Virgin Media

Exclusive M50 Fibre Broadband & Phone offer via this page. £75 bill credit & No setup fee + Now only £26 p/m usually £35

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

290 customer reviews

1.0
286 reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 6
  • 44
  • 216
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    0.9/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Customer services none existent to the worst ever
 · 23 hours ago
Review
Customer service is worst ever you cannot get through and they don't call back. You are stuck paying for something you don't get.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
FAKE PROMISES
 · 1 day ago
Review
I was with Virgin Media for around 6-7 years. There were various issues that never got fixed despite complaining to the customer service. I ended up fixing them myself. Laying that aside, it was a very fast and stable LAN network. The reason for the bad review is that I've moved to detached house and there is no VM's fibre going to that house. I was told that they will send an engineer who will inspect it to see if there's a way to run a cable from our next door neighbour. Engineer arrived and stated that due to budget issues VM would only be run to the edge of my garden where they will create an access point. This, I was told, will take approx. 4-6 weeks. I've couple numerous times throughout the 4-6 weeks period only to discover yesterday (19 of August 2019) that no service will be provided as the budget won't allow it. I was without Internet for a month just to be told this. I'm like why the hell haven't you told me that from the beginning? VM's Customer service is a joke.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Virgin rubbish
 · 3 days ago
Review
After 3 months of internet going off and staying off for long periods. No TV or WiFi for 10 days but they are very quick to take our money. Customer service is a joke been told to go to Ofcom if we are not happy, which we are doing. Don’t be fooled by the advertising.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Avoid Like The Plague
 · 5 days ago
Review
Customer service for existing customers is pretty much non-existent. Like many others on this forum, I've encountered waiting times of up to 50 minutes just to talk to somebody. When you do finally get through and articulate your issue they simply try to upsell you to a more expensive package. I knew the bar for customer service in this space is pretty low but it's hard to imagine how anybody could be worse than Virgin Media.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Impossible to contact anyone at all
 · 5 days ago
Review
The product itself is fine. Broadband speed is exactly as advertised and down time is minimal, as I would expect given the exorbitant monthly bill. What is NOT absolutely fine is the complete lack of anything resembling customer service. I don't mean that the customer service is bad, I mean it does not exist! I have literally been completely unable to contact anyone from Virgin to talk about stopping some of my services. I contacted them by phone once and was on hold for 55 minutes before just giving up. I tried the online chat and the chat-bot would not let me talk to anyone, I tried the online chat a second time, and this time I told the chat bot that I wanted to upgrade my package, at which point I was connected to a real person immediately. Unfortunately this person steadfastly refused to talk to me about anything other than upgrading.

I really think that Virgin Media's customer retention strategy is to simply prevent me from telling them that I want to leave.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Awful Virgin wifi and customer service
 · 6 days ago
Review
Don't go with Virgin as your Wifi or phone provider. To begin with their WiFi coverage and internet speed is awful (even with a booster, which you have to pay an additional £3.00 a month for). The internet frequently cuts out and can take hours for it to rectify itself. As for dealing with Virgin "customer services", they're terrible, phone calls take between 45 minutes to an hour, being passed from department to department, and the staff can do very little to help. Avoid them!!!!!
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Poor
 · 7 days ago
Review
The broadband speed is good, tend to get the speed advertised. However when something goes wrong it is impossible to fix for them and constantly being on the phone to them for 40mins-60mins+ and getting nowhere. It takes an average for them to answer in 15-20mins whereas there competitors answer in less and the issue is resolved in that time. Decided to leave them 2 months into the contract as I've had enough, to pay good money and get a sub par service, its an absolute joke, ofcom should do something.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Avoid.. Trust me
 · 11 days ago
Review
I wouldn't give one Star! Avoid these ( if not already a victim). The Broadband is awful, been like it for months on an off, after a large number of complaints I get no help! All they care about is payment. I have Cancelled 3 TIMES! And still not honoured! These really are crooks and need looking into.
JUST AVOID!!!
  • Package price
    4/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
  • Teresa Hill 10 days ago
    I work from home and the broadband service is just awful . I just want something that works, and helpful customer service when it's not. I have not really experienced either to date.
Rubbish customer service and expensive
 · 13 days ago
Review
I rang them tonight to tell them I was leaving due to them putting my bill up. I was on hold for nearly an hour! The girl I spoke to then tried to pass me to another department and I got cut off after waiting nearly another hour! 15 minutes later I get an email saying my package has changed and bill increased even more !!! Absolutely ridiculous! So I try ringing them again - and once again waited an hour for a reply sat listening to stupid music down the phone. This time I got through and a lady rectified their mistake. I am still leaving however and won’t return. Virgin media used to be really good - what has happened??? Foreign call centres are not the way!
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Dreadful customer service
 · 16 days ago
Review
I switched to Virgin from BT as they were cheap for the first year, there was a cash back deal, and they offered much faster broadband speed and more TV channels. We can't get fibre in our street yet, though neighbours can, as we are too close to the BT exchange so lines don't go via a street cabinet.

Virgin bodged the cable installation and the outside work is shoddy. The guy that fitted the kit was OK though.

My email stopped working properly after a couple of weeks and over two months later they've not been able to fix it. They keep blaming my kit (Apple and Microsoft) when it's their end. They offered compensation and admitted it before, then tried to deny it.

The TV picture breaks up intermittently.

Lots of failed and lost recordings.

TV box records multiple channels but it's clunky, doesn't indicate when it's recording and gets very hot.

It's very difficult to get through to anyone and if you do they don't know what they are doing, patronise you and don't ring back when they promise to.

I will avoid renewing the contract and would prefer to go back to BT or elsewhere. They had their issues but were much better.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful

Search for Virgin Media Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.