TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a TalkTalk broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Talk Talk Broadband
1.0/5 from 455 users. ( 490 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.3/5)
  • Broadband speed (0.6/5)
  • Price (0.8/5)
  • Phone package options (0.6/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid! Terrible
  · 2 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Signed up to Talk Talk, service didn’t work. We complained and they said they would arrange an engineer in 72 hours. An engineer came the next morning with no warning when we were out.
When we called back they said they had already sent the engineer to resolve the problem. I stated that was unhelpful as they didn’t call ahead. They said another one would come in 72 hours.

They never came so, I called back and they said the engineer never came because I didn’t rebook, however I had never received a text to rebook.
Finally I received the text to rebook, so I tried to rebook. At this point the adviser said that this was the text I should I received when the original engineer didn’t come, it had just come a week late.
My case had been closed because I didn’t respond to this ‘non-existent’ text.

They said they would rebook and another one would come in 72 hours. I stated I wanted to cancel – I had been calling every day and each time given a different answer. On top of that, I had no service.
They said the cancellation had been successful and I should call back for a refund.

I called back the next week for a refund and they told me that the cancellation had been unsuccessful!! They transferred me to cancellations and I was put on hold constantly as the person didn’t know what they were doing. I finally got through to a manager after 45 minutes who continually spoke over me and told me I can’t have a refund this month and I will need to call back next month.
I bet when I call, they’ll find another reason not to give me a refund.

Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Disgusting Company - White collar robbery
  · 3 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
So me and my family were forced to change internet provider due to TalkTalk having absolutely awful download speeds and not being able to improve on them.

We went through the cancellation process only to find out that TalkTalk had still been charging us! £40 a month. We called them and told them that this had been cancelled, however, the company has said, in order to cancel our broadband, we are required to get our new service provider to contact them to verify this change.

I have contacted my new service provider, and this is an outright lie from TalkTalk. Pure lies from the company who have been a total nightmare for the years that we have been with them. I would not recommend this company to anybody.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Shambles of a cancellation policy - not worth the hassle
  · 5 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Their cheap starting rates are the only thing this company have going for them - I feel sorry for the customer service staff who have to deal with the nightmare of a service system TalkTalk provides.
I was on a 12 month fixed contract (during which time we had a bout of unexplained broadband drop-outs) which I attempted to cancel prior to being 'upgraded' to a more expensive contract. Apparently this was impossible and they wished to charge me for the next months bill at a higher rate due to their 30 day cancellation period policy. Though I had not been using the broadband and the router was disconnected for the full month, I received warning emails telling me I had to pay the bill otherwise a late fee would be added. I then enquired about the bill asking that i would be reimbursed in full. This was confirmed to me, however a fee for the time during the month I wished to already be disconnected was incurred. After an hour on the phone trying to state my case I was still not given my full reimbursement - just zapping more of my money through the phone. Angry and disappointed at the service that doesn't make clear their cancellation policies and doesn't provide any compensation for such. I will not be using their services again and will be advising my family and friends likewise.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 6 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Do not join TalkTalk broadband rubbish but the customer service is beyond belief I have never experienced such rude and incompetent staff do yourself a favour and stay clear of talktalk
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Rap broadband and service
  · 7 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
With out going in to boring details Absolutely pathetic in every way possible
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
I have gone back to Vodafone
  · 8 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
BROADBAND:
The most horrendously miserable customer service experience I have ever encountered spread over 4 phone calls this morning lasting a total of over 2 hours. In the end I gave up and cancelled my contract which had only been live for 2 hours. They had no comprehension of what I wanted and passed me from pillar to post. Outsourced call centres cannot provide the quality of care and customer service coherently and without making copious notes, putting you on hold and cutting you off. APPALLING! APPALLING! APPALLING!

I have gone back to Vodafone.... everything I wanted completed and understood in under 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking
  · 8 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Started with TalkTalk when we first moved into our house. Had no real issues other than the odd internet blip here and there. Once our contract was finished we stayed with them due to having no real issues... big mistake! Internet has been getting gradually worse, can now no longer have 2 devices streaming (eg the Xbox on and trying to play videos on another device). Total bill gradually went up month by month which wasn't an issue until last month where we had a unnotified jump taking us to almost double what our original bill was. Safe to say we've moved to a far better deal or a cheaper price. Won't be using TalkTalk again and certainly won't be recommending them to any friends or family.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Probably the worst experience I have ever had
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Took broadband out with Talktalk and after a week of paying for internet I was not getting and no one really knowing what they were doing they finally found the issue. This was going to take another 3 days to fix! After the many rude customer service operators I decided to leave, however, they are still trying to keep my money, taking money out of my account after my broadband had finished.
Even when the complaint was logged they were more interested in closing the complaint than solving it.
All in all they seem just as incompetent at resolving complaints than they are at providing an internet service.
(I got another internet provider in the next day to fix their internet and it worked straight away, proving it was not even a difficult property)
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Definition of a bad service
  · 15 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
When the general review from various sites identify problems customers had to go through, it’s usually a good indication that your service will be very much of a hit or miss.

I've been hearing about how nightmare TalkTalk are from friends and media including appalling stats about the number of complaint logged with OFCOM, I should have realised why the price was better than competitors. Because you get what you pay for!

Had broadband issue and wasn’t able to use the internet for over 3 months to which I've had to speak to TalkTalk customer service 15 times (60-90minutes every time) and technical department (8 exactly the same diagnostics), engineer visits (not turning up with right equipment so ended being 3 visits).
No resolution so had to jump to another company to which they tried to charge me for leaving the contract early. I asked for compensation for all the trouble I had to go through and they offered a good will gesture of £5. Then was harassed by 6 further case managers to take up on the compensation.
I am reporting them to OFCOM and though it may add up as just yet another stats on their service, I believe companies like this should not be allowed to operate in such a way.
Anyone else who had gone through the same troubles as I have, please take 10 minutes of your time and register the issue with OFCOM and leave reviews so that others won’t go through the same thing as I have.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Awful customer service and broadband
  · 17 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I cannot put into sufficient words how bad a company Talk Talk are. From their customer service to the quality of their product they are hands down the worst company I have ever come across. Since having the broadband it consistently cuts out throughout the day, I was told this was due to the fact I did not have fibre however Sky who I was previously with had exactly the same speeds and never cut out. When trying to explain these problems over the phone it was like talking to a brick wall over and over again. They did send another router however this did not work, sent engineers who said the line was fine and no faults in the house. When the problem continued they restarted the whole thing again and sent more engineers who said the same thing. At no point have they offered me any form of refund or compensation for their dreadful service and I was left so frustrated with their call centre I refused to contact them again. This was after being on the phone for over 2 hours and not getting any form of outcome from it!!! Just purely for the customer service alone I would never recommend going with Talk Talk, spend a few extra pounds and go with a more reliable company that knows what customer service is.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Worst service ever
  · 18 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Avoid at all costs. Worst service ever
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Sloooow speeeed (read slowly to get the idea)
  · 18 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Been having difficulty with slow speeds for months now. Didn’t realise how slow our broadband was until I used alternative broadband whilst on holiday. I noticed the alternative provider was much faster when I did a download test, which showed 17mbps. On return home, I did the same test, using the same device and speed checker (TalkTalk‘s), and our broadband download speed was shockingly just 1.3! Yes, that is 1.3, not 13!
I contacted TalkTalk via chat and was told they would do some tests and to chat back later for results. Long story short, I chatted back twice more but couldn’t get an answer as to what was the problem.
This prompted me to make an official complaint, I spoke ( eventually) with a manager who was on the line for just under an hour!
Apparently, only 1.5 mbps (again, that’s 1.5, not 15!) is being sent down the line, but no one seems able to tell me what they are going to do about the slow speed being supplied to my home. I have received a new router, but the speed is still the same as the speed coming into my line is only 1.5 and obviously the router can only put out what goes in!
I am very disappointed with the service we are receiving, especially as TalkTalk signed up to the voluntary code of practice, which includes transparency of guaranteed minimum speeds. I am unable to find out my guaranteed minimum, it is ‘unavailable‘, but the manager said the absolute maximum our line is capable of is about 2.6mbps, which is way below the 17 mbps which lured me to take out a 24month contract in May. Also, as far as I can understand, this also precludes my upgrading to fibre as the speed will be retarded by the line coming to my house as soon as it leaves the exchange. I feel frustrated and trapped in a contract where I’m receiving sub-standard service.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Slow broadband, poor customer service
  · 18 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Poor communication, customer service did not give complete information when changing address which resulted in me being out on a 2 year contract with VERY slow internet speeds. I pay £20 per month for less than 4mbps that is intermittent. You can get fibre deals for £25 these days
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst broadband experience
  · 22 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Slow connection, it constantly drops, and recently I have experienced total loss of connection. 24 hours plus and no internet at all. I called the customer service and told me they have no timescale regarding how many hours the problem requires in order to be fixed. No updates so far... plus, when I asked help from the customer service, they hung up the call... very rude, and dishonest, to pay all these money for such a 'service'.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible
  · 23 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Terrible service, terrible connection, have FO and it cuts out all the time, will be leaving when my contract expires.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Horrible
  · 23 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Horrible experience, engineer came to sort out the internet, he didn't manage and I wasn't told of that. I've been waiting for days with no internet, I've got in touch with them and they tell me they'll send another engineer in 3 weeks "hopefully" he'll sort it out meanwhile I have to pay. My friendly recommendation: avoid this company as much as you can :-)
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Criminal
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
CRIMINAL.......I have been charged £18 extra on my contract since Feb 2018 and £20 extra this month alone, added an extra £10 on my bill due to my contract ending and no one informed me. Paying for ultimate fibre and im lucky if I've been getting 20gb since I've had the contract, i have phoned relentless since I took this out but no one gives a sh*t. The customer service is diabolical along with talk talk it self, totally bewildered it has any customers at all, I will NEVER EVER go back to talk talk as long I have a hole in my arse
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Mis-selling
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I recently signed for a 39/40mb package. When installed it was 4.4 to 7.9! They deliberately lied to get me to sign up and insisted on me paying for it for 30 days when I immediately cancelled it. The customer service was rude and arrogant and even threatening, avoid this trickster company at all costs. ( even the 4.4 to 7.9 doesn't work.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst customer service, charges for no reason
  · 28 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely ridiculous company internet had no service most days fulfilled my contract before switching then sent £200 cancellation fee when contract was up. Terrible service still not heard from my complaint 4 months later reported to off com.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid avoid AVOID
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Terrible service.
Call centre are absolutely useless
Once cancelled and gave notice internet does nothing but disconnect. Avoid at all costs
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Had to leave after having to use my mobile data now talk talk are harassing me for £12
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
We opted to have talk talk as our internet provider, we then noticed that we kept on losing our internet connection so we had to use our mobile data, I called talk talk and complained, they then did a reboot or whatever they call it to get back a decent speed for us, which worked for a day or so if we were lucky, eventually we left as we were forever calling talk talk for a connection. i sent them screen shots of the speed of our connection as well and said i would be leaving as my contract was at the end. They are now sending demand letters and added a default to the account holders name on their credit file and i am furious. Talk Talk do not listen as i told them i will not pay a leaving charge as i was at the end of my contract with them and for that past few months i had no internet anyway.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Worst customer service in the world
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Keep away
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Paying for something that they don’t supply !
My speed is 1.7.. test shows. I paid for 15 minimum... Technical team already done tests and said that they couldn’t help so I may as well cancel...
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Horrendous
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Over 2 hours on a phone call to sort out the internet speed problem and still not sorted.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Talk talk the nightmere of ISP service providers
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Avoid Talk Talk

Firstly, I'm one of the lucky people who own 2 homes and in my first home i wanted Talk Talk to provide me with Fibre Broadband after Sky Broadband fibre prices where going up in price. "We can do that says the agent". In terms of taking number and line over.

Place order
Week later call from Talk talk stating i will need to change number to get service and also second line installed.
(previous Fibre line is Active to Sky and BT Openreach and no problems for over 7 years since installation from Openreach) Talk Talk beg to differ stating they cannot take number and landline from another line install as alternative to receive Talk Talk Broadband. Which seems bizarre as we had BT Sky Plusnet and O2 broadband as service providers over the years with no issues to landline or number.

In the end Sky contacted us and offered us a better deal so first order for Talk talk was cancelled by ourselves and stayed with Sky

This is where the trouble started with Talk Talk.

Talk Talk pestered me with calls from an Asian call centre or India clearly from Talk Talk asking questions unprofessionally

"Why you no take deal" i replied because your a multi million pound communication company who cannot do the simplest of tasks like mark up your services for broadband provisions on Openreach correctly "transfer a telephone number.

The agent started to be rude blaming BT Openreach (not knowing I'm a BT x Openreach engineer by trade) when i informed him of this he started to be even more rude stating he knew more from his Ivory call centre abroad on my job then myself of 25 years when i explained about talk talk line requests to lines on exchange ) i hung up the call.

Well my Daughter came home from uni and was staying at my other address and being kids, asked me to sort out the broadband at 2nd address. So i agreed but before i did Talk Talk again contacted me 4 weeks on cancelled order and tried to sweet talk me so i decided to set up at Daughter's address
(2nd home) with Talk talk

This is where the fun begins!! Install date friday 13th July (talk talk Installation between 8-1) Could of done the line install myself but no longer work for openreach)

No one turned up

Call to talk talk...talk talk had my old order and argued it was cancelled yet could not track my new order. After 11 calls and numerous text messages and a email saying agreed date time and services talk talk refused to set up services and horrendous customer services given.


Finally after using U switch found fantastic ISP (Vodafone) and cheaper too

Avoid Talk Talk rubbish company who treat you like...rubbish
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Talktalk Upton Park £30 for nothing....
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have talk talk and pay £30 monthly in Upton Park, internet down for 2 weeks and they just keep on saying we will fix it from 24 to 72 hours but nothing happened, 2nd week.....
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Post office internet
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Post office is a disgrace, it has been terrible for the last 12 months, they don't do what they say. Customer service is basically a waist of time because nothing ever gets sorted out. They must get told to say the same thing. I will be leaving as it is not fit for purpose.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
The Worst Company Ever!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 5/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
All we wanted was Talktalk to transfer our service from one home to another in the same village. We were assured that this would happen at a certain time, two days after our moving date.

They failed to do this, and we were left without a service for two weeks. After repeated texts and telephone calls and great difficulty in understanding what was being said over the the mobile phone by the Talktalk personel we did finally get connected.

Despite being without a service for two weeks we were not offered a reduction in payment, in fact they wanted to charge us for ending our contract. After more frustrating phone calls we finally managed to escape from this awfull Company without further payment and are now going with BT, it’s £4.00 per month more but judging by our experience so far, will be worth it.

Why would a Company use staff that are difficult to understand on the telephone ?
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid at all costs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Never had a worse experience in customer service. When attempting to change the account holder name after my flat mate moved out I was told the only way was to send my details (name address and sort code) by post. Despite being anxious about this process I did as I was asked...nothing happened. I sent the details again... still nothing, they had lost all of my personal information, countless emails, calls and complaints and not only has the problem not been resolved I have had to deal with painfully unhelpful staff who speak over you and couldn’t care less. Never encountered anything like it. Avoid.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
A nightmare!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Stay away or you are going to be very disappointed. I have been a client for more than 3 years and the last year was a nightmare .. No internet for days and customer service speak very poor English and can not do anything but say sorry,sorry.... What a joke !! I be changed provider and guess what? Never had a problem since and I pay less now. Internet is fast and always working. Talk talk is a bad joke!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
most terrible customer service in the UK
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I wrote already about my bad experience with Talktalk. It turned out that leaving this company is even worse than enduring this terrible service.
They send me erroneous overstated bills, threatening me. I just spent more than 2 hours talking to managers. I use logic and facts, they use only attempts to confuse and mock. I've never seen such a terrible customer service in the UK.
I am a very peaceful person, but such a mocking attitude makes me look for the possibility of a legal solution to the problem.
I see on this site many people affected by Talktalk, maybe it's time for us to unite and file a class action lawsuit against this company of rogues and boors. I will be happy with any of your ideas.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Talk Talk are easily the worst internet service provider anywhere
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This is easily by far and away the worst internet company out there. Avoid them at all costs, don't believe a word they say or what other companies that may promote them. Stay clear at all costs or alternatively open the window, throw your money out and ask the person that finds it to spit on you and this will go a fraction of the way to the humiliation you will feel when you realise you have been duped by the slick marketing. They don't care, wont care and as long as they keep sucking new fools and vulnerable people into contracts they wont change so be warned
Try and do anything other than visit the slowest of sites and you will be greeted by a wall of deception and customer service that ranks among the very worst in the world.

Don't believe it, think it will get better, read some posts on the internet that are positive then go ahead. In just a few months you will realise what a fool you have been, those posts were clearly written by talk talk employees and the awards offered by advertisers.
Alternatively just avoid them, believe what the masses of people are writing and saying which is as long as there is breath in your body steer clear of this company .and do something much better with your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
THE WORST COMPANY ON THE PLANET
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
In my late 40s and I have never been treated so badly by a company in all my life. Customer services are DIABOLICAL. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY WILL OFFER FALSE PROMISES and let you down again and again. STAY AWAY!!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Poop
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Keeps stopping working
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking, just shocking!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My elderly father has been a loyal customer to Talk Talk for years now. What do you get for years of loyalty from Talk Talk? They rob you blind, con you, lie to you, cause you huge amounts of stress. They first lured my elderly father in with a cheap deal of £8 for non fibre internet on an 18 month contract. They claimed he would get 13Mbps speeds but in reality he was getting less than 1Mbps. Once the 18 month contract ran out they started taking £28 per month from his bank account and never once notified him that his 18 month contract had ended and that charges had been increased. They got away with this for 6 months before i spotted it for him. Because Talk Talk were the only internet provider in his price range he wanted to try one of Talk Talk's Fibre packages. We signed him up to a 76Mbps package and he got speeds of 58Mbps for about 3 weeks before speeds dropped to just 16Mbps. Trying to get Talk Talk to solve the problem is a nightmare. It's been over 2 months now and all they do is give you the run around. Every person you speak to from Talk Talk give conflicting answers, they outright lie, claim there is a fault, then there isn't a fault, back to there is a fault, someone will call you but never do. They tell you you need to book an engineer appointment but none of them ever bother to turn up. I've booked 4 engineers now and taken 4 days off of work and not a single one of them has turned up. They don't even have the decency to contact you to let you know that they won't be coming. Even when you reach the very top and get through to a CEO they will treat you the same. When asking for compensation they said they would consider it and would contact me. They contacted me and told me they were willing to pay me, wait for it....9p....9 whole pence for months of stress and shocking services! I've since got them from 9p to £130 so far. However this still doesn't cover loss of earnings etc. So, here we are over 2 months on and the internet still hasn't been fixed. They tell me i have to book an engineer but i have already booked 4 and none of then turned up! I cannot take more time off. It is going to end with my father being stuck with broken internet and no fix. Funny how Talk Talk are very capable of taking money from your bank account on time. They never have a single problem doing that. Weird! For the sake of your blood pressure and mental health, i strongly advise you to avoid Talk Talk like the plague. Don't be the next us!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
At least you can vote 0 stars here!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Account: 1011703608

I received an email from yourselves last week, to which I responded and was promised a call-out to which I didn’t receive. I’ve received a telephone call this morning which involved me faffing about with rebooting broadband, unplugging the DSL filter, connecting to my phone, my laptop etc… I then said that we couldn’t connect to broadband whilst we were on the phone and the agent I spoke with (named below) didn’t even sound shocked. After advising this, the agent then contacted me via telephone, where she put me on hold for collectively, over 12 minutes….

After I stood my ground, refusing to faff about fixing your issue, she was then suddenly able to have someone call out to ourselves and fix the problem (a miracle!) But at a charge of course…£50 if it turns out the fault was mine - how would I be able to prove that it was not my fault? I can’t trust your company and ultimately, this prompted me to realise i’d like to cancel. The broadband fails to automatically connect to any device, it fails to allow us use to our broadband and phone at the same time, it fails to allow us to pause and play when we wish as you suggest. It just jumps about a bit.

Chris in the Claims Management department was most unhelpful, after numerous times of saying I wanted to cancel, she was persistently asking to send out someone, confirming I wanted a call-out…then confirming I didn’t. The fact this agent is a part of management is LAUGHABLE. dread to think what the standard advisors are like if this is how management speak to customers.

I advised Chris of the below speeds, to which she didn’t seem bothered that I was paying for way more than the speed I was receiving, I mentioned about upgrading the router / sending out a new router - this question was totally avoided. I’d also like to point out that 0 Data Protection checks were confirmed throughout the call…oh, apart from my address when she was sending an engineer out. The call initiated with ‘Am I speaking with Zoe Conning?’ - divulging information and potentially breaching this data to an unauthorised party.

I understand cancelling mid-contract comes at a price however, given the above download and upload speeds, you're failing to meet your criteria within the contract, therefore, I expect this fee to be at least discounted, if not wavered completely.

Their website advises that:

“Fibre:
- If you are a customer taking the Fibre Medium service you will be charged £10 per month for every month left on your contract, in addition to the phone and broadband early termination charges.”

Therefore, the termination fee should be no more than £150 as that is what is left on my contract of 18 months, and regarding phone and broadband charges - could you please enlighten me to how much these are please? because it looks as though they are more than £150 each! - of which, I have not been advised about in any contract, or Terms & Conditions.

Silindile and I spoke via web chat on the 8th July 2018 who advised that because a technical fault had been logged today, which I have not actioned, therefore, someone has actioned something on my account, without my request or authorisation.

A copy of the above will also be sent to:

TalkTalk CorrespondenceDept
PO Box 675
Salford
M5 0NL

horrendous company - don't be fooled by these low prices!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
DISASTER
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
there are no words to describe TALK TALK that can actually be published
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Talk talk is a waste of space fast broadband my ****. Called them up they stated it's a fault on my equipment and will get a Tec advisor to call me back. Never happened can't wait to leave them not worth my time calling them back it's a waste of breath. 10 minutes to down load a 56mb app it's a joke.stay well clear unless you want lots of hours talking with there customer service team and getting nowhere fast.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Robbed blind
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I am a single mother of 3 and have been paying for a SIM for over a year which was never dispatched to me plus after never getting to use a single minute of this deal and making several attempts to correct this situation I'm getting nowhere! I spoke to yet another manager (I have her name) who said I haven't got a chance of any compensation and I have to continue to pay a contract for the remaining 24 months !!!! But after waiting for SIM to arrive after several attempts of asking I went and got a mobile with a great HONEST company, and don't need the non existent SIM anymore.

STEER CLEAR YOU WILL REGRET IT
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid At All Costs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
If you value your health and sanity I implore you never use Talk Talk. I joined them 8 months ago and my service hasn't worked more than it has worked. It has not worked now for 2 1/2 weeks and I have been lied to and laughed at, put on hold for 30 minutes and disconnected deliberately on more than one occasion. Now I've told them I want to leave they expect me to pay a termination fee. My health both physically and mentally has declined in the last 8 months
Was this review helpful to you?
Review your broadband provider

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
→ By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 23 Aug £18.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited £17.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 21 Aug £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.