Sky Broadband

11Mb Broadband from just £18 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews.

1.3 out of 5 from 93 reviews
Filter by rating:
3
5
5
8
66
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (89)
Broadband review by charles best
charles best
Great company
10 days ago.
Review
EE cut my landline of and my internet even though I was paid up in full. I could not use my landline phone and could not get on the internet. EE are the worst company I have ever been with and said they would reconnect me in another 2 weeks but would try and do it in 7 days, so I cancelled my contract with them on the Saturday and set up a deal with a salesman that was selling Sky broadband and landline and said I would get connected on the coming Thursday the router was delivered on the Tuesday (I couldn't ring my wife to tell her because EE had disconnected my landline) and the Openreach engineer came and he fitted a different box on the wall for the phone and broadband, the router was far more superior and bigger than the EE router. EE have done me the biggest favour ever disconnecting my phone and internet because SKY is far superior than all the others I have had in the past, my family are over the moon that we joined Sky because every thing works a lot better there router is one of the best on the market I checked it out on Google. Openreach engineer liked SKY. He did a very good job in fitting and connecting the phone from a very pleased SKY customer.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by RD
RD
Don’t fall for the new customer offers...
16 days ago.
Review
My father, a pensioner and admittedly not great at keeping track of online billing, made the unfortunate error of opting to switch to Sky. Relying on his phone line, he opted for Sky based on the ‘free unlimited calls’ with Sky Talk Anytime Extra a sales advisor had described to him. Not wanting to set up at a sales stand, upon reflecting on the offer, he decided to set up online the next day. The online advert also stated ‘Sky Talk Anytime Extra free for 18 months for new Sky Broadband and line rental customers’.

Having been charged extortionate sums of money in call charges (up to £70 greater than the anticipated amount) each of the first 3 months, I contacted Sky on his behalf for an explanation. Thinking this would be simple to rectify, considering I have screen shots of the original offer, the initial Sky advisor pretty much accused me of lying. He stated no such offer ever existed, with my father having no chance of even a partial refund.

I calmly asked to be put through to a manager. Some progress, they stated the offer was in fact available at the time, but for some reason it hadn’t been applied to the account. When I explained it was advertised as ‘Sky Talk Anytime Extra free for 18 months for new Sky Broadband and line rental customers’, both of which my father was at the time of purchase, again I was told they were not willing to refund any of the extortionate call charges applied.

With another now famous blanket Sky price hike, at least we have an opportunity to ditch the scammers. I’d advise anyone grab this golden chance. If Sky haven’t ripped you off yet, it’s only a matter of time.....
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Charlotte
Charlotte
Appalling
16 days ago.
Review
The only time sky were quick to respond to me was when I took broadband out with another company. I decided to part ways after years of dropped connections, price hikes, neglectful customer service and false promises. Often the only way you can get hold of them is by phoning, they have had various other methods such as live chat and even texting, all completely useless. On multiple occasions I was told an engineer would be coming to look at our connection when I continued to complain about the slow speed/lack of internet/dropped connections, on multiple occasions I stayed home from work or took a day off to accommodate this, and on multiple occasions I was stood up by the company who claims to ‘believe in better’. Right now I am writing this review on my 4G as yet again the sky connection has dropped for no reason. It’s raining so maybe that’s why. AVOID.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Claire
Claire
If You Game - AVOID
16 days ago.
Review
I've been a Sky Customer for years and for the last six months my internet is bloody awful. It drops out, we have a ping of about 3000 making gaming for a family of four impossible. The stability is frustrating, webpages take 3 minutes or so to load properly. Now as for Sky Customer Services and Engineers... just forget it. No one there understands what ping is and apparently we have nothing wrong with our internet, when you call it's the same circle of events. Turn the router off for 10 seconds etc, everyone you speak to is foreign and reads from what I can only assume is a cue card because it's always the same. I get so frustrated with this damn company that despite being under contract I feel they've left me no choice but to cancel and fight them to write off my charges due to the fact they've not honoured the contract. So I'd say, stay well clear of Sky if you want a reliable and stable internet with a competent company.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by alevas93
alevas93
WORST COMPANY EVER! AVOID!
22 days ago.
Review
Terrible experience and I’m 7 months in out of 18. Can’t wait to switch.
What they offer is extremely bad reliable broadband: you’ll find yourself with a WiFi disconnecting every 10/15 minutes making impossible every kind of work or entertainment.
TERRIBLE, and I mean TERRIBLE customer service. Accepted a broadband + TV offer at £18, decided to opt out (in contract terms) and wasn’t EVEN MENTIONED the price would be up to £30. Had to call and fight for 3 months.
Please AVOID SKY! Find deals with other providers but don’t go with Sky. They’re TV isn't even appealing, only 5 channels more then standard cable TV offers. Ridiculous.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by So bad
So bad
Bad internet
25 days ago.
Review
I am with Sky's latest one and it's so horrible I have to words for it like I can't even have 2 PS4 on and ping goes to 1000. It crashed my games and PS4 am in a competition and with Sky am not going to win sky fix up your internet it's so horrible no words to describe how bad it is.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by kev
kev
sky😄
1 months ago.
Review
I have cancelled with sky at last. been having problems over about 4 months rang and rang they done test saying everything was OK sorted for a day then down again rang again after a long wait every thing fine they said. then offered better deal why would I want that
rang again tonight and all of a sudden my hub is no good would need to buy a new one because I have cancelled. but I am still paying for there so called service for another couple of weeks surely if I am paying for the broadband should get it replaced makes u wonder I cancel a now they say hub no good hmm. would advise to look at other suppliers
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by X
X
Wi-Fi
1 months ago.
Review
I have had Sky for 17 days ever since I have got it I have trouble with it Wi-Fi don't work I've been left with no Wi-Fi for like a week this is absolutely disgraceful for the mount of money they charge and if it dont get sorted when they come out i will be leaving and going somewhere else
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Louise
Louise
Cancelling subscription
1 months ago.
Review
Really poor. I spent 30 minutes waiting to speak to an operator and then my landline phone battery died. I then tried the online system. I then had to put up with over long delays between responses and after one hour I still hadn't managed to cancel my subscription. It almost seems deliberate. It's not the first time this has happened and that's why I decided to cancel. I also don't like the way they pull you in with a reasonable price and then add bits on within the contract.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Zara
Zara
Worse broadband provider
1 months ago.
Review
Absolutely disgusted with the service and customer service. I wouldn’t recommend sky to anyone it’s a rip off. Was over charged and wasn’t told that my contract had come to an end. Called customer service and demanded refund was told they won’t give me refund. Not happy at all and will not be recommending.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Sky TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky TV & Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.