Sky Broadband

11Mb Sky Broadband from just £22.50 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews.

avatar
1.3 out of 5 from 99 reviews
Filter by rating:
4
5
5
8
71
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (95)
Broadband review by TW
TW
AVOID!
10 days ago.
Review
Been with Sky 2 years now and all i can say is avoid them if possible..

1. Their customer service is shocking, were i don't mind if companies want to outsource their call centres at least have them understand basic English, The amount of times i have called over problems to get through to someone who can barely understand what i am saying, and its not fair on that poor sod that answers, can't understand then gets hail of abuse hurled at them down the phone(not me personally) but i know they probably get both barrels.

2.Download speeds are rubbish, i'm on one of the faster connections they do and for a 20gb game i can be waiting hours for it to download, where i have timed it with friends and family who have very similar speeds(different isp's) and it takes then quarter/half the time, and thats from a cable connection to my pc not even wifi.


3. wifi constantly drops.

4. Call prices are extortionate. Was actually charged £15 for a 40 minute call to a FREEPHONE number.. yes freephone, which i have called from mobile many times with no credit.

5. Only billing option is debit card, so if 1 month for any reason your bill may be late even by a day or so, you can't remove your card or they cut you off, so it's either bank charges or remove your card and be cut off then incur late fee's. recently experienced this myself as swapped jobs and had other priority bills to pay, rang spoke to sky to see what could be done which was basically nothing other than getting cut off and incurring late fees of £20, which i will hand it to them , they did remove after i explained the situation to the manager.

6. The only other real plus i can add is when they have been working in the area and iv'e had lost service they have knocked money of the bill or given certain services that were affected free for that month.

If you have virgin or any other provider in your area go with them, if you can only get sky as in my case(area i live is rather remote so no virgin) then i hope your experience is a lot better than what i have had with them

Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Disgruntled customer
Disgruntled customer
Bad service with customer services
12 days ago.
Review
Phoned them to complain about having no internet, to be told the fault is within the property and because we are out of contract it will cost £65 for an engineer to visit!!! I remarked about an engineer being around the corner for the last few days and it’s probably from them fiddling ( as this is common) and I’m not prepared to recontract and pay more money when I’m a paying customer..... Fuming 😤
Steer clear Sky are a rip off
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nathan
Nathan
HAPPY :-)
25 days ago.
Review
No reason to complain. It just works!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Becky
Becky
Shocking - DON'T GO SKY INTERNET
1 months ago.
Review
The service is awful. They will RIP you off. They will overcharge, they will ignore your complaints. They will always blame the customer. Beyond awful.
No idea how they are allowed to operate this joke, RIP off company in the UK.

Go EE, virgin, talk talk. Just not this robbing bunch of cowboys!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Lorna
Lorna
Appalling customer services
1 months ago.
Review
We had to contact Sky after one of their engineers installed a new system to our neighbour. As a result of doing so it resulted in losing our signal / unable to access any services. This was 100% their error & their attempts at a resolution was leaving us without any services for 4 days until "an engineer was in our area". No attempt was made to resolve speedily ie an engineer next day. Even with their proposed date again no flexibility was given to give a morning slot only PM. We have escalated past their supervisor to a manager but I have little confidence the manager will recontact me. APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Liz
Liz
Contact
1 months ago.
Review
I have been trying to contact Sky for the last 3 day's for my next door neighbour who's a pensioner. He's having trouble with his tv service, Sky are still taking his money but he has no Sky channels.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by charles best
charles best
Great company
2 months ago.
Review
EE cut my landline of and my internet even though I was paid up in full. I could not use my landline phone and could not get on the internet. EE are the worst company I have ever been with and said they would reconnect me in another 2 weeks but would try and do it in 7 days, so I cancelled my contract with them on the Saturday and set up a deal with a salesman that was selling Sky broadband and landline and said I would get connected on the coming Thursday the router was delivered on the Tuesday (I couldn't ring my wife to tell her because EE had disconnected my landline) and the Openreach engineer came and he fitted a different box on the wall for the phone and broadband, the router was far more superior and bigger than the EE router. EE have done me the biggest favour ever disconnecting my phone and internet because SKY is far superior than all the others I have had in the past, my family are over the moon that we joined Sky because every thing works a lot better there router is one of the best on the market I checked it out on Google. Openreach engineer liked SKY. He did a very good job in fitting and connecting the phone from a very pleased SKY customer.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by RD
RD
Don’t fall for the new customer offers...
2 months ago.
Review
My father, a pensioner and admittedly not great at keeping track of online billing, made the unfortunate error of opting to switch to Sky. Relying on his phone line, he opted for Sky based on the ‘free unlimited calls’ with Sky Talk Anytime Extra a sales advisor had described to him. Not wanting to set up at a sales stand, upon reflecting on the offer, he decided to set up online the next day. The online advert also stated ‘Sky Talk Anytime Extra free for 18 months for new Sky Broadband and line rental customers’.

Having been charged extortionate sums of money in call charges (up to £70 greater than the anticipated amount) each of the first 3 months, I contacted Sky on his behalf for an explanation. Thinking this would be simple to rectify, considering I have screen shots of the original offer, the initial Sky advisor pretty much accused me of lying. He stated no such offer ever existed, with my father having no chance of even a partial refund.

I calmly asked to be put through to a manager. Some progress, they stated the offer was in fact available at the time, but for some reason it hadn’t been applied to the account. When I explained it was advertised as ‘Sky Talk Anytime Extra free for 18 months for new Sky Broadband and line rental customers’, both of which my father was at the time of purchase, again I was told they were not willing to refund any of the extortionate call charges applied.

With another now famous blanket Sky price hike, at least we have an opportunity to ditch the scammers. I’d advise anyone grab this golden chance. If Sky haven’t ripped you off yet, it’s only a matter of time.....
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Gina
    Gina 1 months ago.
    I'm looking to change from BT looking at SKY who did you go to I can't decide.
    • Broadband review by Hearther
      Hearther 1 months ago.
      My opinion of Sky and BT.... I have been a customer of both. I had good service from both only switching to get new customer offers. Had more issues with BT than Sky to be fair. But BT was faster. BT were also very good at compensating when anything went wrong. BT's billing system is also a paperwork headache and very confusing. I would pick Sky out of the two, the initial offer from BT is usually a great incentive but in the long term Sky will be cheaper. I am now with Plusnet who have been the best.
Broadband review by Charlotte
Charlotte
Appalling
2 months ago.
Review
The only time sky were quick to respond to me was when I took broadband out with another company. I decided to part ways after years of dropped connections, price hikes, neglectful customer service and false promises. Often the only way you can get hold of them is by phoning, they have had various other methods such as live chat and even texting, all completely useless. On multiple occasions I was told an engineer would be coming to look at our connection when I continued to complain about the slow speed/lack of internet/dropped connections, on multiple occasions I stayed home from work or took a day off to accommodate this, and on multiple occasions I was stood up by the company who claims to ‘believe in better’. Right now I am writing this review on my 4G as yet again the sky connection has dropped for no reason. It’s raining so maybe that’s why. AVOID.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Claire
Claire
If You Game - AVOID
2 months ago.
Review
I've been a Sky Customer for years and for the last six months my internet is bloody awful. It drops out, we have a ping of about 3000 making gaming for a family of four impossible. The stability is frustrating, webpages take 3 minutes or so to load properly. Now as for Sky Customer Services and Engineers... just forget it. No one there understands what ping is and apparently we have nothing wrong with our internet, when you call it's the same circle of events. Turn the router off for 10 seconds etc, everyone you speak to is foreign and reads from what I can only assume is a cue card because it's always the same. I get so frustrated with this damn company that despite being under contract I feel they've left me no choice but to cancel and fight them to write off my charges due to the fact they've not honoured the contract. So I'd say, stay well clear of Sky if you want a reliable and stable internet with a competent company.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Sky Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.