Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a Virgin Media broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Virgin Media Broadband
1.1/5 from 144 users. ( 140 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.5/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.2/5)
  • Price (0.7/5)
  • Phone package options (0.6/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Complain
  · 1 hours ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Not happy with company or customer services. Moved to new property damaged my home muddy boots on new carpet, holes in wall nothing done to put right or compo. Thankful 12 months contract don’t use this company unless your hard up or just a plain mug just like I was sucked in.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Do not join Virgin Media
  · 11 hours ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Do not join Virgin Media! They are rude, unhelpful and their service is unreliable. We have not had broadband for 11 days now and there is no resolution in sight.

We try to get updates on when it will be up and running and they just say they're a major fault with the cable in the area and their engineers are working on it. It's ridiculous. They do not offer us any compensation for the inconvenience or for the fact that we have been forced to buy extra data on our mobiles which is expeditiously expensive.

No broadband means no TV on Demand do we are paying for half a TV service too.

Unless we complain that do not even attempt to refund you for three days with out service even though there aware of the fact they're charging you for a service you're not receiving.

Many of our home's appliances run off wifi, our home alarm, sump pump alarm, doorr bell you name a few. It's not on!

We are trapped with Virgin in a contract for 12 months. We are continuously having problems with their services. They even have an automated voice message when you call their phone line apologising for the fault in your area - more lies as sometimes there isn't a fault, sometimes they've just over charged us or put fees on which we are told would not be applied. I hate to think how many customers get ripped off because they do not have time to go through their bill and just trust that they're being charged correctly.

Please choose another company. One that values their customers and one that provides a service and doesn't just charge for it even when it's down half the time.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Not recommend
  · 2 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
It's been 5th call to get in touch with a human on customer service, Rude person attended kind of talking nasty behind. I want to cancel but it is becoming impossible to speak or make any contact with them. Bills were not same as per contract either. TV is not at all good unless you want to spend £100 plus monthly. Broadband was good most of the time for our usage And it wasnt super good to wow you. Last 12 months I had no land phone active to make or revive call And still paying, Overall terrible virgin experience to continue And cancelling is most difficult because you can't find anyone nor you can get call back.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Very poor service for existing customers!
  · 10 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I'm on a very basic deal with them and have found much better deals elsewhere with their competitors so contacted them to see if there was a better deal they could offer me and they just weren't even interested in my custom. They didn't even try to look at my current deal and what they could do to help me, didn't ask the deal I had found or even try to match it, they just kept saying they're was nothing they could do. Now if I were them, I would be trying to do everything possible to keep customers but instead they are not bothered about offering current customers good deals, just interested in getting new customers in. Surely, they're loyalty should be with their current customers?! Well, apparently not. To say I am disappointed with their service is a massive understatement. I will be leaving virgin media effective immediately and will definitely not be recommended them to anyone else!
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin Media SHAMED forever
  · 15 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
DON'T TRUST VIRGIN MEDIA!! I agree with everything said...Liars, Cheats, Scammers., just plain immoral. Honestly though i feel sorry for them. Losing another customer or nearly 20 years. Nobody has told them that your good name is worth everything. Virgin media has sold its soul for a quick illegal buck. You call to reduce the package and they will do everything to get more money out of you. They badgered me for a £1 could keep the T.V package i wanted to cancel, then insisted it was a 12 month contract. called me daily for months. Every missed call was virgin media. Then stung me for a bill, beyond belief and indicated the fake calls could be crossed lines and then said i would be charged i i wanted to leave the contract (still unsigned in my inbox). I have signed with someone else. They will not get another penny from me and i will adivise everyone to steer well clear as they are on their way out as you can only treat your customers that way for so long before the word gets out...and it's out and so will virgin media be shortly. The only consolation when you have parted with cash to is that at least you know now and can choose to leave the sinking ship.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Hub slow, Service Poor, Undocumented Voip Unavailable
  · 18 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I purchased a Virgin Media Broadband package in January 2018. If I used the Hub (WiFi) I got 3Mb download speed. If I selected the router option I got 50Mb download but no WiFi. The support was poor and when I escalated the problem, the operator never rang back.

I then tried to move my voip line from one supplier to Virgin Media, it didn't work and there is no information in the documentation to say you can't.

I asked Virgin Media to close my account immediately, which they did, and I informed them I was not paying an early termination charge which they accepted.

Furthermore a colleague of mine who had previously worked for Virgin Media told me that she had been successful in securing many sales and had been invited along with other successful sales personnel to an all expenses paid training camp in the USA where there skills would be enhanced and there ability to lie significantly improved.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling customer service
  · 18 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I rang virgin media to request TiVo box and an engineer to fit same. He was supposed to come between 1pm and 6pm but never came. I rang at 6.15pm and customer service was shocking! I was put on hold twice and 2nd time just left on hold. Rang again at 7pm and asked to speak to someone in authority. A gentleman answered and said the engineer was having his lunch and would be 30 minutes. He arrived 10 minutes later having had no lunch as he was running late but explained he asked the office to let me know he would be late but they failed to do so. The engineer was called Shawn and what a lovely guy and so apologetic. He could not do enough to help even when the first box he tried was faulty. A credit to your company. Pity same cannot be said for customer service-even asked had I cancelled order!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid at all costs
  · 19 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The worst provider ever !! They waste your time. Kept hanging up on me and it is so hard to cancel. Customer service is very poor. Always try to talk over you and they act like we are stupid. I would avoid at every cost if possible. You have to give them 30 days notice to cancel and they still haven't cancelled everything. My phone line is still active and I have been trying to call them all morning and now it's nearly 12 and haven't got hold of someone to talk to. They'll try to take as much money as they can from your account. They give you wrong information. I would not trust them at all. It's really hard to speak to someone if you have a problem. Avoid if you don't want to go through misery.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid virgin!!
  · 22 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Such a long story but customer service from virgin media is disgusting. Had so many problems with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish virgin media
  · 23 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I’ve been with virgin media for the past 2 years and the broadband speeds are very fast which is good. However, whenever my broad band has cut multiple times in these 2 years and I’ve had 2 replacement hubs. Don’t trust them they give you crap service and worse tech and it’s not like broadband outages where it just cuts for a couple of seconds, I’ve had times when it cuts for days at a time and I’ve called the engineer and they say ‘everything looks perfect I can’t tell why it’s not working’ and then I get the new hub or it fixes its self a couple of days afterwards. Really this is the type of broadband they think people deserve! The customer service is like talking to a brick wall you say one thing and they repeat what you just said. DON’T TRUST VIRGIN MEDIA THEY ARE FRAUDS AND LIARS THEY JUST WANT YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE SERVICE.

by the way as I am writing this I’m going through yet another internet outage and the worst thing is when I go on the test brourdband option on the website it says it isn’t on properly even though I’ve checked the wires multiple times and the light is flashing. I’m contemplating making a move to bt
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Do not bother
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Terrible broadband service in every way. TV is also terrible.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin media cheats
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I have been with virgin media since 2006 till now. Virgin media has a excellent broadband speed. Their customer service can't be trusted. Their yearly contracts are also lies. Their customer representatives convince existing customers by offering excillent prices and packages if they are to leave. They are trained liars, they will lower the prices so much you won't leave. But once you signed the contract and the cooling off period is over the price starts rising till your jaws drop. They have been cheating and making money from me since 2006. In 2011 i moved house. I was on a phone contract evening and weekend free calls and unlimited broadband. I was away in usa for few months. My other half used the phone knowing eve and weekend free. Bill's were direct debit. When i got back from us a i was shocked to learn virgin media taken up to £150.00 to £200.00 pounds per month. For 3 month. When i called they said im not on eve and weekend free calls. I said when i moved house your customer rep i told them I'm just moving home and phone contract stays as it is. But virgin media did not refund my money. I had horrable experience with them. In 2017 June i took 1 year contract phone and broadband. They offered me £26.50 per month and said fixed till July 2018. But again they rise the price to £35.00 per month during contract. When i called they said i was not on contract since 2016. Thats another shock. Then i told the customer service rep i was told in june 2017 £26.50 per month fixed for 1 year contract. Again replied "you have no contract" they said i don't know what the other person did. So please do not fall into their lies and tricks. Do not recommend any one to virgin media. We have many broadband providers. Virgin Media is a company which makes money by cheating and lying to it's customers. Since 2006 till july 2018 they cheated me. I hope this review help those who read to stay away from virgin media
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid!!!!
  · 25 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
A very simple scenario: me calling Virgin to move my services (Broadband) to new address. A very straightforward instruction given to Virgin advisors...presumably... Yes, I am moving to my new flat in 2 weeks time, yes I want to move my services with me; no, I don't require faster internet for few extra pounds. Will my contract stay the same?? Yes, it will continue the same. About two weeks later: 2 bills arrive at the same time. One saying I terminated my first contract, hence termination fee of £65. Second one saying I opened a new account, hence installation fee (I installed existing router on my own), double charge for monthly services that also went up from £27 to £33- small bill of £80 in total. I am being left with paying two bills (£145). All I expected was to pay £27 plus moving home admin, if only. Where is the logic here?! I spent 40 minutes holding the line to discuss this farce, only to be told to call a different department... As billing team have no power to help me out. Appalling!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Think twice - very inconsistent apart from price rises!
  · 29 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have been with Virgin for about 20 years, not impressed with the installation, but once in it was OK if typical of a large company, (difficult to get hold of and like talking to a brick wall : ) ). The problem being everyone else has a similar reputation.
However, things have now come to a head. As a thanks for my loyalty Virgin have seriously yanked my bill up every year without warning. When it reached £35 i rang and said I would have to leave. They then offered me a rate that was very similar to my starting rate of £24, so obviously i said yes. Next year came and they yanked the price up again, then within 8 months again. when i rang they said the lowest they could offer me was £3 more than they were currently charging and this month they have added that amount to my bill as well! This equates in total to about a 27% rise in my bill over the last 18months..
To add insult to injury when they came round to fix a problem they said i was lucky to be getting reception at all, so they couldn't really help, even though i had had no problem with reception over the las 10 years in my current house. I have to say customer service has always been polite if not necessarily effective, but the last time I rang, although not polite it was not as it has been.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
AVOID to preserve your mental health!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
I am not one to post on these websites, but I felt my experience with Virgin Media was so extraordinary that I had to vent and warn others. The broadband and TV service were of high quality - fast and clear TV signal with great content and user friendly. However - we had a problem with the home phone line - we lost any dial tone or ability to make and receive calls from December 2017. Despite 8 calls and 3 technician visits, the line is still not working as of today July 2018. Most disturbing is the complete lack of any follow-up with the problem. I have been told at least three times over this period to expect a call back from a supervisor technician and this has never happened - forcing me to call the customer support line and go through an agonizing process of explaining the problem all over again. It has literally taken hours and hours of phone time going through this several times since December to try and get technicians on the scene again and to get a loss of service credit. Today on the phone, my last attempt to get things sorted out before we move, I had a customer service agent scolding me that I should have called earlier after the last technician visit in June to tell them that the line wasn't working. For the first time ever, I found myself yelling at a stranger on the phone. To protect your valuable time and mental health, please consider other options before signing a contract with Virgin - they look great on the outside but have a rotten core with a disrespectful and completely dysfunctional customer service culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Poor Service In East London, Avoid if Possible
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I joined Virgin Media thinking that I would be able to get outstanding Wifi speeds all around my house. When talking to a sales adviser when I initially bought their service, they said that it would be perfect for homes where many devices are connected and also for gaming. Fast forward a month into the contract I am unable to get sufficient speeds to browse the internet let alone game online.

I have tried contacting them but every time I had the same response- staying on the phone with them for over an hour to just get the same response again later on. Please be aware that speeds advertised are only for wired connections or when you are sitting directly on top of the router and because they advertise for the wired speeds (which I only receive 70% of) even if you are getting below 10% of their advertised speeds they can't and won't help. You are also unable to leave due to their outrageous cancellation fee of £125 plus 30 day payment.

It is unreal how rubbish I feel being detained in a company for another 10 months, where I cannot get a good wifi service and also where their advisers and technicians can't even help. If you live in the East London area please avoid if you want your moneys worth.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
No service for the second week
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Been with Virgin for less than two weeks, in that time I have had a network problem that rendered the phone out of order, then when the engineer came he said the wires had been connected wrong in the box. I was without a phone for three days. Tonight the phone doesn't work again and I am told that an engineer will call again in three days. I have had Virgin for 12 days and in that time for six of the days I have had no service. This is extremely poor and I wouldn't recommend Virgin to anyone, the grass isn't always greener I should have stayed with my previous supplier they may have been more expensive but I did have a service.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Wow, just wow
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Truly the worst customer service and wifi speeds in the world. I have been trying to give notice ending my contract for 3 hours now, the automated options funnily enough don't include anything about leaving them and I can not get through to an operator, our wifi has been dreadful all year, I think a potato would make a better router than the one they provide, Virgin Media are the only company I've ever interacted with that make me want to walk into their office and slap every single person with a wet fish, unfortunately I'd have to get a flight to India for this, which I can't afford to do because I've been paying for Virgin Media instead. Virgin Media, beyond dreadful.
Was this review helpful to you?
Joe100% agree with your comments. They are less than useless at sorting wifi issues out and need to replace their so called superhub 3 with a decent router that sends out a better wifi signal.
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Lost touch with reality and customers
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The company has clearly lost touch with its customers. They decided to replace a part in the system that caused a cascading fault in Area 26. Then they try to cover their tracks by claiming its a fault without admitting it was their fault. What a disgrace. Six hours later it finally gets sorted at 6.10pm well after the close of business day causing my company a loss of business of an entire day, all because of an installation not properly tested beforehand, as opposed to a lightening strike, or bad weather and not admitting it was their fault on the first call but on the third call lol. I had to speak to one of their technicians on the street to get the real story. The phone team is a joke. I am leaving and going to Sky right away (not that I trust any of them really). Your promises are ridiculous, you give no power to your managers who are really supervisors anyway, and your reaction, we will give you money for the lost time online. What a joke, we lost business full stop and you owe us this instead of £1.85. I am done with this company.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Last 16 days have been the service from hell from Virgin, customer service rock bottom would not recommend to anyone, they would not thank me, it has taken 16 days to get service fixed and told day after day NO problem, turns out 10 others were out on our patch.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Be ashamed of yourselves part two
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The title says everything.
Over priced and money grabbing.
Incorrectly sold packages that could never be achieved.
Sell!Sell!Sell! Seems to be their motto!
Does anyone get through to the right department without being passed on? More importantly, without being cut off?
We have been accused of being liars, as their system did not have a record of us calling three times on one day, although both our phones logged the call and duration.
No clear pricing policy and you will always end up paying more than you think every month.
Shocking customer service.
No replies to complaints letters we've sent...and best bit...
'Unless you hard wire ONE laptop, you will NEVER get the 'super' speeds they quote.
Its not designeed for WIFI!!
Isn't that called 'mis selling a product' and 'not fit for purpose'.
Richard Branson, you should take a leaf out of the newer, smaller companies coming on board the broadband bandwagon.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Cancelling service - Rude staff and overpriced services
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I called just to cancel my TV broadband package as I find alternative package more suited to my needs and price. I've have been a Virgin Media customer for over 20 yrs. Initially she was helpful and professional. However as I refused to have a package review and declined all potential better deals, it transpires that I was being charged for a second top box that I had cancelled in November 2017. On hearing this I requested to be looked into and she then become quite interragative when I informed her that I called back then to cancel it. "Who did you talk to, what date" etc. I could not recall the date but then why would I as you expect an eliminate of trust.on the cancel of the service you have requested. However her tone and attitude suggested that I was lying. I asked her why on earth I would I continue to pay for a second top box when it wasn't being used and was told to disgard it as it was the very old top box. However according to "their records" I had not made that call. I mirrored her tone and stated that this is one of the reasons why Im leaving ....rude service. Once I highlighted that I was mirroring her behaviour she calmed down.
The fact that they can trace when the second box was last used as it was the model with the smart card is neither here or there but the attitude and manners of some of these employees is not acceptable. I informed her I would be putting in a complaint of which she replied she would start the process. I told her not to bother as the phone call may have never happened, and she may not forward the complaint. The trust has gone. I was going to send a letter (recorded delivery) however putting the complaint on here is better.
This company needs to understand that whilst they take our money for a service we agree to pay for, we don't pay for being ripped off, rudeness and frankly a total disregard of their customers feedback.

P.S I do not have phone service hence a 0 score

Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Worst Customer Service ever
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Ongoing issue for over 4 months with probably 7-8 Engineer visits and 4-5 failed visits which they do not inform me about. Every morning before a visit, text messages are received and only once the time passes and I call customer services do I get informed it was cancelled. Apparently this is a construction issue which I am told multiple times and they cannot complete due to a blockage. Seriously after these many Engineer visits, I keep on being told about this construction issue which never seems to get resolved and always extend the date without guaranteeing anything. Customer care are happy to give a minimal compensation, without any regard to time wasted and days lost from work to wait for failed appointments. If everything is working then all OK, as soon as you run into problems this is the worst company to get it sorted.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
virgin scammers
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I had a date set up with them to connect on the 31st July 18. I was merely inquiring with them at first and was anst by the speedy way in which they gave me an account with them and like another review has said they claimed that my password was incorrect every time I tried to speak to them.
On setting up there account they told me that they would give me free activation so to wave there £ 20.00 fee. So the next day suspicious I rang them and asked if all the details they had given me were correct and asked about the free activation and they were snotty and told me they had no record of that, but what got me the most was that they kept telling me my password was incorrect and I know it wasn't. So I cancelled with them after two day's.
There is something dodgy about them.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
They robbed me of my money
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Don't go with virgin media there customer service is appalling, they owe me £125, and they can't find there notes, so they are robbing me of that money, there service is very poor, there internet is slow, there apps take for ever to work. And when they say you can ring mobiles for free, you can't because I have be charge £32 for all. The mobile calls, and the longest time on one call was 7 min, I am a disabled. with a tumor on my brain, and basically they said I would be dead before I get my money.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Very bad service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
OMG. I signed the contract with Virgin from January 2017 to January 2018. but July 2017 I moved to a new house. I called Virgin and said I wanted to cancel my contract but they said if I cancel the contract they will charged me over £200, even if I still paid the bill every month until I finished the contract. But after January 2018 they still sent me the bill.. I do not know why, They called me and I told them my contract finished on January 2018 why are you still billing me? They said because my contract was until July 2018. OMG, I did not sign any new contract why you told me I have to pay for the bill, they said because I did not call to cancel it so my contract still continues. Finally, today I paid the money to them, they said they will help me to cancel, they past the phone to 4 - 5 people when i spoke with each new one I have to explained to them again and again and finally they told me my contract will end next month if i cancel today they will charged over £21 . OMG, why your colleague said i just paid £72 then everything will be done. No more money i have to pay, they tried to past me to different people then try to take more money from me. It was my mistake cause i trusted you. now you still want to take money from me, ok let see how much you want to charge more.......so so so disappointed .
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Very Poor Services
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
What a dreadful company. It is our 6th time that we have been unable to access many of the normal channels because we are seemingly 'not authorised' to watch certain channels including BBC4!!
Their help line was unable to help. However they booked a technician to arrive between 8 and 12 today, Guess what....they didn't arrive and could not even be bothered to call me.
It is time to move onto a new, more responsive, media supplier.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Quality of broadband is declining.
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I have been a customer of Virgin for ten years. I was happy with this company up until a few months ago. The quality of broadband has declined massively over the past few months. I lose connections with my android device several times a day. My Toshiba windows based laptop worked fine until six months ago and will no longer connect to Virgin broadband.

The so called support staff at Virgin are obviously outsourced and have failed to identify my problems. They did blame my hardware and wanted £30.00 to recitify the problem.

I am considering contacting the regulator, as the service this company provides contravenes consumer protection law.

I cannot wait until October, when I can bin this company
Was this review helpful to you?
Ernest ClegthorpeJust a note of warning, I called the ombudsman about my BT service, intermittently down for over 12 months despite nine engineer visits to my home and many more working externally, no reduction in fees and £25 good will gesture. Called Ombudsman who invetigated and said BT had behaved very reasonably and recommended a £60 refund, this is on a service I had paid over £1200 for over the year of faults, they were so bad you couldn't hear who you had called on the phone and Internet was often below 5 mb/s on a 52mb/s service. Once you contact the Ombudsman your service provider will absolve themselves of any duties that the ombudsman doesn't tell them to provide, BT will not talk to me about compensation even though the fault is still ongoing (since June 2017). Be VERY careful about getting the regulator nvolved, read the reviews and believe what they say, it really is that bad!
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Go elsewhere...lies and herrendous customer service !!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
We have had no service for over one week now due to bad thunderstorms. I called them when the service went down but it was a recorded message telling me they were aware there was a problem and an engineer was on there way to fix it.....,.well all I can say is that he must have gone to Australia because over one week later and loads of frustrating phone calls to lots of different people and still nothing. We have an extremely poorly son who relies on the phone line as it works his care line that he keeps around his neck and alerts social services if he falls over. He has a life limiting illness, is partially sighted and has a serious brain condition. I’ve explained this to them time and time again but they keep saying an engineer cannot come out for several days and that this is an isolated incident, yet both neighbours either side of us are also down, so why lie to us? The first man on the phone spoke to my husband like dirt and tried to tell him we had never reported the incident? Do you really think that I would leave a seriously ill young man with leukodystrophy without his care line for over one week? No, I wouldn’t but you have and couldn’t careless about your customers and the impact it has had on us. I’m seriously considering group legal action as this has not only had an impact on a young mans personal safety but also on my husbands business as all calls are diverted. I’m seriously considering suing for puritive damages. You disgust me virgin media. Needless to say I’m swapping to a decent provider and one that care about their customers and is interested in keeping them happy!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
No issues from me
  · 2 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Surprised to see so many negative Virgin Media reviews. I have been using Virgin Media broadband for the last 3 yrs and have no issues. Seems pretty slick to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Appalling!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Virgin media is a horrendous service! Go else where save your money and time! Repeatedly put prices up when I complain they reduce them then bump them up... broadband the slowest on the planet! Customer service I would have preferred to deal with a monkey than an the actual staff they have employed only imbeciles they have! It’s extremly difficult to even understand the staff they do have due to language barriers which is very infuriating!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
The worst broadband provider
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible broadband but the average consumer has no choice but to goto virgin as it is the best out of all the other terrible broadband providers.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Love it
  · 2 months ago.
  • 3/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
The only problem I've ever had with Virgin was that they told me over the phone that my movies would be free forever. This was not the case and became £20 extra on my bill after 60 months, I was not told this. Had to place a complaint to speak to a manager, after leaving it with my DA after a month that complaint had gone no where. So I got back involved and advised if they do not get me a manager as they are never available in the next 24 hours I shall be escalating this to the Ombudsman. I got my Manager the next day who contacted me and they gave me back the £20 they took that I did not agree to nor was informed of its existence. And removed the movie package with no change to my contract length as this was their mistake not mine therefore I shouldn't be the one being punished.

Now that is the only issue I've ever had with Virgin. The connection is fast and reliable and the router is decent. The Tivo box is fast and reliable and responds fast to commands and is a breeze to use unlike other services I've used from other providers in the past. Virgin are a good choice, yes I had one bad run in with them but when I took control I was quick to resolve it. I've been with Virgin for about 4 maybe 5 years now I think? Wouldn't go with anyone else.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
TERRIBLE!!!!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The connection is absolute terrible, the more we pay each year the worse it gets.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Worst ever experience
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Worst ever experience with Virgin Media, our internets been down for 2 days now and still not sorted. Each time I call them they tell me deferent things
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Very Poor Customer Service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I joined virgin media 12 months ago. At the time they messed up the package I should have had but they told me not to worry, they would apply a credit to my account each month to cover the error. They then told me i would be able to get another good deal when my contract expires so the original error won't matter

12 months have passed and the new offer they are giving me is not as good as i could have had if they had set the account up correctly 12 months ago. Even though this is their error, they are prepared to do NOTHING to rectify this and even encouraged me to leave on the phone

Shocking to say the least. I work in customer service and cannot believe how they treat existing customers! A new customer could move top them now on the same package as I have and pay £49 per month. My "special offer" as a loyal customer is £60 per month! Loyal???

Why am I being penalised

Good Bye Virgin Media. Hopefully other customers will read this avoid joining you before they fall for the attractive introductory rates you offer
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Scammers!!!!!!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Customer service very poor - fed up with Virgin. Never again. Scammers!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
No internet/TV for a whole day - 5p in compensation
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
What can I say. Virgin Media are absolutely terrible and I am completely regretting switching to them. I've only had their service for about 2 months and I'm already counting down the days till I can cancel the contract.

On an almost daily basis I have to reset my Tivo as the channels become unauthorized. I've also had to restart my router several times for similar reasons. But what is much more ridiculous is I occasionally work from home and there was one day where the internet disappeared just after 9:00 am. It was the third time I'd had to call them about having no internet but this time they couldn't fix it remotely as a cable had been damaged so the service wasn't restored until the evening. They promised to provide me with a credit for the loss of service, so I expected at least a couple of quid given I pay £88 a month and there was no internet or TV. Apparently, the cost of service per day is only 5p according to the credit I received.

When the internet works, it is certainly fast but I know I'd be happy going back to slow and reliable any day of the week.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Absolutely rubbish
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was with Virgin for a few years and decided to go to Talk Talk since they were less than half the amount Virgin charged. I cancelled the direct debit and advised Virgin but they are still charging me several months later. When I called them they claimed to have never received anything from me regarding cancellation. They admitted they knew I had gone to Talk Talk yet still continued charging me for no services whatsoever. I even got charged for a late payment fee. I have now been billed for May-June despite cancelling months ago.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
The service is horrible
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Do not get Virgin Media!
(no Internet for 3 weeks because of poor service)
Was this review helpful to you?
Review your broadband provider

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
→ By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 23 Aug £18.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited £17.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
0 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 21 Aug £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.