TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a TalkTalk broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Talk Talk Broadband
Customer Reviews POST A REVIEW
1.1/5 from 265 users. ( 303 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.4/5)
  • Broadband speed (0.6/5)
  • Price (0.8/5)
  • Phone package options (0.7/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Broadband Speed/Customer Service
  · 2 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Very poor customer service, and poor broadband speed.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Please beware about making enquiries to Talktalk.
  · 2 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Please, please, please think again about making enquiries to have Talktalk as your landline and broadband provider.
In June we contacted Talktalk about becoming our providers, however Engineers discovered there was no BT landline to the property, only the current Virgin line. They said a line could be installed but it would involve digging up the lawn, lifting some paving and channelling through a concrete path. We asked them not to do anything until we knew if there would be a cost to us. We asked Talktalk if we would retain our phone number and they said yes, if possible.
We still hadn't been told if there was a charge for installing the line, but unbeknown to us, Talktalk applied to Virgin for our landline number, hence cutting off our phone. Engineers even came to install the line that we hadn't agreed to, so we sent them away. We were without a landline for a week and have written to Talktalk 3 or 4 times seeking compensation for lack of service. Virgin have apologied for releasing the number and have wavered some line rental in compensation. Today we had a letter stating that £30 compensation was agreed and has been paid, this being an insult for the level of inconvenience caused. The £30 has NOT been paid and therefore the situation remains unresolved. To say they are a communication company, their correspondence has been appalling. They obviously don't read letters carefully and send robotic replies. I have never dealt with such an inefficient, unreliable company. I am so angry at the way Talktalk have dealt with the problem and will continue to seek the compensation we deserve. I would hate anyone else to get into a situation like this just by making a simple enquiry. We are not people who complain easily but believe me, Talktalk have made the matter much worse by allowing this to get out of hand.
We are back with Virgin Media and are sorry we ever looked into changing providers.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
AntiVirus Software - attempt to force their software on you
  · 4 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I just signed up to a new contract & TalkTalk emailed me to say "You need to install your SuperSafe Boost". I understand this is their own brand of AntiVirus software.

I don't want it - didn't ask for it - was not told about it ... yet they email me immediately to say I "NEED" to install it. I have heard of other customers being charged for it.

Come on TalkTalk. Play fair. If you want to offer your own software,. then ASK customers first if they want it. This software is apparently less good than your existing AntiVirus software and will automatically REMOVE your AntiVirus Software!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Awful
  · 8 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was a previous tentel customer and Ive recently been moved over to TALKTALK as they have bought them out.Well where do I start!! Ive had my internet broadband phone cut off with no warning. After 7 days of 63 phone calls and getting told numerous lies'I finely got told that TALKTALK has cut me off but I should buy a new pagage.The last letter from my previous supplier stated that my service wouldn't change and TALKTALK will keep me on the same contract. I really don't think any off the staff are trained or know what they are doing. I got told lie after lie and the English was very poor and 90% of them were rude. Ive now had no services for 8 days and I work from home so it's not right that they can treat people like this. This is the worst customer service I have ever came across if you could call it that. Please avoid TALKTALK as it will cause you stress and they will try to rip you off by cutting your contract and the only way they will resolve anything is to expect you to sign up to them ha it's a joke .Ive now signed up for a new provider as I do believe any other provider would be amazing compared to TALKTALK breaking the law abiding contract. I have a big family and I will tell everyone who I speak too to avoid these like the plague.
Was this review helpful to you?
Simon DavidsonI am in same situation, I am tentel customer been told numerous lies , to the point were I sent talk talk and tentel a letter saying they don’t have my permission to transfer my contract.
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Talk Talk servers not fit for purpose do not engage with this
  · 8 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
To watch TV I reset my tv box and router up to 30 times a week. If I request assistance it takes a while to persuade the company that the cables are connected properly and fight resistance. The solutions offered equate to resetting the box - whether it is through live chat of the offer to send another box - but they refuse to deliver through Royal Mail so I cant pick one up form a local depot - it is outside of London and I can't sit at home taking time off work to see what day they actually deliver as the delivery fails - the first receipt of the box took 3 days and I had to get somebody to house sit.
And they will simply send me another box after all that which will not work
So now I am stuck with a two year contract not worth the paper it is written on.
What is happening is that Talk Talk are pretending through moderators in chat forums who monitor every comment that a solution exists - but they won't admit the bottom line - their servers are not capable of delivering the service they offer - no solution exists - they set up a hugely cheap offer nationwide to ruthlessly tie customers into worthless contracts knowing they simply cannot provide - I live in the middle of London and it doesn't even work there - so instead of sucking up their lies I am going to ignore the inevitable response to this pretending its a one off technical issue and I will separately set up via FaceBook or Twitter a facility to get enough signatures to approach a local MP to ask questions in parliament about their inability to provide an infrastructure that matches the promises of their false advertising. Please look out for this and do sign up
In the meantime I would advise you all stand up for yourselves - send them their crap back in a box and cancel your direct debits - they will have to see so many people in civil court proceedings it will be impossible for them to manage and only when we hit them where they hit us - in the pocket - would they ever agree to providing a service.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
A once recommended company - can no longer be trusted
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
We renewed with TalkTalk in Feb 2017. after an unsolicited sales call whereby we only agreed to renew if Talk2Go was guaranteed to be reliable - following long outages.

'Yes' came the reply and we made it clear this formed a specific reason to renew..

So, we get a 30 day warning this service will cease and not understandably, we asked to be released from our contract

Guess what? TalkTalk won't release us and we are now officially in a deadlock situation - following a refusal by TalkTalk to listen to their sales employee's conversation with us.

AVOID ... they just want your money - not to stick to promises
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
The worst...
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Simply the worst customer experience of my life. 7 hours on the phone to call centre hell. 11 people passed around to and still no help. AVOID.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking
  · 11 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Not a bargain but a question is anyone with talk talk I have been with them for a year but today they cut me off phoned which took me all morning and asked why to be told I had cancelled my account which I never then to be told because I haven't paid my bill which I had paid. Said it will be back on within the hour. 2 hours past phoned back to be passed to 4 different departments to be told there was a cease on my account and if will be on in 24 hours. Has anyone had anything like that with them if so did you get back up and running?
Was this review helpful to you?
D STEWARTNot even connected yet and iv been told the account is cancelled then told no its not then told the engineer was cancelled then given 3 separate dates for an engineer to call within 24 hours no communication what so ever horrendous.
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Disgusting company
  · 11 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I am on Talk Talk's basic broadband and phone package.

When I first phoned them to find out how much the monthly costs were, their indian sales staff lied by giving me a much lower quote than the actual broadband costs. I signed up, thinking I was getting a bargain.

When I found out a month later that the bills were higher than the figures they quoted, I phoned them but was basically told it was tough luck and fobbed off.

The broadband has been generally slow - almost unfit for purpose. Some days nearly non-existant. On the best days, it can just about play HD video, but buffers a lot. Websites take ages to refresh and there is a general inconsistency in the speed from day to day. Extremely poor, overall.

Last month they charged me premium rates for calls which should be charged at UK standard landline rate - without informing me. This drove up my landline bill considerably, taking it into arrears. They ended up cutting off my phone so I could not make outgoing calls.

This, in turn put my account in considerable arrears and a couple of weeks later they cut off my broadband and demanded I pay my arrears in full before reconnecting me.

This company is disgusting. Nothing they say can be trusted. No doubt all their customers feel the same way and are jumping ship. So Talk Talk are obviously clawing as much money from their few existing customers as they can... By creating extortionate charges and fleecing customers while they still can before they go bust.

I will be cancelling all Talk Talk services as soon as possible.

This company has no idea how to conduct business in civilised society. The sooner they die a death, the better for all of us.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Shameless money sponges
  · 15 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
They've been awful since we were absorbed by them. Just about functional, though.
However, we started having real problems about a year ago, which have been getting steadily worse. At the moment, a "good" day for us shows speeds of 0.25, and an asthmatic-sounding landline. Eventually we got an engineer out, (a friendly guy) who confirmed the problem was outside and not our fault. It's been two months and despite my writing to their waste-of-space head of complaints they've done nothing significant. Well, nothing except take full whack out of my mother's account every month. Avoid these cretins, they're essentially forcing us to leave and I recommend anyone else in a position to does likewise.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst Service and Comms EVER!!!
  · 15 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
So being an existing customer asked TT to put in a new line and BB into new business premises - this was on 4/9. They gave me a date of 18/9. They came to do their stuff of course got loads of welcome emails, questionnaire, router was sent, they even text me on the day etc etc. The shop was being fitted out and once the data guys had finished they connected up and there was no signal.

So I called TT, they could not even find my account through the number they gave me. They said order has been cancelled (of course not by me), but apparently they could not supply me the service (so they cancelled). They did not bother telling me. So with 3 days to opening my new business premises there is no line at all.

TT staff are really incompetent robots, reading off crib sheets and talk over you and don't understand that circumstances would be different. They tried to pull a fast once saying the address was not registred with post office so they could not supply - but of course they can take order over the phone for it and turn up to set up??

Don't go with these cowboys, they may be cheap but thats because they are rubbish!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Criminal company as far as I'm concerned
  · 16 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Please avoid this company - I transferred my service from these scammers to BT shortly after they mugged me with a price rise 3 months into my 'no price rise' contract.

After sending me a 'sorry you're leaving' letter in June, they subsequently decided that they weren't notified of my service transfer (you physically can't transfer broadband without a MAC transfer, so a fairly simple-minded lie) and that I now owe them payments for the service they no longer supply.

3 months after transferring, I'm now being hounded by their pet extortionists Moorcroft - No attempt has been made to explain what the extortion demand relates to, so I have to guess they're trying to claim 3 months of subscription payments. Complaint about the breach of the no price rise contract has been ignored for more than 3 months, and all communications have gone dead.

Customer service staff are garbage, refuse to communicate anything in writing (although they could make an unrecorded phone call) or issue a deadlock letter - clearly think that a complaint can't be made to the ombudsman schemes without one, but fortunately that's not the case.

Disgusting people, criminal company - avoid them like the plague
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Worst experience with a company EVER... & I am 81
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I feel I must warn anyone considering changing to TalkTalk that they have to be the worst company I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. We spent a month trying to install their equipment. Their support was hopeless & in the end we had to call out one of their engineers, agreeing to pay £40.00 if the problem had been caused by ourselves.

The engineer came out, spent almost 3 hours getting it to work and agreed it was not our fault, and we would not have to pay the £40.00. Of course TalkTalk then charged us the full £40.00, and possibly the most arrogant people I have ever spoken to denied us a refund.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
NEVER go with talk talk no matter how good the deal sounds as the minute something goes wrong there is no way or chance of getting it resolved as no customer service agents speak or understand proper English and lie and make you more frustrated. AVOID AT ALL COSTS AS THE TERMINATION CHARGES ARE DISGUSTING
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
TalkTalk. Criminal Business
  · 22 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Agreed to a new contract December 2016, the telephone line went dead almost immediately. The telephone line came on again in January with a broadband speed of 0.15 MB. The line speed continued until February at a maximum of 0.35. BT checked the phone system to say that the fault is at the exchange with too many customers connected to the TalkTalk system; described by engineer as an overloaded double decker bus ! Line went dead February with no broadband at all now for nine months. Have notified CO at HQ that I will recover all charges made to me by TT to include all mobile data used for failure to provide a much needed service. Small claims court at end of contract.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Diabolical
  · 23 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Diabolical! I am rapidly losing the will to live! I do not have the energy, or indeed mental capacity, to recount all the details of the plethora of disastrous phone calls I have had the unbelievable misfortune to have experienced with Talk Talk!!! ..........Furthermore, these have been on the back of numerous similar calls my 81 year old mother endured, the last of which had her in tears!!! Disgusting doesn't even begin to describe it!!! How they have the audacity to call this disgraceful treatment 'customer service' is beyond me!?!?!?!?!
However, before I go and lie down in a darkened room with copious amounts of alcohol to try and recover, I feel compelled to warn any poor unsuspecting potential customer to look elsewhere. Please, please please, take heed. I wouldn't wish the Talk Talk experience on my worst enemy!!!! You have been warned!!!! Enter at your own risk!!!

In all my years, I have never encountered such ineptitude, contemptuous disrespect, blatant lies, failed promises to turn-up and to return phone calls, they even tried to blame the local council at one point for not giving permission to dig up the road for 'BT Outreach' to mend the fault- (this was a blatant lie as I rang the council and they investigated this, emailing back to say no request was ever made to them by TT or BT Outreach!!!!!!).

My recently bereaved and very vulnerable 81 year old mother reported no incoming and outgoing phone service and no internet on the 8th September. After 6 calls to TT over a 2 week period, all of which failed to result in satisfactory resolution of the problem, she phoned me to help her, as the last call had kept her hanging on the line for over an hour, waiting for an engineer who had been promised, but who never came to the phone!!!!!!! In the end after repeatedly calling out and nobody answering, she burst into tears and hung up!!!!! I am appalled Talk Talk!!! You are a disgrace....

Since then, to date, I have taken over dealing with this on her behalf, and as I have said, have never in all my born days encountered such disgusting service. Nightmare doesn't even begin to describe it. Finally yesterday they sorted the problem, however were supposed to phone me to discuss compensation which.....yes, you guessed it....they didn't do!!! So today I had to phone the yet again, which must be about the 14th or 15th call only to be directed yet again to the wrong department. I finally got some woman called Alex who said it was her job to deal with complaints and compensation in the 'fault managers' department, yet several times previously I'd been told it should be the 'complaints review' department. I think they just say whatever they have to to get you off the phone, with their nauseating empty apologies. The language barrier is a problem too as the call centre is in the Philippines- I couldn't understand them half the time and I could tell by their responses to things I said, they were either ignoring me and changing the subject or they also didn't understand me. The stress levels are unbelievable as one tries hard to remain polite but firm, and I admit by the last few calls I had no patience with being palmed off lies and excuses and wrongly recorded facts their end... its an insult to my intelligence! I've taught 5 year olds that could organise things better. The words p***-up and brewery spring to mind. However, I think it is more likely that this ineptitude is deliberate in the hope you will give up and go away!!!!

Anyway back to the matter of compensation.... Well Alex went off for a few minutes to discuss this with an anonymous colleague (she said she didn't know their name when I asked!!!!!???), and after agreeing that the service we had received was unacceptable, came back with the grand sum of £18.94!!! I took a deep breath and calmly asked her what this figure represented, and she said very proudly that TT were very sorry they had let us down and that this was representative of the value of service my mother had paid for, but not received. I then said so what you mean is.. a refund! I then explained a refund is not compensation, and I said I should not have to even be asking for a refund it should be done automatically. I also explained to her what compensation actually meant, and could she please go and tell he anonymous colleague that we have incurred other costs (mobile calls, non-TT landline calls- mine alone have already cost over £20) and spent literally hours on end trying to sort this, been lied to etc etc etc, and want compensation for that by way of TT acknowledging their poor service and apologising financially, as their words of apology are meaningless!!! This went back and forth as I slowly pushed. First they said £25 including refund, then £30, then £40 including refund. In the end I said I was going to be contacting the CEO and my mother has said she will get solicitors involved. On hearing this she suddenly up it to £50 including refund credited to my mother's account next month, and promised she would escalate (another empty TT favourite term) the complaint to higher up!!! She said I'd get a phone call in the next 24-48hrs. Well I'm not holding my breath as that's an empty promise I've heard numerous times in the last few weeks, so I will probably have to phone again.

Know this Talk Talk , my mother will not be renewing her contract, and will be telling her vast circle of friends about you and asking them to spread the word. We will be taking this further, unless a respectful and appropriate compensatory offer is made. I am going to find as many ways I can of voicing this experience to warn people. I have already found evidence online of your high complaint rates and I will be writing to Ofcom and the media. We are recently bereaved of my Dad, so when my Mum feels stronger, she will be contacting her solicitors.

I would like to know how much Talk Talk's CEO is paid per hour for managing the mind-boggling chaos that is TT's non-existent customer service system (customers are paying for your salary Tristia Harrison!!!!) and I would like the equivalent paid in compensation for each of the many hours I and my mother have wasted trying to communicate with the inept and incomprehensible Filapino staff she employs! I can only begin to imagine how demoralising it must be for these staff whose remits for dealing with customer frustrations are limited to nauseating, disingenuously apologetic scripts, seemingly designed to confuse, mislead, delay, lie, and negate, and which are devoid of any common sense, decency or accountability!!!! Utterly outrageous!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Liz L@CAF: Thank you CAF. They are a criminal disgrace for sure. I have read many reviews recently and have noticed those who post about them favourably, refer to the ease of initial set-up and taking out contracts in the main. What these poor souls don't realise is that it is afterwards that all the problems, lies and ineptitude starts.....when they have trapped you.....!!!!!! Be warned people out there......do not be hood-winked by Talk Talk. I would liken their 'business practices to a scam to be honest. Enter at your own risk! You have been warned!
CAFI feel your pain! Just put 'talktalk complaints' into a search engine and read stories similar to yours. They need warning
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Unintelligible operatives
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Can't understand Indian English
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst customer service ever by Frank
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
0*(star) from me. I called their customer service, Frank, one of their customer service assistants answered and was not even bothered if I took their contract or not. So it's a rubbish customer service from talktalk. I do not recommend Talktalk at all.
Stay away from them.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Failed phone line and appalling Talktalk customer service so far.
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
Our phone service went faulty on 23rd September 2017. We notified TalkTalk the same day and we have been in touch by mobile on numerous occasions between 23rd and 28th Sept. Talktalk were informed of my breathing difficulties and the urgency of needing to reinstate phone asap. This info appeared to have fallen on deaf ears. Managed to persuade them to call us back on only one occasion.
WE were told there was no fault on the line, but we still had no phone service but we did have intermittent broadband, which we had to keep re-installing and had problems with passwords etc. We tested our phones on someone else's line and tried new phones on our lines. Our phone worked on another line but new phones did not work on our phone line.
Dealing with Staff on phone was a nightmare due to non understandable accents language barriers and refusal to ring us back on a mobile phone which cost a fortune.
We were text a message on Monday two days after calling. We were told initially an engineer would be calling at our house within 72 hours with a half an hour time warning slot of arrival on the day. The engineer did not arrive and no explanation given.
Made several attempts to chat with Talktalk online. On 28th Sept. made two attempts to chat online with staff each taking up to an hour and a half with promised resolution of sorts on the second attempt. On the first attempt I was told to contact BT directly myself even though my contract is with Talk talk. They then decided that there was a fault on the line after all!!

The best I was offered at the second attempt, was to be contacted in three days time by management. I advised the operator that if the matter was not resolved on that day, I would deem TalkTalk to be in breach of contract and would be within my legal right to leave the Company, as they had not fulfilled their legal obligations as a phone provider.

Matter is ongoing...
Will post an update whatever the outcome.
J Jesty
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Dreadful
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Several problems, connection died. 6 weeks later no progress.
Customer service barely speak English and have repeatedly experienced getting cut off when speaking to them, having to go through the hole process multiple times to make contact.
When I did get to speak to them, they were very unhelpful - after 2 weeks of no internet they finally sent out an engineer who did briefly resolve the problem then a week later no more internet and back to running the gauntlet of dreadful customer service.
Switching to another provider, would actively encourage people not to use TalkTalk or anything ever.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Could never recommend talk talk to anyone
  · 25 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I booked an engineer to fix my you view box. Took time off yet engineer did not turn up. I rang customer service and said my mobile was not working so engineer could not contact me. The customer service rang me on it so that was Actually working. They were to fob me off with a lame excuse in my view. I had to re book engineer two days later but I had to book time off work again. Stress stress and raised voices on the phone. Too much hassle. Virgin has been recently installed in my street so I will be going to them shortly. This is my personal experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 26 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute rubbish!!!
I've been a TalkTalk customer for a few years, due to lack of free time i should have run from this provider a long time ago. Finally i've made it. I went for a cheaper deal but regret it. Every time i am online, it costed me lots of waisted time on, waiting for uploads or any other service, calling customer service, and so much stress every time you need to do something.... Speed is very slow, to download something is a nightmare, watching something - its always pausing. I needed to restart the router every day. Always technical problems. At one point i was without internet for a 5 days due to their cable maintanence, but never received any refund or an apology. Once i was told to take a screwdriver to open the box and check all wires on my own? TalkTalk have plenty of cheap deals, but the service for his you get is very poor and cheap. Service team is inexperienced, same phrases, no support at all.
If you want fast internet, smooth and pleasant time online - TalkTalk is not that provider, AVOID!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Stay away from talk talk
  · 26 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Been with talk talk for about 3 years. Problems in speed only started when I upgraded to fibre. It seemed to get slower and obviously I was paying extra! I decided to cancel and go with bt when I moved into my new house. I called talk talk to cancel and all was ok. A few days before my move I got a bill saying i needed to pay x amount even though this wasn't agreed before. So I called them and they said I needed to carry on paying for the line until the new tenants move in which was 2 weeks later.... what!? The lady had so much attitude aswell she just didn't want to know! So eventually I got to a manager and he was more empathetic although he still said there was nothing they could do. I can now just cancelled the direct debit and the issue is still ongoing.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Disgraceful
  · 27 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
During the last months of 2015 I was involved in a battle with TalkTalk who failed repeatedly to connect my wife's phone. It was a difficult time. My wife died on 29th December 2015. An angry letter sent to TalkTalk was acknowledged by telephone apology. The account was closed.
I have today, 25th September 2017, received an unwarranted demand for payment in connection with that closed account.
How can a company be allowed to cause so much distress?
Was this review helpful to you?
JackHello David, sorry to here it! I would like to think that someone at TalkTalk with a heart can read, respond, and put an end to customer misery. Come on TalkTalk is this the best you have to offer!! I two have been a customer in the past but will never go back. Even if it was free! It's that bad!
8 of 8 readers found the following review helpful
TALKTALK Nightmare
  · 29 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I rarely give reviews but I feel like I need to save some people heartache and pain. DO NOT JOIN TALKTALK BROADBAND. After one and a bit years of being with TalkTalk, I am glad it's now over. My internet was constantly dropping out and I would have to reset the router. Despite hundreds of hours of trying to resolve the situation, 3 engineer visits and a replacement router, the issue was never resolved. The issue I believe is a fault in the design of the routers although they never admitted to this and probably will never admit to it. Their support is a nightmare as every time you contact them you have to start over. There seems to also be very bad communication between departments. They seemed to have created a number of accounts for me and were often very confused as to what was going on. Their back office must be a nightmare. I recently moved to Vodafone broadband who use the same OpenReach lines and have not had these issues. The connection is also way more stable.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Can't wait to leave
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
It was a massive mistake signing up to talk talk. Internet is slow and you keep losing connection. Video calling is nigh on impossible. I only went with them because they offered fibre. I live in a rural area and very few companies offer this service. Talk talk idea of fibre is slower than any other internet I've ever had before!! But the landline phone charges. Wow they're a joke. I hardly ever use my landline, but recently made the worst mistake ever and used it to cancel a hospital appointment. As is the norm, it took a few attempts to get through to the booking office to cancel this appointment, 26 tries to be exact. I don't mind this, they are very busy.
I got my phone bill yesterday and I have been charged £8.84 for these phone calls. Most of which had only logged a 1 second connection. The actual phone call it's self only lasted 52 seconds. Talk talk must be the only company that doesn't offer free calls. It wasn't a Premium number. Just a normal Leeds code number. Apparently you only get free calls to other talk talk numbers. I don't know any other idiots, apart from myself!! That are with this useless company!! So won't be making any savings there then. Customer service were zero helpful. They are totally infuriating. Unfortunately I signed up to an 18 month contract, and still have 8 months to go. I will never use my landline again. Can't wait for my contract to end, I will be out of there like a shot. Thanks talk talk for nothing

Michelle
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
One of the worst internet providers
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
TalkTalk or don't Talk
Must be the worst service provider in my view.

Is TalkTalk broadband company a useless on all aspects or what? Been having problems with their slow internet connection on and off. Called them a few days ago and so called engineer came around, he connected his ipad and said you are running on 1.5Mb. Spoke to them I think in India again and I asked whats the minimum speed,
They said 32 Mb ? I said big difference between 1.5Mb and minimum 32Mb and could I end my contract as they are not providing the service required and this is on many occasions, they said sorry that I have to pay the rest of the period left on the contract (Whenever you call them you are on the phone more than half an hour with all the same useless routine checks: plug, unplug, reset )?
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Dead Slow Broadband Even Slower Chatline Staff!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Our Broadband speed has never been what you might call sprightly with Talktalk, but when it went down to 230KBps Download and 130KBps Upload one night (verified with an online speed testing tool) I felt enough was enough.

Even early next (Sunday) morning the speed was still only 690KBps and 290KBps, so still far short of what we pay for or would expect.

Being a Sunday I used their Chat service, and well, their staff were even slower than their broadband service. An overseas connection with poor comprehension of written English and a reliance on what must be their own toolbox of instant 'stock' questions and answers.

No further forward so I'll be changing supplier and registering a formal complaint with OFCOM.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Loss credit score
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Its a sheet company. I just call them about talk talk broadband but its affect my credit score f**k off . For cowboy broadband i loss my credit .
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Bad
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Very poor. Extremely slow and unreliable, router provided also has a very limited range.
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible internet, terrible customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This company i have no idea how they are still able to trade, they are horrendous and care about nothing except money, they charged you for things you haven't had and bill you for phone contracts you don't have, this company is by far the worst i have ever been with, but never again, stay clear of these people.
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish broadband, customers service, company!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Had Talktalk Fibre for 15 months now speeds slower than previous suppliers standard broadband. Speed varies between 2mb-6mb if we are lucky. Customer support rubbish, they just read off a sheet and have no technical knowledge.
DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM READ OTHER REVIEWS THEY ARE TERRIBLE
Worst company i have ever had the misfortune to deal with, just counting the days until my contract ends.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
WIFI NEVER WORKS WASTE OF MONEY
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
We've had talktalk wifi for months and have had problems every single day without fail. Often more than twice a day!! We have to switch the wifi off and on all throughout the day because IT NEVER WORKS!!! Some days it never works even after rebooting and we have to use up all our mobile data when we shouldn't have to do that. We should have the wifi WE ARE PAYING FOR. NEVER USE TALKTALK
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid at all costs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Signed up to broadband, they took order details, payment details and gave me a date for the engineer to visit, he did not show up.

I have been speaking to TalkTalk customer services for 4 hours now, they said I had 2 accounts at first, then they say I have only one account and NO RECORD OF MY ORDER AT ALL. AND BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO RECORD THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I offered to send my confirmation email and they were not interested! All they were interested in was putting me through to sales team to make another order!

TIME WASTERS
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Horrible
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I requested for a phone line, fibre and line transfer nearly 3 months ago. Some guy from BT came around and messed up my next door sockets in order to put wrong phone number. His line and the system isn't working at all. Talk Talk has been giving me appointments 2-3 weeks, long waiting, 6 times happened then cancelling it or sometimes they don't bother to call to cancel. I am out of the fibre, transfer and my line. ON top of that they are billing me for the wrong broadband and wrong line into someone else's socket they put in. HORRIBLE experience. I suffered a heavy loss and they don't bother.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely terrible. I haven't had a service for over 6 weeks since my launch date. Yet they continue to charge me and when I told them i wanted it refunded they told me I had to wait a further 30 days and pay more money while they got round to disconnecting the line! This is the worst customer service I've ever received.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Disgusting treatment of Customers
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I recently had a bill for £45.00 which was paid, but because the payment was late Talk Talk decided not to bar me but disconnect me so phone line out. I am a Cancer Patient and need the phone line for medical appointments etc. I am disgusted by them and you can't get any sense from any of them. I advise people NEVER go with Talk Talk they are a rip off company and their reputation of such is going to be noted
Was this review helpful to you?
RamshaIf you need the phone line you should've paid on time?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID AVOID AVOID!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I cancelled my account in May and got billed today for a mobile sim that hasn't been used since April! I have spent 1 hour 43 mins on the online chat and transferred to 4 different people who were all incompetent, asked me the same questions and none of them managed to resolve my issue. The sim was for my dad who sadly passed away in May and it is quite clear when you look at the account that the sim has not been used since April. However they told me that although I cancelled my account the sim is a different account and has to be cancelled separately, I was completely unaware of this and confused too as when you go into my account the tv, phone, broadband and mobile sim are all there in the same account and to get a mobile sim with talk talk you need to have a broadband account with them! In fact I was told at one point that "the right thing for me to do was to clear my account then it could be cancelled". It also transpired during the conversation that they owe me £23.16 where they overcharged me for the last bill before my account was closed. When I asked for this to be refunded back to me they told me they couldn't deal with it and that I needed to phone the customer service department, the whole reason I was on the online chat is because I couldn't get through by phone. Please AVOID this company at all costs the customer service is disgraceful.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst provider ever
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I went six days with no internet or phone line spent £26 on phone calls as no one got back to me to resolve the problem, and they only offered £8.63 compensation unreasonable. Worst internet provider, I have to contact them every month with something wrong with my internet as always losing signal three kids with no internet it is a joke DO NOT SIGN WITH THESE
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
The absolute worst
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The absolute worst customer service. Every phone call for even the simplest enquiry ends up lasting 30 minutes. I can't understand the agent on the phone and all they seem to do is deliver unnecessarily lengthy answers from a script they have been given. Talk Talk disconnected my wifi whilst I was recovering from an operation in hospital without my authorisation. I subsequently had to have a whole new service re-connected which they had the audacity to charge me for and since then I have had barely functioning internet. If I could use any other provider I would but no-one else services my area. I have been on the phone 22 minutes already just to confirm whether I can expect the engineer that I was told would be visiting me today - a simple yes or no answer seems to be beyond the capability of their staff. Talk Talk should be ashamed of themselves.
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*