TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk The UK's lowest fixed price Broadband Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

1.0 out of 5 from 636 reviews
Filter by rating:
6
6
14
47
533
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (671)
Broadband review by Gjp
Gjp
Great service
5 hours ago.
Review
Have had talk talk now for 5 weeks with no problems whatsoever, they changed everything for me with no hassle and went live on start date they provide.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Paul
Paul
Worse customer service ever
10 hours ago.
Review
Don't use talk talk awful customer service and they never listen to you.. You wait in all day for an engineer to arrive, no one turns up and you get a text message from them saying the issue has now been resolved, it's happened to me several times. Last time my internet went down it took them 4 weeks to resolve the issue because they didn't turn up on 3 occasions and each time I called them they would carry out tests to say my service was running fine when it clearly wasn't. It turned out there was a fault outside my home which they sorted at the 4th attempt after constantly telling me my equipment in the house was at fault and I have mistreated it in someway. My contract ends soon so I will be switching and I will never use them again.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by JC
JC
EXTREMELY BAD SERVICE. PLEASE READ. DO NOT RECOMMEND
12 hours ago.
Review
I'm not the type to go out of my way and write reviews, but i never ever received such bad customer service in my entire life.

I ordered my internet and booked an engineer visit. I called back straight after the phone call and spoke to a sales person as i was interested in the TV channels, but the guy advised me that he cannot be help me until the engineer visits my home and makes the connection life. He was extremely angry that i called his line and he couldn't make a sale to me. he mentioned how his line was monitored and records how many sales he makes. I was telling me how bad his colleagues were. I found that extremely disrespectful.

Anyways i took annual leave from work so that the engineer can visit my home to make the connection. The engineer arrives and tells me talk talk booked him by accident because all the lines are connected and that he cannot do anything. My house is a new build property. I immediately called talk talk and they advised me not to worry as the second engineer will go to my local cabinet and make the connection. I was waiting around all day and i still have no internet.

I called up talk talk the next day only to find out that they can no longer offer me a service as i do not have copper lines in my house and advised me to cancel the contract. But they should have known this from the beginning. They never asked me whether i have copper lines or not.

Now i wasted over 2 weeks of my time. The next day the complaints manager calls me and confirms that i have been given misleading information and that they can now provide me a service as i have fiber lines. after being on the phone for 3 hours i had to re order my internet again from the beginning.

2 weeks later the engineer comes to my property only to say the same thing. All my connections are fine and the internet should be starting automatically.

Next day i called up Talk Talk and they said the engineer said the customer wasn't aware of the attendance which was a total lie. I spoke to the engineer myself.

So after another 3 hours being on the phone they re booked another engineer for some reason and they mentioned if i don't have copper wires going to the cabinet then they cannot offer me the service.

At this stage you can only imagine how frustrated i am. over 4 weeks wasted and numerous long phone calls to talk talk. I'm a contractor so i loose out on a lot of money every time i take a day off.

Now i'm waiting for the engineer to come over. I have a feeling they will mess me around again.

The amount of stress and anxiety talk talk have caused me is beyond acceptable and they did not offer me any compensation what so ever. All the employees sound like robots and are of no use at all. They don't fully understand the service they provide.

Till this day i am unsure as to what the engineer is doing. Very very poor service. If i switch providers i will loose out on more time. I feel helpless and stuck with this rubbish company.

Thank you for reading my review. I will not recommend Talk Talk to anyone at this stage. I can only imagine trying to call them for bad internet connection. They will drive you up the wall.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Scott
Scott
Appalling Customer Service
1 days ago.
Review
I have just moved house. The previous occupants had Talk Talk Broadband and gave 30-day notice when they moved out. Surely that cannot be an unusual situation Talk Talk?
I cannot connect to the existing line because we need the previous occupant's permission, and there is over three weeks left of their notice period. I cannot take over a new account for the same address for 14 days. After 14 days I need to book a connection appointment which will take at least 2 weeks to arrange.
A month without broadband? Welcome to Talk Talk in the 21st Century.
Every time you call TT Customer Services you speak to an outsourced employee based in South Africa who follows the same inept script and gives the same banal answers. The last time I called I spent 60 minutes talking to two people who didn't seem to understand why I had a problem. They have no clue how to run a business.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. NEVER. EVER.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Ed
Ed
Crap
3 days ago.
Review
Never dealt with a worse company. I have not only dealt with them in a home, but also in a BUSINESS. They are absolute garbage. The worst broadband company imaginable. They are inept, disorganised and a ripoff. There is nothing good about them. The price they offer might seem good, but they screw you over with constant slow speeds, disconnections and absolutely diabolical customer service. DO NOT USE THEM.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by LYNN CARROLL
    LYNN CARROLL 2 days ago.
    Talk talk are crap they advertise they are the number 1 broadband provider which is misleading info I'm contacting Ofcom and consumer rights
Broadband review by susie
susie
Nonsensical chat
4 days ago.
Review
Many reasons for being dissatisfied with talktalk but the newest one is finding out that I have been being charged for TV services and a TV box that I have never had. An online chat this evening was incredibly frustrating with the other person continuing to talk as if I have got this TV box. Said it was sent to my email address. I asked how that would even be possible. Eventually got the charge removed but the person then went into detail about what I could and could not do with the TV box I had told them repeatedly I have never had. You couldn't make it up. Oh yes they also tried to tell me Free view now charge
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by mark
mark
No complaints department
4 days ago.
Review
I received awful service from them recently and wanted to complain, I was told they would put me through to complaints, guess what it was never connected...twice that happened
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by chewie
chewie
Liars or incompetent
4 days ago.
Review
I asked them to move my service as I was moving house. I work from home so internet access is crucial. Online version of home move doesn't work so I had to call. I made it clear that I didn't want disconnecting until the new service was in place. I was told that was ok and my new service would begin on Monday. Then I got an email telling me it would be delayed a week. I spent an hour on the phone speaking to 3 people who all fobbed me off. Liars or incompetent?
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Myles
Myles
WORST Company Ever I hate Them
4 days ago.
Review
For about a month my wifi is supposed to be doing 50Mbs at least as a minimum and on a consistent basis it goes down to 3mbps for hours hate the company unreliable and rubbish never use very frustrating.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Hayley
Hayley
WORST COMPANY EVER
5 days ago.
Review
Had nothing but awful service from them. The box wasn’t working was told it would take a week to come, then they said they could deliver a new box in the next 2 days. Nothing still delivered and just been told it will take another 4 days to come as it’s bank holiday weekend. Waited over a month for WiFi from them and they are trying to charge me for the first months payment. Absolutely disgusting service so dissapointed and definitely do not recommend ANYONE to use them.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for TalkTalk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.