TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Phone & Broadband from just £17.95Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

avatar
1.0 out of 5 from 735 reviews
Filter by rating:
7
6
14
62
616
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (770)
Broadband review by lesley
lesley
Be advised - steer clear of talktalk
1 days ago.
Review
Broadband - despite upgrading, no better. Same speed as before, does go off line on occasions.
Home phone - BIG problems. The landline has been off on several occasions over the past 2 months- displays no line. Contacted talktalk customer services was told nothing wrong with the line/connections. Engineer tested the line from our home advised us to purchase a new landline. Did this, connected it - no line, rang talktalk. Advised to change the new landline as that must be faulty!!. Supplier agreed to exchange, despite it having been tested on our premises. Still no line. 8 days later much complaining we get a call from an engineer - the fault was at the exchange!!! Rang talktalk yet again, (wouldn't ask the supplier for a refund didn't have the nerve, as obviously had home connection again). More or less told "tough, no one asked you to buy a new phone"??? Complained. Bill in, despite being told there would be compensation note this - just for the inconvenience of not having a line for over a week, there was no compensation at all. Rang talktalk y.day told there was no record of any problems regarding our experiences. The customer service representative was again very rude. I'm out of pocket and out of patience. Hence why I say STEER CLEAR. I will be leaving as soon as this contract expires.
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Melvin
Melvin
Very poor service
3 days ago.
Review
I have been having connection issues for few months, but despite calling them and spending hours on the phone, it's not resolved yet. The first time was in April 2019 and and engineer came and it started working just to going back to the issue after couple of weeks. When asked about cancellation, they wanted early termination fee and one month notice period for which I now have to pay for no service. Apparenlty their system says that I havent given them 28 days to resolve the issue.
Please watch out because you might end up suffering for more than the few bucks you save with them.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Sarah
Sarah
Terrible service
3 days ago.
Review
Awful service paying for faster broadband but very slow and download speed terrible. Keep complaining never gets fixed had enough going to cancel my contract
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Miss D. M. Chew
Miss D. M. Chew
Do not under any circumstances use this internet supplier
6 days ago.
Review
Very foolishly I didn't take advice before signing up with this company in 2018.

The service was useless. It worked when it felt like it for a couple of weeks after connection, then gave up completely. All attempts to contact the company proved fruitless. All phone numbers, bar one, were unobtainable - the one I actually got through to appeared to be speaking to a real person but wasn't. This very real-sounding voice which "welcomed" the caller to the service seemed very pleasant and helpful ----until you tried to explain your problem. After I began to speak it allowed me to say half a sentence then closed the call because I wasn't explaining properley!!!. I tried writing to the London address of Talk Talk three times - letters were returned unopened.

In the hopes that I might get to speak to a real person at last, I stopped the direct debit. They re-instated it so I had a word with my bank and stopped the direct debit again, hoping that this would get some reaction. It did after some threatening letters from them - they set a debt collection agency on me! Interestingly, the debt collection agency had an email address which was very similar to that of Talk Talk! Needless to say further contact with them was impossible.

Enough was enough and I went to see my local branch of Citizens' Advice who have proved very helpful. As it stands now I am following their advice and awaiting a reply form TalkTalk. If you can't get to your nearest Citizens' Advice office have a look at their web-site re TalkTalk. It's very helpful.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Hopeithelps
Hopeithelps
Recap
7 days ago.
Review
I was once one of the poor souls who had the talk talk experience and I feel that if this was an American ISP the law suits against them would be going in thick and fast!! In the real world talk talk is cheap and I can see that looking ideal for some people "BUT" look again before you get signed up!! 1: 30 day great connection-what about the rest of the 18 months? 2: 20 day cool off time? That's starts when you call and say yes to a deal and it takes 10 to 14 days to receive your router etc leaving you next to no time to cancel if you're not happy or it simply don't work!! 3: fixed priced deals??? There not!! Simple as that! Add a non-existent customer service! Yes all ISP,s get bad reviews and yes BT do run and own the phone lines used etc but that said just look at ofcom,s report on talk talk there bottom of the pile for a reason...
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Eroney
Eroney
Dont touch them for your sake/sanity
7 days ago.
Review
I cannot tell you how bad this company is for taking people's money and avoiding any type of resolution. NOT EVEN THE ENGINEER KNEW WHAT HE WAS DOING and failed to install my faster fibre despite being at my property for over 3 hours - USELESS!!. It took me hours to get my service cancelled (the day after supposed installation). I kept getting fobbed off that they could not cancel and said there was an deactivation fee!!!! Had it not been for my dogged determination to not give up and be fobbed off to different call centres around the world that I finally managed to speak to a manager who has promised my disconnection has been activated and no fees are due (I have yet to see this though). The level of customer service and helping customers is preposterous and I would say avoid at all costs. The endless calls and being passed from pillar to post and nobody seemingly able to help you, will just ruin your day. I have cancelled my disconnection with Virgin and will stick with them. Even though they are expensive i've never had one problem with them. Defo pay the extra for a happy sream-lined service - Please!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Djb
Djb
No phone for 6 days
7 days ago.
Review
For the second time my 80 year old mum has had no phone this time for 6 days. I've been on message chat for 3 hours and got no where. Just switched her to BT
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Sha
Sha
Scammers
8 days ago.
Review
Avoid talk talk at all cost. They might be cheap but there is a reason.
Send you random bills,
never answer the phone and never have a resolution.
They don’t Honour what that say useless and unreliable.
Don’t waste your money or time.
Spend an extra £5 with BT internet it’s worth it.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by angst
angst
Poor
12 days ago.
Review
The service provided is deteriorating daily.
Poor speeds, constant problems with emails and they do little to remedy this apart from putting money into huge advertising which should be spent on improving services for their customers instead.
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Fair TalkTalk customer.
Fair TalkTalk customer.
Let's talk about TalkTalk
13 days ago.
Review
Internet speed, fast? SOMETIMES. Reliable? NOT AT ALL.

Been having trouble with slow speed, technician came in and fixed it and there goes £100 just for the problems on their end. Having problems again and I feel like I'm on some internet explorer back in the 00's. Do I want to call the technician and spend another £100? Hell nah, what am I.. some free £100 dispenser? Fix the reliability down your line and stop charging customers for something they are not responsible for.

Simply put. They are not worth it.. unless you want internet that loads webpage for 30 seconds.
Wifi is terrible and internet is not something exciting either because of the amount of problems I had to face with.

I will be switching over to Virgin most likely since they offer faster broadband speeds and are more reliable than this whatever this is.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Talk Talk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Talk Talk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.