Customer Reviews POST A REVIEW
1.1/5 from 27 users. ( 29 reviews.)
Our independent average customer rating
  • Customer service (0.7/5)
  • Broadband speed (1.1/5)
  • Price (0.5/5)
  • Phone package options (0.7/5)
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Disgrace
  · 11 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Virgin is a disgrace. I joined in Aug 2016 as I used to be with them when they were NTL. Great then, had their issues but nothing major, so thought why not. Virgin had a great deal where you can get broadband without having to install a phone line. Don't use landline anyway so thought, great, hassle free. The contract end date is on the bills - no reminders - no offers or suggestions of new tariff. Then POOF! - As if by magic the bill is doubled. Called virgin to get an alternative package - it's now going to be £33 from £22, if refuse, I have pay £41 p/m on out of contract rate. The lady couldn't care less if I stayed or left, just said that was my option and to call back to let her know what I want to do. Of course I am now hunting for a new deal that also includes installing a new line. BT is out of the question also....>£200 before I even get started. Will not be using of recommending Virgin ever again.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Horrible
  · 21 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I would give less than 1 star if I could. Virgin has had an internet blackout for almost 3 weeks now, every day I call them to check on the problem and every time they give me a new excuse. Not only have I been without internet, I have had to pay another company to have the internet I already pay for through virgin, they refuse to reimburse me and they refuse to let me out of an agreement they are obviously not honoring. STAY AWAY from this company and use a broadband company that uses the open reach infrastructure as those companies are actually held liable for honoring their agreements, something nobody holds virgin accountable to.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Audacity
  · 28 days ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
For the love of God and your sanity, don't get this sh*t. Speeds are very intermittent and drop to less than 0.7% of what we're paying for (which is 100Mbps) several times a month without fail.

Whenever you call customer service, you get forwarded to some random people in India that can never do anything other than go through the motions and then say something along the lines of, "I've just applied some fixes, you should start to see improvements in the next 24 hours.

To be fair, I'm yet to encounter someone rude, but there is no improvement and they always a reply that basically tells you to wait for them to stop cutting your fu*king internet speed off. Whenever they don't do that, they give different fix dates for the internet issues that always fu*king go up.

Such a useless service, the 100Mbps speed is somehow slower than the 60Mbps package my friends are paying for with other providers in terms of loading websites and latency. I must have done something bad in a past life and dealing with these obnoxious people must be my punishment. I wouldn't wish it upon my worst enemy.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Scammers
  · 28 days ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
So I have just left Virgin having been a loyal customer since they started offering cable and internet. I have recently moved house to a non-cabled area and so I called up well in advance to say I would be moving, but was told to call back nearer the time when I had an exact moving date. I did as I was asked and was told my services would be disconnected on the day I moved out. I then received a bill for £47 at my new address for a time period which I was not living at my old address for! When I spoke to Virgin it was because they needed 30 days notice to disconnect my services (despite me giving them over that originally, and being told to call back when I had an exact date). I tried to explain this but was referred by a very rude agent (and then an extremely rude manager) to the terms and conditions. I explained that essentially I had been tricked into delaying giving notice, but they did not care. What a dreadful way to treat a customer of over 15 years - disgusting! No wonder Mr Branson can afford his own island the way I've been completely ripped off! I will NEVER use Virgin again!
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Worst decision of my life going to Virgin, I pay a ridiculous amount of money each month for a 200mb gaming line that laggs and drops out near enough every 5 mins, they've hand engineers out twice and they seem to fix it for Couple days then back to square 1. On contacting customer services you get staff that barely understand the issues that your explaining and only advice they can give is 'have you turned it on and off' every single time that's the advice I get! Company definitely needs things changed, staff wise and services wise.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Absolutely horrible service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
After being with Sky for 3 years (brilliant broadband service) I have now moved home and decided to go with Virgin (the only option). I am absolutely regretting it. I ordered it online, some how got cancelled (I had order confirmation), I was over the phone for literally for hours with 5 different people, who could not resolve the issue. After speaking to my wife I had place another order via its website, delivery date got pushed out and they did a hard credit check on me which messed up my score, also their attitude over the phone is "what do you want me to do". Absolutely horrible service and I have not even begun receiving the actual service. I would never have gone with them If I had another option.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Never again
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Never in a million years will i be coming back to this company. The only virgin here is richard branson . A virgin at running a media providing company. Biggest joke ever. Coming up to 2 months now still no installation. My childrens education has sufferred and have no landline so my alarm system isn't connected leaving me and my family insecure. They don't even take your complaint seriously. If only i could report this. Bang outta order.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Useless Customer service
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 2/5
    Phone package options
Virgin has a good product. However, Virgin is the only company that can send you the wrong contract, get problems during activation, forget to send you the TV box as well as having to call 3 times to customer service and not get a simple problem not solved (i.e. send a TV box!!!!). Each time I call customer service I spoke with more than three people, having to provide each of them the password and to explain over and over again that I haven't received the TV box!!! .
guess what? A week later, I have not receive the TV box and the customer service still keep asking me what is the problem.
Sorry, but I cannot cope with this useless customer service.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Thinking of cancelling and asking SKY to take me back.
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 3/5
    Broadband speed
  • 3/5
    Price
  • 3/5
    Phone package options
Nightmare first day experience! Pre installation team hooked up fibre cables without consent while I was not in (How is that even right? suppose you cancel/change your mind?) before installation date and wired the WRONG side of the house - tv wires clearly visible on other side of house if they had cared to do a proper examination of the property - rookie error!

On day of installation, was told cabling would have to be pinned around the house - said no as it would make the front of the property look ugly and that I would rather the cabling be repositioned before the install. Engineer called Manager and was told that cabling guys would come and sort it out that morning and I should go ahead with install (now 8:30am). Waited all day - didn't come and now I have an electrical trip hazard outside the house until MONDAY. Waited in all day, lost earnings, stressed and upset. Calling different depts. all day. Apart from Lorna at the end, customer service beyond justification.

Totally regret leaving and miss SKY mistake to leave - wish I would have just paid the extra fiver a month and saved myself the stress of giving Virgin a chance. c

To Customer Relations Manager, Sean. D. (Sheffield): I hope not making that extra call to the install team was worth the negative reviews, poor ratings I've left on various review sites and your social media, the £45 credit I got and my likely cancellation and return to SKY. FYI: This is exactly the reason your customer service rating is SO poor. Get real Virgin.
Was this review helpful to you?
bobDear Virgin lover we feel you will grow to love virgin however if you have problems you have 2 solutions 1. put up with it 2. phone our customer service team who will ignore any negative complaints as we only except positive ones, if you are not happy with these 2 solutions and you disconnect your service we will send an engineer out to you at once who will re-connect you and there will be a £200 call out, Thankyou for your patience
2 of 2 readers found the following review helpful
Terrible Company; Terrible Attitude; refuse to reach agreement
  · 1 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Terrible company with a terrible service. The broadband was not as fast or as reliable as BT. Their TV service was appalling; their Tivo box was painfully slow to use, especially catch up and on demand services. They took many minutes to load.

Due to a house move I cancelled my service believing that my original contract was for a period of 12 months. It was actually for 18 months, however, simply because I had upgraded and added a new TV service I had unknowingly entered into a new 12 month contract and still had 5 months left to go. Having accepted that I was in a contract, I asked to pay for the £206 cancellation charges over the rest of the term of my original contract. This was refused and they have stated that unless it is paid in full, I will be sent debt collection letters and will have my credit rating affected. They simply refuse to come to any arrangement with me regarding the payment demanding the lump sum in full. I have spoken to them 5 times and also sent a letter of complaint (at the time of writing this review that was 12 days ago and still not had the acknowledgement despite their own complaints procedure stating they would acknowledge within 48 hours).

I always thought Virgin, and Richard Branson were a great company and businessman respectively. This is clearly not the case. They are immovable and unhelpful. I was even told "as you are no longer a customer we will not help you".

I am truly angered and frustrated by the lack of assistance or inability to reach agreement.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Avoiding Virgin Media
  · 2 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 2/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Your life will be improved by avoiding Virgin Media at all costs.
From sim cards sent to the wrong address, to incorrect bills, and price deals that they change within months - they can't do anything properly. They've moved the customer service team abroad. I wouldn't have a problem with that, but they've not been trained properly and make ridiculous mistakes. You'll only speak to someone based in the UK if you try to disconnect. Although don't expect that to go smoothly either - because they've even managed to mess that up too! I quit in February - they're trying to charge me a disconnection fee they promised that they wouldn't.

Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
But... room for improvement with the WiFi
  · 3 months ago.
  • 4/5
    Customer service
  • 5/5
    Broadband speed
  • 2/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
The broadband speed is good, no issues with the phone line. but it's a shame my Virgin WiFi is not simultaneous duel band. It will only work with one setting 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz if I switch to 5Ghz my WiFi is faster but my older devices will not work on 5Ghz. I have been with virgin for years and wondered if the new virgin router would transmit both connections at the same time. Does anyone know the model of the current router? and it worth with both networks simultaneously?
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Ron Johnson
  · 5 months ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute Rubbish!!! No customer service. They look to sign you up at all cost and then it only gets worse. They took my telephone line even though they do not have the capacity at the Exchange to accommodate it. Now I don't have any phone and they are not interested. They have told me that all their manager are in training and they don't have a complaint department. It just goes on... This is just a badly run company with a short term focus.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulKeith
  · 7 months ago.
Suzanne Just let you know it's called Vonage not Voyage. Keith
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 readers found the following review helpful
Keith
  · 7 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
To Suzanne there is a phone called voyage a great service there is no line rental it cost £8 per month all calls included it plugs into your router. Keith
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Suzanne
  · 10 months ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Don't bother with Virgin phoneline. Mine has been up and down like a whore's drawers and despite having automated testing tools I have to tell THEM that it's not working. For months it will receive calls and take voicemails and I miss out on important notifications such as appointments etc. I'm moving to a VOIP service even though I might only save £5 when I remove phone from my bundle
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 readers found the following review helpfulRobert Cramb
  · 1 years ago.
I was paying a yearly rental on my phone why has it not been taken this year
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Sachin
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
The worst company in the world. I have to move out of the property because of the damp issues. I was happy to take Virgin service with me to my new property. But they don't have the service in my new area. So i have to pay the termination fees. On the top it they need the box as well. Otherwise they will charge you for that. Because i have moved out and i don't get access to my old property again i will have to pay for this. Be careful with the hidden extras. They will not mention anything while you take their service. While you leave they will tell you to check terms and conditions. I had only 2 months left in my contract and I never made any default in my payments. Being a loyal customer I would expect them to keep me happy in some way since I was happy to take their service to my new house. If possible avoid virgin and go with sky or any other companies. Virgin don't have service everywhere. Its better to go with someone like sky so that you don't have this problem. Sky don't take their dish or box once you finish your contract with them. They also look after their customers and always try to help them by adjusting any sort of additional payments. I am very unhappy and disgusted with Virgin service and their customer service. They just want your money. They are so sweet and nice when you approach them to take their service. But when you leave they don't care and they show their real face.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 readers found the following review helpful
Mandip
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
My opinion is that virgin media should just shut down as a business. Their broadband is absolutely atrocious. Completely unreliable. If its not loading at super super slow speed it just not loading at all. When on skype video-call it goes literally frame-by-frame. When just normal voice-call. I WOULD HAVE BETTER LUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF A COMBAT ZONE! CANNOT UNDERSTAND A THING! I work from home I am a stock trader who makes thousands of pounds through the access via the internet. Imagine how much money I'm losing every time my service is cut of. Customer service are just complete imbeciles. Explaining to me that the reason why it's very slow is because virgin are updating the broadband speed in my area from 50Mbps to 100Mbps completely free of charge. Well its been approximately nearly 4 months and when I check online for my speed its still the old 50Mbps. Also bribing me with a free month bill to withdraw my complaint. So in fact they lied in order to get out of trouble by providing FALSE INFORMATION. They are breaching the condition of my contract by not providing the service. And I guarantee everyone if an individual were not to pay their bills Virgin would have been threatening them with Debt Collection Agencies. Yet they take the liberty to treat their customers as if they don't care. THIS IS FRAUD!!! And I plan on taking them to tribunal if that is what is takes to get their attention. And believe me I intend to go this far then leave them and get a new provider so they don't manipulate people like this. If your thinking of signing up to virgin media! DON'T BOTHER! If you are currently within your contract period! GET OUT WHEN YOU CAN! If you are out of contract but still with Virgin. CHANGE PROVIDER WHEN YOU CAN BEFORE THEY START BLABBING A BUNCH OF BOLONEY TO KEEP YOU IN!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
Alex Cornwell
  · 1 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Absolute rubbish. Poor products unreliable terrible customer service promise the earth and deliver nothing but very quick to take my money. Switched to Virgin from BT for broadband and telephone and from sky for TV in September. Up to now never had a consistant service. TV down for 5 days broadband no connection for 2 weeks telephone out of order for 9 days all on separate occasions. Promised £100 voucher never received. Cost was free for 3 months half price for 9 months and then full price yet they have already billed us and taken more than £200 from our account. Avoid at all costs go to anybody other than virgin. Only swapped my original providers because a salesman came to the door pestering us and felt pressured to sign up.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
JO B
  · 4 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 1/5
    Phone package options
Broadband seems OK but the landline is very inferior to BT. The free voice mail is a joke so I opted for the one where I leave my own message. When playing back a message you have to wait until it has finished before you can delete it. This can be very irritating. And 1471 doesn't work reliably. Will probably switch my phone back to BT; more expensive but much more user-friendly.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
RUEL
  · 5 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
What a let down from the vplus box. THIS BOX FROM THE HEAVENS CANNOT SET REMINDERS keep the vplus box.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
JOSH
  · 5 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 1/5
    Broadband speed
  • 1/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
Virgin really are that bad 50mb internet sign up because it is unlimited yeah of course it is so what is traffic shaping that comes in effect everyday download in the middle of the night and it's fine download during traffic shaping and you get speeds of 500kbps or there abouts it`s a joke I pay £70 - £80 a month and it`s shocking once the contract is up i'm switching back to slower but no traffic shaping provider.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
ALLAN BROWN
  · 5 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I had Virgin installed and promised the world then got a mobile phone contract through the door that I knew nothing about called up and after hassle they promised to get it sorted out. One week later money taken out of my account for the phone contract that was not mine called up again and was told by some clown I was 'technically in dispute' with them and I would have to write and make a complaint. Told them to come and collect there gear total crooks.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
NADEEM KHAN
  · 5 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I was told that Virgin Media is the best so I decided to change from Sky to Virgin Media but guess what the day of installation a one-man band turned up and said this is a 2 man job so sorry you have to reschedule and we will be back with a date. I was on the phone to Virgin Media and 1st on hold for 10 min then sorry again on hold another and sorry I will get the installation team to call a 3rd sorry and I finally got a date as the 16th so see if this does take place this is a month or so process so please think twice before you change.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpfulGUEST
  · 5 years ago.
Well obviously it's a webmaster! It could be a company that builds websites for businesses so for all you know your email went to some web hosting company in America who have no direct contact with Virgin at all!'
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
PHILIP ASHBY
  · 6 years ago.
  • 0/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
'Here is a message I have sent to the Virgin Webmaster: Quote "I am sorry to write to you but this is the only e-mail address I can find anywhere in the Virgin group. I am totally frustrated and hope you will be able to pass this enquiry to a person within Virgin Media that can help. I wish to look at Virgin telephone/broadband/television packages ready for my return to UK in about one month so that I can get connection arranged before my return and avoid any delays after my arrival. As I have no UK telephone number your automated systems both internet and telephone will not allow me to make an enquiry. The system seems totally deficient in its inflexibility and offers no option to talk to anybody. If I hear from someone within Virgin during your working day today I will go with Virgin. If not however I will look for a competitor that is more customer-friendly." Unquote Their reply: Quote "If you are giving us feedback on virgin.com then well make sure our technical gurus read your email but please bear with us it may take us a couple of weeks to reply! Do bear in mind that our technical website guys won't be able to help you out with any questions or queries about any of our Virgin businesses." Unquote so no interest in potential customers then.
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
VICKY SCHOFIELD
  · 6 years ago.
  • 1/5
    Customer service
  • 4/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 4/5
    Phone package options
A bit hit and miss they tell you one thing then someone else tells you another. They then deny they have said it and tell you you can't have heard it right! Services okay if working right but a nightmare if it all goes wrong and you have to contact them! Some of the service team are really rude!
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 0 readers found the following review helpful
ALAN TITLEY
  · 6 years ago.
  • 5/5
    Customer service
  • 0/5
    Broadband speed
  • 0/5
    Price
  • 0/5
    Phone package options
I wanted to switch to VIRGIN and found customer service very helpful and everything was arranged within 10 mins.
Was this review helpful to you?

Slide the markers to cast your vote

  • Customer service
    5*
  • Broadband speed
    5*
  • Price
    5*
  • Phone package options
    5*
Provider Speed Usage limit Offers Cost
Sky Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 14 Sep £20.00 p/m
Go
TalkTalk Up to
17 Mb
Truly Unlimited Ends 28 Sep £19.95 p/m
Go
Plusnet Up to
17 Mb
Unlimited Ends 5 Sep £19.99 p/m
Go
All prices shown above include phone line rental.