TalkTalk Broadband

Unlimited Fast Broadband, with no mid-contract price rises Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee
 

Search for TalkTalk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.

 
 

Talk Talk Broadband, TV & Home Phone Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest reviews from Talk Talk broadband customers.

1.0 out of 5 from 516 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
3
11
30
437
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (551)
Marla Clarke
Please Don't Switch to Talk Talk - Here's Why...
3 days ago.
Review
Firstly I tried to cancel my contract on the 30th November as it was ending on 31st December, and was told I would be subject to an early termination charge and I would have to phone back in a day. Disgusting !
I was previously paying £19.95 fixed for 12 months- There was a deal online at the time for £17 for 12 months, so I asked if I could have this- They said it was for new customers only and they couldn't extend it to me and the best offer they could give me was £27 a month for 12 months.
I had no option other than leaving as other providers were doing cheaper elsewhere.
It took me nearly 3 hours in all which was speaking with four different advisers to be able to cancel this contract.

The irony with this is that after the longevity and difficulty in actually talking to someone who was actually authorised to cancel the account, I am now seemingly getting a hotline to talk talk call centres now as they spam call me 5 times a day on average to try and offer me deals so I have had to block them.


Pros-None- my connection to fast broadband was always dropping out.
Cons- Non UK Call centres, Terrible connection, very difficult to get anything resolved, Extortionate early termination charges, and the call centre staff all offer differing advice, none being beneficial to the consumer.
No loyalty to current customers.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Mimi
Worst internet providers ever
4 days ago.
Review
This is the worst internet I've ever had. They gave us a broken second hand modem, and refuse to give us another, the internet cuts out at least three times every hour. The internet is crap and customer services are terrible. Left the contract and switching to bt - do the same. You won't regret it ❤

Never going back to talktalk... never again.



Avoid at all costs.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Zendo
Talk Talk
4 days ago.
Review
Talk Talk, never deliver on their broadband speed promise, I pay for over 70gbs and yet rarely get 50 and sometimes get less than 5mbs. That's right 5mbs. Customer service is lousy, technical support is all but useless. They really couldn't care less about you in my view. They will blame your equipment but fail to explain why sometimes speed is 60mbs but other times less than 10. If it was equipment it would be consistently low.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Vladimir
thiefs
5 days ago.
Review
I terminated the contract with TALKTALK in June 2018. To be honest, I began to regret about it. My life with a new provider has become boring. During the last 4 months the Internet has never shut down. I miss so much the time when I was a customer of Talktalk, when every day several times I had the Internet disconnected, I endlessly overloaded the modem, called and wrote to Talktalk, spent many hours in chat. But Talktalk did not leave me, today, 4 months after the termination of the contract, Talktalk sent me a bill, I again owe them money. Moreover, without informing me, they independently activated Direct Debit and took my money. Phenomenal.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Ron
"Danger stay away"
5 days ago.
Review
A fortnight after Joining TalkTalk, and at least 20 hours on the phone I still did not have a working internet or access to my account. I had two visits from open reach both informing me the line was in tip top condition, and that the signal to noise ratio was badly wrong, in other word TalkTalk were restricting my internet, I even listened to one of the engineers telling them this.
I had no choice but to leave as I had no usable internet and it was unlikely they would resolve the problems caused by them. Over the last couple of months they have started demanding money for cancelling and moving to a supplier that instantly gave me internet. Now they are going to send this “dept” to a dept collector and were keen to tell me this would seriously affect my credit rating.
TallTalk are an evil company who will go to any lengths to make money and have no concern for the way they treat their customers, you have been warned!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
anon
VERY SLOW!!
7 days ago.
Review
advertised 30mb/s, and i do get it with wired lan, but wifi barely reaches 1mb/s .
would not recommend.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Jamie
THEY LIE, STEAL AND CHEAT! AVOID!
7 days ago.
Review
WORST COMPANY EVER TO HAVE EXISTED! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE! I have never experienced such a money grabbing company that has absolutely no regard for human decency or even the most basic customer serivce or even your legal rights. I have absolutely no idea how on earth they have not been taken to court or gone bankrupt. I dont even know where to begin, I have had two run ins with the company, the second was unwittingly after they brought out the company tiscali. The first time they renewed by contract despite me telling them not to, despite not even providing me with internet but insisting I pay for internet and fee's for a property i no longer lived in and for a contract I 100% did not renew and actively told them not to renew it. The second time was even worse! They over charged me by £100+ consecutively for 3 or 4 months for my internet contract (which was orignially with tiscali and they took over and didnt tell me) for phone calls! I DIDNT EVEN HAVE A LANDLINE PHONE IN THE FLAT! I told them that these calls were not me and asked for my money back, they refused, they said it could be a crossed line which wasnt their problem, I said I will not pay for someone else's phone calls, they said they did their own checks on their computer and had decided there was no crossed line - i begged them to check this in person or visit my flat to investigate as I dont even have a landline phone and they told that someone must be breaking in to my house to make phone calls on a landline phone i didnt have and then leaving and locking the door behind them before i got back from work! WHAT THE HELL!?!?! PLEASE PLEASE NEVER USE THIS COMPANY! HOW THEY ARE STILL ALLOWED TO DO "BUSINESS" IS BEYOND ME! THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS WITH THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE WORLD!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Vladimir
thiefs
11 days ago.
Review
I terminated the contract with TALKTALK in June 2018. To be honest, I began to regret about it. My life with a new provider has become boring. During the last 4 months the Internet has never shut down. I miss so much the time when I was a customer of Talktalk, when every day several times I had the Internet disconnected, I endlessly overloaded the modem, called and wrote to Talktalk, spent many hours in chat. But Talktalk did not leave me, today, 4 months after the termination of the contract, Talktalk sent me a bill, I again owe them money. Moreover, without informing me, they independently activated Direct Debit and took my money. Phenomenal.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Vladimir
Compensation from Talktalk
11 days ago.
Review
I was a Talktalk customer for 4 years. The last 6 months it was a real nightmare. Internet dropped every day, several times every day. I wrote many complaints, spent many hours in online chat, but everything was useless. Then I demanded compensation. Can you imagine what Talktalk offered me? a £5 goodwill gesture!!! I paid £150, did not receive service, had to spend about 20 hours trying to fix Internet. They did nothing and offered me a £5 goodwill gesture! Sadistic bullying! Usually reviews on this site help to improve the service of companies. But not in the case of Talktalk. I specially looked for information about Talktalk and found that poor service and bullying are the main characteristics of Talktalk since 2009. TalkTalk were even fined £750,000 for "dishonest and misleading" sales practices following an Ofcom investigation.
Since Talktalk ignores all our complaints, does nothing to improve the service, I think we, the customers, who received all this terrible service and numerous bullying, should set themselves the goal of getting Talktalk out of the market.
To do this, we must describe in detail and objectively all the cases of the disgusting service of Talktalk, put the likes of other similar feedbacks, share experiences when it was possible to obtain compensation or successfully leave Talktalk. I hope that we will be able to attract the attention of the Ofcom to prohibit the activities of Talktalk.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Sunderland sue
Never ever again....
13 days ago.
Review
Changed over on Friday to talk talk and changed back next day to my previous supplier!!
Internet was atrocious and crashed every few minutes, picture quality was fuzzy.
Customer services were helpful to a point. Paying for 2 lines as talk talk didn't cancel my previous provider but this was a blessing in disguise as I got fibre for retaining my account.
Dealing with talk talk customer services almost made me give up the will to live..... would NOT RECOMMEND under any circumstances. Do your home work and read the reviews and save yourself the hassle!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.