Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Tell us what it's like to be a Virgin Media broadband and home phone customer. We welcome all reviews, providing they are politely and constructively written.

Compare broadband deals

Review Virgin Media Broadband
1.1/5 from 72 users. ( 70 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.6/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.1/5)
  • Price (0.7/5)
  • Phone package options (0.7/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
waste of time and money..
  · 2 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Shocking in every way
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Re: Virgin service provision
  · 24 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely fed up with Virgin. Having moved to my new home about a year ago, was promised an engineer within seven days, never happened. Have now completed my introductory rate and now Virgin intend charging me £90.00 per month for full package. Sky offer a similar package for around £50.00 per month, Sky here I come!



Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin Media charge for a service that does not work
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I the consumer actually lost count to the times I had called Virgin Media regarding a fault that was never fixed even though I was paying for this service. Unfortunately when I called Virgin on countless occasions I was
met with rude and most of the time obnoxious customer service advisers based in India I was told.There command of the English language was appalling and constantly repetitive,fault would be fixed was the norm from them, phoned
getting slammed down when the conversation got to complicated getting told there tech team are looking into fault, there Is a problem in my area and Virgin were working on it. This lasted for over 5 months
I eventually cancelled home broadband and did an indemnity claim. The agreement between me the consumer and virgin the provider was meaningless,pay for a service even though not working,bleed the consumer dry and 10s of thousands like me for there own gain,then breach there data protection by adding false and inaccurate information on there credit file at a touch of a button which they have done when I the consumer had done nothing wrong.
In mediation they offer to clear debt but leave default on credit file for a period of 5 years?
A consumer challenges Virgin and this is the outcome.
Dana Strong and Tom Mockridge do not speak or deal with
Consumers who pays there wages?
If anyone out there has had similar issues please private message. Will be uploading videos very soon
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
POOR SERVICE
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
This is a crap company with poor service. I don’t recommend anyone. From October
(around 3 month) 6 times I hade disconnect internet and around 20days I had no internet. Which is affecting my business. Virgin customer service is very rude and bad. When I call Virgin they always keep me waiting on the phone around 50 minutes. Virgin need to grow and need to learn how to respect customers. My account reference number with them: 303587301
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid at all costs
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options

Customer service is very poor where you get different answers for the same problem, dependant on which adviser answers your call.
When you call back to confirm the package that you were advised about, they deny any knowledge of the offer and deny the person you spoke to even exists. If you are pleased with the advisors advice,and you tell them so,you will receive a customer survey email asking what you thought of the service given. Obviously when you tell them you're not pleased, (in my case the majority of the time), then you won't receive an email from them. Customer loyalty means absolutely nothing to them, I've been with them since they were telewest. When we told them we were going to leave them, rather than trying to make us stay, in an instant they told us the date they would remove our service. Overall they are the worst company I have ever dealt with and would advise anyone against signing up with them.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Scammers
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Agreed to pay £38.26 monthly, but virginmedia charges me £76. Asked several times for a written contract but I was denied, they said its no need it. Scammers
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terŕible terrible terrible
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
STAY AWAY!!!

I've been with virgin for almost 2 yrs now..its terrible it's my 3rd day without internet. When calling the customer service they keep you on hold for hours and than when you connect they keep transferring you to other departments which will make you stay on hold for another hour.finally when you tell them you want to leave virgin media as the service is to bad.they say you can't as your contract is not over and you have to pay a fee of £128 to exit.
The company clearly has done a study and know all the tricks to reap off innocent people and once you get into contract they trap you they did also tell me we have booked a engineer to visit your place and than in couple of hours you get a automated text message saying the visit was cancelled saying we done some test and the internet is working now and if you are still facing problem please text HELP and when you go to check theirs still no internet.
Then you'll call them again they'll repeat the same thing again and re book an engineer. So the engg who was suppose to come in 2 days is been delayed to 5days as they cancelled and rebooked him assuming your internet is working. off course they try to save money on labour and would only send a engineer. If your like 15days without internet. terrible terrible terrible. they should be sued.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Polite buffoons
  · 1 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I look at my time with Virgin Media as some of the most frustrating and irritating of my life but I have to say they were so incompetent at trying to install a service that it was hysterical looking back on it, fabulous entertainment. if you want to give them a punt do so having not cancelled your existing service believe me you will need it and with a good sense of humour you should be able to look forward to endless fun. don't do it if you get a bit frustrated on the telephone to customer service departments but if time isn't precious they are hugely entertaining. The only good quality I found with Virgin Media was that they were unfailingly polite courteous and useless on the telephone.
Was this review helpful to you?
DiegoI totally agree...im a virgin customer for 3yrs now..the company should be sued soon.
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
DO NOT GO WITH VIRGIN !!!!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
!!! DO NOT GO WITH VIRGIN NEVER. I have been waiting 40 days for few different teams of engineers to come and do the wiring and set up my broadband. The first that came didn't want to do any job they took pictures and left. Then the company told me they will send me the best one. And again i took a day off and waited the whole day. He came 7:20 pm told me its very big job and he dont want to stay until late so he took pictures and he left. The customer support team also is transfering me between different operators so i didnt get any support at all. They don't want to terminate my contract. ** i have the conversation between me and the Engineer (who also told me the company is crap) so my lawyer will deal with them from now on if they don't want to terminate my contract. Let me summarise it

STRONGLY RECOMMEND TO AVOID VIRGIN AT ALL COSTS !!!!!!!!
save the hassle and just go with a different broadband provider
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Stealing money after cancelation
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Continued to charge me after cancellation for my landline. There excuse is that they we waiting for my new provider to contact them to transfer my number across. Avoid as they will not refund this money even though I have not used there services for months.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Shocking!!!
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Shocking customer service. I've been told nothing but lies from every member of staff I have spoke to from the start.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Over priced and undervalues customer loyalty
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Over priced and undervalues customer loyalty, prices continue to increase every year and they claim it is due to wanting to provide better service but that seems to be a investment to be better than their competitors at the cost of the customer who don't want to change their broadband package. They seem to appreciate new customer more over existing ones and even being with them for 8-10 years i pay more than new customers and they cant seem to offer better deals unless u pay more when you can't afford it.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish Customer care for the elderly
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
To use Virgin Media is a nightmare, I lost my Husband 6 weeks ago and the account was joint but in his name, I went to the Bank to check that all our Bills from his account were either cancelled or put in the joint and paid, This weekend I put the TV on to see that my account was not paid and they were stopping our services, I panicked and phoned and paid the outstanding bill then realised this needed to be put in my name, The basic customer staff are very unhelpful and have no leeway and cannot think outside the box, I finally was put through to a bereavement team who were lovely but I explained that my home income had cut by nearly half and I would need to look at my costs now, (I was told by one team my Bill was going up by £5 to nearly £83 and the after saying I would have to cut my costs gave me a massive discount to £7 The member of this team was very nice but their was not much leeway on costs, I changed everything over to my name set up a password and then the TV and phone came back to normal but the wifi was still off, I spent hours trying to sort all this out and I don't understand technology my Husband always dealt with it after hours they said they would sort it overnight and send an e-mail That's alright if you have wifi back. Next morning no WIFI I had to get my daughter over 20 miles she had to drive to get here, She spent about 4 to 5 hours and in the end they realised the router must have blown when they turned it off, The router came Two days later at 5.25pm and I don't know how to do it even with instructions because I am dyslexic and get worried doing anything like that so I had to get my Son over another one of my family having to travel 20 miles, After all this I got on line and started looking at comparison sites and I can get a package with Sky for £53 and the Martin Lewis showed how people got a better deal when saying they were leaving, today I tried to leave I phoned and they asked me to Key in certain parts of my pass word I thought I had done it but I must have pressed the wrong key My fault, I spoke to a customer service person who asked me what KB we have I explained I don't know my Husband has died and he dealt with it all. She asked what area am I in I said I don't know my Husband dealt with it she told me its on the Bill and I explained it's on his e-mail and he deleted all e-mails, SO I failed security, I was in tears by now and said I just want to cancel my account, ( can you see why and she said she would have to send me a letter with my password, I told her I have it and my billing number so can I just cancel she told me I cannot do anything until I get this letter, I told her I need to cancel because I need to give them notice ASAP she said she could do nothing but when I call back I can bypass the password on the phone and give the password to the customer service person. Am I going mad or in that case If I had the whole password and Billing number e-mail address why could she not help me, Its like talking to robots, Virgin has caused me so much stress at a time when I am really fragile all I worry is people like me who have no family how would they manage.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst company I've ever dealt with
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Moved flat to the flat below. I was told I had to cancel my current contract and then open a new contract for the flat below. When attempting to do this I was told that I couldn't have virgin in this area as it was over capacity. I spent ages on the phone, it took loads of time simply to go though all the prompts to simply get somebody to talk to. When I finally got through I ended up going through various levels of management to try and resolve this and was finally told that somebody would try and resolve the issue and phone me back. GUESS WHAT HAPPENED NEXT, no phone call recieved. Tried again with no joy and then to cap it all off they have sent me a bill for cancelling my contract. I have come to the opinion that Virgin Media are just a joke how can they call themselves a communications company is beyond me. Would not recommend them to anybody.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
DON’T USE VIRGIN MEDIA
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was given an installation date for 10 days time. Then I receive an email saying the installation has been cancelled as they have not been able to contact me. Yet I’ve had no emails or phone calls!
When I ring them they then say it’s been cancelled because of damaged cables, 3 days before the final installation. Yet the only cables coming to my house are the ones they have just installed!
Now it’s a 5 day wait until I can be given a new installation date. Last time there was a minimum 10 day wait for installation dates. At best it will be a month of no internet for my business....
When I ask for everything to be cancelled so I can go else where I’m told I will have to pay a disconnection fee!
Richard Branson preaches about customer service yet Virgin Media give miss information and miss lead you. Then want to charge you when you complain and want to leave......
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
You couldn't make it up!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My Virgin Media installation was all booked about a month-and-a-half in advance. I received a text on the day confirming that the installer would arrive between 1 and 6 pm. Waited. And waited. And waited. Still no sign. At 6.15 pm, I rang the customer helpline. After being passed through 2 different departments, one of the operators said she'd call the installation team directly. She couldn't get through to the installer himself but she spoke to his manager. He confirmed that the installer was just finishing the previous job and would arrive at my property in 5-10 minutes time. I waited. And waited. And waited. At 7.45 pm, there was still no sign. I rang customer services again. This time I was passed through 4 different departments. Finally, I reached someone who could help me. They said: "Oh, your installation has been recorded as a missed appointment now; the installer probably ran out of time and has clocked off for the night. He should have told you, sorry. We'll have to re-book you now." Hmmm. These things happen I guess. If I was the previous customer, I wouldn't want the installer to rush through a sub-standard installation just so he could get to a next job, but a phone call would have been nice. "OK", I said, "what time have you pencilled me in for tomorrow instead?" "Oh no, you'll only be able to get the next available appointment now" they said, "and that's in two weeks' time." Completely unacceptable Virgin Media - get a grip you absolute bunch of clowns.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Thanks to an engineer
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I need a feedback form for the excellent engineer who installed my TV box Wednesday 25th October he deserves a good report.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Just terrible...
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Just terrible after two years they put up the bill, were incredibly rude, came back with a great deal (more expensive than SKY) and then made me stay for another month at DOUBLE the cost. The worst customer service I have ever experienced.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Useless. never works
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Wi-Fi didn't work 3/4 times 
The modem's range doesn't reach past a wall 
You get no audio on your TV after 5 minutes of watching 
Customer service is useless
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
So bad!
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
So bad! Always disconnects and issues, just decides to stop working. I have stayed in several different locations using Virgin and same issues all the time! Disconnects, randomly stops working, they preform works and don't inform their customers that this is happening, so you are stuck without WIFI for hours without knowing why. I work from home and have had so many issues with Virgin over the years. I would not recommend this service at all!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin is the worst company I have ever dealt with and can’t believe they are allowed to get away with it
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
If I had the option to choose zero stars I would. The worst utility company I have ever dealt with from service to support.
Having been with sky for years, a professional service, I can’t believe how poor Virgin are, in the UK and they are getting away with it. Shame on you Branson. How dare you. My wife regretfully chose to change tempted by ads and some sales person in front of Sainsbury’s, tempted by a promise of faster service and cheaper prices, what a mistake!!!??? We have suffered since April 2017. There is no where to start. THERE nothing good to say. They are very, very bad. From service internet/tv/broadband, I am sincere in saying nothing works correctly, Indian customer service lies and poor, this is by far, and a sincerely mean it, by far the most poorly run company I have dealt with in UK. If you are tempted, do not take their offer. They are a huge con. I don’t know where to start. No phone line from day one, 7 months later not resolved, pixixalted picture. Poor engineer visits who have fixed nothing . DO NOT BE tempted to go to Virgin. And actually they are not cheaper. They are fare higher when you add hidden cost. Even talk talk , freeview are superior to them. Don’t use Virgin. 7 months of nothing working and nothing working. There is no excuse. I’m in the center of London. Unbelievable how they get away with it. I can’t get out of contract, stuck with this rubbish con for a few months more
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin Media- absolute rubbish
  · 2 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Terrible customer service always paid more than i expected got hammered with high charges when i left, rubbish service all the way along, never again.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Rubbish
  · 2 months ago.
  • 2/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Only installed for 2 days and 8 phone calls later broadband still not going above 10mb (should be up to 200) at the time of writing this can only use the internet by tethering to my mobile 4G connection as speed off hub3 router is 0.5mb. Wish I'd have stayed with sky. Would recommend zero if possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin Customer Service
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
Oh my God, it just took me about 30mins to get an answer from Virgin Mobile customer service on a very simple question. What happens when my PAC number expires? The communication is ridiculous. They each say a different thing,,, we have your signed contract....we don't have your signed contract....passing me from department to department. I have moved from Three to go with Virgin because their customer service was bad but this is ten times worse. The products and packages are good but the service is shocking and it's all to do with communication. The people are lovely but they don't know whether they're coming or going and it makes it sooooo frustrating and being told different things. Richard Branson would be ashamed if he knew how bad it was!
I agree with other comments that it wastes a lot of time on the phone sorting the simplest of this out.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
super hub 3 problems
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
If virgin offer a update to super hub 3 don't take it. It is rubbish we have to reset it every few days. a service engineer even told my husband we needed to reinstall windows 7/10. One guy on twitter as had his fourth box in 12 months. virgin get your act together or i will be leaving to go to Sky after 15 years, YOU ARE NOT LOOKING AFTER YOUR CUSTOMERS I WANT AN ALTERNATIVE TO THIS CRAPPY SUPER HUB 3
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Please please do not go with Virgin, they do not care after sale
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Please please don't use Virgin, unless you want to spend all your spare time trying to fix things (and spend time at work tryign to sort things out). . Really I am awarding no stars,I am a customer of 8 years, something that they don't bother recording as they don't care about aftersales or service, otherwise they would value a customer that had endured their service (or lack of) for so long.
.... and recent installation of Phone, Internet and TV took over 8 weeks with continual problems, no internet, no phone. Trying to get through to report issue (on my faulty Virgin iphone) is just as hard, put through to the Philippines each time who eventually concede and email UK who then phone you when you are at work. It took 3 days to get through to report the phone not working, the automated system leaves one stuck in a loop, the patronising female voice they use doesn't help. The Phillipines will tell you the engineer is coming and "he" will fix it, when pointing out it could be a woman, Philiipine guy said - it will be a man - when pointing out that the UK have the Equality Act 2010 and assumptions like that should not be made, it goes completely over their heads and cant understand what needs to be changed. Trying to get a call back after making the complaint is impossible. I am still waiting to hear form my complaint of 8 weeks ago.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Disgusting.... incompetent... lier' s
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Virgin media lie to customers....no complaints department...can not follow up complaints...can not get my money refunded for call they say I've made when I don't have a phone line...i have spent over 13 hours on phone trying to sort out...spoken to team managers who have said one thing and lied...no way of ever contacting them again...they don't even know there own terms and conditions....i am so mad I don't know what to do or who to turn to..
Was this review helpful to you?
M ThirkellHi,
Make contact with 'OFCOM'
Cancel Direct Debit before they 'steal' more money from you.
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Virgin has no complaints system anymore
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
Virgin have definitely gone down hill in the last decade. None of their engineers know how to fix anything or deal with jobs that are outside of your property in the street anymore it seems they don't want your business these days they lack any skills.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid like plague
  · 3 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
I would give zero rating if I could. Worst company to deal with and their tv is appalling and broadband is comically poor. Relieved to get out of contact after paying unfair amount while old contract expires but they claim I have entered another 12 months contract. They are evil the way they deal with their customer.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Avoid the liars and thieves at virgin media at all costs...
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolutely disgusting company to deal with. Took up the offer and was given installation date of 30th September. Engineer arrived and said only been instructed to install tv and broadband not phone as oversubscribed in area. Virgin obviously didn't care to inform me of this prior to sending engineer out for the install. Rang them as the engineer left and was passed from department to department till finally spoke to preinstall dept. Told me there was no problems with being oversubscribed and would arrange for an engineer to come back out on the 4th of October to install phone. In the meantime the tv and broadband kept disconnecting and reconnecting from the service. Today the engineer came out only to repeat what the first engineer said on the 30th... instead of connecting phone, reconnected broadband and tv and commented on how badly virgin wee managing the install. 2 agreed installs later rang again to be passed from pillar to post only to be told they were going to charge £55 P/M due to not being able to install phone and this was the cost of the tv and broadband package I had been put on without the phone. Swiftly told them to stick it as was their fault didn't inform me sooner and due to sending engineers out twice to hook up phone only to fail to deliver. Told me if wasn't happy to cancel. Told him i wanted to put formal complaint to which i was told i couldnt if i was going to cancel...so it was a choice between cough up more money for a reduced service or suck it up and complain which they would probably do naff all about. Went through to cancellations who then told me it would take them 30 days to refund me. Absolute farce of a company...over 4 hours wasted on the phone and to top it off lost our number we were porting over from sky. No apology...not one advisor accepted responsibility just kept passing the buck and if I dared to speak against them cut me off or transferred to another random department. Brought back memories of why I left in the first place years ago. Hope this company dies a horrible death will never be taking out any of their services again...
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Rip off
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Nightmare to contact. Broadband speed goes up and down like a fiddlers elbow. The price was just cheaper than sky which is why I switched but that went up as soon as my contract ended with no warning and the phone package is a joke. I was getting 20 plus phone calls a day, I complained and got a new number but that was worse and ended up unplugging the phone. I was forced to take the land line which makes me think it was not fiber and was ADSLwhich would explain the slow broad band speeds. It’s a rip off with the phone line and you don’t need it because the phone line is not needed with fiber because it’s fibre not a copper phone line.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Awful awful awful
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This is possibly the worst ISP I've ever dealt with. I recently signed up for virgin media business as I operate with a few small companies a variety of servers. They are awful the contractor came in and shoved the box on the end didn't test it and signed it off as complete. He left a mess behind and behaved totally unprofessionally. Tried to resolve this with customer service and so far no luck been waiting for days have had around 100 hours down time even though they're contracted for 24 hours down time. Their foreign call centres are impossible to deal with. While the companies professionalism is unequalled in its poor quality. I've also been informed there is likely to be problems with my static IPs due to more faults at their end. I work in a technology role in my main full time job and while I work at a company and have any say what so ever I will never, ever use virgin media services again.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 readers found the following review helpful
Have moved to Sky Fibre and can honestly say the quality is massively better.
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Had Virgin for 15 years in total, (Telewest; NTL:Telewest; Virginmedia) and stayed loyal as an ex-staff member after redundancy. I even stayed when the regular £4 yearly price hikes came about. Broadband was the only good thing, however this was intermittent.

Customer services are a joke, and the retention team on this occasion were appalling. asked why I could not have a deal I had seen online: Because that deal is for new customers only. Stated, so you are willing to lose my custom after 15 years for the sake of £10 per month, reply was, well, that's your choice, but you can’t have that deal. I know it wasn't all about money when I worked there, and I always offered the best deal to match and beat the competition, but it seems that Virgin don't care anymore if customers stay or not. I can see them not being around by 2020.

Have moved to Sky as Fibre now available in our area, and can honestly say the quality is massively better.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
DO NOT USE!!!!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
A total joke, border on criminal. Bare face lie about broadband speed. I was informed I would get over 150mb when infact I received LESS THAN 12mb that's enough to stream around 30secs before buffing !! For more info look up watchdog virgin lie about broadband speeds !!
Billing was always wrong always over charged and customer service was the worse I have ever had before this point. Trust me I used sky for 16yrs before moving house and giving these muppets a go as cable was an option ! NEVER AGAIN back with sky Entertainment package? There is naff all entertaining about virgin media.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst customer service in my life.
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Worst customer service in my life. I have never met such an respectful attitude to customers.
Waiting for my Internet to be provided beginning of September and always some excuses and when they don't come they even think that they need to let the customer know that they're not going to come today, again my Internet should be installed and today again some excuse...Took two days off work and they didn't even come and didn't let me know that they're not going to do it....
I always have to contact them myself after I spent all day waiting for them to come. This attitude is just unacceptable....
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Problem Solved!
  · 3 months ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 4/5
    Price
  • 5/5
    Phone package options
I was having problems with my broadband speed. I was only receiving about 5mb download speed. I went to Virgin Media customer support and decided to discuss the issue with an agent via online messaging. The agent was polite and helpful and remotely reconfigured the settings of the modem. Within 5 minutes my download speed improved *7 TIMES*. Thank you, Virgin Media customer service!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Dreadful
  · 3 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
This company are shocking, sad to see a man who was an inspiring entrepreneur become such a corporate selfish greedy individual, totally detached from reality or any care for service. Richard Branson What have you become...
Was this review helpful to you?
MartinHi,
Virgin are criminals - however RB no longer owns Virgin.
It's now owned by an american company - Liberty Global.
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Crap !!
  · 4 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
The connection it self sometimes is good mostly rubbish, I supposed to get 100MB but to be honest I think I never had more than 70MB. The worst thing is the customer service, bunch of liars, money suckers unpleasant stupid people.
From the beginning I got lied at the store with my package, then when I tried to sort it out through phone, and later they kept on raising my premium through the year... would never recommend to anybody !
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Poor Customer Service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Just switch from Sky to Virgin, biggest mistake of my life. Poor customer service. When I phoned to check on why my bill was never the agreed amount. I was told there was an error and someone should have been in touch but they can't refund even though the error was their fault. I told the customer service agent that I would go on every review website and leave a bad review because of my experience. Chloe said that I was welcome to. How rude!! Absolutely no regard for their customers. I will not be using anything with the Virgin name.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Worst company I have experienced for customer service
  · 4 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
On hold for the 3rd time. At installation the engineer who was late advised that I the cable was not working for a phone line. I asked how this would be resolved - he advised it could be weeks. I have had to repeat security checks 3 times on a call to sort out my problem. The advisers just dropped my call/transferred x 2 when I told them about my issue.

I am appalled that a company can have such poor management and systems and leave people without important services. I have just found out by chance they intend to visit on a date that I have not been informed of and then tried to offer me other dates - I insisted in a date that is convenient to me. No call adviser is able to make a decision or confirm outcomes in writing. Their approach is not proactive when they mess up then you have to chase a solution.

So disappointed I switched from my previous provider and now tied into a deal for 12 Months.
Was this review helpful to you?
BethHi Louise, sounds like a pain. Who was your previous broadband provider and were they any good? Looking for a recommendation, Sky seem to be the best bet so far....

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*