
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Sam
Happy with SKY
1 months ago.
Review
Joined sky tv last month with no issues. Broadband speed was faster than advertised in the email.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Worst service ever, avoid at all costs!
Zsofia
1 months ago.
Review
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY - in the middle of July I agreed to switch to Sky from BT as they were proposing a minimum broadband speed of 55 Mbps which was more than I was getting at BT (50Mbps-ish). I agreed to do so and agreed to sign for 18 months for a whole package that included TV, calls and Broadband.

I was told the activation day was 23 July - a date when I was already on my holiday. I called them and I was told I shouldn't worry, as the engineer will switch everything on his own so I won't even need to be in. I also told them I will only be back at the end of August. They told me OK, I should just allow some fluctuation of the speed in the first 10 days after I start using the internet.

When we came back and started using the broadband we noticed the speed is always between 44 and 49 Mbps, which is lower than the one we had at BT and much lower than the guaranteed 55 Mbps. I waited more than 2 weeks, but it did not get any better, so I decided to reach out to Sky. Almost a week passed and their Live chat was always busy, no matter when I tried to contact them. So I decided to contact them via FB message today... it is now 5 hours later, and the best their advisor was able to tell me on the chat is to take a picture of my telephone socket where my Sky Hub is connected to...

So I also called them via phone - that suddenly disconnected after 5 minutes when I explained my problem.

But I am feisty and now raging, so called them again. The advisor on the phone was very helpful.... but after 2 hours on the phone I was told that despite the fact that I am using online billing and I got all the notifications about the switch online, they sent me a paper letter via post stating the minimum speed they can guarantee is 40 Mbps (!) despite the 55 Mbps I can still see on my account and I only had 14 days after the date of my activation to raise a complaint...

So currently I am stuck with a terrible Sky Broadband and TV I am not even watching for 16+ more months, as unfortunately I am not able to do anything as - according to Sky - they have done EVERYTHING LEGALLY to provide the service to me and to INFORM me that they are not able to guarantee the minimum of 55 Mbps.

At the end of the phone call I was told they MIGHT be able to waive the minimum term on the BROADBAND - which I would be glad to accept, but as I told earlier, I bought a package consisting of 3 products...

So despite the fact I wanted to cancel Sky TV back in July I agreed to a minimum term for a package that was supposed to deliver a minimum broadband speed of 55 Mbps (average of 63 Mbps - according to their website) that I am not getting, but they are at least waiving the minimum term for one of the products, so I still have 16+ months to pay for the TV package that I am not watching.

All in all, only sign up with Sky and accept a minimum term if:

-you are able to actually test their services in the first 14 days of their service, otherwise you are stuck with a terrible service
-you are ready to read every word of their letters sent via post twice to make sure you are not getting much less for your money than you are supposed to
-you are happy with a guaranteed minimum of 40 Mbps instead of a (supposedly) guaranteed minimum of 55 Mbps (average of 63 Mbps - in your dreams!)
-you are happy to pay for a service you are NOT getting
-you are happy to pay for a whole package for the minimum term, regardless of the quality of their service
-you are happy to spend a whole day trying to reach them and find a solution for your problem
-you are happy to get a half-solution for your problem, which is supposedly the best they could offer as a compensation for their own lies.
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Dan
Avoid
1 months ago.
Review
Avoid sky internet like the plague
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Gary
Poor customer service
2 months ago.
Review
Poor customer service
Package price
Broadband speed
1 people found the following review helpful
KAREN PEARSON
Sky talk rip off
2 months ago.
Review
Have just spent over an hour being given the run around by Sky over £18 of call charges for calls nobody made. Disgusted offered £10 to resolve as they admit no guilt. avoid do not sign up with them for Sky talk
Package price
Broadband speed
2 people found the following review helpful
K Crabb
New customer
2 months ago.
Review
Decided to switch to Sky Broadband, and it's been trouble free so far and a vast improvement on PO broadband. Wish I had done it months ago.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
2 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.