Virgin Media

Virgin Media Broadband, TV & Home phone from £33 per month Compare Virgin Media deals

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

avatar
1.0 out of 5 from 256 reviews
Filter by rating:
1
4
6
34
192
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (252)
Broadband review by sutton john
sutton john
DO NOT USE VM
1 days ago.
Review
It is June 15th today I have been trying to get my PAC code from VM since the 11th!!!!!! can you believe it! as I write this they are still 'LOOKING IN TO IT' there is an error they can not find what it is. SO I can't move my mobile to sky??????
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by MnK
MnK
Broadband keeps cutting out
3 days ago.
Review
Broadband cuts out regularly.
Started doing it again today so just spent 1 hour 20 mins on phone to them being bounced around from person to person.
Everytime you go through same security checks as they don't seem to have any continuity between operators.

Eventual solution is there is a fault in the area they'll send someone out but that will take 5-7 days!

No compensation offered.
Cancelling the contract incurs an early termination fee. That can only be waived if the fault reoccurs 3 times in 1 month.
Given that each fault takes 5-7 days to fix, they know that's almost impossible. Basically, they've contractually arranged it so they could leave you without internet for 10-14 days per month and still charge you for cancelling.

Incidentally, i'm in central London. If it takes 5-7 days to fix a fault here, God help anyone who's with them in a rural area!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Disheartened
Disheartened
Trying to Cancel contract
4 days ago.
Review
I have phoned Virgin 3 times today to try and cancel my contract, and each time I have been placed on hold whilst waiting for cancellations team for over 30 mins each time. I tried phoning again and was told they would answer my call within a few minutes, am still on hold 0ver 22 mins later. This has to be a joke,, this is the worst service ever.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Marcus
    Marcus 4 days ago.
    I'm afraid it's no joke - it's a tactic they use to try and wear you down and hope you give up trying to leave.
Broadband review by Angry customer
Angry customer
Scammers
7 days ago.
Review
They wanted to charge me £211 for early cancellation. I got evicted from. My property because the landlord decided to sell the house and now I'm stuck with no house. No WiFi and a hefty bill.
The lady I spoke to on the phone had no human heart or compassion to the matter.
Money grabbing bxstards. No wonder Dick Branson is so rich.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dobromir
Dobromir
Completely awful!
13 days ago.
Review
Completely awful! Stopped my internet 10 days before my actual end of contract date. Have to wait 2 days for a technician when I have deadlines and work to do. The only way I can connect to the internet now is through a pay-as-you-go WiFi spot from BT which works better than my wired connection from Virgin.

Don't use Virgin!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by mr a
mr a
VM
16 days ago.
Review
For the past 2-3 weeks the telephone has gone down several times. For days I have been calling vm who told me they had to repair the line within 4 hrs as I have a vulnerable person in the house who is blind but it still took over 2 days to repair the tv. It has gone down twice; and then they have the cheek to ring you up and try to talk you into staying with them what a joke changing to Sky can't be any worse than vm and is also cheaper.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Joanne liu
Joanne liu
Not happy
16 days ago.
Review
Absolutely rubbish. Bad connection. Huge jump in monthly payments from £95 a month to £136. No connection in one room. No phone line connection, been on hold almost an hour having spoken to customer services to be transferred to cancel contract. Been on phone since 6pm and I am still on hold. Absolutely disgusting.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by N Sangarwal
N Sangarwal
VIRGIN BROADBAND IS THE WORST
16 days ago.
Review
I was with virgin broadband and moved to a new house and requested for the broadband and phone line to be transferred to the new address.
Each time an appointment for installations was made, it would be cancelled and another appointment would be made, saying additional work needs to be done. POOR CUSTOMERS SERVICE, LONG WAIT ON THE PHONE, VIRGIN YOU ARE SIMPLY THE WORST. After waiting for a couple months and 5 appointments to do the installations I have decided to move to BT BROADBAND,

I am extremely disappointed with Virgin and really angry the way you have handled our installations.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Adrian
Adrian
Customer service that just doesn't serve the customer!
17 days ago.
Review
I am in my second period using VM in the last 5 years. I am currently trying to cancel my services as they are trying to increase my monthly payments by approximately 65% to renew my contract - so I am told by accounts that I have to call the cancellation line.
This is all good in theory, except that VM DO NOT ANSWER calls on this line. I waited 30 minutes, then 45 minutes - still no answer.
I will continue wasting my phone batteries trying to contact them, but really it is time Ofcom stopped this dispicable practice. All VM are doing is trying to get customers within their 30 days 'notice' period so they can levy huge cancellation charges (as mentioned by other reviewers here).
This time, if I am unable to reach their 'cancellation line' before my contract expires, I will file an official complaint through Ofcom and VM can whistle for their cancellation charges if they levy them.. - VM you have been warned!!
Really this has to stop. This is customer deception, not customer service. (By the way, I work in UK customer service and, if our service was as awful as VM we would have no customers.....)
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Ade
Ade
Not even fit for a prison.
17 days ago.
Review
If you love throwing away £41 a month on awful internet then vigin media is the internet supplier you need. Had constant problems with my broadband for the last 2 months and I've had 3 engineers come to my place and they still can't sort it out. Customer service is also appalling. Put in a complaint form and they replied a couple of weeks later saying they found a solution to my broadband issue. I needed boosters apparently to solve the problem that I didn't even know I had where really I have a major broadband issue where my hub resets itself every 2-3 hours and that takes around 30 mins for the hub to go back to normal but apparently I needed boosters which would cost an extra £4 a month on top of a very steep £41 a month bill. If you want your moneys worth for the love of god don't go with virgin media, completely regret it. As I write this review I've got no internet in my apartment due to how crap of a internet supplier they are. I'm better off giving that £41 a month to Oxfam.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Virgin Media Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.