Virgin Media

Virgin Media Broadband, TV & Home phone from £33 per month Compare Virgin Media deals

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

1.0 out of 5 from 227 reviews
Filter by rating:
0
4
6
27
171
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (223)
Broadband review by Colette
Colette
Credit rating ruined due to Virgin's inability to process a cancellation
1 days ago.
Review
Failed to process my cancellation and kept sending bills for 5 months - then passed the "debt" for 5 months' line rental to a debt collection agency! I now have the record of defaulting on my credit file and have been turned down for a phone contract because of this. I've called regularly during the 5 months and am always told that the issue is their fault and it will be sorted out immediately - then next month, I get another bill! At the end of my tether with them and I would strongly advice AGAINST ever using this company!

Unfortunately due to my roommates' previous contract I am now using a Virgin Media service again - even though we bought two lines to cover the 6-room flat and are paying over the odds, our internet still periodically goes down for no reason. (We're in central London.)

Please never use this company - they will steal money, fail to provide service, consistently lie to you on the phone and are very likely to ruin your credit rating as they're unable to process something as simple as a cancellation!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dax
Dax
Refused to lock hackers out of email account
5 days ago.
Review
When we left Virgin Media they failed to close down our email addresses with them correctly. Nearly 2 years later, hackers got into my mother's old virgin media email address and started using it to try to access her accounts on other sites, and to register new accounts using her identity. After confirming that they understood the situation and admitting that the shutdown of our account hadn't been performed correctly, they demanded that we sign a new contract with the company before they would take any action such as changing the password on the email address to lock out the hackers. They confirmed that the new contract would need to be paid and non-refundable. We are now talking to the police.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Rebecca
Rebecca
Scammers
12 days ago.
Review
This company will do anything in its power to impose ridiculous charges to its supposedly 'valued' customers!! When I had enough and ended my contract with them they then charged me £40 for not returning my kit even though I had called them twice before with proof that I had! Shocking customer service all round!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Fed up customer of Virgin
Fed up customer of Virgin
Fed up with Virgin rubbish connection and service
12 days ago.
Review
Please please if you are thinking joining with Virgin Media DONT!!!

Don't even try and use the Internet in the evening as you will get a buffer signal every time and even if you are watching BBC iplayer it will buffer.

This is on a 100MB CONNECTION. my [email protected]@@

You never even get 30mbs and their customer service is pathetic also. Do yourself a favour and go to another level Ubisoft supplier because Virgin tips them all super fast super Crap connection and customer service with absolute waste of time.

Your better using a old fashioned modem because even that is faster and more reliable then virgins so called super fast broadband more like no band !!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Duped Twice but not THREE times!
Duped Twice but not THREE times!
Duped Twice but not THREE times!
13 days ago.
Review
I was given a price as a special for broadband. I signed a year contract and then the bill arrived. It was more than the price given. I called, after 45 min on hold, and was told that person no longer worked there. They had a different offer now, it was more, but less than the bill. I was told I would get the difference back. I did not get the difference back and got a higher bill. I called again, this time I recorded them. They apologised for the 'error' and said I would be given the first price. The next bill came. It was the higher price again. I called a gain and said I want what I was promised. They said there is no record of what I was promised. I said I had a record because I recorded them, and got their name. This person was so mad when I told them I had a recording that was all he could talk about. I told him he should be more mad that his collegues promise things and then lie about it. Needless to say, the recording got me the original low price. MORAL: RECORD THE BASTARDS.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Mark
Mark
Don't Go Near Virgin Fibre With A Barge Pole
13 days ago.
Review
Fortunately I still have Plusnet connected to the house as my contract has not ended and that has been a godsend.
The cable guys ran a Virgin line down the pavement outside my house and I was jumping for joy, even the slowest option being twice as fast as BT and those wonderful TV advertisements with the Super Smart Hub 3, what could go wrong?!!!!!!!

The reality is completely different, the Hub 3 (room heater) is garbage, using 30 Watts of power, it is costing about £4 a month on electricity by my calculations, please correct me if I'm wrong. You would think with all this power the WiFi would be Brilliant but it isn't, perhaps all the power is going to creat a public hot spot arround your house which I had to opt out of. But who knows what other services we are unwittingly providing. For a variety of reasons I decided to use a Powerline network to distribute the internet arround the house, if WiFi is needed in a room that can't be hard wired with a LAN cable, you can just plug in a Powerline WiFi transmitter, absolutely fantastic, everyone should use this system rather than fryng your brain with rediculously powerful WiFi hubs to reach those dead spots. This system revealed another problem with the Hub 3, I tried to put it in Modem Mode so I could be shure no unwanted wireless transmissions were eminating from this thing, but LAN port 1 which Virgin tell you has to be used, along with all other LAN ports died. The hub would not reset so Virgin sent me a new hub but the same thing happened in Modem Mode. I had an Indian Customer Service guy shouting at me saying everything was working correctly which was not the case. So I decided just to turn off the 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz WiFi transmissions which left all the LAN ports working for my Powerline Network., but this revealed the next issue!

Virgin tell you the service is not throttled, the promise is unlimited fast data. I don't think this is the case. I'm retired and enjoy streaming content from Netflix and Amazon. I have not had any issues with my Plusnet dirt cheap non Fibre broadband which runs at a non impressive 13 MB/s but it is Rock solid.. After streaming for a while, Virgin just stops, the buffering continues endlessly unless you exit a movie and re enter to continue. Last night Amazon stopped all together so I had to swap the LAN cable feeding the Powerline Network from the Virgin box to the Plusnet hub as I have done on numourous other ocasions and the problem vanished. After Customer Services refused to send an Engineer, I asked to be put through to the Termination Team, they are based in the UK and sent an Engineer without question. A really nice guy came and was bang on time but all he could do was adjust the line termination as the signalling here is very strong, being a new area. Nothing was too much trouble and I can't fault him. But it hasn't really made any difference, I've tried running Netflix on TV Apps, HDMI sticks and an Android TV box as it has been suggested the Apps are at fault. If this was the case why would Plusnet be OK?

I think the speed testing Apps must be fiddled by Virgin, as whilst looking at my buffering circle on the TV a speed test will tell me the internet is running at Warp Speed! I think the service is glitchy, if you are using a serious amount of Dara it just stops. I will tolerate it and cancel when the twelve months is up as I have no other option.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Disgusted David
Disgusted David
Cancellation takes an hour
13 days ago.
Review
I have moved house and tried to cancel my Virgin Broadband, what an performance.

Several discussions with different ladies, who's first language was certainly not Englissh.
Oneof the ladies insisted that she give me a £50 credit to stay with Virgin, insisting she did not believe I was moving house but just wanted a better deal. The very long wait for attention on the cancellations line probably says it all.

I will be generous, they need to listen to the recordings of customer calls, then arrange some re training.
If you are reading this before you sign up, think about the end game...






Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Mika
Mika
Virgin media Bad service
14 days ago.
Review
Very bad customer SERVICE. 06/04/19 My home internet not work. I called customer service to fix. They gived time 1 o’clock engineer repaired but Now £33.33 charges for repair. Why we paying every month bill. If extra charges for repair.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Andrew
Andrew
Worst customer service ever
14 days ago.
Review
After months of our Internet speeds slowing dramatically between 6pm to 9pm, we tried to get in contact with Virgin Media. After several attempts using its online chat service, we spoke to someone who then turned off our Internet. We then had to phone and wait an hour to speak to someone to resolve the issue. The advisor we spoke to had the tenacity to suggest we had turned off our modem. No apology when she discovered her colleague had. Nothing.

After that we decided not to keep Virgin Media when we moved home. You need to give Virgin Media 30 days notice, which we did.

Only Virgin Media decided to turn it off three weeks early, making us even more stressed while dealing with the sale of our house.

Every time we phoned Virgin Media, we were passed around, speaking to six people on the same call. Each had to complete security and then ask why we were calling. It is awful customer service designed to infuriate or wear customers down.

When we finally spoke to a manager, he said it would take 3 days to get our Internet back on. He would not give an explanation for this timescale. He offered us compensation of £8 (which when you work from home is just insulting). He was like talking to a robot reading from a script. When we said we still were not happy, he refused to send our Deadlock letter so we could go to CISAS (their alternative dispute resolution service).

It's been three days. Our Internet is still not back on.

Do yourself a favor. Do not go with Virgin Media.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Khenn
Khenn
Poor
14 days ago.
Review
Avoid at all costs, its all rubbish.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Virgin Media TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.