TalkTalk Broadband

Unlimited Fast Broadband, with no mid-contract price rises Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

 

Search for TalkTalk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

Talk Talk Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Talk Talk broadband customers.

1.0 out of 5 from 480 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
3
11
25
406
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (515)
AnnaB
It is a scamm
1 days ago.
Review
Shocking service. Since day one I haven't had internet. Spent 4h on phone with manager who was helpless. I've been asking for refund since 4 months. Eventually they said I have to use refund as credit note for future bills!!!!!

Awful company.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Mark
Awful service
1 days ago.
Review
Upgraded to fibre and it can't even power two Amazon Echos not seven feet away. Decided to leave and they was £160 in exit fees!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Amir esfandiari
Very very bad customer servis
13 days ago.
Review
The worthest and longest customer service i have ever come across to.
Please dont use talk talk ...
I certently wouldn't.😤😡😖
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Wren
Shockingly bad. Best avoided.
20 days ago.
Review
They're just awful. Patchy connection, shockingly bad customer service. They're not even cheeper than the reputable providers anymore!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Jade
Genuinely awful customer service
21 days ago.
Review
I have never experienced such awful customer service. I set up my account a month in advance of moving in with a go live date of the 3rd September to avoid last minute problems. I still have no internet.

I spent 3 hours on an online chat to complete ‘checks’ to tell me I needed an engineer to come out. The earliest appointment was 2 weeks later. Someone was supposed to contact me the Thursday night before the visit to give me a more precise time between 3-6pm on a Friday, no one did.

They were then supposed to ring me 30 minutes before arriving at my flat to make sure I would be in, no one did even though I complained twice throughout the day to ask what time someone would be there. I had to leave work early to ensure that I was in otherwise I would have been charged £30 for ‘missing’ the visit.

The engineer was in my flat for all of 5 minutes before saying that he couldn’t fix it and would need to escalate it to talk talk managers to rearrange someone else to come out. He said this would be a couple of days.

I then didn’t hear anything until I complained again on the Tuesday afternoon. I was then informed that a follow up call had been arranged for the following Sunday 8-10am. I was then left a voicemail on the complete wrong day during work hours which not only I couldn’t understand but I’ve played it to 3 others who couldn’t even tell which company had called me. I was not rang again on Sunday so I complained again to which I was told I would be rung back by the end of the day. No one rang.

I then complained again today that no one had been in touch to which I was told I’d be contacted before the end of the day. They rang me around 3pm during work hours to be told they couldn’t do anything unless I was at home because they needed to do ‘checks’ again. I informed them these checks had already been done and I needed another engineer. They refused to proceed with the call and said they would ring me back after half 4 when I was at home. Safe to say it’s now 7 and I still haven’t been called.

I have complained again and they have now said there is a problem with their system so they can’t contact anyone and I need to call back in 2-3 hours.

Absolutely appalling customer service where no one is valued at all. I haven’t had internet for 4 weeks and had to put endless amounts of data on my phone in order to do my job by personal hotspot. I have never been treated so badly by a company.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Sam major
Absolute disgrace!
21 days ago.
Review
Had 2 days with of internet was never on and when tried to ring to cancel got told there's a £138 charge plus a months payment even thou rang in the 20days now been told after 40 mins on phone can’t be cancelled got to ring back in 3hours and do it all again! fuming!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Chris
Worst network ever
27 days ago.
Review
The worst network ever, no value for money, shady terms and conditions, they will actually charge for services not rendered, criminals, I wonder how they are still in business. Very unhelpful staff. Big mistake.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Annoyed
A scam
27 days ago.
Review
Yes, this broadband is very cheap, making it seem promising for struggling individuals. However, the terrible service is not worth wasting money on when there are offers that are ten times better from other providers for only a marginal increase in price. The average speed is said to be 11mbs and for the entire time my household has used this service we have had an average of approximately 5mbs, meanwhile back when we used EE the overall average was approximately 36mbs and we had around 34mbs most of the time. Not to mention the constant outages we get with TalkTalk (almost daily).

TalkTalk's 'fast' internet is just a bid to take advantage of struggling families and people who are less likely to research or understand the differences in speed. I personally was not the one to choose to use this service in our house, but I plan to move over to Virgin Media as soon as possible. I'd rather pay £50 a month for an extremely fast and efficient internet with speeds over 200mbs, than pay £20 for an internet that even a tortoise would be ashamed to use.

Worst service in the United Kingdom.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
amileigh
WORST COMPANY EVER
28 days ago.
Review
I too was sucked in by the cheap prices. But it is true what they say you get what you pay for.

Talktalk were an absolute joke they over promised and under delivered. took £70 out of my account when they told me the set up fee would be free no one even came to my house I done the set up myself and wouldn't give me a refund. On top of that when I did say to them that I was leaving they said can I give my box to someone else. NO CARE FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS. All round crap service and the speed for fibre optic was so rubbish I ended up using my phone data instead. NEVER AGAIN AND I WILL NOT BE SENDING ANYONE I KNOW YOUR WAY.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Kevin
TalkTalk
29 days ago.
Review
Tempted by price I switched to TalkTalk, what a mistake. Very slow broadband speed (.02Mbps). Shocking complaints procedure. I've now moved to an alternative and much happier. My advice - steer clear of TalkTalk
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.