Sky Broadband

11Mb Broadband from just £18 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews.

1.3 out of 5 from 82 reviews
Filter by rating:
3
4
5
6
58
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (78)
Broadband review by Anna Fiedlerova
Anna Fiedlerova
The worst broadband provider
6 days ago.
Review
Twice rescheduled our installation without our approval. Non responsive. Customer support unable to help or solve anything.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Becky Dale
Becky Dale
AVOID AT ALL COSTS UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY FOR SERVICES THAT DON'T WORK
12 days ago.
Review
AVOID SKY AT ALL COSTS UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY FOR SERVICES THAT DON'T WORK!

Had sky installed and broadband wouldn't work. It had to be turned off and back on, sometimes every few minutes as the signal kept dropping out. Reported several times Sky via Facebook messenger and chat. When asked why I had to keep repeating myself each time I contacted them, they said it was because these types of messages don't save / aren't recorded. Kept being dismissed as they'd checked the line and signal was fine.

Sent in a complaint and requested an engineer visit. Sky called when I was at work and said they'd pass me to technical team to arrange engineer visit. Passed over, technical team said line test fine, so wouldn't send engineer. Said engineer who installed it could have done it wrong, so needed to check connections. Explained no mobile signal at home and unable to communicate with them via home phone or internet as signal constantly cutting out but still wouldn't send engineer to look at it!

Chat conversations continued. Advisor asked me to change the wifi connect on my TV. I asked why this would make any difference as broadband issue. He insisted this would fix problem. No change.

Next advisor I spoke to said that changing TV settings wouldn't make any difference if fault, so didn't know why it'd been asked to do this. Still no solution. Refused engineer visit.

Had my electrician look at it and the main point hadn't been installed correctly. There were scorch marks inside, where there were around 10 live wires but only 2 were connected and in use.

Called sky and spoke to a rude woman, who again tried to completely dismiss me. Kept refusing to send an engineer despite the fact there was a risk of fire. She actually said "the scorch marks are just cosmetic." Also kept refusing to let me speak to a manager. Finally some to a manager, who was also very rude and kept telling me there was no issue as line test fine and wouldn't send an engineer. I kept repeating it was a fire risk and my house could burn down but he didn't care AT ALL. Eventually he said, "so you're worried it's a fire risk?" I said of course, that's what I've been saying, theres scorch marks that shouldn't be there if installed correctly. To which he snapped "Well that would be a health and safety issue, so we'd have to send an engineer" Which is what I'd been asking for for several weeks! He passed me back to his rude colleague to book the appointment, who said the earliest was in 3 weeks time. So I said my house could burn down in that time, this is ridiculous. She continued to argue and said there were no apointments in diary until then and nothing she could do. I said it wasnt good enough as fire risk and needed to send engineer now. Miraculously she found an appointment 2 days later.

My dad was at home when the engineer arrived, I was at work. The engineer found SEVERAL FAULTS, both inside and outside of my property. Main box installed incorrectly inside, causing scorch Mark's. Line into property faulty. Went up telephone poll outside and found wasps nest inside box at top. Checked box at bottom and completely waterlogged. Went down the street to check the main box and found it had a major wiring fault. He bypassed the issue temporarily but said he would need to return with temporary traffic lights to close road and fix, as major job. He explained all of this to my dad and kindly called to explain it all to me. When he said the line into our property was faulty, I asked why the tests sky were doing kept saying it was fine. He said the remote test conducted wouldn't be adequate to detect a fault like this and wouldn't detect any faults outside the property within the boxes. He said if the issue has just been inside out property, we wouldn't have recieved a bill for a SEVERAL HUNDRED POUNDS. Sky never mentioned any fee. But he said, as so many issues outside, company responsible for maintainence, which clearly hadn't been done and so Sky responsible for paying bill. He said our connection should be okay now and he'd send a full report to sky.

Comaplined to sky and requested broadband installation charges be refunded as installed incorrectly and in a dangerous way, which could have caused fire. Requested refund for broadband charges during this period as unable to use them. They refuse to refund my money and have requested a copy of the many chat sessions, that they've told me do not save / record in any way. I've requested to speak to a manage numerous times and been ignored. They've denied the report from the engineer shows the issues I have stated but refuse to give me a copy of it.

Sky are LIARS, who will do anything to STEAL MONEY from their customers. They refused to send an engineer when their EQUIPMENT POSED A FIRE RISK DUE TO INCORRECT INSTALLATION, they FAILED TO MAINTAIN EQUIPMENT IN STREET meaning I had NO INTERNET FOR MONTHS and are now DENYING THIS CLAIM and REFUSING TO REFUND MY MONEY FOR SERVICES COULDN'T USE due to their INCOMPETENCE NEGLIGENCE!

I WILL NOW BE TELLING EVERYONE POSSIBLE ABOUT THIS UNTIL MY MONEY IS REFUNDED. PLEASE NOTE THAT MY DIRECT DEBIT WILL BE CANCELLED UNTIL MY MONEY HAS BEEN RECOUPED OR REFUNDED.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by kat
kat
LIARS!
20 days ago.
Review
Would like to say PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE!....do not sign up with these jokers as I nearly made the mistake of joining them, phoned sky broadband on the 21/01/2019 to place a order for broadband. Was told my line will go live on the 25/01/2019, the advisor explained because I was with Nowtv it should be a straight through order and no problems, 25/01/2019 I call to explain that no internet was working at my home. Strangely enough this was the same fault exactly the same excuse Nowtv stated last year. told it was open reach fault, now the morning phoned and was told that they have no date when this will be fixed, or when I will EVER get broadband up and running.
Please take my advice NOWTV is a sister company of theres and with the experience I had with them, I gave Sky the benefit of the doubt and went with them....lie after lie with these jokers, Apparently on "Which" review site these liars have scored the worst internet provider of 2019!!! AVOID all cost!
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Danny
Danny
Sky is terrible
1 months ago.
Review
Constantly lied about what speed we would get they said about 50 mbps on fibre I get a max of 3 when nothing else is using the internet. Over the last 6 months the internet has randomly started disconnecting for no reason and I need to restart the router which means I have ended up using my mobile data more in the house as it's a stronger more consistent signal and this problem is only getting worse, over the last week or so the internet has gone down at least 20 times a day every half hour or so and I'm a gamer which means literally every single game I've joined on my pc has disconnected from meaning I've lost all of them and my pc is pretty much useless, it also take several days to download games as the downloads will constantly stop since the internet disconnected all the time.
Do not get any broadband it it literally the worst I have friends who live near me who have an internet connection that is constantly 20 times stronger than mine on virgin, go with virgin they are a much better company and don't lie about there speeds constantly.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Karen Mcnicholl
    Karen Mcnicholl 16 days ago.
    Sorry Danny I totally disagree the Internet is patchy at best in my area, I set my programmes to record when I was away, it recorded 1 out of 5 in a series. There’s no ITV hub app.. It costs a fortune to watch anything out of the norm & when I rang yesterday for advice about my programmes I was met by the most offhand woman who when I said I may as well leave & go to Sky just replied Whatever!! Over £100 a month to be told Whatever is not very good.
Broadband review by S Owen
S Owen
Overcharging, make false promises, terrible!
2 months ago.
Review
I had an excellent TV contract for £25 a month. I had a flyer through to upgrade to sky cinema for £10 a month extra and decided to take it. It involved signing up to another 18 months but the woman assured me everything would be identical, just £35 per month instead of £25. I went with it happily. Then the problems started.
Couple of days later I realised we'd lost sky kids. So I phoned sky and they'd apparently "made a mistake" and put it back on. Then I get an email saying I'm being charged £5 extra per month for it!
THEN I get an email saying my monthly payments are now £76!

I have phoned and phoned but cannot sort this out. They promise the world on the phone, try to sell you more stuff, but never deliver. They say it's been a mistake and sorry, but still blithely keep on overcharging. Last thing, they started threatening I'd have to pay double for my old package if I cancelled the upgrade! It often takes half an hour to get through then you get cut off, or you end up in their endless loop of a menu.

In despair I phoned the bank about the overcharging and they said cancel the direct debit and let them contact you. So watch this space!
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Paul
Paul
Poor customer service
2 months ago.
Review
I tried to report the loss of my land line and slow and intermittent broadband by phone - there was a 30 minute queue. I used the text message process. obviously an automated process which fails to recognise that you have already provided the information it requests, Slow responses from a human. No updates about when the engineer will attend and no message to say they fixed it - five days later. And no compensation.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by gen
gen
100 percent not recommended and rubbish
2 months ago.
Review
The broadband very slow and rubbish only 1Mb. I reported it and complaint about it many times. They tried to fix it. They have sent me 7 engineers so far. (1 time engineer didn't show up) called me last minute to say its cancelled. Tried to terminate Sky, they have to charge you extra. Sky say not there fault because they keep offering engineers to fix it. Nearly 1 month now and the problem still the same they don't provide the standard speed for me. If there is 0 stars I would definitely give it them.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by mickyt
mickyt
Sky wesbsite is beyond a joke
3 months ago.
Review
I had the misfortune to sign my Mum up to Sky, She has been getting nuisance phone calls so I have tried activating their free Talk Shield so you can block numbers etc. Being a free service one would think it would be simple. Trust me it isn't

Due to me not being the named account holder their automated telephone system wont let me do it, my Mum is quite deaf so thats a no no, there facebook messaging just gives you the tel number to ring. The website keeps failing to load the last page to complete the purchase. (even though its free)

Back to Talk Talk once this God foresaken contract runs out. Something so simple cant really be that difficult in 2018 can it ??? YES
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Fred
Fred
Refuse to take any responsibility
3 months ago.
Review
During sign up I said that I was nervous about switching as I'd been left without broadband for several days when changing provider before on 2 occasions. Sky promised that they would follow the process and make sure that I was not left without internet. Come the switch day, what did they do? Left me without internet for a whole month. I suggested they supply me with a 4g router (like BT would do in similar circumstances), but they refused. So have had to pay out £80 to keep myself connected. Sky claimed that as they weren't charging me for broadband (which cost £6.01/month) while I was disconnected there was no reason for them to take responsibility, leaving me over £70 out of pocket. Totally absurd, as supplying a 4g router would have cost them a lot less than the many hours that I spent haranging customer service.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jo
Jo
Very F*******G annoyed person
4 months ago.
Review
Absolutely 100% rubbish service would never never have it. Mind you I never got any where near having it installed. Would never tell anyone to have it. TOTAL SHAMBLES.
Health and safety gone mad.
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Sky TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky TV & Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.