Sky Broadband

11Mb Broadband from just £18 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

 

Search for Sky TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Sky TV & Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

Sky Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Sky broadband customers.

1.4 out of 5 from 78 reviews
Filter by rating:
3
4
5
6
54
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (74)
S Owen
Overcharging, make false promises, terrible!
11 days ago.
Review
I had an excellent TV contract for £25 a month. I had a flyer through to upgrade to sky cinema for £10 a month extra and decided to take it. It involved signing up to another 18 months but the woman assured me everything would be identical, just £35 per month instead of £25. I went with it happily. Then the problems started.
Couple of days later I realised we'd lost sky kids. So I phoned sky and they'd apparently "made a mistake" and put it back on. Then I get an email saying I'm being charged £5 extra per month for it!
THEN I get an email saying my monthly payments are now £76!

I have phoned and phoned but cannot sort this out. They promise the world on the phone, try to sell you more stuff, but never deliver. They say it's been a mistake and sorry, but still blithely keep on overcharging. Last thing, they started threatening I'd have to pay double for my old package if I cancelled the upgrade! It often takes half an hour to get through then you get cut off, or you end up in their endless loop of a menu.

In despair I phoned the bank about the overcharging and they said cancel the direct debit and let them contact you. So watch this space!
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Paul
Poor customer service
16 days ago.
Review
I tried to report the loss of my land line and slow and intermittent broadband by phone - there was a 30 minute queue. I used the text message process. obviously an automated process which fails to recognise that you have already provided the information it requests, Slow responses from a human. No updates about when the engineer will attend and no message to say they fixed it - five days later. And no compensation.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
gen
100 percent not recommended and rubbish
18 days ago.
Review
The broadband very slow and rubbish only 1Mb. I reported it and complaint about it many times. They tried to fix it. They have sent me 7 engineers so far. (1 time engineer didn't show up) called me last minute to say its cancelled. Tried to terminate Sky, they have to charge you extra. Sky say not there fault because they keep offering engineers to fix it. Nearly 1 month now and the problem still the same they don't provide the standard speed for me. If there is 0 stars I would definitely give it them.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
mickyt
Sky wesbsite is beyond a joke
1 months ago.
Review
I had the misfortune to sign my Mum up to Sky, She has been getting nuisance phone calls so I have tried activating their free Talk Shield so you can block numbers etc. Being a free service one would think it would be simple. Trust me it isn't

Due to me not being the named account holder their automated telephone system wont let me do it, my Mum is quite deaf so thats a no no, there facebook messaging just gives you the tel number to ring. The website keeps failing to load the last page to complete the purchase. (even though its free)

Back to Talk Talk once this God foresaken contract runs out. Something so simple cant really be that difficult in 2018 can it ??? YES
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Fred
Refuse to take any responsibility
1 months ago.
Review
During sign up I said that I was nervous about switching as I'd been left without broadband for several days when changing provider before on 2 occasions. Sky promised that they would follow the process and make sure that I was not left without internet. Come the switch day, what did they do? Left me without internet for a whole month. I suggested they supply me with a 4g router (like BT would do in similar circumstances), but they refused. So have had to pay out £80 to keep myself connected. Sky claimed that as they weren't charging me for broadband (which cost £6.01/month) while I was disconnected there was no reason for them to take responsibility, leaving me over £70 out of pocket. Totally absurd, as supplying a 4g router would have cost them a lot less than the many hours that I spent haranging customer service.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Jo
Very F*******G annoyed person
1 months ago.
Review
Absolutely 100% rubbish service would never never have it. Mind you I never got any where near having it installed. Would never tell anyone to have it. TOTAL SHAMBLES.
Health and safety gone mad.
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Reagan
Painful
2 months ago.
Review
I barely write reviews but I felt the need to warn others of this company. I recently moved into a new flat and was shopping around for the best deal, so I decided to visit one of sky pop up stands where they offered me a deal of £33 for sky fibre, broadband, and tv package. When I said I didn’t even have an aerial, the gentlemen response was that fine, we have setup Sky in the property up before.....LIE.
I had two of their engineers come round and unfortunately I had to leave them to it, so shortly after I receive a phone call saying they needed to do some drilling and I will need to be present, and I was more then fine with that, so I phoned up again to rearrange another engineer to come out and I was on the phone for 40mins whilst this trainee went through trouble shooting after I said my sky Wifi was working fine because BT are now thankfully working with the awful company. I then finally arranged for an engineer to come out and he was in the property for all of FIVE MINUTES! His response was there is nothing they can do and recommended me to a competitor without fully informing me as to why they couldn’t setup the tv box. So once again I was on the phone to them asking to cancel the contract as they BROKE the terms conditions from the word go by giving me false information, they then said they will close the account after officially making a complaint.
I then receive a letter through the post saying I owe the company around £90, so once again i phone the company up and they say actually you just owe us £30 for having the WiFi in place. So once again giving out false information, and this stage I have been off and on the phone to sky several times racking up a lovely phone bill. I finally manage to get the money refunded after them saying they only owe me £12 instead of the full amount they took out my bank account, and what I thought was the end....was defenitly not! I then receive another letter through the post saying I owe £170 for early termination charges! When the whole reason why I terminated the contract was because they couldn’t fulfil their promises. So once again I’m on the phone for 40mins, and they have promised to refund the money....so I’m currently waiting.... after being charged bank fees and a phone bill.
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Jamie
DO NOT USE SKY !!!
2 months ago.
Review
Absolute ridiculous company to have installed! upgraded to sky q and multiroom and was told a specific amount that we would be getting charged to then have an email stating we was being charged double, after already paying installation fees!! rang Adam who advised we cant expect to get a month free !!! (not what we was asking), but given we was misinformed in the first place is a joke, was going to cancel and he said we would still ve charged this month and next month even though we hadn't even used it!! asked 2 speak with a manager and was told that no one else was there and that it wasn’t a manager’s priority to deal with something like this !! the customer service i received was unbeleievabley disgusting it was as if the agent couldnt be bothered as he stated he wasn’t supposed to be in today so clearly didn’t want to deal with our query! i am expecting a call back from a manager on Wednesday as i was told the department was closed until then (rubbish), if i don't receive that then this won't be the last reveiw i write !!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
UnhappyCustomer
Warning - Incoming rant.
2 months ago.
Review
I actually do not know how this company is allowed to continue with their practices.
I recently joined Sky after moving home and almost instantly regretted doing so.
The customer service personnel do appear to be helpful at first, but given enough time it soon becomes evident that they merely say whatever they have to, whether it's true or not, to keep you paying.
They do not honour their deals. They are consistently inconsistent in that they promise one thing and do the exact opposite.
They over complicate their deals and packages to keep you in contracts.
The first months bill is always double, yet they also charge you for an extra month at the end of the contract as well. How is a company allowed to behave in this dreadful manner?
They have the monopoly and they know it.
Please, anyone reading this; do not be fooled by their glitzy, appealing sales techniques and tempting offers, because the broadband is tremendously slow, despite what they offer, and whatever you may think you are saving financially you will need to spend 10 times as much in therapy sessions after dealing with this money grabbing corporation.
If anyone has had similar experiences, and judging by the reviews here, that does seem to be the case, then I would strongly advise that you go to every relevant body such as Ofcom, trading standards and any other organisation designed to deal with shoddy practices.
They cannot be allowed to continue to treat people this way and the more people voice their grievances, the better. One persons voice next to a thousand others becomes a roar. We are human beings as well as profit.
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Sam
Happy with SKY
3 months ago.
Review
Joined sky tv last month with no issues. Broadband speed was faster than advertised in the email.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.